Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : LifeCell International — revenue fell by a third yet profit margin hit 55% the same year

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for LifeCell.

LifeCell International’s revenue fell by more than a third in fiscal 2023, from ₹269 crore ($28 million) to ₹167 crore, according to CRISIL Ratings. In the very same year, the Chennai-based stem-cell bank’s profit margin, on paper, jumped past 55%.

That is not a misprint, and it is not a turnaround story of the usual kind. The explanation involves a business unit that was carved out of the company, handed to a separate entity, and then quietly merged back a year later — a manoeuvre that says as much about how LifeCell actually makes money as any of its cord-blood marketing ever has.

Quick facts

Company LifeCell International Pvt Ltd (CIN U85196TN2004PTC053577)
Founded Incorporated 28 June 2004, Chennai
Founder(s) S Abhaya Kumar (Founder-Chairman); son Mayur Abhaya (Managing Director)
Businesses Cord blood/tissue stem cell banking; LifeCell Diagnostics; AreoVeda skincare
Latest FY revenue ₹267.90 crore in FY24 (year ended 31 March 2024), per CRISIL Ratings; Inc42 separately estimates ₹348 crore for the same year
Latest FY profit/loss Net loss of ₹35.75 crore in FY24, per CRISIL Ratings
Listed Private; not listed on any exchange
Market value / last valuation Not publicly disclosed for either the 2021 or 2024 funding rounds (Tracxn)
Key shareholders / CEO CEO Sumanth Sarangapani; investors include OrbiMed Asia Partners IV; founders hold roughly 23% per Tracxn’s tracked cap table

What they do

LifeCell International is a Chennai-headquartered biotechnology and healthcare-services company built around three linked businesses. Its original and best-known line collects and cryopreserves umbilical cord blood and cord tissue stem cells at a baby’s birth, storing them for decades against future medical need — a service the company prices from ₹19,990 at collection plus roughly ₹4,000 a year in storage fees, according to the cord-blood industry directory ParentsGuideCordBlood.org. Around that core, LifeCell has built LifeCell Diagnostics, a network of regional laboratories and patient service centres running prenatal, genetic and general pathology tests, and a small consumer offshoot, AreoVeda, selling tissue-derived skincare products. Its customers are, in effect, two different groups: expectant and new parents making a one-time, decades-long storage decision, and patients referred in through hospitals, gynaecologists and paediatricians for routine diagnostic testing.

The origin

As the company recounts it on its own website, LifeCell traces back to a personal moment rather than a market study. S Abhaya Kumar, a Chennai engineer who had built a career in pharmaceuticals, and his son Mayur Abhaya were expecting a new baby in the family when they learned that parents in the United States could preserve a newborn’s umbilical cord stem cells against future illness — a service that did not yet exist in India. Rather than let the moment pass, they moved to license the underlying technology from Cryo-Cell International, a US stem-cell bank, and set up what they describe as India’s first stem cell bank before the child was born. The company was formally incorporated on 28 June 2004 in Chennai, according to its Ministry of Corporate Affairs registration record reviewed via Tofler. It was a bet on a category that essentially did not exist in the Indian market at the time: persuading new parents to pay, upfront and then annually, to store something they might never need to use.

The struggle years

LifeCell’s two decades have not been a straight climb. The clearest early setback was a direct regulatory threat to the core banking business. In October 2017, the Indian Council of Medical Research recommended curtailing commercial banking of stem cells drawn from cord tissue, placenta and menstrual blood, arguing there was no adequate scientific evidence for the clinical benefits being marketed to parents. LifeCell pushed back publicly and forcefully — in a 13 October 2017 press statement, the company argued that storage and clinical use were being wrongly conflated, that global regulators such as the US FDA and AABB actively supported cord-tissue banking, and that, in the words of chief executive Mayur Abhaya, “banking is mere storage, and not utilization.” The guideline was never formally reversed, and it remains a standing question mark over part of LifeCell’s stated business.

The financial numbers tell their own, blunter story. CRISIL Ratings’ review of the company’s accounts shows a net loss of ₹12.23 crore in fiscal 2022 even on healthy revenue of ₹269.16 crore — a business burning cash at meaningful scale. The following year, fiscal 2023, revenue nearly halved to ₹166.92 crore after the board hived the diagnostics segment off into a separate legal entity from April 2023, stripping that revenue out of LifeCell’s own books. And in fiscal 2024, even after diagnostics was brought back in and revenue recovered to ₹267.90 crore, the company swung to a fresh net loss of ₹35.75 crore — CRISIL specifically pointed to reduced enrolment in the stem-cell banking segment as a drag on performance. Three different years, three different reasons to worry, inside a single ratings file.

