Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : ET Money — how a zero-commission app tracking Rs 70,000 crore sold for Rs 366 crore

By the time ET Money changed hands in June 2024, its app tracked roughly ₹70,000 crore of Indians’ money, yet the two companies behind it booked only about ₹31 crore of combined revenue in FY24, and the whole business sold for ₹365.8 crore. That gap between money watched and money earned is the story of ET Money. It built one of India’s largest platforms for buying mutual funds by giving away the one thing rivals lived on: the distribution commission.

The app is not the Economic Times newspaper, and it was never a venture-backed startup in the usual sense. ET Money was built inside Times Internet, the digital arm of The Times Group, borrowing the “ET” brand equity of Economic Times while running as a separate fintech product. Its founder had already failed once at almost exactly this idea. This is how a second attempt, a zero-commission bet, and a premium subscription turned an expense tracker into a ₹366 crore exit to a wealth-management major.

Quick facts

Company ET Money (operated by Moneygoals Solutions Limited and its subsidiary Banayantree Services Limited)
Founded 2015 as SmartSpends; rebranded to ET Money in October 2016
Founder(s) Mukesh Kalra (founder, CEO) and Santosh Navlani (COO)
Businesses Direct mutual funds, SIPs, ET Money Genius advisory subscription, insurance, NPS, fixed deposits, and loans against mutual funds
Latest FY revenue Banayantree Services (ET Money Genius): ₹46.32 crore in FY25, up 62% YoY; Moneygoals Solutions: ₹2.04 crore turnover in FY24
Latest FY profit/loss Entity-level net profit/loss not separately disclosed in the sources reviewed; not stated here to avoid guessing
Listed Private; wholly owned by 360 ONE WAM since 2024
Last valuation / deal value Sold for about ₹365.8 crore (reported ~$44 million) on 13 June 2024
Key shareholder / owner 360 ONE WAM (formerly IIFL Wealth); previously Times Internet (The Times Group)

What ET Money does

ET Money is a personal-finance and investing app for retail investors in India. Its core promise is that you can buy and hold direct-plan mutual funds at zero commission, and manage the rest of your money life in the same place. Around that core it stacks several product lines:

The customer is India’s mass-affluent, largely digital investor. As of a September 2022 company disclosure, about 85% of users were aged 27 to 40, and the average annual investment per user was around ₹1.5 lakh.

The origin: a failure named Moneysights

ET Money’s founding insight was paid for the hard way, years before ET Money existed. In 2009, Mukesh Kalra and Santosh Navlani, both formerly at InMobi, started Moneysights, a platform to help Indians research and buy investment products online. It raised about $250,000, with backing that included Blume Ventures, InMobi co-founder Naveen Tewari, and former HP and IBM executive Prasad Duvvuri.

The idea was early in the wrong way. Indians were coming online, but, as Kalra has described it, they were not yet willing to do high-involvement financial transactions on the internet. Moneysights stalled around 2012, the team dispersed, and Kalra went back to InMobi as a salaried employee for roughly two years while the product ran on autopilot. Then Times Internet acquired Moneysights in October 2014. The lesson Kalra carried out of that five-year detour was about timing and trust: the product was right, the moment was not, and financial products need a reason for people to believe before they will move money. That belief-first thinking became the spine of ET Money.

The struggle years

The second attempt did not open as a fund platform at all. In 2015, inside Times Internet, Kalra’s team launched SmartSpends, an expense-tracking app that read your SMS alerts and told you where your money went. Tracking was a way to earn a place on the phone; it was not the business. In October 2016 the app was rebranded to ET Money and pivoted toward investments, using the Economic Times brand to signal credibility to first-time investors.

Several hard turns followed:

None of these were fatal, but each one removed an easy path. The company had to build trust, give away the easy commission, and satisfy a regulator, all while convincing salaried Indians to start a SIP on a phone.

The turning point: the ₹366 crore sale

The single event that defines ET Money’s trajectory is its sale. On 13 June 2024, 360 ONE WAM, the wealth and asset manager formerly known as IIFL Wealth, agreed to acquire 100% of both ET Money entities from Times Internet for about ₹365.8 crore, reported at roughly $44 million.

The numbers on each side of that deal explain why it happened. On the seller’s side, ET Money was a large, trusted retail funnel that earned very little in accounting terms: its two entities together booked only about ₹31 crore of revenue in FY24, against roughly ₹70,000 crore of assets its app tracked. On the buyer’s side, 360 ONE managed about ₹4.67 lakh crore and served more than 7,200 high- and ultra-high-net-worth clients, but had almost no mass-affluent digital reach. ET Money brought over 9 lakh transacting clients and more than 1 lakh revenue-generating users into that fold in one stroke.

