Fourth Partner Energy has taken ₹2,431 crore ($253 million) of equity from some of the most disciplined climate investors in the world — Norfund, TPG’s Rise Fund, IFC, ADB and DEG — and still reported a consolidated net loss of ₹263.5 crore in FY25. That is not a red flag. It is the business model working as designed.
A rooftop solar plant costs money to build today and pays it back over 15 to 25 years of electricity bills. Fourth Partner has spent a decade converting patient foreign capital into more than 1.2 gigawatts of running solar and wind assets, and the accounting losses are the price of owning them rather than just building them for someone else. The company that started as a plain solar contractor in Hyderabad in 2010 is now, on ICRA’s reading, among the largest commercial-and-industrial renewable platforms in India — with a balance sheet that shows exactly why that took so long and cost so much.
Quick facts
| Company | Fourth Partner Energy Private Limited (CIN U40108TG2010PTC070806) |
| Founded | 12 October 2010, Hyderabad, Telangana |
| Founder(s) | Vivek Subramanian, Saif Dhorajiwala, Vikas Saluguti |
| Businesses | Solar, wind and hybrid EPC; distributed and open-access renewable power (IPP); battery storage and EV charging |
| Latest FY revenue | Standalone operating income ₹1,691.1 crore (FY25, audited via ICRA); consolidated ₹779.2 crore |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Standalone PAT +₹63.2 crore (FY25); consolidated PAT −₹263.5 crore (FY25) |
| Listed | Private (unlisted); no IPO announced as of September 2026 |
| Last funding / equity raised | ₹2,431 crore aggregate equity infused by investors to date (ICRA, September 2025); $275 million round led by IFC–ADB–DEG announced August 2024 |
| Key shareholders / leadership | Norfund (largest shareholder), TPG Rise Fund, IFC, ADB, DEG; Vivek Subramanian and Saif Dhorajiwala, co-founders and executive directors |
What Fourth Partner Energy does
Fourth Partner Energy builds and operates renewable power plants for commercial, industrial and institutional customers who want to cut their grid electricity bill and their carbon footprint. It sells two things: engineering, and electrons.
- Engineering (EPC): at the parent-company level, it is primarily an engineering, procurement and construction contractor — it evaluates, designs, procures, builds and maintains solar, wind, hybrid, battery-storage and EV-charging systems for clients (ICRA, September 2025).
- Electrons (IPP / opex model): through dozens of special-purpose vehicles it owns the plants itself and sells the power to customers under long-term power-purchase agreements (PPAs), across both rooftop “distributed” and utility-scale “open-access” formats.
- Scale: around 2,000 commissioned projects for 300-plus clients, with offices in 13 Indian cities and operations across five countries (IFC, August 2024).
The origin
The founding was less an epiphany than a process of elimination. Vivek Subramanian and Saif Dhorajiwala had both worked at Avigo Capital, an SME-focused private-equity fund; Subramanian had earlier been at Accenture, Dhorajiwala had run Tata Motors in Turkey after coming up through the Tata Administrative Services. When they and Vikas Saluguti decided to build something of their own in 2010, they brainstormed ideas as varied as a cricket venture and a cow ranch before settling on a basic, unglamorous need: power. Because none of them was an engineer by training, a software startup was ruled out early; decentralised solar for Indian businesses was a problem they could actually finance and manage.
The name encodes the pitch. The three founders treated every stakeholder — the customer, the supplier, the employee, the financier — as the “fourth partner” in the business (company statement, fourthpartner.co). It was a services-first identity from day one, which is why the company describes itself as a renewable energy services company rather than a panel installer.
The struggle years
Owning solar assets is a slow, capital-hungry way to make money, and the financial statements show how long the grind lasted. Two features of the early and middle years stand out, and neither is flattering.
First, margins at the operating-contractor level were razor-thin for years. In FY24 the standalone business earned an operating margin (OPBDITA to operating income) of just 0.27% — effectively breakeven at the operating line — and it posted a standalone net loss of ₹89.1 crore that year (ICRA audited figures). A company doing more than ₹1,400 crore of revenue was barely covering its own overheads, because it kept spending ahead of revenue to build a future project pipeline.
Second, at the consolidated level — where the owned plants and their project debt sit — the losses were far larger and more persistent. Consolidated net loss was ₹329.4 crore in FY24 and ₹263.5 crore in FY25 (ICRA). The assets throw off healthy operating margins (consolidated OPBDIT margin was 55.9% in FY25), but depreciation on the plants and interest on the project loans swallow the operating profit and then some. The company also carried heavy leverage: consolidated total outside liabilities were 11.5 times tangible net worth in FY24 before fresh equity brought that down.
The turning point
The single event that reset the company was the equity round it announced in August 2024: a $275 million investment led by IFC ($125 million), the Asian Development Bank ($100 million) and Germany’s DEG ($50 million). The first $100 million of primary equity actually landed in the company in January 2025, with a further $100 million expected over the following year (ICRA, September 2025).
