STEMpedia, the Ahmedabad-based maker of the Quarky robot and the PictoBlox coding app, has taken exactly $111,000 in institutional funding since its first product shipped in 2016. In the year to March 2024, its holding company, Agilo Research Private Limited, grew revenue 73.4% to Rs 24.4 crore ($2.5 million, at $1 ≈ Rs 96.0 as of 18 September 2026, Trading Economics), turned a profit after tax of Rs 1.9 crore, and says its software and kits have reached more than 3 million students across 70-plus countries.
That combination of wide reach, real profit and almost no outside capital sits oddly next to the DIY-robotics category it competes in globally, where better-capitalised rivals such as littleBits and Pi-Top raised tens of millions of dollars in venture funding. STEMpedia’s own numbers also turned choppier in the year that followed: profit fell even as revenue kept climbing. This piece works through that wrinkle using the company’s own regulatory filings, three crowdfunding campaigns and its growing list of contracts with Indian state governments.
Quick facts
| Company | STEMpedia; legal entity Agilo Research Private Limited (CIN U31900GJ2017PTC095963) |
| Founded | 27 February 2017 (incorporation), Ahmedabad; product work traced to late 2015 as an IIT Kanpur student project |
| Founder(s) | Dhrupal R Shah (CEO), Pankaj Kumar Verma (CTO), Abhishek Sharma and Akshat Agarwal, all IIT Kanpur alumni |
| Businesses | Robotics and electronics kits (Quarky, evive, Wizbot Maxx); PictoBlox coding-and-AI software; school and government STEM-lab programmes; the Codeavour competition |
| Latest FY revenue | Rs 24.4 crore in FY24 (year to 31 March 2024), up 73.4% year-on-year; reported at roughly Rs 37 crore in FY25, pending confirmed filings |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Profit after tax of Rs 1.9 crore in FY24 (net margin 8.0%); FY25 profit fell an estimated 26.0% year-on-year even as revenue rose |
| Listed | Private; no IPO |
| Market value / last valuation | Not disclosed. Total institutional funding raised: $111,000 (Seed round, 14 May 2018) |
| Key shareholders / CEO | Dhrupal R Shah (CEO); founders hold about 86.8% of the company per the most recent shareholding snapshot available |
What they do
STEMpedia sells two connected things: physical kits that teach robotics, electronics and artificial intelligence through building and play, and PictoBlox, the coding and AI software that drives them. Quarky, the company’s flagship reprogrammable robot, ships in two base variants and pairs with add-on kits modelled on a Mars rover and a humanoid; evive, its original product, is a portable electronics-prototyping board built around an Arduino Mega; Wizbot Maxx is a screen-free coding toy aimed at younger children. Buyers range from individual parents ordering through Amazon, Kickstarter or Indiegogo, to schools that license PictoBlox for classroom use, to Indian state education departments and corporate CSR programmes that pay STEMpedia to install robotics and virtual-reality labs and train teachers at scale.
The origin
The company began, as so many hardware startups do, as an unglamorous fix for the founders’ own frustration. Towards the end of 2015, a group of engineering students at IIT Kanpur – Dhrupal R Shah, Pankaj Kumar Verma and Abhishek Sharma among them – found that teaching themselves electronics and robotics meant wrestling with breadboards, loose wires and a pile of separate modules for Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and sensors every time they started a new project. Between them they had already spent years building robots for college competitions, and had worked on internship and consulting projects with organisations including Boeing, GE, ISRO and Reliance Industries, according to the company’s own account of its history. Rather than keep fighting the same wiring problem, they designed evive: a single portable board with a built-in screen, oscilloscope, breadboard and power supply, so a beginner could prototype without buying and wiring ten separate parts. It shipped first to a global audience on Indiegogo in mid-2016, drawing orders from more than 35 countries and winning the Hackaday Automation Challenge that year – the first sign that a niche college project had a market well beyond IIT Kanpur’s hostels.
