Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : Dot & Key — how a bootstrapped skincare brand tripled in value without a funding round

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for Dot & Key.

In September 2024, Nykaa paid ₹265.3 crore for 39 percent of a skincare brand it already controlled, implying the business was worth roughly ₹680 crore ($70.8 million) — more than three times what the same maths had implied just three years earlier. The company behind that number had never taken a single rupee of venture capital.

That company is Dot & Key, a Kolkata-founded skincare label built by a husband-and-wife team on ₹1 crore of personal savings, which chose one strategic buyer over a string of VC term sheets and still ended up as the fastest-scaling brand in Nykaa’s owned-brand portfolio. The rest of this piece works through how a bootstrapped, founder-run label got there, where the money actually comes from, and what could still go wrong.

Quick facts

Company Dot & Key (Dot & Key Wellness Private Limited)
Founded February 2018, Kolkata
Founder(s) Suyash Saraf and Anisha Agarwal Saraf
Businesses Skincare (moisturisers, sunscreens, serums, cleansers) and a nutraceutical line, IKWI
Latest FY revenue ₹423.37 crore operating revenue in FY25, up 113 percent year on year
Latest FY profit ₹56.09 crore net profit in FY25 (13.3 percent PAT margin)
Listed Private subsidiary; parent Nykaa (FSN E-Commerce Ventures) is listed on the NSE and BSE
Market value / last valuation Implied about ₹680 crore, based on the ₹265.3 crore Nykaa paid for a 39 percent stake in September 2024
Key shareholders / CEO Nykaa holds 90 percent; founders Suyash Saraf and Anisha Agarwal Saraf hold the balance and continue to run the brand

What they do

Dot & Key sells problem-led skincare rather than broad ranges: sunscreens, moisturisers, serums and cleansers built around a single active ingredient and a single skin concern, such as hyperpigmentation, dullness or barrier repair, sold at prices between mass-market and premium imported brands. Its buyer is the urban Indian shopper, disproportionately Gen Z and millennial, who researches ingredients online before buying and shops through Nykaa’s app and website, quick-commerce platforms, and roughly 20,000 offline retail outlets including 237 dedicated Nykaa stores. In 2021 the brand extended into ingestible wellness under a sub-brand called IKWI, taking it beyond topical products into the nutraceuticals category that first drew Nykaa’s interest.

The origin

Anisha Agarwal Saraf trained as a chemist and later completed a master’s in food technology, giving her a working knowledge of formulation and ingredient safety. She had spent several years at her family’s personal-care business, Joy Cosmetics, but the direct trigger for Dot & Key was more personal: she kept asking friends travelling abroad to bring back skincare because comparable, ingredient-led products were hard to find in India. Her husband, Suyash Saraf, had studied real estate finance and entrepreneurship in the United States and Britain and was working in his family’s real estate business. Neither had run a consumer brand before. They put in ₹1 crore of their own savings in February 2018, launched from Kolkata, and split the work along their strengths — she owned formulation, he owned digital sales, operations and cost control.

The struggle years

The first four years, 2018 to 2021, were self-funded and unglamorous. Suyash Saraf has said the two “didn’t even know what category sizing meant” when they started, and building a brand from Kolkata — far from Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru, where most Indian D2C talent and capital sit — made hiring and logistics harder than for peers based in the metros. Family reaction added its own friction: relatives used to real-estate returns found it difficult to see money go into packaging and marketing spend that produced no visible asset. Anisha Agarwal Saraf has described the private doubt that came with it, wondering aloud whether the two were even qualified to be running a skincare company, and leaning on repeat customer feedback to keep going rather than on outside validation.

The financials from the period after Nykaa’s first investment show the burn was real, not just a founder’s memory of hard times: Dot & Key’s EBITDA margin was minus 18 percent in FY22 and still minus 7 percent in FY23, according to Inc42’s reporting of company financials. In other words, even with a large strategic partner already on the cap table, the brand was still losing money at the operating level three years after Anisha and Suyash first wrote the ₹1 crore cheque.

