Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : Exponent Energy — Missed its Rs 600 crore revenue target by 95% and still won a 56% valuation step-up

In December 2023, Exponent Energy told the press it expected to be a ₹600 crore revenue company by 2025. Its audited revenue for FY25, the year to March 2025, came in at ₹30.2 crore — about one-twentieth of that number — and yet in June 2026 the same investors, joined by two new ones, put another ₹200 crore (about $21 million, company-stated) into the business at a valuation roughly 56% higher than the last round. That gap between promise and print is the most interesting thing about the company, and this piece tries to explain why the money kept coming anyway.

Exponent is a Bengaluru company founded by two former Ather Energy executives who decided the vehicle was no longer the problem in Indian electric mobility; the energy around it was. Their answer is a closed system of battery pack, charging station and connector that takes a commercial three-wheeler from empty to full in 15 minutes using ordinary lithium iron phosphate cells, backed by a 3,000-cycle warranty. As of September 2026 the company’s own website counts more than 2,000 vehicles on its packs, 162-plus charging stations and over 315,000 rapid-charging sessions. Those are real numbers. They are also a long way short of the 25,000 vehicles and 1,000 stations the founders promised for 2025, and the story of that shortfall says a lot about how hard energy infrastructure is to scale in India.

Quick facts

Company Exponent Energy Private Limited (CIN U34300KA2020PTC139964), registered at Kammasandra Village, Electronics City, Bengaluru
Founded Incorporated 20 October 2020 (MCA records via Tofler); publicly launched October 2021; commercial operations began March 2023 (Forbes India)
Founder(s) Arun Vinayak (co-founder and CEO; IIT Madras; founding partner and chief product officer at Ather Energy) and Sanjay Byalal Jagannath (co-founder and COO; ex-Ather hardware sourcing and cell strategy; earlier at Hindustan Unilever)
Businesses e^pack battery packs, e^pump rapid-charging stations and e^plug connectors for commercial EVs (cargo and passenger three-wheelers, intercity buses); Exponent OTO fleet platform; Exponent ONE financing and asset-management arm
Latest FY revenue ₹30.2 crore in FY25 (year to March 2025), up from ₹16.4 crore in FY24, per filings reported by Entrackr
Latest FY profit/loss Net loss of ₹65 crore in FY25, down 66% from ₹192 crore in FY24 (Entrackr)
Listed Private; no IPO announced as of September 2026
Market value / last valuation About ₹1,250–1,300 crore post-money on the 2026 Series B2, per Entrackr’s March 2026 filing estimate (IMARC put it at ₹1,300 crore in June 2026); prior round was ₹797 crore in December 2023
Key shareholders Institutional funds 70.12%, founders 15.34%, ESOP pool 10.00%, enterprises 3.46%, angels 1.07% (Tracxn, as of 28 May 2026); backers include Eight Roads Ventures, Lightspeed, TDK Ventures, 360 ONE Asset, YourNest, 3one4 Capital, AdvantEdge VC and Hitachi Ventures

What they do

Exponent sells a matched pair: a proprietary battery pack (the e^pack) that goes into a partner OEM’s electric vehicle, and a proprietary charging station (the e^pump) that can refill that pack from 0% to 100% in 15 minutes, connected through a 600-ampere e^plug. The customers are commercial operators — last-mile cargo fleets, individual auto-rickshaw drivers and, since 2024, intercity bus builders — who earn money only while the vehicle is moving and therefore value a 15-minute stop far more than a private car owner would. The pack uses standard LFP cells; the speed comes from a battery-management system the company says senses voltage with ten times the usual accuracy, and from a water-cooling loop housed in the charger rather than the vehicle, which pumps 10°C refrigerated water through the pack while it charges. Vehicles currently running on the stack include Altigreen’s neEV Tez cargo three-wheeler, Omega Seiki Mobility’s Stream City Qik passenger auto and Rage+ Qik, and Montra Electric’s Super Cargo, according to the company’s website and press coverage. Around the hardware, Exponent has added Exponent OTO, a fleet-operations platform, and Exponent ONE, a financing and asset-management arm launched in early 2026 (company statement, June 2026).