The numbers on either side of that infusion tell the story. Before it, the standalone business lost ₹89.1 crore in FY24 on a 0.27% operating margin. After it, in FY25, the standalone business turned a ₹63.2 crore net profit as operating margin climbed to 3.48%, and consolidated leverage fell sharply — total outside liabilities dropped from 11.5x tangible net worth to 4.7x, and total debt to operating profit from 22.3x to 14.3x (ICRA). On the back of that stronger balance sheet, ICRA upgraded Fourth Partner’s long-term rating to [ICRA]A (Stable) from [ICRA]A- in September 2025. Fresh equity did not make the company profitable overnight, but it took execution risk off the table and lowered the cost of the debt that funds the plants.
The money behind it
Fourth Partner’s cap table reads like a directory of development finance. What each backer changed matters more than the logos.
- Norfund + TPG Rise Fund (June 2021): a $125 million round, with Norfund putting in about $100 million and TPG’s Rise Fund about $25 million (YourStory, Investec, June 2021). Norfund became the largest shareholder (roughly $145 million to date, per IFC).
- IFC, ADB and DEG (announced August 2024): a $275 million equity commitment — IFC $125 million, ADB $100 million (including $30 million from its LEAP 2 fund), DEG $50 million — to push the portfolio toward a targeted 3.5 GW (IFC press release, 6 August 2024).
- Aggregate equity to date: Norfund, ADB, IFC, The Rise Fund (TPG) and DEG have together infused ₹2,431 crore ($253 million) of equity into the company (ICRA, September 2025).
- Debt and mezzanine backers: British International Investment (formerly CDC Group), Swiss impact manager responsAbility, Vivriti Capital and Yubi, plus project-level debt from domestic and international lenders raised through the asset-holding subsidiaries (ICRA).
Fourth Partner has not disclosed a headline equity valuation, and no reliable public valuation figure could be verified, so this piece does not state one.
How it makes money
The business earns from the same asset twice — once building it, then for years running it — and the two flows sit in different places on the group’s books.
- Development / EPC margin (parent): the standalone entity books revenue from executing projects and earns a “development margin” on that construction (ICRA). This is the high-revenue, low-margin part — ₹1,691.1 crore of operating income in FY25 at a 3.48% operating margin.
- Long-term power sales (SPVs): the special-purpose vehicles own the plants and sell electricity under long-term PPAs to C&I customers at tariffs pitched below the grid. This is the low-revenue, high-margin part — ₹779.2 crore of consolidated operating income at a 55.9% operating margin in FY25 (ICRA).
- Carbon credits: the company books additional revenue from the sale of carbon credits generated by its renewable assets (ICRA).
- Where the margin really sits — and the part people get wrong: the plants are genuinely profitable at the operating line, but depreciation and interest on project debt turn that operating profit into a bottom-line loss for now. The economics are back-loaded: the value shows up as the PPAs run their 15-to-25-year course, not in the year a plant is switched on.
The numbers
Fourth Partner is unlisted and reports on two bases. The standalone accounts capture the EPC business; the consolidated accounts add the owned plants and their debt. Both are shown below, in ₹ crore, from ICRA’s audited figures (FY23 revenue is a reported figure and its profit line was not separately verified).
| Financial year | Standalone operating income (₹ cr) | Standalone PAT (₹ cr) | Consolidated operating income (₹ cr) | Consolidated PAT (₹ cr) |
| FY23 | ~1,391 (reported) | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| FY24 | 1,417.2 | −89.1 | 568.8 | −329.4 |
| FY25 | 1,691.1 | +63.2 | 779.2 | −263.5 |
A few facts anchor the trend:
- Standalone revenue growth: operating income rose 19% year-on-year to ₹1,691.1 crore in FY25 (ICRA).
- Profit swing: standalone moved from a ₹89.1 crore loss (FY24) to a ₹63.2 crore profit (FY25); operating margin rose from 0.27% to 3.48%.
- Consolidated loss narrowing: consolidated net loss shrank from ₹329.4 crore (FY24) to ₹263.5 crore (FY25), even as revenue grew.
- Liquidity: consolidated cash balances were about ₹722 crore as on 30 June 2025 (ICRA), described as adequate for debt service.
Where the money comes from
The revenue splits by technology, by plant format and by geography, and the mix is shifting.
- By technology: commissioned capacity of about 1,243 MWp as of June 2025 was 1,056 MWp solar and 188 MW wind — a business that was pure solar until recently is now adding wind (ICRA).
- By format: the portfolio spans “distributed” (on-site rooftop and behind-the-meter) and “open-access” (off-site utility-scale plants that wheel power to customers over the grid).
