By the time Falcon told the press it had never taken a single rupee of institutional money, it had already quietly closed a seed round. The Gurugram-based banking-as-a-service platform emerged from stealth in January 2022 claiming it had processed more than $200 million in payments on nothing but angel cheques and its own transaction fees, even as records show its first seed round had closed two months earlier.
That contradiction is a footnote next to the bigger one: the company behind Falcon started life in 2017 as a consumer payments app called Kite Cash, burned cash for years, and pivoted twice before anyone outside fintech circles had heard the Falcon name. Four rounds and reported total funding of $9.31 million later, it counts ICICI Bank among its shareholders and banks such as YES Bank, IndusInd Bank and Punjab National Bank among its clients. This is the story of how that pivot happened, what the numbers say now, and what is still not public.
Quick facts
| Company | Falcon (operating brand of Falcon FS; falconfs.com) |
| Founded | 2017, as consumer app Kite Cash; rebuilt and relaunched as Falcon in January 2022 |
| Founders | Prabhtej Bhatia and Priyanka Kanwar |
| Businesses | Banking-as-a-service / embedded finance infrastructure: card issuance, UPI-linked credit, lending, BNPL, FASTag, deposits |
| Latest FY revenue | Rs 50-100 crore band, FY25 (as of 31 March 2025, per Tracxn) |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Not publicly disclosed; company says it reached unit-level profitability (reported, December 2022) |
| Listed | Private, no IPO |
| Market value / last funding | Valuation undisclosed; total funding reported at $9.31 million across four rounds since 2021 (Tracxn) |
| Key shareholders | ICICI Bank, FZM Opportunities, angel investors including Shamir Karkal and Rangarajan Krishnan |
What Falcon does
Falcon sells banking infrastructure, not banking. Its customers are banks, non-bank lenders and consumer tech companies that want to launch a card, a UPI-linked credit line, a fixed deposit product or a lending product without building the processing, compliance and issuance stack themselves. Falcon says it packages that stack into APIs and no-code tools so a partner can go from idea to a live product in days rather than the nine to twelve months a from-scratch build with a legacy bank system typically takes, and it prices itself into the transaction economics of the product it enables (as per the company, reported by ANI/Business Standard, January 2022). Its own bank and network partners, named in company communications, include ICICI Bank, YES Bank, IndusInd Bank, Punjab National Bank, Visa and the National Payments Corporation of India, or NPCI (as per Falcon, reported by Forbes India, December 2022).
The origin
Priyanka Kanwar’s interest in financial access did not start with a term sheet. At 17, she filmed a documentary on microfinance and travelled to Honduras, Mexico, Uganda and Bangladesh to see how small, sustainable financial services actually reached poor households. At Yale, she carried that interest into one of the earliest academic studies of how India’s Direct Benefit Transfer programme was changing service delivery on the ground (as reported by Entrepreneur India). Her co-founder, Prabhtej Bhatia, was not a fintech veteran either: he was a childhood friend she had carpooled to school with, from a family with a more traditional business background (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022).
The two built their first company around a simple, consumer-facing idea: a peer-to-peer payments app called Kite Cash, launched in 2017. It found real usage. But the founding insight that eventually mattered was not the app itself, it was what they learned from watching it burn cash: that the hard, valuable, defensible part of Indian fintech was not the consumer front end, it was the plumbing behind it, the part banks were too slow and too legacy-bound to build themselves.
The struggle years
Kite Cash worked, in the sense that people used it. By the founders’ own account, the app processed more than $100 million in transactions and reached roughly 1.5 lakh users across 2,000 cities (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022). It also lost money every month, the ordinary curse of consumer payments apps that pay out more in incentives than they earn in take rate. Bhatia and Kanwar, without deep venture reserves to burn through, made the call to stop feeding a business that could not fund itself.
The first pivot was quieter than the eventual rebrand: Kite Cash narrowed into “Kite”, a business-to-business-to-consumer commercial payments vertical, letting banks, neobanks and software companies offer payment products to their own corporate and small-business clients (as reported by Entrepreneur India). That, in turn, organically grew into the far broader banking-as-a-service platform the founders would eventually rename Falcon. It took roughly five years, two changes of business model and, by the company’s own account, no institutional funding to get there. There was no single dramatic near-death; there was a slower, less photogenic kind of struggle, the kind where a founding team keeps narrowing what they sell until they find the part someone will actually pay for.
The turning point
The turning point was the decision to stop being a consumer app entirely and emerge, in January 2022, as Falcon: a full banking-as-a-service platform pitched squarely at banks and fintechs rather than end users. The numbers on either side of that shift are the clearest evidence of what changed. Before it, as Kite Cash, the business had scale but no disclosed revenue line worth reporting, only transaction volume and a burn rate. After it, in the fiscal year that had just closed, Falcon reported operating revenue of Rs 12 crore for FY22, and told Forbes India it was running at a revenue rate of Rs 80 crore (around $8.3 million, converted at $1 = Rs 96.0 as of 18 September 2026, Trading Economics) for FY23 (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022). A consumer app that could not cover its own incentives had turned into an infrastructure business charging banks for access to its rails, and the number attached to that business moved from a rounding error to something a reporter thought worth quoting.