The origin

Arun Vinayak was a founding partner at Ather Energy from 2014 and its chief product officer for roughly seven years, where he led the development of the Ather 450X, as per Entrepreneur India’s February 2024 profile. He was 32 when that profile ran, which means he built his first vehicle as a teenager and spent his twenties inside one of India’s earliest EV companies. Sanjay Byalal Jagannath ran hardware strategic sourcing and cell strategy at Ather after a stint in supply chain and operations at Hindustan Unilever, per Inc42’s October 2021 launch coverage. By 2020 the two had watched Ather prove that an electric scooter could match a petrol one on ride quality, and had concluded that the vehicle was no longer the bottleneck. The three questions buyers still asked, Vinayak told Forbes India, were where do I charge, how long will it take and how long will my battery last. Every existing answer traded one against the other: charge fast and the cells degrade, charge slowly and the vehicle sits idle. The founding insight, in Vinayak’s words to Entrepreneur India, was that “by fixing the broken energy system from both the battery and the charging side” you could unlock 15-minute charging while guaranteeing 3,000 cycles on regular cells. The physics is unforgiving — the company’s product page notes that a 15-minute charge generates 256 times more heat than a four-hour slow charge — so the answer had to be a system, not a component. They incorporated the company on 20 October 2020, raised seed money from YourNest, 3one4 Capital and AdvantEdge along with angels including BlackBuck’s Rajesh Yabaji and LetsTransport’s Pushkar Singh, and launched publicly a year later. A second insight shaped the target market: commercial vehicles are about 10% of vehicles on Indian roads but consume roughly 70% of on-road transport energy, a framing Eight Roads Ventures repeated when it led the Series B. If you are going to spend money solving energy, you go where the energy is.

The struggle years

The early years were long on ambition and short on product. At launch in October 2021, Exponent described a “Flexible Energy Stack” for two-, three- and four-wheelers and commercial vehicles; Inc42 noted at the time that it was unclear whether the company would be a charging network or an energy-management platform. The answer took a while. Entrackr’s reading of the filings shows the company was pre-revenue through FY22 (the year to March 2022), and Forbes India reports that commercial operations began only in March 2023 — nearly two and a half years after incorporation. In between, the engineering problem was lithium plating and heat in LFP cells when pushed to a 4C charge rate, which Autocar Professional described in July 2023 as the specific obstacle the team had to work around. The company narrowed its scope to cargo three-wheelers first; as Vinayak later told TechCrunch, “We started with cargo to prove out the tech.” By November 2023, three years in, the entire network was 30 e^pumps, all in Bengaluru, per investor 3one4 Capital’s account.

The financial cost of that build shows in FY24, the first full year of revenue: ₹16.4 crore of revenue against a net loss of ₹192 crore, as per filings reported by Entrackr — roughly ₹11.7 lost for every rupee earned. It was against that backdrop that the company made the promises quoted at the top of this piece. In December 2023, with the Series B closed, Exponent said it would enter five new cities by the end of FY24, deploy 1,000 e^pumps and power 25,000 EVs by 2025, and reach ₹600 crore in revenue by 2025 (Entrackr, Business Today, YourStory). It also said it would enter the intercity e-bus segment in 2024. Some of that happened. By April 2024 the network stood at 60 stations across six cities (Delhi-NCR, Bengaluru, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Kolkata and Hyderabad) with 1,000-plus vehicles and 100,000-plus sessions, per TechCrunch. The bus, the Veera Mahasamrat EV, was unveiled in August 2024. But the 2025 targets were missed by a wide margin: FY25 revenue was ₹30.2 crore, one-twentieth of the stated goal, and the company’s own website in September 2026 lists 162-plus stations, 2,000-plus vehicles and four cities with charging infrastructure — fewer cities than it reported in 2024. Entrepreneur India noted in March 2026 that the Series B2 was the company’s first major raise in over two years. Tracxn’s company record also shows co-founder Sanjay Byalal moving to an advisory role in May 2026, although MCA records via Tofler still list him as a director as of September 2026; the company has not publicly commented on the change.

The turning point

The event that changed the shape of the business was not a funding round. It was the decision, announced on 12 April 2024, to put the e^pack into a passenger auto-rickshaw. Until then Exponent had sold to fleets — Alt Mobility had leased 1,000 neEV Tez units and Fyn Mobility had committed to 1,500, per 3one4 Capital — because fleet managers could be persuaded to plan routes around charging stops. The Omega Seiki Stream City Qik, priced at ₹3,24,999 with an 8.8 kWh pack and a company-stated 126 km range, went on sale on 15 May 2024 in Delhi and Bengaluru, as reported by TechCrunch. Vinayak’s explanation was that individual drivers “really love rapid charging because these guys can’t charge their vehicles at home” — the segment that cannot slow-charge overnight is the segment that most needs a 15-minute pump. On the other side of that launch the numbers moved. Before it, in February 2024, the company told Entrepreneur India its annual revenue run rate was ₹30 crore and it employed 180-plus people; TechCrunch put 2023 annual recurring revenue at about $6 million. After it, FY25 revenue rose 84% to ₹30.2 crore while the net loss fell 66% to ₹65 crore (Entrackr); Tofler’s summary of the FY25 filing shows borrowings down 89.75% year on year. The network went from 60 stations and 1,000-plus vehicles in April 2024 to 162-plus stations, 2,000-plus vehicles and 315,000-plus sessions by September 2026 (company website). And the same stack was stretched upward: the Veera Mahasamrat EV announced in August 2024 carries a 320 kWh pack charged at 1 megawatt, which Vinayak called the world’s third 1 MW charging technology after Tesla and Siemens (Autocar Professional). None of this hit the 2025 targets. But it turned a Bengaluru pilot into a multi-segment product with a falling loss line, and that is what the 2026 round priced.