The struggle years
What followed was less a single crisis than a long stretch of doing more with less. The founders built and shipped evive without a conventional funding cushion, financing production largely through the Indiegogo pre-orders themselves – a model that leaves almost no room for error on manufacturing timelines or component costs, and one they repeated with a second Indiegogo campaign for the broader STEMpedia platform in 2019. When institutional money finally arrived, on 14 May 2018, it amounted to just $111,000 in a single seed round – not enough, by the standard of even modest Indian seed rounds, to hire aggressively or build a large inventory buffer, and it remains the company’s only disclosed equity round to date. The strain of growing without that buffer shows up later in the numbers too: company filings analysed by Tofler show profit after tax falling roughly 26.0% in FY25 even as revenue kept rising, alongside a 137.8% year-on-year jump in borrowings – the clearest sign yet that STEMpedia has had to lean on debt, not equity, to fund its expansion. Headcount data compiled by Tracxn tells a similar story: after peaking earlier, the company’s reported employee count slipped from 51 in August 2025 to 46 by May 2026, even as revenue grew, consistent with a company trimming costs rather than spending its way to scale.
The turning point
If there is a single event that moved STEMpedia from a niche prototyping brand to the AI-and-robotics education company it is today, it was the Kickstarter launch of Quarky. After showing an early version of the robot at CES 2020 and using the response to refine the product, the company put Quarky up on Kickstarter on 17 August 2021 with a modest goal of $10,000. By the time the campaign closed on 18 September 2021, 301 backers had pledged $55,005 – more than five-and-a-half times the target – validating a product built around AI concepts such as object detection, face recognition and machine learning for children as young as seven. That was a small sum in absolute dollars, but it did two things a seed round could not have: it proved, with paying customers rather than investor conviction, that families and schools would pay for an AI-teaching robot, and it gave STEMpedia a cash-generating product to build a software and curriculum business around. The numbers on either side of that campaign make the case – from a company that, a year earlier, had one crowdfunded hardware line and a modest institutional funding history, to one reporting Rs 24.4 crore in revenue and 3 million-plus students reached within a few years of Quarky’s launch.
The money behind it
- Total institutional equity raised: $111,000 across a single Seed round, closed 14 May 2018 (Crunchbase; Tracxn)
- Named backer in that round: Circuit Systems, recorded as two separate investing entities, alongside three additional undisclosed investors (Tracxn)
- No further disclosed equity rounds as of September 2026; Inc42 categorises the company as “Bootstrapped”
- Non-equity support: backed by ARTPARK, the AI and robotics accelerator funded by India’s Department of Science and Technology and the Government of Karnataka, per the company’s own account
- Selected into the inaugural India cohort of the Google for Startups Accelerator: Apps programme, one of 20 startups, with the bootcamp starting the week of 26 September 2024 (Google’s official announcement)
- Two further hardware campaigns raised money directly from customers rather than investors: evive on Indiegogo (2016) and the STEMpedia platform on Indiegogo (2019), both delivered in full according to the company
- Founders’ combined net worth was estimated at Rs 32.2 crore as of 31 January 2024, per Tracxn’s estimate – not an audited or company-disclosed figure
- Ownership, per Tracxn’s most recent shareholding snapshot: founders about 86.8%, corporate/enterprise holders about 10.0%, angel investors about 1.5%, others about 1.7%
How it makes money
Strip away the robots and the acronyms, and STEMpedia runs a fairly conventional hardware-plus-software-plus-services business, with the services piece doing more work than its marketing suggests.
