Hyperface’s software now sits behind more than 7 million credit cards across India and Southeast Asia, handling upwards of 2.5 million transactions a day, according to an Amazon Web Services case study of the company’s infrastructure. Yet the event that made the four-year-old startup’s business was a Reserve Bank of India order written, on paper, to shut down companies exactly like the ones Hyperface served.
In June 2022, the RBI barred non-bank prepaid instruments from carrying a credit line, freezing products at Slice, Uni, Jupiter, KreditBee, Amazon Pay, Paytm Postpaid and Ola Money overnight, a rule that TechCrunch reported hit fintechs serving over 8 million Indian customers. Three weeks later, Hyperface — the plumbing company quietly wiring compliant, bank-issued credit cards for many of those same fintechs — closed a $9 million round. The ban that broke one business model built another, and this is the story of how.
Quick facts
| Company | Hyperface (Hyperface Technologies Private Limited) |
| Founded | 6 February 2021, Bengaluru (incorporation date, Tofler/MCA record) |
| Founder(s) | Ramanathan RV (co-founder and CEO) and Aishwarya Jaishankar (co-founder and COO) |
| Business | Credit-card-as-a-service infrastructure: card issuance, KYC, rewards and engagement software for banks and fintechs |
| Latest disclosed FY revenue | ₹12.4 crore (~$1.3 million), FY24 (year to March 2024), per TheKredible and Tofler filings |
| Latest disclosed FY profit/loss | Net loss of ₹10.7 crore, FY24 (TheKredible) |
| Listed | Private — no stock exchange listing |
| Total funding / last round | Roughly $10.3 million raised; last round was a $9 million seed on 13 July 2022 led by 3one4 Capital (valuation not disclosed) |
| Key shareholders / CEO | 3one4 Capital, Global Founders Capital, Better Capital, Flipkart Ventures, Groww, Kunal Shah (angel); CEO Ramanathan RV |
What they do
Hyperface sells the technology layer that sits between a bank’s core systems and a credit card program that actually feels modern. Banks such as AU Small Finance Bank, IndusInd Bank, YES Bank, Indian Overseas Bank and Tamilnad Mercantile Bank, and fintech and consumer brands such as CRED, Google Pay, BankBazaar, Flipkart, ixigo and Gullak, use its APIs to launch, run and grow co-branded or in-house credit card and pay-later programs, as listed on the company’s own site. Instead of a bank spending 12 to 18 months building card issuance, KYC, rewards and dispute-management systems from scratch — the industry-typical timeline the company and multiple outlets cite — Hyperface says a partner can go live in four to eight weeks by plugging into its existing stack. The clearest public example is the AU Bank LIT card, described by Hyperface as India’s first fully customisable credit card, where the company built the smart-benefits engine that lets a cardholder switch rewards, cashback, lounge access and subscriptions on or off from a dashboard.
The origin
The founding insight was arithmetic before it was a product. Ramanathan RV had already spent a decade in Indian payments: he co-founded Juspay and worked on BHIM, the app the National Payments Corporation of India built to carry UPI to the masses, according to his own company bio and industry profiles. Aishwarya Jaishankar came from the other side of the counter, having led digital-banking work at Kotak Mahindra Bank’s Kotak 811 and at HSBC India. Between them they had watched India’s credit card base grow from 29 million cards in March 2017 to 62 million by March 2021, a roughly 20% compound annual growth rate, while debit cards in circulation ran into the hundreds of millions — a gap of nearly 3 cards for every 100 people, as Ramanathan told the trade outlet Elets BFSI in mid-2021. The two of them read that gap as a technology problem, not a demand problem: 31 licensed card issuers controlled the market, the top six held about 81% of it, and building a competitive card program inside a bank’s legacy core simply took too long. Hyperface, incorporated in February 2021, was built to be the shortcut.
The struggle years
Selling infrastructure to Indian banks is slow by design, and Hyperface’s first year showed why. Getting a scheduled commercial bank to hand a third party control over something as sensitive as card issuance meant months of what the founders themselves described as knocking on bank doors before the first mandate came through, a grind reported in the trade press around the company’s 2021 launch. There was no shortcut for that part: banks move on committees, compliance sign-offs and pilot programs, not product demos.
The second strain showed up later, in the numbers rather than the sales pipeline. By FY24, Hyperface’s revenue had nearly doubled year-on-year to ₹12.4 crore, but its net loss had more than doubled in the same period, widening to ₹10.7 crore from ₹5 crore in FY23 as expenses roughly doubled to about ₹23 crore, according to TheKredible’s reporting of the company’s regulatory filings, independently corroborated by Tofler’s record of a 97.78% jump in total revenue for the same fiscal year. Growth was real, but it was not yet paying for itself, and as of this piece’s publication Hyperface had not announced a new primary funding round since July 2022 — more than three years of running on a single seed cheque while losses outpaced revenue.