- The surprise in the numbers: the on-site rooftop portfolio, the company’s original business, actually generates less reliably than its newer open-access plants — average plant load factor (PLF) for the on-site fleet was 14.2% in FY25 versus 19.4% for open access, dragging the overall PLF to 17.4% (ICRA). Adding wind, which runs at higher load factors, is partly a fix for that.
- By geography: the group consolidates well over a hundred subsidiaries, including plants and entities in Sri Lanka, Vietnam, Bangladesh, Singapore and Indonesia — so a slice of the portfolio is already outside India (ICRA subsidiary list, September 2025).
- Pipeline: total capacity including projects under development stood at 2,118 MWp as of June 2025 (1,613 MWp solar, 504 MW wind), with PPAs or letters of intent covering roughly 1.85 GWp (ICRA).
The risks
These are the concrete risks Fourth Partner and its rating agency disclose, with the mechanism that makes each one bite.
- Leverage and interest rates: the plants are funded largely by project debt, leaving high leverage at the consolidated level — total debt was 14.3 times operating profit in FY25 (ICRA). Because PPA tariffs are largely fixed while much of the project debt is floating-rate, a rise in rates squeezes the spread that funds repayment.
- Generation risk: revenue is tied to units actually generated under single-part tariffs, so weak sunlight, equipment underperformance or site-specific problems hit the top line directly. The on-site fleet has run below its P-90 generation estimates (ICRA), meaning it has produced less than the conservative planning case.
- Regulatory risk on open access: the open-access model depends on state rules for wheeling charges, banking norms and time-of-day tariffs set by State Electricity Regulatory Commissions. If states raise these charges or restructure tariffs to retain C&I customers, the cost advantage Fourth Partner sells could erode (ICRA).
- Execution risk: about 0.8 GWp was under construction as of mid-2025 with pending capital expenditure of roughly ₹4,000 crore, to be funded by project debt and pending equity — leaving cost- and time-overrun exposure until the plants are commissioned (ICRA).
The takeaway
Fourth Partner Energy is a lesson in reading losses correctly. A quick glance at a ₹263.5 crore consolidated net loss looks like a company in trouble; a second look shows a 55.9% operating margin on the assets, ₹2,431 crore of equity from the world’s most cautious climate financiers, and a bottom line held down by the depreciation and interest that come with owning long-life infrastructure rather than flipping it. The transferable lesson is that in asset-heavy, PPA-backed businesses, the income statement lags the economics by years — so the numbers that matter are operating margins, leverage and the quality of the contracts, not the headline profit or loss. Judge the plant by the electricity it will sell for the next two decades, not by the year it was built.
Frequently asked questions
Who founded Fourth Partner Energy and when?
Fourth Partner Energy Private Limited was incorporated on 12 October 2010 in Hyderabad by Vivek Subramanian, Saif Dhorajiwala and Vikas Saluguti. Subramanian and Dhorajiwala had both previously worked at the private-equity fund Avigo Capital.
Is Fourth Partner Energy profitable?
It depends on the basis. On a standalone basis (its EPC business) it reported a net profit of ₹63.2 crore in FY25, after a ₹89.1 crore loss in FY24. On a consolidated basis, including its owned plants and their debt, it still reported a net loss of ₹263.5 crore in FY25, mainly because of depreciation and interest on project debt (ICRA audited figures).
Who are Fourth Partner Energy’s investors?
Its equity backers include Norfund (its largest shareholder), TPG’s Rise Fund, IFC, the Asian Development Bank and DEG, who have together infused ₹2,431 crore of equity to date. A $275 million round led by IFC, ADB and DEG was announced in August 2024. Debt and mezzanine backers include British International Investment, responsAbility, Vivriti Capital and Yubi.
How much renewable capacity does Fourth Partner Energy have?
As of June 2025 it had commissioned about 1,243 MWp (1,056 MWp solar and 188 MW wind), with total capacity including projects under construction of 2,118 MWp (ICRA, September 2025).
Is Fourth Partner Energy listed on the stock market?
No. As of September 2026 it is a privately held company and has not announced an initial public offering.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- ICRA, “Fourth Partner Energy Private Limited: rating rationale” (audited financials, capacity, risks) — September 2025
- International Finance Corporation (IFC), “Fourth Partner Energy Secures $275 Million Equity Investment From IFC-ADB-DEG Consortium” — August 2024
- YourStory / Investec, “Fourth Partner Energy raises $125M from Norfund and The Rise Fund” — June 2021
- Entrepreneur India, “Fourth Partner Energy Raises $125 Mn Funding” — June 2021
- Tofler, Fourth Partner Energy Private Limited company profile (CIN, incorporation, directors) — 2026
- Inc42, Fourth Partner Energy company profile (FY23 revenue, funding) — 2026
- Fourth Partner Energy, “Who We Are” (name origin, company description), fourthpartner.co — 2026
- CIIE.CO (Medium), “Going Green, Going Big — Fourth Partner Energy” (founding story, founder backgrounds)
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.