- Hardware sales: one-time purchases of Quarky, Quarky Intellio, evive and Wizbot Maxx kits, sold direct-to-consumer via Amazon, the company’s own store, and crowdfunding platforms, plus through international distributors in markets such as Oman
- Software licensing: PictoBlox is free for individual and non-commercial use, with STEMpedia charging schools and institutions for commercial deployment and support – the classic “free for the child, paid for the institution” edtech pattern
- Institutional programmes: schools, corporate CSR programmes and state governments pay STEMpedia to design, install and staff robotics, coding and VR labs, complete with multi-day teacher training – this is where its largest, longest-running contracts sit
- Competitions and content: Codeavour, its annual AI-and-robotics competition, and curriculum books for CBSE and ICSE schools extend the brand and create a funnel back into kit and software sales
- International arm: STEMpedia Inc., a California subsidiary, manages the company’s international operations and crowdfunding-linked sales outside India
The part people tend to get wrong is assuming a robot-kit company mostly sells toys. On the evidence of its own case studies – hundreds of schools across three or four Indian states, run through government and CSR budgets rather than parents’ wallets – a meaningful share of STEMpedia’s growth looks like it is coming from institutional contracts, not consumer sales, even though the robots are what get the press coverage. Filings show EBITDA growing faster than revenue in FY24, up an estimated 124% year-on-year according to Tofler’s analysis of the company’s MCA filings, which is consistent with a kit-and-software model that carries lower incremental costs once the initial lab or curriculum contract is won.
The numbers
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Profit after tax |
| FY23 (year to 31 Mar 2023) | 14.0 | ~0.8 (implied by Inc42’s reported 142% PAT growth rate for FY24) |
| FY24 (year to 31 Mar 2024) | 24.4 | 1.9 |
| FY25 (year to 31 Mar 2025) | ~37 (reported estimate, pending confirmed public filing) | ~1.4 (estimated, applying Tofler’s reported 26.0% year-on-year decline to the FY24 base) |
- FY24 total expenses: Rs 21.7 crore, up 67% year-on-year (Inc42)
- FY24 total assets: Rs 13.4 crore, up 62% year-on-year (Inc42); Tofler separately records a 128.2% year-on-year jump in assets for the most recent period disclosed
- FY24 net profit margin: 8.0%, itself up 39% year-on-year (Inc42)
- FY25 borrowings up 137.8% year-on-year (Tofler) – the clearest sign of a shift from pure self-funding toward debt
Where the money comes from
The surprise in STEMpedia’s numbers is less about which product sells and more about who is buying it. A company that raised its entire institutional funding history in Indian rupees equivalent to a rounding error on a Series A has, by its own account, a genuinely global and multi-channel customer base.
- Government and institutional India: a STEM-robotics rollout across 52 CM Rise schools in Madhya Pradesh with five-day teacher training; a virtual-reality and astronomy lab project with Telecommunications Consultants India Limited covering 154 labs and 554 trained teachers across Himachal Pradesh government schools, reaching 58,954 students; and a STEM Exploration Project spanning 700 government schools across 12 districts of Himachal Pradesh, running from March 2025 to April 2026
- Corporate CSR: a five-day STEM workshop with Honda India CSR at government schools in Rajasthan’s Alwar district in June 2024; robotics labs across roughly 40 schools in Ahmedabad
- Consumer and global: crowdfunding backers for Quarky came from a campaign run out of the US on Kickstarter; the company maintains a California subsidiary, STEMpedia Inc., to manage international sales; and PictoBlox reports a presence in more than 95 countries, against the company’s own broader claim of reach in 70-plus countries
- Competitions as distribution: Codeavour, STEMpedia’s flagship competition, has drawn participation the company puts at over 300,000 students and 1,000-plus schools across more than 70 countries cumulatively, with prize pools exceeding $45,000 in its fifth edition – a low-cost way to keep the PictoBlox and Quarky ecosystem in front of new schools every year
The risks
- Government-budget dependence: several of STEMpedia’s largest, longest programmes – the 700-school Himachal Pradesh project running into 2026, the 154-lab VR rollout, the Madhya Pradesh CM Rise schools work – are funded through state government or CSR budgets. A change in state administration, a CSR-spending reallocation or a delayed tender renewal could remove a large, lumpy piece of revenue with little warning, a structural risk of relying on public procurement cycles rather than recurring consumer subscriptions
