Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : Finnable — it took four years to disburse its first loan, then built a Rs 3,000 crore book

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for Finnable.

Finnable spent almost four years as a registered company before it lent anyone a rupee. It was incorporated in August 2015 as Finnable Credit Private Limited, and its first loan, a Rs 2 lakh disbursement for a customer’s wedding, did not go out until 2019 (Finnable, company milestones page).

That gap between paperwork and product turned out to matter less than what came after: an NBFC built to lend to salaried Indians earning Rs 15,000 to Rs 50,000 a month, a segment most banks skip, that has since scaled its loan book to about Rs 3,000 crore, earned its first credit rating, and flipped from a Rs 5.88 crore loss to a Rs 6.74 crore profit in a single financial year (CARE Ratings, September 2025; Entrackr, November 2025).

Quick facts

Company Finnable (Finnable Credit Private Limited; NBFC arm of Finnable Technologies Private Limited)
Founded Incorporated August 2015; first loan disbursed 2019 (Zaubacorp/MCA registry; Finnable milestones page)
Founder(s) Nitin Gupta and Viraj Tyagi (2015); Amit Arora joined as co-founder in June 2019
Businesses Digital personal loans and secured property loans to salaried professionals
Latest FY revenue Rs 278.49 crore (FY25, up 52% YoY) (Entrackr, Inc42, November 2025)
Latest FY profit/loss Profit of Rs 6.74 crore (FY25), against a loss of Rs 5.88 crore in FY24 (Entrackr, Inc42, November 2025)
Listed Private (not listed on any exchange)
Market value / last valuation Reported at about Rs 1,300 crore ($135 million) post-money, November 2025 (Entrackr; india.entrepreneur.com)
Key shareholders / CEO Nitin Gupta (CEO); Z47, TVS Capital, MEMG Family Office (Ranjan Pai), Manipal Global among backers

What they do

Finnable is an RBI-registered NBFC that sells personal loans, and a smaller line of property-backed loans, to salaried professionals who earn between Rs 15,000 and Rs 50,000 a month, a band the company says makes up 60 to 70% of India’s formally employed, creditworthy population but is largely ignored by mainstream banks (Z47, “Meet the founders of Finnable”, 2025). Loan sizes run from roughly Rs 25,000 to Rs 10 lakh, with an average ticket of about Rs 2.5 lakh and an average tenure of 42 months (Inc42, November 2025). The company says 65% of its customers are first-time personal loan borrowers (Finnable newsroom, November 2025).

The origin

Nitin Gupta and Viraj Tyagi were not first-time founders. The pair had earlier built NettPositive Analytics, a data and credit-analytics business, in 2007, and sold it to the credit bureau Equifax (YourStory, July 2019). That earlier run gave them a close look at India’s credit files, and at a gap in them: banks price and lend confidently to India’s top-tier salaried class, and microfinance and informal lenders serve the very bottom, but the broad middle of salaried, provident-fund-backed earners in between is treated as too small-ticket and too costly to underwrite individually (Z47, 2025). Finnable was built on the bet that this middle segment could be underwritten profitably if the process was digitised end to end, using account-aggregator bank statements, employment verification APIs, and machine-scored risk models, rather than the branch-heavy processes banks rely on (YourStory, July 2019; Finnable, “NBFC personal loan” explainer). Amit Arora, a 21-year retail banking veteran and a former global head of digital capabilities, joined as the third co-founder in June 2019, roughly when the company moved from planning to actually disbursing loans (SiliconIndia; CEOInsights India).

The struggle years

The company’s own registration date undersells how long it took to get moving: Finnable Credit Private Limited was incorporated in August 2015, but by its founders’ own account the business only disbursed its first loan, of Rs 2 lakh for a customer’s wedding, in 2019 (Finnable milestones page). For roughly its first four years, in other words, Finnable existed mostly on paper while its founders built underwriting models and lending-partner relationships rather than a loan book.

Even after launch, profitability did not follow quickly. In FY23, Finnable’s revenue crossed Rs 100 crore but the company still posted a net loss of Rs 19.51 crore (Entrackr, citing FY23 filings). The founders have described 2020 as a genuine stress test: the pandemic hit just as the company was trying to prove out a collections model for a customer segment, lower-middle-income salaried borrowers, that had no track record through a shock of that scale. Rather than build a call-centre-first collections operation, Finnable made collections its third hire and layered on more than 200 fraud and risk rules drawn from field intelligence gathered through its on-ground loan agents (Z47, 2025). The company also had to rework its go-to-market model mid-course, shifting from a purely digital acquisition push to what its co-founders call a “phygital” approach: digital underwriting paired with a network of on-ground agents (DSAs) for sourcing and verification, after realising digital-only acquisition could not reach or convert its target customer at scale (LinkedIn, Amit Arora, 2025; Z47, 2025).