The money behind it

Exponent has raised in five main steps, each with a different kind of investor doing the work:

What each backer changed is visible in the company’s language. Lightspeed’s Series A came with the framing of Exponent as “a B2B energy stack company”, which is when the consumer two-wheeler ambitions quietly disappeared. Eight Roads brought the commercial-vehicle thesis (10% of vehicles, 70% of energy) that now anchors the pitch. TDK Ventures, the venture arm of a Japanese components group, was its first India EV investment in 2023 and co-led the 2026 round; its published investment memo is one of the few detailed technical validations of the stack in the public domain. 360 ONE Asset and Hitachi Ventures are the 2026 additions — domestic growth capital and a second Japanese industrial, respectively — for what Vinayak calls “Exponent 2.0”.

How it makes money

Exponent does not publish a revenue split or a per-kWh tariff, so what follows is the model as described by the company, its investors and the trade press:

The numbers

All figures in ₹ crore, as reported from company filings by Entrackr unless stated. The company has not published FY23 figures; Entrackr noted in December 2023 that the FY23 audited report had not yet been filed, and no subsequent report of it was found.

Fiscal year Revenue (₹ crore) Net loss (₹ crore) Note
FY22 (to March 2022) Pre-revenue Not reported Entrackr, December 2023
FY23 (to March 2023) Not publicly reported Not publicly reported Commercial operations began March 2023 (Forbes India)
FY24 (to March 2024) 16.4 192 Entrackr
FY25 (to March 2025) 30.2 (up 84%) 65 (down 66%) Entrackr; Tofler shows total revenue up 83.9%

Where the money comes from

Exponent discloses no revenue split by segment or geography. What can be assembled from public sources is the shape of the network:

The surprise is where density comes from. The stations that hit 41 sessions a day were in one city, Bengaluru, and served vehicles that cannot charge at home. Exponent’s economics improve with concentration, not spread — which is the opposite of how a public charging network grows, and probably explains why the city count has gone down while station and vehicle counts have gone up.

The risks

The takeaway

The lesson in Exponent is about what a system business can and cannot control. By designing the pack, the pump and the plug together, the founders solved a physics problem nobody else in India had solved at that price point — 15 minutes, 3,000 cycles, commodity cells, a certification from TÜV India showing 13% degradation where the industry norm is over 30%. But a closed system’s growth rate is set by its slowest partner, and the partners here are small vehicle makers whose annual volumes are a rounding error next to a 25,000-vehicle target. The 2026 round was not a reward for hitting numbers; it was a reward for cutting the loss by two-thirds while the revenue doubled, which told investors the model works at the unit level even if the top line is small. For any founder building infrastructure that only works when someone else’s product is attached to it, the transferable rule is this: publish the numbers you control — utilisation per station, cycles per pack, loss per rupee of revenue — and let someone else forecast the volume.

Frequently asked questions

What does Exponent Energy actually sell?

A proprietary battery pack (e^pack) that partner OEMs fit into commercial electric vehicles, and a network of proprietary charging stations (e^pumps) that recharge that pack from 0% to 100% in 15 minutes. It also runs a fleet-operations platform, Exponent OTO, and a financing and asset-management arm, Exponent ONE. The pumps only work with Exponent packs.

Who founded Exponent Energy and when?

Arun Vinayak, a founding partner and former chief product officer at Ather Energy, and Sanjay Byalal Jagannath, who ran hardware sourcing and cell strategy at Ather. The company was incorporated in Bengaluru on 20 October 2020 and launched publicly in October 2021.

How much revenue does Exponent Energy make, and is it profitable?

Revenue was ₹30.2 crore in FY25, up from ₹16.4 crore in FY24, with a net loss of ₹65 crore in FY25 against ₹192 crore in FY24, according to filings reported by Entrackr. It is not profitable.

What is Exponent Energy’s valuation and who are its investors?

The June 2026 Series B2 of ₹200 crore was co-led by 360 ONE Asset and TDK Ventures at a post-money valuation estimated at ₹1,250–1,300 crore by Entrackr. Other investors include Eight Roads Ventures, Lightspeed, YourNest, 3one4 Capital, AdvantEdge VC and Hitachi Ventures. Total funding is $65.7 million, per the company.

How does 15-minute charging not destroy the battery?

The company uses standard LFP cells but pairs them with a battery-management system it says senses voltage with ten times the usual accuracy and an off-board cooling loop in the charger that pumps 10°C water through the pack during charging. It offers a 3,000-cycle warranty and cites TÜV India testing showing 13% degradation over those cycles.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version