Sunstone Eduversity has raised $85.56 million (about ₹821 crore at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026, Trading Economics) since 2015 to fix a problem every Indian parent already knows: a degree that does not lead to a job. In July 2026, the company closed a ₹170 crore Series D — and used the moment to drop the Sunstone name entirely, rebranding as Elevate Education.
That is an unusual move for a startup that had just raised fresh capital. It reflects a company still posting losses eleven years in — a net loss of ₹42.3 crore in FY25 against ₹80.6 crore of revenue — betting that a name built around “employability” will travel further with investors than one built around a college aggregator model that India’s edtech funding winter has made harder to sell.
Quick facts
| Company | Sunstone Eduversity, rebranded Elevate Education in July 2026 |
| Founded | 19 November 2015, Gurugram (incorporation record, Tofler) |
| Founder(s) | Ashish Munjal (CEO), Piyush Nangru (COO); Ankur Jain elevated to co-founder in September 2022 |
| Businesses | Outcome-linked UG/PG programmes (MBA/PGDM, BBA, B.Tech, BCA, MCA) delivered through 22 partner university campuses in 15 cities (July 2026) |
| Latest FY revenue | ₹80.6 crore, FY25, up 37.1% year-on-year (Inc42 financials) |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Net loss of ₹42.3 crore, FY25 (Inc42 financials) |
| Listed | Private; not listed on any exchange |
| Market value / last valuation | $179 million reported as of 18 October 2023, pre-Series D (Tracxn; PitchBook) |
| Key shareholders | WestBridge Capital, Saama Capital, Alteria Capital, Prime Venture Partners; founders held about 18.7% as of October 2023 (Tracxn) |
What they do
Sunstone — now Elevate Education — does not run its own colleges. It partners with existing, UGC- and AICTE-recognised universities and colleges that have accredited seats and campus infrastructure but not enough students or industry-facing training to fill them profitably. Sunstone plugs into that spare capacity: it manages admissions, redesigns the curriculum around employability, brings in corporate-facing modules and internships, and runs placement cells that sit on top of the partner institution’s own degree. Students enrol for a standard MBA/PGDM, BBA, B.Tech, BCA or MCA at the partner campus, but pay Sunstone separately for this layer of career-readiness services. As of July 2026 the company said it worked with more than 25,000 active students across 22 partner campuses in 15 cities, connecting them to a claimed network of 1,200-plus recruiters spanning IT, BFSI, retail and e-commerce (Entrackr, July 2026; YourStory, September 2022).
The origin
Ashish Munjal and Piyush Nangru were batchmates at the Institute of Management Technology, Ghaziabad, and had already built one company together — Crownit, an offline-to-online consumer research platform — before Sunstone. Munjal has said in interviews that the idea traced back to his own schooling near Meerut: he had access to a good education and the exposure that came with it, while many capable peers from smaller towns and lower-tier colleges did not get the same shot at a job that matched their degree. The founding insight was narrow and specific — India did not lack college seats or even lack talent, it lacked accountability between a degree and an outcome. Sunstone’s original product made that literal: a “pay after placement” MBA, where a student paid a nominal amount at admission and settled the bulk of the fee — pegged to roughly ten times the first monthly salary — only after being placed in a job (PrimeVP podcast interview with Ashish Munjal; BW Education, 2019).
The struggle years
The pay-after-placement promise was also the company’s biggest early liability: it tied Sunstone’s cash flow directly to how quickly, and how well, its students got hired, in an industry where convincing a college to hand over admissions and curriculum control to a five-year-old startup was already a hard sell. Early conversations with prospective partner colleges were coloured by scepticism about young founders without traditional academic credentials, according to Munjal’s own account of the period.
The sharper test came with the pandemic. In March 2020, as campuses shut and the outcome-linked model’s cash flow risk suddenly became existential, Sunstone introduced an upfront-fee option alongside its original pay-after-placement plan and ran a zero-based budgeting exercise — rebuilding its cost base from scratch to work out what was essential and what was not, rather than making across-the-board cuts. The numbers from that period are stark: for the fiscal year ended March 2021, Sunstone reported zero operating revenue and a loss of ₹15.45 crore, a company effectively without a functioning revenue line in the middle of its growth phase (Entrackr, August 2022).
The turning point
The upfront-fee option, introduced almost as a stopgap in March 2020, turned out to be the pivot that gave the business a predictable revenue base. Roughly 30% of incoming students chose to pay upfront in its first year rather than wait on the placement-linked plan; by the time the company was raising its Series C in 2022, that share had climbed to 40–43%, according to Munjal (PrimeVP podcast interview). The turnaround shows up plainly on either side of the ledger: FY21 closed with zero operating revenue and a ₹15.45 crore loss; three fiscal years later, FY24 revenue had reached ₹58.7 crore, and by FY25 it was ₹80.6 crore — a 37.1% year-on-year jump — even as the company kept expanding its partner-campus count through consecutive funding rounds (Entrackr, August 2022; Inc42 financials, 2026).
