In 2019, Dvara KGFS closed a ₹167 crore (~$17.4 million at $1 ≈ ₹96.0) Series E round to fund a rural lending model built on trust and doorstep financial planning. Five years later, in the quarter to March 2025, the same company posted a loss of ₹25 crore as bad loans in its villages climbed past 8.5% of the book.
Dvara KGFS is not a household name. It does not chase app downloads or celebrity endorsements. It is a Chennai-headquartered non-banking finance company that lends, insures and advises households in villages most lenders skip, and its two-decade arc — from a policy experiment inside a research trust to a 420-branch NBFC that applied for, and was refused, a small finance bank licence — is a case study in how hard rural credit is to get right, even for people who wrote the textbook on it.
Quick facts
| Company | Dvara Kshetriya Gramin Financial Services Pvt Ltd (Dvara KGFS) |
| Founded | August 2008, as Pudhuaaru Financial Services Pvt Ltd; renamed Dvara KGFS in 2018 |
| Founder(s) | Bindu Ananth and Samir Shah, under Dvara Trust (formerly IFMR Trust), co-founded by Bindu Ananth and Nachiket Mor in 2008 |
| Businesses | Rural NBFC: joint-liability-group, enterprise, personal, jewel, consumer and crop loans; savings and insurance distribution; KGFS Digital |
| Latest FY revenue | Total income not separately disclosed in the filings reviewed; assets under management (AUM) ₹2,251 crore as of March 2024, up 27% year-on-year, and ₹2,342 crore by June 2024 |
| Latest FY profit/loss | FY24 (year to March 2024) profit after tax ₹48 crore; FY25 profitability collapsed to near breakeven (return on total assets of 0.05%, from 2.34% in FY24) after losses of ₹7 crore in Q3 FY25 and ₹25 crore in Q4 FY25 |
| Listed (date + exchange) or “Private” | Private; equity is unlisted. Its non-convertible debentures carry a CRISIL BBB+/Stable rating, reaffirmed 9 October 2024 |
| Market value / last valuation | Not disclosed; a further Series E tranche closed 22 May 2025 with amount and valuation undisclosed |
| Key shareholders | Dvara Trust (~30-32%); Accion Africa-Asia Investment Company (~23.3%); LeapFrog Financial Inclusion India (II) Ltd (~21.5%); CEO L V L N Murty |
What they do
Dvara KGFS lends to, insures and financially plans for households in India’s deep rural interior — villages as small as 1,000 to 2,000 people, the kind most banks and even most microfinance institutions do not reach. It calls its branch network “Kshetriya Gramin Financial Services,” Tamil-and-Hindi-inflected shorthand for “regional rural financial services,” and it pitches itself less as a moneylender and more as what its leadership has called a wealth manager for rural India: a single doorstep relationship covering credit, savings, insurance and, in principle, retirement planning, built around a customised assessment of each household’s assets, liabilities, income and goals. Customers are overwhelmingly self-employed — farmers, small traders, vendors and micro-entrepreneurs — borrowing in small, fixed-rate tickets, with the median loan running close to $400.
The origin
The company’s roots go back to 2008, when Nachiket Mor and Bindu Ananth, along with several former ICICI Bank colleagues, left the bank to set up IFMR Trust, later renamed Dvara Trust. Ananth had run ICICI Bank’s microfinance practice and its Development Strategy Group; Mor became the trust’s founding chairman. Their shared conviction was that conventional retail banking, however well-intentioned, could never get deep enough into rural India — the unit economics of branches, distribution and underwriting broke down long before it reached the last village. Financial inclusion, in their reading, needed a dedicated commercial vehicle built specifically for that terrain, paired with policy work aimed at regulators. That vehicle was incorporated in August 2008 as Pudhuaaru Financial Services, later run for a period as IFMR Rural Channels and Services, and rebranded Dvara KGFS in 2018 — taking its new name from “dvara,” Sanskrit for gateway or access. From the outset its ambition was broader than lending: a full financial-planning relationship with rural households, delivered branch by branch, village by village.
The struggle years
The model’s first real test came from the pandemic, not from a strategic misstep. Going into 2020, Dvara KGFS’s leadership pointed to collection efficiency of 99.5% and non-performing assets below 1% — figures that would flatter any lender anywhere. Covid-era income shocks and repeated local lockdowns broke that record: defaults crossed 10% at their peak, and the company’s own accounts to March 2022 show gross non-performing assets at 9.2% and a net loss of ₹2.8 crore for the year, its weakest print in the period covered by its rating history. Rebuilding took the better part of two years of restructuring and renewed collections effort, and collection efficiency had recovered to around 98% by early 2022 — better, but still short of the pre-pandemic bar.
