Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : SP Robotic Works — it raised $3 million but files just Rs 1.5 crore in revenue

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for SP Robotic Works.

SP Robotic Works says it has touched more than 250,000 young lives since 2012, and in July 2021 it persuaded a group of investors that included HCL co-founder Ajai Chowdhry to back that story with a $3 million Series A round. Its most recent public financial filing tells a smaller story: for the year to March 2023, the company itself booked just ₹1.5 crore ($156,000) in revenue, about a fifth less than the year before.

Neither number is false. But the gap between them is the real subject of this piece. SP Robotic Works is, at once, a nationally recognised STEM-education brand with dozens of “Maker Lab” centres, an AI-tutoring platform and a decade of press coverage, and a private limited company whose own Registrar of Companies filings show a modest, shrinking top line. Understanding the business means keeping those two accounts separate, and asking which one a given number is actually describing.

Quick facts

Company SP Robotic Works Private Limited (SPRW)
Founded 2012, Chennai (component-sales website since 2010)
Founders Sneha Priya (CEO) and Santhanakrishnan Pranavan (CTO)
Businesses STEM/robotics kits and courses, SPARKY AI learning platform, franchised “Maker Lab” centres, TechLadder professional upskilling
Latest FY revenue ₹1.5 crore, standalone, FY23 (year to March 2023), down about a fifth on FY22
Latest FY profit/loss Not publicly disclosed; net worth fell 64.2% and borrowings rose 94.4% year-on-year in FY23
Listed Private; no IPO filed
Market value / last funding Valuation undisclosed; about $4 million raised in total as of the July 2021 Series A
Key shareholders Founders; Mount Judi India Growth Fund (lead investor, Series A); BCCL; Indian Angel Network

What they do

SP Robotic Works sells structured STEM courses in robotics, coding, drones, electronics, VR/AR and app development to school-age children, roughly ages 7 to 17, bundled with hands-on hardware kits. Delivery runs on two tracks that the company is trying to knit together: an AI-assisted online platform called SPARKY, and a network of physical “SP Robotics Maker Lab” centres, most of them run by franchise partners rather than the company itself. In 2020 it added a third, smaller line, TechLadder, offering machine-learning and VR/AR certificate courses to working professionals and graduates rather than schoolchildren.

The origin

Sneha Priya and Pranavan met on a college bus. Both were second-semester Electrical and Electronics Engineering students at College of Engineering, Guindy, in Chennai; he was already fielding manual robots in inter-college competitions, she was working on autonomous ones. They paired up, split the work along the same lines they later split the company – he took mechanics and electronics, she took programming – and, finding the components sold in Chennai’s markets unreliable, started fabricating their own boards at Ritchie Street, the city’s wholesale electronics bazaar. A single competition robot cost them around ₹10,000 to build. By their third year they were making prize money and component sales worth more than ₹1 lakh a month, and in 2010 they put that trade on a free website under the name SP Robotic.

The founding insight came a little later, from watching their own peers quit. Final-year engineering students who had grown up on their robots dropped the hobby the moment campus placements began; robotics, they realised, was a young person’s game only if you caught people before the exam-and-job treadmill did. That reframed the business from selling components to competitive hobbyists into teaching STEM concepts to much younger children, and in 2012 – the same year they married – they registered SP Robotic Works as a private limited company, opening a 1,500-square-foot office in Chennai’s K K Nagar with seven employees.

The struggle years

Growth in the first phase was real but slow. It took roughly three years after incorporation for the company to reach ₹1 crore in annual turnover, in 2015, and another round of ₹2 crore in angel funding in 2016 to keep expanding beyond a single Chennai centre. None of that involved institutional venture capital; SPRW ran on founder capital, prize money and small cheques for its first nine years.

The more serious setback came from the model itself. As the company opened dozens of centres run by different franchise partners and instructors, it found that teaching quality varied sharply from location to location – a problem the founders later described, without much softening, as “the weakest link in today’s education system”: inconsistent training that differed from trainer to trainer. That was not a one-off crisis but a structural flaw in a franchised, people-dependent business, and it is what eventually pushed the company to invest in software (SPARKY) to standardise lessons rather than rely purely on human instructors.

Then came March 2020. SP Robotic Works had just come off what it describes as the peak of its marketing push, with close to 25,000 bookings across roughly 75 centres nationwide. The national COVID-19 lockdown shut every one of those centres almost overnight, cutting off the offline footfall the entire franchise economics depended on. A business built around physical Maker Labs suddenly had no physical labs to run.