The turning point

The clearest before-and-after in Finnable’s numbers sits between FY24 and FY25. In FY24, the company posted a net loss of Rs 5.88 crore on revenue of Rs 181.7 crore. A year later, revenue grew 52% to Rs 278.49 crore and the company swung to a net profit of Rs 6.74 crore, a turnaround of roughly Rs 12.6 crore in a single year (Entrackr; Inc42, both November 2025, citing FY25 filings). The same period saw its loan book cross from about Rs 1,900 crore (2024) to roughly Rs 2,924 crore by June 2025 and about Rs 3,000 crore by the third quarter of FY26 (Finnable milestones page; india.entrepreneur.com, November 2025), and it earned its first-ever formal credit rating, a BBB+ from CARE Ratings in September 2025, “among the few young NBFCs to achieve that in their first cycle” per the rating agency’s own framing (CARE Ratings press release, September 2025). Taken together, the founders point to this stretch as proof that a collections-led, risk-first model, built and stress-tested through the setbacks of the pandemic years, could scale without asset quality deteriorating: gross NPAs stood at just 0.33% as of 30 September 2025 (CARE Ratings, revised report, January 2026).

The money behind it

Finnable has raised a reported Rs 540 crore in total across five rounds since 2018, from about 30 investors (Entrackr, November 2025; Tracxn funding data). The shape of that funding:

That round valued Finnable at a reported Rs 1,300 crore (about $135 million, at $1 = Rs 96.0 as of 18 September 2026, Trading Economics) post-money, though the company’s own press release on the raise did not disclose a valuation figure, so the number should be read as reported rather than company-confirmed (Entrackr; india.entrepreneur.com; Finnable newsroom, all November 2025). Z47’s Vikram Vaidyanathan cited the company’s “industry-leading asset quality,” and TVS Capital’s Krishna Ramachandran called it a “capital-efficient business with great credit underwriting,” in comments carried in Finnable’s own release (Finnable newsroom, November 2025).

How it makes money

Finnable earns as a lender, not a marketplace: it books interest income on the personal and property loans on its own book, at a reported yield of around 25% (Inc42, November 2025), and supplements that with income from co-lending arrangements where partner banks and NBFCs share the loan and the economics. Its named co-lending and funding partners include Tata Capital, Piramal Capital, Utkarsh Small Finance Bank, Northern Arc Capital, TVS Credit Services and DMI Finance (Finnable, “Digital & Lending Partners” page).

The numbers

Revenue and profit/loss, FY23 to FY25 (unit: Rs crore):

Fiscal year Revenue (Rs crore) Profit / (loss) (Rs crore)
FY23 >100 (exact figure not separately disclosed) (19.51)
FY24 181.7 (5.88)
FY25 278.49 6.74

(Entrackr, November 2025, citing FY23-FY25 regulatory filings; Inc42, November 2025.)

Where the money comes from

Finnable does not publish a full geographic or channel revenue split, but the company’s own disclosures point to a concentrated customer and product mix:

The risks

The takeaway

Finnable’s founders describe their approach as building “a business that earns trust before it earns scale” (Finnable newsroom, November 2025, quoting Nitin Gupta). The company’s own history backs that framing more than most founder quotes do: four years of near-invisible build-out before the first loan, a mid-course pivot away from digital-only acquisition once it stopped working, collections hired as the company’s third employee rather than an afterthought, and a credit rating and profit only arriving a full decade after incorporation. The transferable lesson is not about speed. It is that in a lending business, the underwriting and collections discipline built during the slow, unglamorous years is what eventually lets a company grow fast without its loan book breaking.

Frequently asked questions

What does Finnable do?

Finnable is an RBI-registered NBFC that provides digital personal loans, and a smaller line of secured property loans, to salaried professionals earning roughly Rs 15,000 to Rs 50,000 a month, a segment it says is underserved by mainstream banks (Z47, 2025; Finnable newsroom, November 2025).

Who founded Finnable and when?

Finnable was incorporated in August 2015 by Nitin Gupta and Viraj Tyagi, former bankers who had earlier founded and sold NettPositive Analytics to Equifax; Amit Arora joined as a third co-founder in June 2019, around when the company disbursed its first loan (YourStory, July 2019; Finnable milestones page; SiliconIndia).

How much has Finnable raised, and at what valuation?

Finnable has raised a reported Rs 540 crore across five rounds since 2018, most recently a Rs 500 crore Series C from Z47 and TVS Capital announced in November 2025, which reports put its post-money valuation at about Rs 1,300 crore ($135 million); the company itself has not disclosed a valuation figure (Entrackr; india.entrepreneur.com, November 2025).

Is Finnable profitable?

Yes, as of its most recently reported year. Finnable posted a net profit of Rs 6.74 crore in FY25 on revenue of Rs 278.49 crore, up from a Rs 5.88 crore loss in FY24 and a Rs 19.51 crore loss in FY23 (Entrackr, November 2025).

What is Finnable’s credit rating and asset quality like?

Finnable Credit Private Limited received its first formal credit rating, BBB+, from CARE Ratings in September 2025. As of 30 September 2025, its gross NPA ratio stood at 0.33% and its 90-plus-days-past-due ratio at 1.07% (CARE Ratings, September 2025 and January 2026).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version