Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : GroMo — agents earned over Rs 100 crore while its own revenue stays off the public books

GroMo says its network of small-town agents has earned more than ₹100 crore (about $10.4 million) selling credit cards, loans and insurance since 2019, and the company keeps repeating a bolder promise: it is building India’s largest distributor of financial products. Yet the firm behind that claim is tiny on paper, holds no publicly disclosed valuation, and files accounts under a private company whose exact revenue the public cannot see.

That gap between a loud consumer story and a quiet balance sheet is the most interesting thing about GroMo. This is a company that has turned millions of phone-owning Indians into part-time financial-products salespeople, paid out real money to them, and still runs on a headcount you could fit into a mid-sized office. Below is what the public record actually supports, what it does not, and where the numbers stop.

Quick facts

Company GroMo (operated by Vitrak Technologies Private Limited; related entity Vitrak Fintech Private Limited)
Founded 2019; joined Y Combinator’s Winter 2021 (W21) batch
Founders Ankit Khandelwal (co-founder and CEO) and Darpan Khurana (co-founder), both IIT Delhi alumni
Businesses App-based distribution of financial products — credit cards, loans, savings and demat accounts, insurance and investments — sold by a network of independent agents
Latest FY revenue Not disclosed as a precise figure; Vitrak Technologies fell in the ₹10–50 crore operating-revenue band for the year ended 31 March 2025 (Tracxn)
Latest FY profit/loss Loss-making: net profit margin about -9.3% for FY25 (Tofler / The CompanyCheck ratios)
Listed Private (not listed)
Market value / last valuation Not publicly disclosed; about $12.2 million raised across four rounds (Tracxn)
Key shareholders / CEO CEO Ankit Khandelwal; backers include SIG Venture Capital, Y Combinator, Goodwater Capital, Das Capital and named angels

What GroMo does

GroMo runs an app that lets an ordinary Indian become a commission-earning distributor of financial products without any upfront investment. A user signs up, picks products to promote — a credit card, a savings account, a personal loan, an insurance policy — shares a link with friends, family or their own customers, and earns a payout when someone completes the purchase. The company positions itself as a financial-products marketplace for what it calls “Bharat”: the Tier 2, Tier 3 and smaller towns where bank branches are thin but smartphones are not. GroMo’s investor SIG Venture Capital describes the platform as giving “access to financial products to the underserved Tier 2-3-and-beyond cities of India” through its agent network. Company-stated material puts the catalogue at more than 100 products (160+ in a February 2024 milestone release) sourced from banks and financial firms.

The origin

GroMo was founded in 2019 by two IIT Delhi alumni who had both spent the previous decade inside India’s e-commerce and internet economy. Ankit Khandelwal, the CEO, had been a founding member and chief operating officer at Unicommerce, an e-commerce enablement company that later listed on the NSE, and had co-founded the fashion brand Priyaasi, which was acquired by Mensa Brands. His co-founder Darpan Khurana had worked at Snapdeal and Housing.com in strategy and business-intelligence roles and started his career as a software engineer at Oracle.

The founding insight was distribution, not manufacturing. India has a large and under-penetrated market for retail financial products — GroMo and its backers repeatedly cite a $300 billion-plus opportunity — but selling those products in smaller towns is expensive for banks and insurers to do directly. GroMo’s bet was that the last mile could be crowdsourced: turn the country’s vast base of aspiring earners into a variable-cost salesforce, give them a digital shopfront and instant payouts, and take a slice of every product they move. The company applied that thesis into Y Combinator, joining the accelerator’s Winter 2021 batch.

The struggle years

GroMo’s early record is less a story of near-death drama than of a small team trying to build a two-sided marketplace on thin capital. After a ₹4 crore seed round in June 2019, the company operated for years on very little outside money, and the corporate structure itself shows the churn of a young startup finding its shape. The original 2019 entity, Vitrak Fintech Private Limited, shows negligible reported revenue in later database records, while a second operating company, Vitrak Technologies Private Limited, was incorporated on 14 January 2021 — the same window as the Y Combinator batch — and now carries the active business. That restructuring is the kind of quiet reset that rarely makes headlines but signals a pivot in how the company was being run.

The harder, more recent setback is visible in the accounts. Third-party databases that read GroMo’s filings show revenue going backwards in the most recent year rather than compounding: Tracxn records a roughly 38% one-year revenue decline for Vitrak Technologies, while Tofler’s data indicates a steeper drop of about 51.7% in total revenue. The two sources disagree on the exact magnitude, but both point the same direction — down — and the company remained loss-making at the net level. For a business whose entire pitch is scale, a year of shrinking revenue is the setback that matters most, and it is one GroMo has not publicly explained.

The turning point

The clearest inflection came in September 2022, when GroMo raised an $11 million Series A led by SIG Venture Capital. Before that round, the company had taken in only about ₹4 crore of seed money in 2019 and, by SIG’s own account at the time of investing, had built a network of roughly 1.2 million agents. The Series A changed the tempo. GroMo said it would use the capital to roughly double its team across technology, product, marketing and category management and to sign new banking, insurance and lending partners.