The turning point

The single event that best explains LifeCell’s confusing recent numbers is the diagnostics carve-out and its reversal. In fiscal 2023, the company’s board approved moving the diagnostics business — the labs, the patient service centres, the genetic and prenatal testing revenue — into a newly created, separate entity, effective April 2023. On LifeCell’s own standalone books, that single decision helped cut reported revenue from ₹269.16 crore in FY22 to ₹166.92 crore in FY23, even as the same year’s profit margin spiked to roughly 55% on a reported profit after tax of ₹92 crore, most plausibly reflecting a one-time accounting gain tied to the restructuring rather than an operating improvement, based on CRISIL’s fiscal 2024 rating rationale. A year later, the board reversed course: CRISIL’s January 2025 rating action notes the company sought to merge the diagnostics entity back into LifeCell, effective April 2024 — and, sure enough, FY24 revenue climbed back to ₹267.90 crore, almost exactly where it had stood two years earlier before the split. Read one way, LifeCell’s business barely moved between FY22 and FY24. Read the other way, one of its two main revenue lines spent an entire fiscal year sitting in a different company altogether.

The money behind it

How it makes money

LifeCell’s economics run on two very different clocks. Stem cell banking is sold as a one-time decision but billed as a multi-decade annuity: a collection and processing fee at birth, listed from ₹19,990 by ParentsGuideCordBlood.org, followed by an annual storage fee of roughly ₹4,000 for as long as the parents keep paying — often a 20-plus-year commitment. Diagnostics, by contrast, is a conventional fee-for-service lab business: pathology, prenatal and genetic tests billed per patient, run through a network the company describes as covering more than 2,500 cities via over 30 regional laboratories and 500-plus patient service centres.

The numbers

The clearest audited-style view of LifeCell’s recent financial performance comes from CRISIL Ratings’ rationale documents, which draw on the company’s own financial statements shared for its credit rating on a proposed ₹100 crore term loan.

Fiscal year (ended 31 March) Revenue (₹ crore) Profit / (loss) after tax (₹ crore)
FY22 269.16 (12.23)
FY23 166.92 92.00
FY24 267.90 (35.75)
FY25 (CRISIL-projected, as of January 2025) > 490 (projected) not disclosed

CRISIL’s January 2025 rating action projected FY25 operating income above ₹490 crore with an operating margin of 15–20%, alongside net worth rising from ₹212.72 crore in FY24 to a projected ₹253.10 crore in FY25; these are stated as projections, not closed-year actuals. It is worth flagging that other trackers show materially different figures for the same company: Inc42’s data puts FY24 revenue at ₹348.0 crore and FY25 revenue at either ₹855.4 crore or ₹868.5 crore — the two figures appear inconsistently on Inc42’s own company page, alongside two different profit-after-tax numbers for FY25. Given that inconsistency, and that CRISIL’s numbers are drawn from statements filed for a credit rating, this piece treats the CRISIL figures as the more reliable read, while noting the divergence rather than picking a number to suit the story.

Where the money comes from

The risks

The takeaway

LifeCell’s numbers look erratic until you notice they are describing an annuity business, not a product business. A parent who pays LifeCell at birth is not buying a one-time service; they are opening a 20-year subscription that the company must keep servicing, and keep selling afresh to new parents every single year, for the storage revenue to hold up at all. That is also why a purely structural move — carving diagnostics out of the company for a year and folding it back in — could make revenue swing by more than a third and profit margin swing by over 60 percentage points without the underlying business changing very much at all. The lesson travels well beyond cord blood: in any business built on long-duration contracts, the reported profit-and-loss in a single year can say more about corporate structure and accounting timing than it does about whether customers are actually being served well, or whether the company is durably making money.

Frequently asked questions

Is LifeCell International a publicly listed company?

No. LifeCell International Pvt Ltd is a private company; it is not listed on any stock exchange, according to Tracxn’s company profile.

How much does LifeCell’s stem cell banking service cost?

Pricing starts from ₹19,990 for collection and processing, plus an annual storage fee of roughly ₹4,000, according to the cord-blood industry directory ParentsGuideCordBlood.org.

Who owns and runs LifeCell International today?

Sumanth Sarangapani serves as chief executive, per a September 2023 company press release. Founder S Abhaya Kumar and his son Mayur Abhaya remain involved as Chairman and Managing Director respectively, and healthcare investor OrbiMed Asia Partners IV holds a minority stake it acquired in September 2021; founders hold roughly 23% of the company, per Tracxn’s tracked cap table.

Has LifeCell International been profitable?

It has been inconsistent. CRISIL Ratings’ review shows a net loss of ₹12.23 crore in FY22, a profit of ₹92.00 crore in FY23 (aided by a corporate restructuring), and a fresh net loss of ₹35.75 crore in FY24.

Is LifeCell really India’s largest stem cell bank?

LifeCell has long described itself this way, and Moneycontrol reported it as running India’s largest stem cell bank in an October 2018 article cited on the company’s Wikipedia page; that is, however, an older, single independent data point rather than a recently and independently re-verified market-share figure.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version