The money behind it
Falcon’s funding shape is unusual for Indian fintech: it stayed off the institutional-funding radar for years, then built a capitalisation table stocked with fintech operators rather than pure financial investors.
- Bootstrapped phase (until late 2021): the founders say Falcon processed more than $200 million in total payment value before taking any institutional money (company-stated, reported by Business Standard/ANI, January 2022).
- Seed round, closed 8 November 2021: roughly $3 million from angel investors, led by FZM Opportunities, according to Tracxn’s funding data, which lines up with Forbes India’s separate reporting (December 2022) of “around $3 million” raised from angels at that stage — two independent sources pointing to the same rough figure.
- Named angel backers include Shamir Karkal, founder of US banking-infrastructure platform Sila Money; Abhay Hanjura and Vivek Gupta, founders of Licious; Jeremy Solomon, former chief financial officer of Affirm; Boling Jiang, founder of card-issuing platform Lithic; Rangarajan Krishnan, chief executive of Five Star Business Finance; Deepak Shahdadpuri, managing director of DSG Consumer Partners; and Devesh Sachdeva, managing director of Fusion Microfinance, alongside individual executives from SoftBank, Silicon Valley Bank, Robinhood and Meta (as reported by Business Standard/ANI, January 2022). Karkal and Jiang, in particular, gave Falcon direct operating experience from two of the US card-issuing and banking-infrastructure businesses it most resembles; Krishnan brought a working relationship with NBFC-style lending distribution.
- Total funding: Tracxn’s aggregation lists four funding rounds since November 2021, totalling a reported $9.31 million from 66 investors (28 institutional, 38 angel).
- Latest round: Tracxn records a Series A dated 1 August 2025 with ICICI Bank named as an investor. The deal size and any post-money valuation from that round are not confirmed by independent reporting at the time of writing, so they are not stated here as fact.
How it makes money
Falcon does not lend its own balance sheet at scale, and it is not a bank. It sits between banks that hold licences and balance sheets, and fintechs or corporates that want a financial product but not the regulatory overhead of running one.
- Transaction monetisation: Falcon earns through interchange and platform fees generated by the cards, UPI-linked credit lines and other instruments it issues on behalf of partner banks (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022).
- Licence-backed positioning: the company has described itself as the only technology company in India’s embedded-finance space holding both lending and issuance-related licences, a claim made by the company itself and not independently verified here (company-stated, via ANI, January 2022).
- Distribution through banks, not around them: rather than competing with banks for customers, Falcon sells them the infrastructure to compete with newer fintechs, working with ICICI Bank, YES Bank, IndusInd Bank and Punjab National Bank as of the partnerships disclosed to date (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022).
- The part people get wrong: because Falcon issues cards and enables credit, it is easy to assume it is a lender taking credit risk. By its own account and that of the reporting on it, the credit risk and the licence sit with the partner bank or NBFC; Falcon’s revenue comes from enabling and processing the product, not from holding the loan book.
The numbers
Falcon is privately held and does not publish audited results, so the numbers available are a mix of company statements to journalists and third-party aggregator estimates. They should be read as a trajectory, not a precise ledger; profit and loss figures in particular are not public for any year.
| Period | Revenue (Rs crore) | Profit/loss | Source |
| FY22 | 12 (operating revenue) | Not disclosed | Forbes India, December 2022 |
| FY23 | 80 (stated run-rate, not closing revenue) | Company said it had reached unit-level profitability; no figure disclosed | Forbes India, December 2022 |
| FY24 | Not independently disclosed | Not disclosed | — |
| FY25 | 50-100 (range) | Not disclosed | Tracxn, as of 31 March 2025 |
- FY22 revenue: Rs 12 crore, described by the company as operating revenue in its first full year as Falcon (Forbes India, December 2022).
- FY23 run-rate: Rs 80 crore, or roughly $8.3 million at $1 = Rs 96.0 (Trading Economics, 18 September 2026) — a run-rate stated in late 2022, not an audited closing number for the year.
- FY25 revenue: reported in a Rs 50-100 crore band by data aggregator Tracxn, as of 31 March 2025; no narrower figure or FY24 comparison point is independently available.
- Headcount: 78 employees as of April 2025 (Tracxn), a proxy for scale in the absence of a published profit and loss statement.
Where the money comes from
Falcon frames its addressable market in total payment value (TPV), not revenue, which makes it harder to compare with peers but is consistent with how it has talked about itself since launch.
- Product mix: credit cards, prepaid cards, cardless payments, UPI-linked credit, buy-now-pay-later, FASTag and fixed deposits (as reported by Business Standard/ANI, January 2022).
- Bank-channel distribution: named partners span private banks (ICICI Bank, YES Bank, IndusInd Bank) and a public sector bank (Punjab National Bank), plus network relationships with Visa and NPCI (Forbes India, December 2022).