The numbers on the other side of that round tell the story. By February 2024, in a company-stated milestone marking five years, GroMo reported 36 lakh (3.6 million) registered partners, some 65 lakh end customers served, a footprint across 19,000-plus pin codes in 28 states, and more than ₹100 crore paid out cumulatively to its partner agents — a figure Business Standard and CXO Today both carried. From a 1.2 million-agent, single-seed-round startup to a multi-million-agent, ₹100 crore-payout platform in under two years: the Series A is the event that separates the two phases.

The money behind it

GroMo has raised modestly by fintech standards — about $12.2 million across four rounds, according to Tracxn — but from a recognisable roster of investors:

What each backer changed is partly visible: SIG’s Series A funded the headcount and partnership expansion that took GroMo from roughly a million agents to several million, while Y Combinator’s Winter 2021 admission gave the company early network and credibility. The absence of a disclosed valuation, and the modest total raised, are themselves signals — this is a capital-light distribution business, not a heavily funded lender carrying a balance sheet.

How it makes money

GroMo is an intermediary. It does not lend, underwrite or hold the financial products it distributes; it earns a commission from the bank, insurer or lender each time one of its agents drives a completed sale, and it passes a share of that commission to the agent. The company’s own material describes payout ranges by product category (company-stated figures that vary across its pages):

The margin sits in the spread: GroMo keeps the difference between what a product partner pays it and what it pays the agent, plus any performance overrides for volume. Because the agent is a variable cost paid only on success, the model is asset-light and the customer-acquisition cost is largely borne by the agent’s own social network. The part outsiders get wrong is assuming the ₹100 crore GroMo cites is its revenue — it is not. That figure is cumulative money paid out to partners, not money the company kept.

The numbers

Here the public record thins out, and it is worth being precise about what is and is not known. GroMo is a privately held company that files limited public accounts, and the granular audited figures sit behind paid registry databases. What the free public sources show:

Fiscal year Operating revenue (₹ crore) Profit / (loss) Source
FY23 Related 2019 entity (Vitrak Fintech) shows negligible reported revenue Not publicly disclosed Tracxn
FY24 Within a ₹1–100 crore band (exact figure not public); balance sheet dated 31 March 2024 Not publicly disclosed Tracxn / Tofler
FY25 Within a ₹10–50 crore band; total revenue down ~38% (Tracxn) to ~51.7% (Tofler) year on year Loss-making; net profit margin about -9.3% Tracxn / Tofler / The CompanyCheck

Other verifiable operating and financial markers:

A caution for readers: some data-scraping sites list GroMo revenue figures as high as $47.1 million, but those are unverified estimates rather than filed accounts, and they are not used here. This is the promise from the opening paid off — the payouts are real and documented, but a precise, audited company revenue is simply not in the public domain.

Where the money comes from

GroMo does not publish an audited product-by-product revenue split, but the shape of its business and its own disclosures point to where the value concentrates:

GroMo has also set company-stated targets of ₹1,000 crore in cumulative partner earnings and more than 5 crore customers by 2030. Those are ambitions, not results, and should be read as such.

The risks

The concrete risks in GroMo’s model are structural, and several follow directly from being a thin intermediary in a regulated market:

The takeaway

GroMo’s story carries one transferable lesson: distribution can be a business in its own right, and you can build a national footprint without owning the product or the balance sheet. By turning ordinary people into a variable-cost salesforce and taking a slice of each sale, GroMo reached millions of agents and paid out real money on a fraction of the capital a lender would have needed. But the same asset-light design that makes the model cheap also makes it fragile — the revenue belongs to whoever sets the commissions, and a single year of tighter payouts can send the top line backwards. The interesting companies to watch are not the ones that scale the loudest, but the ones that can hold their margin when the partners they depend on decide to pay a little less.

Frequently asked questions

Who founded GroMo and when?

GroMo was founded in 2019 by IIT Delhi alumni Ankit Khandelwal, who serves as CEO, and Darpan Khurana. The company joined Y Combinator’s Winter 2021 batch. Khandelwal was previously a founding member and COO of Unicommerce and co-founded the brand Priyaasi; Khurana previously worked at Snapdeal, Housing.com and Oracle.

What does GroMo actually sell?

GroMo does not sell its own financial products. It runs an app through which independent agents distribute banks’ and insurers’ products — credit cards, loans, savings and demat accounts, insurance and investments — and earn a commission on completed sales, a share of which GroMo keeps.

How much money has GroMo raised, and what is it worth?

GroMo has raised about $12.2 million across four rounds (Tracxn), the largest being an $11 million Series A led by SIG Venture Capital in September 2022. The company has no publicly disclosed valuation.

Is GroMo profitable?

No. Based on database readings of its filings, GroMo’s operating entity was loss-making in FY25, with a net profit margin of about -9.3% (Tofler / The CompanyCheck), and its revenue appears to have declined that year.

How many agents does GroMo have?

The count is company-stated and has grown over time: about 1.2 million agents at the 2022 Series A (per investor SIG), 36 lakh registered partners by February 2024, and 60 lakh-plus claimed by 2026. These are self-reported figures, not audited.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version