The deal was structured as ₹85.83 crore in cash plus 35,90,000 fully paid-up 360 ONE equity shares issued at about ₹779 each, so Times Internet stayed exposed to the upside as a shareholder of the listed acquirer. Within a year of the deal, the combined entity pushed ET Money into secured lending, launching loans against mutual funds on 10 July 2025.

The money behind it

ET Money’s funding shape is unusual for an Indian fintech of its size: it did not run the familiar ladder of Seed, Series A, Series B rounds under the ET Money name. The capital came from a corporate parent.

So the “last valuation” for ET Money is really its exit price, about ₹365.8 crore, and it is a firm number backed by a listed acquirer’s disclosure rather than a private-round estimate. The two backers that mattered most were Times Internet, which gave a twice-failed idea a decade of runway and a trusted brand, and 360 ONE, which gave it a lending balance sheet and a reason to move up-market.

How it makes money

This is the part people get wrong. Because ET Money is famous for zero-commission direct mutual funds, it is easy to assume it earns on fund purchases. It does not earn on the direct funds that made it popular. The money comes from around that free core:

The economics are a classic funnel: acquire millions of users with a free, high-trust product (direct SIPs), then convert a slice into paying advisory subscribers and higher-fee product buyers. It is why the revenue figures look small next to the AUM: most of the AUM sits in zero-commission direct funds that generate no fee, and the margin lives in the thin layer of users who subscribe to Genius or buy insurance, NPS, and loans.

The numbers

Public financials sit in the two legal entities that 360 ONE acquired. Revenue is disclosed; entity-level net profit or loss was not available in the sources reviewed, so it is left out rather than guessed. All figures are turnover or operating revenue in ₹ crore.

Entity (brand) FY24 revenue (₹ crore) FY25 revenue (₹ crore)
Banayantree Services (ET Money Genius, the advisory/distribution arm) 28.7 46.32 (up 62% YoY)
Moneygoals Solutions (ET Money, business advisory and support) 2.04 Not separately reported in sources reviewed
Combined (approximate) ~30.7 —

Alongside revenue, the operating scale grew far faster:

Where the money comes from

The surprise in ET Money’s mix is how much of the money it “manages” it never actually holds or earns on. Two buckets sit side by side:

The paying core is narrow and specific:

So the revenue geography is not geographic at all; it is a funnel. Millions track and invest for free, a few lakh transact, and roughly 76,000 pay for advice. That thin paying layer, plus partner distribution fees, is where the money actually comes from.

The risks

The takeaway

The transferable lesson from ET Money is that giving away the obvious revenue can be the strategy, not the sacrifice, if you are clear about what you are buying with it. Kalra gave away mutual-fund commissions to buy trust and scale, then sold access to that trust through advice, insurance, and loans. The catch is patience and ownership. It took a first failure, a corporate parent willing to fund a slow-burning brand for years, and a buyer with a balance sheet to turn ₹70,000 crore of watched money into a ₹366 crore outcome. Free is a wedge, not a business. The business is what you are allowed to sell once people trust you.

Frequently asked questions

Is ET Money owned by the Economic Times newspaper?

No. ET Money uses the “ET” brand associated with Economic Times, but it is a separate fintech product. It was built and owned by Times Internet, The Times Group’s digital arm, and since June 2024 it has been owned by 360 ONE WAM. The newspaper and the app are distinct businesses.

Who founded ET Money and what did they do before?

ET Money was founded by Mukesh Kalra, with Santosh Navlani as COO. Both were earlier at InMobi and, in 2009, co-founded Moneysights, an online investment platform that stalled around 2012 and was acquired by Times Internet in October 2014.

How much did 360 ONE pay for ET Money?

About ₹365.8 crore, reported at roughly $44 million, in a deal announced on 13 June 2024. It was structured as ₹85.83 crore in cash plus 35,90,000 360 ONE equity shares issued at about ₹779 each.

If direct mutual funds are free, how does ET Money make money?

It earns from the ET Money Genius advisory subscription (from about ₹249 per month), distribution fees on insurance, NPS and fixed deposits, referral income on loans, loans against mutual funds from July 2025, and some paywalled analytics. The direct funds themselves are commission-free.

How large is ET Money?

At its June 2024 sale, the app tracked about ₹70,000 crore of assets, with roughly ₹28,000 crore invested on the platform, over 9 lakh transacting clients, and more than 76,000 paying ET Money Genius subscribers holding about ₹1,200 crore.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026 or the earlier dates cited against each fact. Where a US dollar equivalent appears, it is as reported by the cited source, not a conversion computed here.

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version