A second setback was strategic rather than cyclical. In early 2021, with its rural-household model maturing, Dvara KGFS applied to the Reserve Bank of India for a small finance bank licence — the natural next step for an NBFC wanting access to cheaper deposit funding instead of relying entirely on borrowed money. The answer, three years later, was no. On 12 April 2024 the RBI rejected Dvara KGFS’s application, along with one other, on suitability grounds, closing off — at least for now — the one route that could have materially lowered its cost of funds and taken it out of the NBFC funding treadmill it still runs on today.
The turning point
The clearest before-and-after in Dvara KGFS’s numbers sits across the two fiscal years bookending its pandemic trough. In the year to March 2022, the company recorded a net loss of ₹2.8 crore on total managed assets of ₹1,578 crore, with gross non-performing assets at 9.2% — a portfolio that, on paper, looked like it was still absorbing pandemic damage rather than growing through it. A year later, in FY23, the same book had swung to a profit after tax of ₹14.4 crore, gross NPAs had more than halved to 4.0%, and total managed assets had grown by roughly a third to ₹2,126 crore. A separate wire report at the time put the improvement slightly differently — total income up 33% to ₹380.5 crore from ₹285.9 crore, with a profit of ₹12.6 crore against the prior year’s loss — but the direction and scale of the turnaround are consistent across both readings: this was the year Dvara KGFS proved its rural-lending model could recover from a systemic shock and grow at the same time, and it set up the sharper expansion — including the Saija Finance acquisition — that followed.
The money behind it
Dvara KGFS has been funded through a long tail of impact-oriented equity and development-finance debt rather than a marquee venture round, reflecting its positioning as a financial-inclusion play for patient, mission-aligned capital.
- Series E equity, 2019: ₹97 crore raised in April 2019 plus a further ₹70 crore from Nordic Microfinance Initiative in September 2019, taking the round to ₹167 crore (~$17.4 million at $1 ≈ ₹96.0) in total (Business Standard/PTI, September 2019; Legally India, November 2019).
- Series E, 2025: a further tranche closed 22 May 2025; amount and valuation undisclosed (Tracxn, 2025).
- Key equity backers: Dvara Trust, the promoter entity, holding roughly 30-32% depending on the reporting date; Accion Africa-Asia Investment Company (~23.3%); LeapFrog Financial Inclusion India (II) Ltd (~21.5%); Stakeboat Capital and Nordic Microfinance Initiative also feature among named investors (CRISIL rating rationale, 9 October 2024; company investor page).
- FMO (Dutch development bank), December 2023: a loan facility of up to $20 million under FMO’s MASSIF programme, $13 million of which was made effective from 15 December 2023, earmarked for lending to women and young micro-entrepreneurs and for climate-resilient agriculture (FMO project disclosure, November 2023).
- Impact Investment Exchange (IIX), March 2024: $14.4 million in debt financing (Entrackr, March 2024).
- BlueOrchard, May 2024: $10 million raised through listed foreign-currency bonds under the External Commercial Borrowings route (Entrackr/YourStory, May 2024).
- Enabling Qapital, June 2024: a further $7 million in debt (YourStory, June 2024).
- CRISIL notes the company’s funding base is spread across more than 50 lenders, including banks, other NBFCs and international financial institutions — a deliberate diversification strategy after the concentration risk exposed by earlier funding crunches (CRISIL rating rationale, 9 October 2024).
What each backer changed: the equity investors (Dvara Trust, Accion, LeapFrog) provided the capital cushion that let the company keep lending through its FY22 loss year without breaching capital-adequacy norms; the development-finance lenders (FMO, IIX, BlueOrchard) diversified funding away from Indian banks alone and tied fresh credit lines to specific portfolio goals, such as women-led enterprises and climate-resilient agriculture.
How it makes money
Dvara KGFS earns the way most NBFC-style rural lenders do — on the spread between what it pays to borrow and what it charges to lend — but its product range and delivery model are wider than a pure microfinance play.
- Money in: interest income on fixed-rate loans across joint-liability-group (JLG), individual enterprise, personal, jewel, consumer and crop loan products, plus commission from distributing third-party savings and insurance products.
- Money out: interest paid to more than 50 lenders and bondholders — its listed non-convertible debentures currently carry a yield of roughly 13.2%, reflecting its BBB+ rating, well above the 7.0-8.3% typical of AAA-rated paper (Bondscanner, 2025) — plus operating costs of running 420-plus rural branches and credit losses on an unsecured, high-touch loan book.