The turning point
On 23 June 2022, the RBI issued a notification barring non-bank prepaid payment instruments from being loaded with a credit line, a move TechCrunch reported affected products from Slice, Jupiter, Uni, KreditBee, Amazon Pay, Paytm Postpaid and Ola Money, fintechs that together served more than 8 million customers. Jupiter and KreditBee froze prepaid-card transactions almost immediately. The rule was aimed at preventing unregulated entities from effectively extending credit, a privilege the RBI reserves for licensed banks and non-banking finance companies.
For the wider fintech ecosystem it looked like an extinction event for an entire product category. For Hyperface, which had built its stack around bank-partnered, RBI-compliant card issuance rather than the prepaid-credit-line workaround, it was closer to a market-clearing event. Weeks later, on 13 July 2022, the company announced a $9 million seed round led by 3one4 Capital. “With the RBI tightening the plugs, we are seeing very healthy demand for our credit card stack from fintechs,” co-founder Aishwarya Jaishankar told IndiaInfoline at the time. The same regulatory shock that froze a chunk of the fintech industry’s balance sheets sent the industry’s compliant infrastructure vendor into a funding round.
The money behind it
- October 2021 — pre-seed, $1.3 million: led by CRED founder Kunal Shah, with Better Capital and Global Founders Capital (GFC), reported by Entrackr and YourStory the same month.
- 13 July 2022 — seed, $9 million: led by 3one4 Capital, with Flipkart Ventures, Groww and Rebalance Angel Community joining existing backers Better Capital and Global Founders Capital, per Inc42 and IndiaInfoline.
- Total raised: approximately $10.3 million across two rounds; no valuation has been publicly disclosed by the company or a primary source.
- What each backer changed: Kunal Shah’s pre-seed cheque came with credibility inside India’s fintech founder network at a stage when Hyperface had no bank live yet; 3one4 Capital’s lead on the seed round, alongside Flipkart Ventures and Groww, brought growth-stage discipline and distribution relationships with consumer platforms that would later become Hyperface customers (Flipkart and Groww both appear on the company’s own partner list).
- Funding gap: as of September 2026, Hyperface has not announced a round since July 2022, a longer gap than several better-funded rivals in the same category.
How it makes money
Hyperface is a business-to-business infrastructure vendor, not a card issuer or a lender: it does not take credit risk on the cards running on its platform, that risk sits with the licensed bank or NBFC. Its own money comes from banks and enterprise brands paying to build and run a card program on its stack.
- Implementation and platform fees: Hyperface builds and integrates the card-issuance, KYC, dispute-management and rewards layers into a bank’s or brand’s stack, then charges for the software running the program, based on Inc42’s description of its go-to-market and the company’s own product listing of KYC, rewards management and payment-reminder services.
- The part people get wrong: outsiders assume an infrastructure vendor like Hyperface earns off interchange, the small fee card networks charge merchants on every swipe, the same way a card issuer does. In its own writing, the company argues a card program’s economics should be modelled “holistically” across fees, interchange, spreads and rewards costs, rather than leaning on interchange alone (Hyperface company blog, “Looking Beyond the Interchange,” April 2023) — which is also, in effect, a description of where Hyperface itself sits: it is paid for the software regardless of how a bank chooses to split that downstream economics.
- What the company has not disclosed: Hyperface has not published a fee schedule, a take rate or a per-card pricing figure in any source available for this piece; that detail is cut here rather than estimated.
The numbers
Only two fiscal years of Hyperface’s financials are publicly available in enough detail to report with confidence; broader estimates from data aggregators for other years could not be independently verified and are excluded. Figures are in ₹ crore.
| Fiscal year | Revenue (₹ crore) | Net loss (₹ crore) | Total expenses (₹ crore) |
| FY23 (year to March 2023) | 6.3 | 5.0 | 11.2 |
| FY24 (year to March 2024) | 12.4 | 10.7 | ~23.0 |
- Revenue growth: up 97% year-on-year in FY24, from ₹6.3 crore to ₹12.4 crore (TheKredible), a jump independently corroborated by Tofler’s filing summary showing total revenue up 97.78% in the same fiscal year.
- Loss growth: net loss more than doubled in the same period, from ₹5 crore to ₹10.7 crore, growing faster than revenue.
- Headcount: Hyperface had around 30 employees at the time of its July 2022 raise, per Inc42, and roughly 90 to 101 employees as of 2025–26 according to data platforms Tracxn and Inc42.
Where the money comes from
Hyperface has not published a revenue split by segment or geography, so no percentage breakdown is given here. What is documented is the shape of its customer base and footprint, drawn from the company’s own partner disclosures.
- Regulated bank partners: AU Small Finance Bank, IndusInd Bank, YES Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Tamilnad Mercantile Bank and National Citizen Bank — institutions that hold the actual card-issuing licence.
- Fintech and consumer-platform partners: CRED, Google Pay, BankBazaar, Flipkart, ixigo and Gullak, brands that co-design the customer-facing card or pay-later product on top of a bank’s licence.
- Recent partnership additions: LoanTap (digital lending, September 2024), EaseMyTrip (co-branded travel card, November 2024), NPST (UPI-linked instant credit, February 2025) and TWID (card engagement, August 2025) — a spread across lending, travel, payments infrastructure and rewards, suggesting the company is widening use cases rather than deepening a single vertical.
