Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : IndiaLends — Turned a profit in FY23, sold itself outright in 2026

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for IndiaLends.

In FY23, IndiaLends turned a net profit of ₹60.19 lakh, two years after posting a loss of more than ₹10 crore ($1.0 million) in FY22 (TheKredible, citing company filings). That is a real recovery for an unsecured-credit marketplace built through demonetisation, the IL&FS-led NBFC crunch and a pandemic. Yet in May 2026, eleven years after launch, its founders did not take the company toward an IPO — they sold all of it to a rival, Freo, in a deal whose price was never disclosed.

IndiaLends was never a lender. By its own terms of use, it holds no Reserve Bank of India registration and never touches a borrower’s money — every rupee it has ever helped move belonged to one of its 80-plus bank and NBFC partners. That single design choice explains almost everything else in this story: why it grew fast on very little capital, why its revenue swung so hard between a loss and a thin profit, and why, in the end, owning no balance sheet of its own meant it had no way to become bigger than the plumbing it built.

Quick facts

Company IndiaLends (legal entity: GC Web Ventures Private Limited)
Founded March 2015, Delhi NCR
Founder(s) Gaurav Chopra and Mayank Kachhwaha, both ex-Capital One (London)
Businesses Online marketplace for personal loans, credit cards, business loans, gold loans and loans against securities; credit-scoring and underwriting analytics for lenders
Latest FY revenue ₹73.05 crore (FY23, as per TheKredible citing company filings)
Latest FY profit/loss Net profit of ₹60.19 lakh (FY23); FY24 net worth fell 36.2% per MCA filings analysed by Tofler, no FY24 revenue/profit figure publicly disclosed
Listed Private (not listed on any exchange)
Market value / last valuation ₹202 crore (reported as roughly $27 million) as of 19 July 2021 (Tracxn); acquired 100% by Freo in May 2026, deal value undisclosed
Key shareholders or CEO Gaurav Chopra, Founder and CEO; backers included DSG Consumer Partners, ACP Partners/ACPI Investment Managers and Amex Ventures before the Freo acquisition

What they do

IndiaLends runs an online marketplace where a borrower compares and applies for personal loans, credit cards, business loans, gold loans and loans against mutual funds or stocks, sourced from more than 80 partner banks and non-banking financial companies (company website, accessed September 2026). The entry point for most users is a free credit score check, which doubles as a lead-generation tool: once a borrower sees their score, IndiaLends can match them to a lender likely to approve them, rather than making them apply blind and collect rejections that further hurt their score. The company has said it has served customer bases in the range of 7 to 8 million people across more than 400 cities, spanning Tier I, Tier II and Tier III India (Inc42, March 2021; YourStory research cited in coverage of the company, 2020). On the institutional side, it also licenses its underwriting and credit-analytics engine to banks and NBFCs through an open API, positioning itself as infrastructure for partners rather than only a customer-facing app.

The origin

Gaurav Chopra and Mayank Kachhwaha met while working together at Capital One in London. Gaurav, an alumnus of the London Business School and St. Stephen’s College, and Mayank, an IIT Madras graduate, together carried about 15 years of consumer and small-business credit experience by the time they returned to India (YourStory, July 2015). The insight they brought back was narrow but real: Indian lenders were underwriting almost everyone off a single bureau score, and a credit decision could take anywhere from two to ten days. At Capital One, the pair had used far more granular data — bank transactions, utility payments, repayment behaviour — to make instant underwriting calls. They believed the same approach, applied to India’s thinner and messier credit files, could open up organised lending to people banks were routinely turning away or making wait too long for.

IndiaLends launched from Delhi in March 2015. Within its first four months of operation it had already helped assess credit risk for more than 1,500 customers (YourStory, July 2015) — small in absolute terms, but enough to show that automated, alternative-data underwriting could be built and sold into a market still running on paper files and single-score rejections.

The struggle years

The company’s most visible near-miss shows up in its own numbers rather than in a dramatic public collapse. After scaling through a $10 million Series B in July 2018, IndiaLends went roughly two and a half years without disclosing another funding round — its next round, a $5.1 million raise, did not close until March 2021 (Inc42, July 2018; Inc42, March 2021). That gap absorbed the 2018-19 NBFC liquidity crisis that followed the IL&FS defaults, when many of the very partners IndiaLends depended on for capacity pulled back on lending, and then the COVID-19 shock in 2020, when unsecured retail credit — the company’s core product — was exactly the kind of lending banks and NBFCs cut first.