The money behind it
Sunstone has raised money in five disclosed rounds since 2019, moving from a small seed cheque to a ₹170 crore Series D seven years later, without a disclosed valuation for the most recent round:
- Seed — $1.6 million (about ₹11.3 crore), November 2019, led by Prime Venture Partners (YourStory, November 2019)
- Series A — ₹24 crore, September 2020, led by Saama Capital with Ashish Gupta, Pankaj Bansal, Rajul Garg and Purvi Capital participating (Entrepreneur India, September 2020)
- Series B — $28 million, October 2021, led by WestBridge Capital with Saama Capital and Alteria Capital (Inc42 funding tracker, 2026)
- Series C — $35 million, August 2022, led by WestBridge Capital with existing investor Alteria Capital participating (Entrackr, August 2022)
- Series D — ₹170 crore / $17.7 million, 8 July 2026, led by WestBridge Capital; valuation not disclosed (Entrackr, July 2026)
Total disclosed funding stands at $85.56 million, about ₹821 crore at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Inc42 funding tracker). What each lead backer changed: Prime Venture Partners backed the founders on the original pay-after-placement thesis before there was meaningful revenue to point to; Saama Capital carried the company through its Series A and B as it built out the campus network; WestBridge Capital, leading every round since Series B, has pushed the pivot from a placement-linked consumer story toward a B2B, outcomes-and-margin narrative that culminated in the July 2026 rebrand. No public source in this research confirms a “down round” for Sunstone — the Series D valuation was not disclosed, and the only hard valuation on record, $179 million, dates to October 2023 and predates it (Tracxn; PitchBook).
How it makes money
Sunstone’s revenue does not come from tuition itself — that stays with the partner university. It comes from the layer Sunstone adds on top:
- Money in: a service fee charged to students for the industry-integrated curriculum, corporate modules, internships and placement support bundled around the base degree (company disclosures via sunstone.in; YourStory, 2022)
- Payment structure: a mix of upfront fees and a placement-linked balance, with 40–43% of students now opting to pay upfront rather than wait for a job outcome, as of the company’s 2022 disclosures (PrimeVP podcast interview with Ashish Munjal)
- Costs out: curriculum design and faculty support, technology platform spend, and — the largest disclosed cost line — a placement and career-services operation staffed to service a 1,200-plus recruiter network (YourStory, September 2022)
- Where the margin sits: in the gap between what a partner college would spend to build this function in-house and what it pays (indirectly, via student fees routed through Sunstone) to outsource it to a specialist that runs the same playbook across 22 campuses
- The part people get wrong: Sunstone is often described as “an MBA college,” but it holds no degree-granting power of its own — the AICTE/UGC-approved degree is always the partner institution’s, and Sunstone’s real product is the employability layer and the placement-outcome promise wrapped around it
The numbers
Public disclosure of Sunstone’s financials is thin outside its funding-round announcements; the fiscal years below are the ones independently reported. Figures in ₹ crore.
| Fiscal year | Revenue (₹ crore) | Net profit/(loss) (₹ crore) |
| FY21 | 0 (pre-revenue) | (15.45) |
| FY24 | 58.7 | Not independently disclosed |
| FY25 | 80.6 | (42.3) |
- FY25 EBITDA: an estimated -₹40.3 crore (Inc42 financials, derived from filings, 2026)
- FY25 total expenses: ₹116.9 crore (Inc42 financials, 2026)
- FY25 net margin: -49.3%, i.e. the company spent roughly ₹1.49 for every ₹1 of revenue it booked (Inc42 financials, 2026)
- FY25 total assets: ₹145.8 crore, down 16% year-on-year (Inc42 financials, 2026)
- Company-stated target: FY27 revenue of ₹300 crore with profitability targeted the same year — a forward-looking, company-stated projection, not an audited outcome (Entrackr, July 2026)
FY22 and FY23 revenue and loss figures were not found in any publicly accessible, independently reported source during this research and have been left out rather than estimated.