The turning point

The turn came in two connected moves rather than one dramatic event. Nykaa has said Dot & Key turned profitable on a quarterly basis in the fourth quarter of FY23 — a reversal Nykaa itself called a dramatic change from losses a year earlier — and that quarterly profitability held through the following year, when full-year numbers flipped from an EBITDA margin of minus 7 percent in FY23 to plus 8 percent in FY24. Revenue moved in step: from ₹57.7 crore in FY23 to ₹198.3 crore in FY24, a 244 percent jump, as per Inc42’s and Startuppedia’s reporting of the company’s numbers. The combination — a founder-run brand crossing into profit for the first time just as its post-Nykaa distribution reach was compounding — is what turned Dot & Key from a promising acquisition into the fastest-growing brand in Nykaa’s owned-brand stable.

The money behind it

Dot & Key’s funding history is unusual for an Indian D2C brand of its size: no seed round, no Series A, no venture fund on the cap table. The entire outside-capital story is two transactions with a single partner.

How it makes money

Dot & Key earns the way most branded D2C skincare businesses do: it manufactures or contract-manufactures formulated products, prices them at a premium to mass-market equivalents, and sells through a mix of its own website, marketplaces and physical retail, with margin sitting in the gap between formulation-plus-packaging cost and shelf price, minus marketing and platform fees.

The numbers

Figures below are drawn from company financials as reported by Inc42 and Startuppedia; unit is ₹ crore unless stated otherwise.

Metric (₹ crore) FY23 FY24 FY25
Operating revenue 57.7 198.3 423.37
Net profit / (loss) Not disclosed 15.48 56.09
EBITDA margin -7% 8% 14%
PAT margin Not disclosed 7.7% 13.3%

Where the money comes from

The FY25 channel split shows a brand that has largely moved off pure D2C and onto marketplaces, even though it started as a direct-to-consumer label.

The risks

The takeaway

Dot & Key’s most transferable lesson is sequencing, not scrappiness. The founders spent four years proving repeat purchase and word-of-mouth on their own money before taking outside capital at all, then took it from a single strategic partner rather than a syndicate of financial investors — and only became profitable, on Nykaa’s own account, two years into that partnership. The valuation math shows what patience bought them: the same 51 percent that implied a company worth about ₹190 crore in 2021 was worth roughly ₹680 crore per share three years later, without a single funding round or press release about a “raise” in between. For founders chasing venture money as a default first move, Dot & Key is a working example of what happens when profitability, not valuation, is treated as the milestone that unlocks the next check.

Frequently asked questions

Who owns Dot & Key now?

Nykaa, through FSN E-Commerce Ventures, holds 90 percent of Dot & Key as of the transaction completed on 21 September 2024. Founders Suyash Saraf and Anisha Agarwal Saraf hold the remaining 10 percent and continue to run the business.

When was Dot & Key founded, and by whom?

Dot & Key was founded in February 2018 in Kolkata by husband-and-wife duo Suyash Saraf and Anisha Agarwal Saraf, using about ₹1 crore of their own savings.

How much did Nykaa pay for Dot & Key?

Nykaa paid about ₹96.9 crore for an initial 51 percent stake in September 2021, then paid a further ₹265.3 crore in September 2024 for an additional 39 percent, taking its holding to 90 percent.

Is Dot & Key profitable?

Yes. Nykaa has said the brand turned profitable on a quarterly basis in Q4 FY23, and full-year EBITDA margin turned positive in FY24 (8 percent) before rising to 14 percent in FY25, alongside a net profit of ₹56.09 crore that year.

What is Dot & Key’s revenue?

Operating revenue was ₹57.7 crore in FY23, ₹198.3 crore in FY24 and ₹423.37 crore in FY25. The company also reported FY26 gross merchandise value of ₹1,790 crore, a 13-times increase over three years, in a release covered in July 2026.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version