The financial cost of that stretch is on record: IndiaLends posted a net loss of more than ₹10 crore in FY22, a year in which revenue was still a modest ₹26.10 crore (TheKredible, citing company filings). Rather than resort to layoffs during the roughest months of the pandemic, the company said it asked some employees to take leave without pay and others to accept pay cuts, a decision that kept the team intact but pushed the cost of survival directly onto payroll (reported in startup-layoff tracking coverage of the 2020 downturn). Both episodes — the capital drought either side of COVID, and the FY22 loss it produced — were unsoftened setbacks the company had to trade through rather than around.

The turning point

The clearest before-and-after moment sits at the March 2021 raise. Before it, IndiaLends was running on capital last topped up in mid-2018, had just come through a pandemic year of pay cuts rather than new hiring, and had disbursed a cumulative ₹2,000 crore-plus in personal loans to a base of 8 million customers through its 50-plus lender network (Inc42, March 2021). After it, with $5.1 million in fresh equity from existing backers ACP Partners and DSG Consumer Partners, the company set an explicit target: double its disbursement run-rate within 18 to 24 months, and push deeper into Tier II and Tier III towns rather than compete only in the metros (Inc42, March 2021). Gaurav Chopra described the round as coming “at a critical point in our business, enabling us to build our services and offer innovative products to our customers, as we usher into the next phase of growth” (Inc42, March 2021). It was the last outside funding the company would raise as an independent business — the FY23 swing to profit that followed suggests the bet on scale-first-then-margin did, briefly, pay off.

The money behind it

How it makes money

IndiaLends does not publish its take rate or per-loan commission, so no percentage figure can be stated here with confidence. The part people consistently get wrong is assuming a “loan marketplace” lends money. It doesn’t, and by design: IndiaLends states in its own terms of use that it is not registered with the Reserve Bank of India and is not a financial institution under the Banking Regulation Act or the Companies Act — every loan on the platform sits on a partner’s balance sheet, not IndiaLends’. That keeps the business light on capital and regulatory capital requirements, but it also means IndiaLends earns nothing if a partner tightens credit, and cannot simply lend through a slowdown the way an NBFC with its own book can.

The numbers

Fiscal year Revenue (₹ crore) Profit / (Loss) (₹ crore)
FY22 26.10 (10+)
FY23 73.05 0.60
FY24 Not disclosed Not disclosed — book net worth fell 36.2% year-on-year, per MCA filings analysed by Tofler

(Figures for FY22 and FY23 as reported by TheKredible, citing company financial filings. IndiaLends has not published FY24 or FY25 revenue and profit/loss figures as of this writing; rather than estimate them, this piece stops at what is on record. The one FY24 data point available — a 36.2% drop in book net worth for the legal entity, GC Web Ventures Private Limited — suggests the FY23 profit was not durable, though it is not itself a revenue or profit/loss figure and should not be read as one.)

Where the money comes from

The risks

The takeaway

Being asset-light is often sold as a strength — no lending licence, no credit losses on your own books, no capital adequacy ratios to defend. IndiaLends shows the other side of that trade. Staying off the balance sheet meant its revenue rose and fell with its partners’ appetite for risk, not its own judgement of a borrower. It could build a genuinely useful underwriting engine and still not control whether that engine got used. The lesson that carries beyond one lending marketplace: choosing not to hold risk is itself a strategic choice with a ceiling attached, and eventually the businesses that only route capital tend to either acquire the ability to hold it, or get folded into someone who already can. IndiaLends did the latter.

Frequently asked questions

Is IndiaLends a bank or an NBFC?

No. By its own terms of use, IndiaLends is not registered with the Reserve Bank of India and is not a financial institution under the Banking Regulation Act or the Companies Act. It is a marketplace that connects borrowers to partner banks and NBFCs, which do the actual lending.

Who founded IndiaLends, and when?

Gaurav Chopra and Mayank Kachhwaha, both former Capital One employees in London, founded IndiaLends in March 2015 from Delhi (YourStory, July 2015).

How much funding has IndiaLends raised?

Around $20 million in disclosed funding across four rounds between 2015 and 2021, according to Inc42’s count; other trackers that include undisclosed tranches put the figure closer to $25-26 million. Its last reported valuation was ₹202 crore (about $27 million) as of July 2021 (Tracxn).

Is IndiaLends still an independent company?

No. In May 2026, Freo (formerly MoneyTap) announced it would acquire 100% of IndiaLends, subject to regulatory approval; the financial terms of the deal were not disclosed (PR Newswire, May 2026).

Has IndiaLends been profitable?

It turned a net profit of ₹60.19 lakh in FY23, after a loss of more than ₹10 crore in FY22 (TheKredible, citing company filings). FY24 and FY25 profit/loss figures have not been publicly disclosed, though a reported 36.2% drop in book net worth for FY24 suggests the improvement was not sustained.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version