- Where the margin sits: opex intensity has actually been improving — opex to average assets fell from 8.80% in FY24 to 8.17% in FY25 — but that gain was wiped out by credit cost, which rose from 4.03% in FY24 to 7.20% in FY25 as loan losses picked up (Acuité rating updates, 2025).
- The part people get wrong: this is not a high-margin fintech lending business subsidised by cheap venture capital. It is a thin-margin, high-opex rural NBFC where the entire profit line can be — and in FY25, was — erased by a few percentage points of additional bad debt.
The numbers
Figures below are as reported in CRISIL’s rating rationale of 9 October 2024, unit ₹ crore, for the year ended 31 March each year, using total managed assets as the reported scale metric since a separately audited “total income” line was not consistently published for every year reviewed.
| Year (to 31 March) | Total managed assets (₹ crore) | Profit / (loss) after tax (₹ crore) | Gross NPA (%) |
| FY21 | 1,370 | 0.8 | 7.6 |
| FY22 | 1,578 | (2.8) | 9.2 |
| FY23 | 2,126 | 14.4 | 4.0 |
| FY24 | 2,755 | 48 | 3.0 |
- FY25 (year to March 2025): net worth grew to ₹405 crore, from ₹349-388 crore a year earlier depending on the rating agency’s snapshot, but earnings nearly vanished — return on total assets fell to 0.05% from 2.34% in FY24 — after losses of ₹7 crore in Q3 FY25 and ₹25 crore in Q4 FY25 (Acuité rating updates, 2025).
- Asset quality, March 2025: gross NPA rose to 8.53% and net NPA to 3.91%, against 3.0% gross NPA a year earlier (CRISIL, October 2024; Acuité, 2025).
- Capital position, March 2025: capital adequacy ratio 23.92% and Tier-1 capital 17.47%, up from 19.42% and 17.22% respectively a year earlier — comfortably above regulatory minimums even as earnings weakened (Acuité, 2025).
Where the money comes from
Despite a decade of expansion, Dvara KGFS’s book remains heavily concentrated in its home region, with newer states added mostly through one large acquisition rather than organic branch-building everywhere at once.
- Tamil Nadu: around 49% of the loan portfolio as of CRISIL’s October 2024 review — still the single largest state by exposure, a decade and a half after the company’s founding there.
- Top-3 states combined: approximately 72% of the portfolio, underlining that geographic diversification, while underway, has not yet materially diluted concentration risk (CRISIL, October 2024).
- Saija Finance acquisition: a share-subscription agreement signed in July 2021 saw Dvara KGFS take an initial 25.9% stake in Saija Finance for ₹7.57 crore in October 2021; the two businesses were combined effective 1 January 2023 through a business transfer agreement, adding branch networks in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Punjab and Haryana in one step.
- Bihar: the newly added state had grown to around 14% of the combined portfolio by June 2024 — the clearest sign the Saija deal is diversifying the book rather than sitting idle on the balance sheet.
- Network reach: 420 branches across 11 states as of 30 September 2024, spanning some 21,641 villages and 106 districts (Acuité rating update, January 2025; company disclosures).
- Customer base: reported variously as roughly 1.2 million active customers (Grip Invest research note, 2024) to more than 2.4 million (YourStory, May 2024, citing company figures) — the range reflects different counting conventions across sources rather than a single confirmed number.
- Product mix, the surprise: more than 95% of the portfolio sits in joint-liability-group and unsecured enterprise loans rather than the secured jewel or consumer loans that headline the product list — for a company that markets itself as a rural “wealth manager,” the overwhelming majority of its book still looks like classic group-lending microfinance.
The risks
- Geographic concentration: with roughly 49% of the portfolio in Tamil Nadu and 72% across its top three states, a single state-level shock — a loan-waiver announcement, a local political flashpoint, a weather event — can move the whole book (CRISIL, October 2024).
- Borrower credit profile: CRISIL explicitly flags that Dvara KGFS’s customers carry “below-average credit risk profiles,” being self-employed farmers, vendors and traders with volatile, often informal incomes and largely unsecured loans.
- Asset-quality and earnings volatility: the swing from a 2.34% return on assets in FY24 to 0.05% in FY25, driven by credit cost almost doubling from 4.03% to 7.20% and gross NPAs climbing to 8.53%, shows how quickly a good year can unwind when collections slip (Acuité, 2025).
