Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : Avail Finance — sold to Ola for less than its last valuation

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for Avail Finance.

Avail Finance spent five years building an app-only lender for the one customer segment Indian banks would not touch: security guards, delivery riders, drivers and housekeeping staff with no payslip a credit bureau would recognise. In March 2022, Ola announced it would buy the company in an all-share deal reported at about $50 million (Entrackr; TechCrunch, both March 2022) — a price below the roughly ₹500 crore (~$68 million) valuation Avail Finance had carried since its own Series B round less than two years earlier.

That gap between what Avail Finance was once valued at and what it actually sold for is the spine of this piece: a founder who built the product from personal experience, a customer base whose income collapsed overnight in 2020, and an acquirer that happened to be run by the founder’s own brother.

Quick facts

Company Avail Finance, a Bengaluru-based app-only lender and neobank for India’s blue-collar workforce
Founded February 2017
Founder(s) Ankush Aggarwal (CEO) and Tushar Mehndiratta
Businesses Collateral-free personal loans, salary advances and savings products for blue-collar and gig workers
Latest FY revenue ₹0.62 crore in FY24, down 94.8% year-on-year (Inc42 Financials, citing MCA filings)
Latest FY profit/loss Net loss of ₹23.7 crore in FY24 (Inc42 Financials)
Listed Private; acquired by Ola in an all-share deal announced 24 March 2022
Market value / last valuation Acquired for a reported $50 million (Entrackr, TechCrunch, March 2022), against a last funding valuation of roughly ₹500 crore / $68 million (Inc42, Entrackr, August 2020) to $86.6 million (TechCrunch, March 2022)
Key shareholders / current CEO of the business Matrix Partners, Alpha Wave (formerly Falcon Edge) and Ola Financial Services; founder Ankush Aggarwal now heads Ola Financial Services (Inc42, April 2022)

What they do

Avail Finance built a mobile-only lending platform, often described in coverage as a neobank, aimed squarely at India’s blue-collar and gig workforce — security guards, delivery riders, drivers, factory hands and housekeeping staff earning a reported ₹8,000 to ₹35,000 a month, a segment largely shut out of mainstream bank credit for lacking payslips, a credit bureau file, or collateral (multiple 2019 reports on the company’s target segment). It offered collateral-free personal loans and salary advances, typically in the ₹5,000 to ₹20,000 range, alongside savings products, and distributed much of this through partnerships with employers of blue-collar labour, including Ola, Swiggy, Ecom Express and Quess Corp, rather than through open-market customer acquisition alone.

The origin

Ankush Aggarwal’s founding insight did not come from a spreadsheet. Before starting Avail Finance, he worked on Ola’s auto-rickshaw hailing business, Ola Auto, a launch that required the team to speak with hundreds of auto drivers across the city. The same complaint kept surfacing in those conversations: drivers could not get a loan from a bank, not because they would not repay one, but because they had no payslip, no long banking history and no credit score a lender recognised. It was a well-documented gap in Indian finance — banks and NBFCs had long underwritten the salaried middle class and largely ignored gig and blue-collar earners — but Aggarwal treated it as a product problem rather than a policy one. He co-founded Avail Finance in February 2017 with Tushar Mehndiratta, betting that a mobile app could do the underwriting work a branch never would: build a lender and a credit history for a worker who had neither, together, from scratch.

The struggle years

The company did not arrive at a working model on its first attempt, and its hardest year did not come from a product mistake at all.

The turning point

The defining event was not a product launch but a sale. On 24 March 2022, Ola announced it had agreed to acquire Avail Finance in an all-share swap, a deal two independent reports — Entrackr and TechCrunch, both dated 24-25 March 2022 — put at roughly $50 million. Set that beside where Avail Finance had stood less than two years earlier: its Series B in August 2020 priced the company at about ₹500 crore, or roughly $68 million (Inc42, Entrackr, August 2020), and TechCrunch’s acquisition-week reporting cited a last-known valuation as high as $86.6 million. Whichever figure is the more accurate ceiling, the acquisition price landed below it — a down round wearing the language of an exit. Ola was not a stranger to the cap table either: it already held about a 9% stake in Avail Finance from an investment made in 2019, and Ola co-founder and CEO Bhavish Aggarwal is Ankush Aggarwal’s brother (Entrackr, March 2022; Inc42, April 2022) — a related-party dimension that made this less a competitive sale than a family consolidation.

The money behind it

What each backer changed: Matrix Partners’ early conviction (2017 and again in 2019 and 2020) kept the company funded through three rounds and gave it the single largest institutional stake at 26.4% after the Series B; Alpha Wave’s Series B cheque set the ₹500 crore valuation bar the eventual Ola deal would fall short of; and Ola’s 2019 minority stake was the toehold that turned into a full acquisition three years later.

How it makes money

The numbers

Public filings, as reported by Entrackr and Inc42, show a revenue line that never scaled past single-digit crores and then fell off a cliff after the Ola integration:

Fiscal year Revenue (₹ crore) Profit / (loss) (₹ crore)
FY20 5.59 not disclosed
FY21 4.48 not disclosed
FY23 11.9 not disclosed
FY24 0.62 (23.7)

Where the money comes from

The risks

The takeaway

Avail Finance proved something real: India’s blue-collar workforce would use formal credit if someone built the underwriting rails to reach it, and hundreds of thousands of workers took interest-free credit and salary advances through the platform during its hardest year. But proving demand is not the same as proving a lending business can carry its own losses. Revenue stayed thin for years, the company never disclosed a profit, and it ended up folded into the balance sheet of a much larger company — one run, as it happens, by the founder’s own brother — for a price below what its own investors had valued it at less than two years earlier. The lesson that travels beyond this one company: a genuine, well-documented gap in the market is a reason to start a lending business, not a guarantee that it will be able to fund itself once it exists.

Frequently asked questions

Who founded Avail Finance and when?

Ankush Aggarwal and Tushar Mehndiratta founded Avail Finance in Bengaluru in February 2017, building an app-only lending platform for India’s blue-collar workforce after Aggarwal encountered the credit gap firsthand while working on Ola’s auto-rickshaw business.

What kind of loans did Avail Finance offer?

Collateral-free personal loans and salary advances, generally in the ₹5,000 to ₹20,000 range, distributed largely through partnerships with employers of blue-collar and gig workers such as Ola, Swiggy, Ecom Express and Quess Corp.

Who acquired Avail Finance, and for how much?

Ola announced an all-share acquisition of Avail Finance on 24 March 2022, reported at about $50 million by Entrackr and TechCrunch — below the roughly ₹500 crore ($68 million) to $86.6 million valuation range the company had carried since its August 2020 Series B.

How much funding did Avail Finance raise before being acquired?

Roughly $38-41 million across seven to nine rounds from about ten investors, including Matrix Partners, Alpha Wave (formerly Falcon Edge) and venture debt from Alteria Capital, according to TechCrunch, CB Insights and Tracxn.

What happened to Avail Finance’s founder after the deal?

Ankush Aggarwal moved to head Ola Financial Services, the ride-hailing company’s financial-services arm, following the acquisition (Inc42, April 2022).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version