Where the money comes from
- By programme: MBA/PGDM was the founding product line (2015); B.Tech, BCA and MCA programmes were added later to diversify beyond management education into technology degrees (sunstone.in blog; YourStory, 2022)
- By campus footprint: from 8 institutions across 6 cities in September 2020 to a stated 22 partner campuses across 15 cities by July 2026 — a roughly threefold expansion in under six years (Entrepreneur India, September 2020; Entrackr, July 2026)
- By payment plan: 40–43% of students pay upfront; the remainder still use some form of placement-linked payment, meaning a meaningful share of revenue recognition still depends on placement timing (PrimeVP podcast interview with Ashish Munjal)
- The surprise: the model most people associate with Sunstone — pay only after you’re placed — is no longer how the majority of its revenue arrives; the upfront-fee option introduced as a pandemic stopgap in March 2020 has become the larger and steadier share of the book
The risks
- Continued unprofitability at scale: FY25 revenue of ₹80.6 crore came with a ₹42.3 crore net loss and negative EBITDA of about ₹40.3 crore; the company’s own FY27 profitability target implies at least one more loss-making year is expected even on its own projections (Inc42 financials, 2026; Entrackr, July 2026)
- Dependence on partner-institution accreditation: Sunstone’s entire model rests on colleges retaining AICTE/UGC recognition and continuing to outsource curriculum, admissions and placement functions; regulators have shown willingness to intervene in edtech-university tie-ups, as when the UGC and AICTE barred institutions in January 2022 from offering online/ODL degree programmes through franchise arrangements with edtech firms — a notice aimed primarily at online-degree partnerships rather than Sunstone’s on-campus model, but one that illustrates the regulatory risk sitting over the wider category (KrAsia, January 2022)
- Execution risk on its own growth target: the company has stated an ambition to reach 60,000 students and 40 partner institutions by FY29, roughly 2.4 times its July 2026 base of 25,000 students and 22 campuses, at a time when Indian edtech has seen investor capital pull back sharply from consumer-facing models since 2022 (Entrackr, July 2026)
The takeaway
The most transferable lesson from Sunstone’s decade is not the pivot to an upfront-fee model, though that is the one with the clean before-and-after numbers. It is the willingness to let the crisis dictate the fix rather than the pitch deck. In March 2020, the company did not defend its founding promise — pay only after you are placed — it quietly built an alternative next to it, kept both running, and let students vote with their fee structure. Two years on, the vote was 40-43% in favour of the version that was never supposed to be the main product. A start-up’s founding insight can be right and still be an incomplete business model; the companies that survive are the ones that keep testing the model against the insight, not the other way round.
Frequently asked questions
What does Sunstone Eduversity (now Elevate Education) actually do?
It partners with UGC- and AICTE-recognised colleges and universities to add an employability layer — redesigned curriculum, corporate modules, internships and placement support — on top of degrees like MBA/PGDM, BBA, B.Tech, BCA and MCA that the partner institution itself grants (Entrackr, July 2026; YourStory, September 2022).
Is Sunstone profitable?
No. It reported a net loss of ₹42.3 crore on revenue of ₹80.6 crore in FY25, with negative EBITDA of about ₹40.3 crore. The company has stated a target of reaching profitability in FY27, a company projection rather than an audited result (Inc42 financials, 2026; Entrackr, July 2026).
Who founded Sunstone and when?
Ashish Munjal and Piyush Nangru founded the company, incorporated on 19 November 2015 in Gurugram; Ankur Jain, who joined as Chief Business Officer in February 2021, was elevated to co-founder in September 2022 (Tofler; digitalLEARNING, September 2022).
How much funding has Sunstone raised and what is it worth?
It has raised $85.56 million (about ₹821 crore at $1 ≈ ₹96.0, 18 September 2026) across five rounds between 2019 and 2026, most recently a ₹170 crore Series D in July 2026 led by WestBridge Capital. The last disclosed valuation was $179 million, reported as of October 2023, before the Series D; no valuation has been disclosed for the July 2026 round (Inc42 funding tracker; Tracxn; PitchBook; Entrackr, July 2026).
Why did Sunstone rebrand to Elevate Education?
The company rebranded in July 2026, alongside its Series D announcement, positioning itself around “employability” and career outcomes rather than the earlier college-partnership/placement-linked-fee story, at a time when Indian edtech investors have shifted from rewarding user growth to demanding clearer unit economics and outcomes (Entrackr, July 2026).
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Entrackr, “WestBridge leads $35 Mn Series C round in edtech startup Sunstone,” August 2022
- Entrackr, “Elevate Education raises Rs 170 Cr in Series D round from WestBridge Capital,” July 2026
- Inc42, “Sunstone — Funding, Revenue & Investors,” company profile, accessed September 2026
- Inc42, “Sunstone Financials — Revenue, P&L & Cash Flow,” accessed September 2026
- Inc42, “Sunstone Funding — Total Funding, Rounds & Investors,” accessed September 2026
- YourStory, “[Funding alert] Sunstone Eduversity raises Rs 11.3 Cr in seed funding led by Prime Venture,” November 2019
- Entrepreneur India, “Edtech Startup Sunstone Eduversity Raises INR 24 Cr In Series A Funding Led by Saama Capital,” September 2020
- Tracxn, “Sunstone — Latest Shareholding & Valuation,” accessed September 2026
- PitchBook, “Sunstone (Educational and Training Services (B2C)) Company Profile,” accessed 2025/2026
- KrAsia, “Indian regulators bar higher education institutions from partnering with edtech firms,” January 2022
- PrimeVP, podcast interview “Making Education Accountable & Bridging the Skill Gap with Ashish Munjal, Co-Founder & CEO, Sunstone Eduversity”
- YourStory, “This edtech startup is focusing on employability to help…,” September 2022
- Tofler, Sunstone Eduversity Private Limited company filing summary, accessed September 2026
- digitalLEARNING (Elets), “Sunstone announces Ankur Jain as its Co-founder,” September 2022
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.