- Geographic ambition versus disclosed reality: the company’s stated long-term target is to become an embedded-finance platform across the Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa (APMEA) region, aiming for $30 billion in TPV; its disclosed partnerships to date are overwhelmingly India-based bank relationships (company-stated, via ANI/Financial Express, January 2023). That gap between the regional ambition and the India-only partner list disclosed publicly is the surprise: the APMEA story is aspirational, not yet evidenced in named non-Indian partnerships.
- Market backdrop: India’s embedded finance market was estimated at $24.03 billion in 2025, growing 12.4% year-on-year, after a 2021-2025 CAGR of 17.8%; it is forecast to grow at an 8.8% CAGR from 2026 to reach roughly $33.69 billion by 2030 (ResearchAndMarkets.com, via Business Wire, November 2025). This is market-level context, not a Falcon-specific figure, and is not a claim about Falcon’s own share of it.
The risks
- Selling infrastructure to slow buyers: Falcon’s own framing of the market problem, that banks lack cloud-native, API-ready infrastructure, cuts both ways. The same banks are also Falcon’s customers, and their pace of adoption, procurement and internal sign-off directly gates how fast Falcon can grow revenue (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022).
- Regulatory and compliance cost exposure: the business sits inside a segment, credit cards, UPI-linked credit and BNPL, that has seen repeated regulatory tightening in India in recent years; rising compliance costs were flagged by the company itself as an ongoing challenge (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022).
- Long, relationship-driven sales cycles: enterprise deals with banks and NBFCs take time to build and are hard to shorten with better software alone, a constraint the company has acknowledged rather than downplayed (as reported by Forbes India, December 2022).
The takeaway
The lesson in Falcon’s history is not the funding round or the bank logos, it is the order of operations. The founders spent five years and two pivots finding the layer of the payments stack that a customer would pay a recurring fee for, rather than raising money to chase a consumer idea they had already watched burn cash once. The infrastructure business only got named, funded and reported on once the underlying economics, revenue against a partner bank’s rails, had already started to work. For a founder team anywhere, the transferable point is the same: scale without a business model is a vanity metric, and it is worth almost nothing to an investor, or to the founders themselves, until it is converted into something a partner will pay for month after month.
Frequently asked questions
What does Falcon actually do?
Falcon builds the banking infrastructure, cards, UPI-linked credit, lending and deposit products, that banks and fintechs use to launch financial products without building the processing and compliance stack themselves, earning through interchange and platform fees on the transactions it enables (as reported by Forbes India and Business Standard/ANI).
Is Falcon the same company as FalconX?
No. FalconX is a separate, US-based digital-asset trading firm with no reported connection to this company. This article covers Falcon (also referred to in coverage as Falcon FS or Falcon Fintech), the Gurugram-founded banking-as-a-service platform started by Prabhtej Bhatia and Priyanka Kanwar.
How much money has Falcon raised, and who backs it?
Data aggregator Tracxn lists total funding of $9.31 million across four rounds since November 2021, from 66 investors. Named backers reported in the press include FZM Opportunities, Shamir Karkal, Rangarajan Krishnan, Abhay Hanjura and Vivek Gupta, and, in a later round recorded by Tracxn, ICICI Bank. Exact amounts for the most recent rounds are not independently confirmed.
Is Falcon profitable?
The company told Forbes India in December 2022 that it had reached unit-level profitability, but it does not publish an audited profit and loss statement, so no verified net income or loss figure exists for any year.
What was Kite Cash, and why does it matter to Falcon’s story?
Kite Cash was the founders’ first product, a consumer peer-to-peer payments app launched in 2017 that processed more than $100 million in transactions but could not become profitable. Its failure as a standalone consumer business is what pushed Bhatia and Kanwar to pivot toward selling infrastructure to banks instead, eventually becoming Falcon.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ Rs 96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Forbes India, “From flying to soaring: Falcon and its Banking-as-a-Service (BaaS) flight”, December 2022
- Entrepreneur India, “The Fintech Trailblazer” (profile of Priyanka Kanwar), 2023
- Business Standard / ANI press release, “Embedded finance start-up Falcon eyes $30 million revenue by March 2023”, January 2022
- The Print / ANI press release, “Embedded Finance Startup Falcon emerges from Stealth”, January 2022
- IBS Intelligence, “Falcon emerges from stealth, aims to hit $30m revenue by March ’23”, January 2022
- Outlook Business, “YES Bank Partners With BaaS Start-Up Falcon To Foray Into Embedded Finance Market”, January 2023
- IndianWeb2.com, “YES BANK Partners with BaaS Startup Falcon To Tap into Embedded Finance Market”, January 2023
- This Week India, “Embedded Finance Startup Falcon appoints ex-banker Chinmaya Desai as Chief Business Officer”, February 2022
- Tracxn, company profile and funding/investors data for Falcon, accessed September 2026
- CB Insights, company profile for Falcon, accessed September 2026
- Business Wire / ResearchAndMarkets.com, “India Embedded Finance Databook Report 2025”, November 2025
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.