- Margin pressure funded by debt, not equity: profit after tax fell an estimated 26.0% year-on-year in FY25 even as revenue kept growing, and borrowings rose 137.8% over the same period, per Tofler’s reading of the company’s filings. Growing faster than profit can support, and financing the gap with debt rather than fresh equity, leaves less room to absorb a bad quarter than a well-funded competitor would have
- Thin capital base against better-funded rivals: STEMpedia’s entire disclosed institutional funding history is $111,000, compared with the $84.6 million littleBits raised over six rounds and the $40.4 million raised by Pi-Top over eight rounds, per Tracxn’s data on those companies – both are cited by Tracxn as STEMpedia’s closest global competitors. Even allowing for littleBits’ subsequent acquisition by Sphero, that funding gap limits how aggressively STEMpedia can spend on marketing, international distribution or new product lines relative to peers with venture backing
The takeaway
The lesson STEMpedia’s own numbers point to is not that bootstrapping is always better than raising venture money – its recent profit decline and rising borrowings argue against romanticising the thin capital base. The more useful lesson is narrower: a hardware-and-software education company can build real, profitable scale by treating government and institutional buyers, not individual parents, as its primary customer, and by letting crowdfunding campaigns double as market research and working capital rather than as a substitute for later fundraising. That combination let three IIT Kanpur students turn a wiring problem from 2015 into a company reaching millions of students without ever taking a large funding round – but it also means the next stage of growth will test whether the business can keep expanding on government contracts and debt alone, or whether it eventually needs the kind of capital its global rivals raised years ago.
Frequently asked questions
What does STEMpedia actually sell?
Robotics and electronics kits such as Quarky and evive, the free PictoBlox coding-and-AI software that runs them, and paid school and government programmes that install STEM and VR labs and train teachers.
How much funding has STEMpedia raised?
Its only disclosed institutional round was a $111,000 seed round on 14 May 2018, per Crunchbase and Tracxn. The company has not disclosed any equity round since, and Inc42 lists it as bootstrapped.
Is STEMpedia profitable?
It reported a profit after tax of Rs 1.9 crore on revenue of Rs 24.4 crore in FY24, an 8.0% net margin, per Inc42’s reading of its filings. Profit is reported to have fallen roughly 26.0% year-on-year in FY25 even as revenue kept growing, per Tofler.
Who founded STEMpedia and when?
Dhrupal R Shah, Pankaj Kumar Verma, Abhishek Sharma and Akshat Agarwal, all IIT Kanpur alumni, began work on the company’s first product, evive, in late 2015; the legal entity, Agilo Research Private Limited, was incorporated on 27 February 2017.
Is STEMpedia listed on a stock exchange?
No. It is a private company with no disclosed plans for an initial public offering as of September 2026.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ Rs 96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Tracxn, STEMpedia company profile, accessed September 2026
- Tracxn, Agilo Research Private Limited legal-entity profile, accessed September 2026
- Tofler, Agilo Research Private Limited financials, accessed September 2026
- Inc42, Stempedia (Agilo Research) financials, accessed September 2026
- ZaubaCorp, Agilo Research Private Limited corporate record, accessed September 2026
- The Company Check, Agilo Research Private Limited, accessed September 2026
- Crunchbase, STEMpedia (Agilo Research) funding profile, accessed September 2026
- Kickstarter, “Quarky: Learn AI. Make Bots. Have Fun!” campaign page, campaign ran August-September 2021, accessed September 2026
- Indiegogo, “evive: the best electronic prototyping platform” campaign page, accessed September 2026
- YourStory, “How these IITians turned their student project into a profitable global edtech company”, July 2020
- STEMpedia, About Us, accessed September 2026
- STEMpedia, PictoBlox product page, accessed September 2026
- STEMpedia, Government Programs, accessed September 2026
- Google, “Welcoming the Inaugural Class of Google for Startups Accelerator: Apps 2024”, September 2024
- Tracxn, littleBits company and funding profile, accessed September 2026
- Tracxn, Pi-Top company and funding profile, accessed September 2026
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.