The turning point

What happened next is the event the rest of the company’s growth story hangs on. With its centres closed, SP Robotic Works pushed everything onto its online platform – free webinars, online demonstrations, remote kit-based projects – and, by the company’s own account, online enrolments grew by close to 700% over the following seven months compared with the same period a year earlier. Co-founder Pranavan later said the “huge surge” showed students could build real projects, from home security systems to contactless sanitiser dispensers, without setting foot in a centre. That claim comes from the company’s own telling and has not been independently audited, but the sequence of events that followed it is on the public record: physical centres reopened in phases from January 2021 as “experience centres” rather than the sole channel, and within seven months of that reopening plan, in July 2021, SPRW closed its first and so far only institutional funding round.

The money behind it

SP Robotic Works has raised about $4 million (roughly ₹38.4 crore, converting at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026) across seed, angel and one priced round in its history, according to the company’s own funding announcement, a figure Tracxn’s database corroborates at $4.08 million.

How it makes money

SP Robotic Works earns from four related but distinct channels, and the split between them matters because they carry very different economics.

The part people tend to get wrong is assuming SP Robotic Works “earns” in the same place it is visible. Most of the brand’s public footprint – the Maker Lab signage, the local instructors, the fees collected from parents at the centre level – sits with franchise partners, not with the parent company’s own books. The company’s revenue, on paper, is the fees and margin it captures from franchising, kit supply and its own direct online sales, not the full turnover generated across the network.

The numbers

Public, verifiable financial history for SP Robotic Works is thin, and later-year filings (FY24 and FY25) were not available in public company-registry aggregators at the time of research. The figures below mix two different measures – the company’s own “brand” turnover as reported to journalists, and its standalone statutory revenue as filed with the Ministry of Corporate Affairs – which is itself part of the story told above.

Year Revenue (₹ crore) Profit/loss Basis
FY15 (year to Mar 2015) ~1 Not disclosed Company-reported turnover (The Weekend Leader, October 2019)
FY19 (year to Mar 2019) 7-8 Not disclosed Company-reported “brand revenue” (The Weekend Leader, October 2019)
FY22 (year to Mar 2022) Between 1 and 100 (range only) Not disclosed Statutory filing, broad band only (Tofler company filing)
FY23 (year to Mar 2023) 1.5, down ~20% year-on-year Not disclosed; net worth down 64.2% YoY, borrowings up 94.4% YoY Statutory filing (Tracxn/ZaubaCorp legal-entity data)

Net profit or loss figures for any year were not available in the free tier of any registry aggregator checked for this piece, so they are left out rather than estimated. What the standalone data does show is a company whose own filed revenue was smaller in FY23 than the “brand revenue” its founders quoted to a reporter back in FY19 – a reminder that a franchised education business’s headline numbers and its parent company’s statutory numbers can move in opposite directions.

Where the money comes from

The risks

The takeaway

The lesson SP Robotic Works offers has less to do with robotics than with reading a company’s own numbers carefully. A decade of press coverage, 35-plus awards, a Series A led by a named institutional fund, and a self-description as India’s leading platform in its category can all be true at the same time as a standalone regulatory filing showing a small and shrinking revenue line. Neither fact cancels the other out; they simply measure different things – brand reach and franchise-network activity on one side, the parent company’s own booked economics on the other. For any founder building on a franchise or licensing model, and for anyone evaluating one from the outside, the discipline is to ask, every time a number is quoted, whose books it actually sits on.

Frequently asked questions

Who founded SP Robotic Works, and when?

Sneha Priya and Santhanakrishnan Pranavan, who met as engineering students at College of Engineering, Guindy in Chennai, founded SP Robotic Works in 2012, after running a robotics components website called SP Robotic since 2010 (The Weekend Leader, October 2019).

How much funding has SP Robotic Works raised?

About $4 million (roughly ₹38.4 crore) in total across seed, angel and one Series A round, the last being a $3 million round announced on 30 July 2021 and led by Mount Judi India Growth Fund (company press release, July 2021; corroborated by Tracxn at $4.08 million).

What is SPARKY?

SPARKY is SP Robotic Works’ AI-assisted online learning platform, built to deliver standardised robotics, coding and STEM lessons and reduce the variation in teaching quality that the founders said existed across their physical centres (CIOL, March 2021).

Is SP Robotic Works profitable?

This is not publicly disclosed. Its standalone filing for the year to March 2023 shows ₹1.5 crore in revenue, down about a fifth on the previous year, with no net profit or loss figure available in public registry data (Tracxn/ZaubaCorp filing data).

Does SP Robotic Works run a franchise model?

Yes. Its Maker Lab franchise requires an investment of roughly ₹15-25 lakh and 1,200 sq ft of space, and the company’s franchise page tells prospective partners they can expect to recover that investment within about a year (company franchise page, accessed September 2026).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version