- Geography: primarily India, with the company describing itself as active in Southeast Asia as well, per its own site and the AWS case study; no country-level revenue figures are available.
- The surprise: the fastest-growing part of the partner list is not banks issuing new cards but non-bank platforms — a lending app, a travel OTA, a payments switch, a rewards layer — bolting card or credit features onto an existing consumer relationship, exactly the pattern the June 2022 RBI rules were meant to push toward bank partnerships rather than shut down.
The risks
- Customer concentration on a short list of anchor accounts: Hyperface’s own public partner list runs to roughly a dozen named banks and platforms; if even one or two large mandates — an AU Bank or a CRED-scale account — move in-house or to a rival, a meaningful share of a company generating only ₹12.4 crore in FY24 revenue is exposed.
- Regulatory dependency, both ways: Hyperface’s own growth story is explicitly tied to a 2022 RBI rule change that happened to favour its model; the same regulator has continued to tighten card-outsourcing and co-branding norms since, and a future rule that restricts how much of the technology stack a bank can outsource to a third party would cut directly against Hyperface’s pitch.
- Funding and unit-economics pressure: no primary round since July 2022, a net loss that grew faster than revenue in the most recent disclosed year (FY24), and well-capitalised rivals — M2P Fintech, which has raised roughly $188 million, and Mastercard-backed Zeta — competing for the same bank mandates, per Inc42’s competitive framing of the category.
The takeaway
The lesson in Hyperface’s early years is not that regulation is good for business; most of the time it is not, and it nearly killed several of Hyperface’s own would-be customers in a single week in June 2022. The lesson is narrower and more useful: an infrastructure company that builds for the compliant version of an industry, rather than the workaround, is positioned to inherit the workaround’s customers the moment the rules catch up with them. Hyperface did not predict the RBI’s prepaid-instrument order. It had simply already built the boring, bank-partnered, fully licensed version of the product everyone else was route-hacking around — so when the route was closed, its phone started ringing. For any founder building infrastructure in a regulated Indian market, the transferable move is the same: build for the rule the regulator is likely to write next, not the gap it has not yet noticed.
Frequently asked questions
What does Hyperface do?
Hyperface builds the software layer banks and fintechs use to launch and run credit card and pay-later programs — covering card issuance, KYC, rewards and engagement — cutting a typical 12-to-18-month build into roughly four to eight weeks, according to the company and multiple funding-round reports.
Who founded Hyperface, and when?
Ramanathan RV, a Juspay co-founder who worked on the BHIM UPI app, and Aishwarya Jaishankar, a digital-banking veteran of Kotak 811 and HSBC India, founded Hyperface; the company was incorporated in Bengaluru on 6 February 2021.
How much funding has Hyperface raised, and from whom?
Hyperface has raised roughly $10.3 million across two rounds: a $1.3 million pre-seed in October 2021 backed by Kunal Shah, Better Capital and GFC, and a $9 million seed in July 2022 led by 3one4 Capital with Flipkart Ventures and Groww, per Entrackr, YourStory, Inc42 and IndiaInfoline. No valuation has been publicly disclosed.
Is Hyperface profitable?
No. In FY24 (year to March 2024), the company reported ₹12.4 crore in revenue against a net loss of ₹10.7 crore, with the loss growing faster than revenue compared with FY23, according to TheKredible’s reporting of its financial filings, corroborated by Tofler.
Who are Hyperface’s main competitors?
Inc42 names M2P Fintech, Razorpay’s TERA Finlabs and Mastercard-backed Zeta as competitors in Indian card-issuance infrastructure; M2P alone has raised roughly $188 million, considerably more than Hyperface.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Entrackr, “Kunal Shah and others back credit card service startup Hyperface,” October 2021
- YourStory, “[Funding alert] Fintech startup Hyperface raises $1.3M from CRED’s Kunal Shah, Better Capital, GFC,” October 2021
- Elets BFSI, interview with R.V. Ramanathan, “India’s credit card industry is expected to improve marginally in FY 21–22,” 2021
- Inc42, “Credit Card Infra Startup Hyperface Bags $9 Mn From 3one4 Capital, Others,” July 2022
- IndiaInfoline, “Fintech startup Hyperface raises $9 million fund led by 3one4 Capital and others,” July 2022
- TechCrunch, “India’s central bank cracks down on fintech startups,” June 2022
- Amazon Web Services, “Hyperface Helps Banks Boost Credit Card Adoption by Over 100%,” case study, accessed September 2026
- Hyperface company blog, “Looking Beyond the Interchange,” April 2023
- Hyperface company website, “About Us” and partner/product listing, accessed September 2026
- TheKredible, “Hyperface Doubles Revenue to Rs 12.4 Cr in FY24,” 2025
- Tofler, company financial and filing summary for Hyperface Technologies Private Limited, accessed September 2026
- Tracxn, company profile and headcount data, accessed September 2026 (used only for headcount, corroborated by Inc42)
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.