- Regulatory ceiling on ambition: the RBI’s April 2024 rejection of its small finance bank application leaves the company dependent on wholesale borrowing — from banks, NBFCs and development-finance institutions — rather than low-cost retail deposits, keeping its cost of funds structurally higher than a bank’s.
The takeaway
Dvara KGFS’s story is a useful corrective to the idea that financial inclusion is mainly a distribution problem waiting on the right app or agent network. The company had the distribution — branches in villages of a few thousand people, a genuinely differentiated household-level financial-planning pitch, and founders who had literally designed India’s microfinance policy conversation. What it could not fully insulate itself from was the underlying credit cycle of the customers it serves: a pandemic shock and a subsequent credit-cost spike both hit profitability harder, and faster, than any product innovation could offset. The lesson travels beyond one NBFC: in lending to thin-margin, income-volatile households, the balance sheet’s health is only ever as good as this quarter’s collections, no matter how sound the underwriting model looks on a slide.
Frequently asked questions
What does Dvara KGFS do?
It is a Chennai-headquartered non-banking finance company that lends to, insures and financially plans for households in India’s deep rural interior, through a branch network it calls Kshetriya Gramin Financial Services, offering joint-liability-group, enterprise, personal, jewel, consumer and crop loans alongside savings and insurance distribution.
Who owns Dvara KGFS?
It is privately held. Its promoter, Dvara Trust, holds roughly 30-32% depending on the reporting date, with Accion Africa-Asia Investment Company (~23.3%) and LeapFrog Financial Inclusion India (II) Ltd (~21.5%) among its largest institutional shareholders, per CRISIL’s October 2024 rating rationale.
Is Dvara KGFS listed on a stock exchange?
No. Its equity is unlisted and privately held. Its non-convertible debentures are rated CRISIL BBB+/Stable, reaffirmed on 9 October 2024, and trade with a yield of around 13.2%, reflecting that rating tier.
How did Dvara KGFS perform financially in FY25?
Profitability nearly disappeared. Return on total assets fell to 0.05% from 2.34% in FY24, after losses of ₹7 crore in Q3 FY25 and ₹25 crore in Q4 FY25, as credit cost rose from 4.03% to 7.20% and gross NPAs climbed to 8.53% by March 2025, per Acuité’s 2025 rating updates.
Did Dvara KGFS ever try to become a bank?
Yes. It applied for a small finance bank licence in early 2021, but the Reserve Bank of India rejected the application on suitability grounds on 12 April 2024, along with one other applicant, keeping the company reliant on wholesale borrowing rather than retail deposits.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Dvara KGFS, “About Dvara” (company history, model, network reach) — dvarakgfs.com, accessed September 2026
- Dvara KGFS, “Our Investors” — dvarakgfs.com, accessed September 2026
- CRISIL Ratings, rating rationale for Dvara Kshetriya Gramin Financial Services Pvt Ltd — crisilratings.com, 9 October 2024
- Acuité Ratings & Research, rating press release for Dvara Kshetriya Gramin Financial Services Pvt Ltd — acuite.in, 3 January 2025, and subsequent 2025 rating updates hosted on dvarakgfs.com/uploads/investors
- Business Standard/PTI, “Dvara KGFS raises Rs 70 crore Series E fund” — business-standard.com, September 2019
- Legally India, “Vertices, Saraqua Legal help Dvara KGFS on $9.8m Series E from Nordic Microfin” — legallyindia.com, 13 November 2019
- FMO, project disclosure for Dvara Kshetriya Gramin Financial Services Pvt Ltd — fmo.nl, published 17 November 2023, effective 15 December 2023
- Entrackr, “NBFC Dvara KGFS raises $14.4 Mn debt” — entrackr.com, March 2024
- YourStory, “Dvara KGFS raises $10M in debt round from BlueOrchard” — yourstory.com, May 2024
- YourStory, “Dvara KGFS raises $7M in debt from Enabling Qapital” — yourstory.com, June 2024
- BusinessToday, “An NBFC that wants to be wealth manager of rural India” — businesstoday.in, 7 February 2022
- BusinessToday, “RBI turns down two small finance banks’ licences after finding them not suitable” — businesstoday.in, 12 April 2024
- Business Standard, “RBI rejects two applications for small finance bank under extant guidelines” — business-standard.com, 12 April 2024
- Bondscanner, “Dvara Kshetriya Bonds: ISIN, YTM, Rating & Risks” — bondscanner.com, 2025
- Tracxn, Dvara KGFS company profile (funding history, employee count, leadership) — tracxn.com, accessed September 2026
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.
