Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : Zeno Health — generics win on volume, brands still win the revenue

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for Zeno Health.

Zeno Health, the Mumbai chain that rebranded from Generico in May 2021, says generic medicines and its own private label now make up roughly 70% of everything it sells by volume (Lightbox Ventures, 2024). Yet by revenue, branded drugs — the very category Zeno was built to undercut — still bring in nearly two-thirds of the money, because generics and the private label account for only about 35% of revenue despite that volume share (Lightbox Ventures, 2024).

That gap between units sold and rupees earned sits at the centre of Zeno’s story: a company that pivoted out of a failed software business, spent four years building fewer than 90 stores, then closed a $25 million round in February 2024 and used it to more than double its Maharashtra footprint and buy its way into eastern India within fifteen months.

Quick facts

Company Zeno Health (formerly Generico)
Founded 2017, Mumbai, after pivoting from an earlier venture, Workcell Solutions
Founder(s) Siddharth Gadia (co-founder and CEO) and Girish Agarwal (co-founder), both IIT Bombay alumni
Businesses Owned generic-medicine pharmacy stores, the GoodAid private label, an ordering app, and the Tablt franchise network in eastern India
Latest FY revenue ₹151.4 crore ($15.8 million at ₹96.0/$1) in FY24, up 13.6% from ₹133.2 crore in FY23 (Inc42, 2024)
Latest FY profit/loss Net loss of ₹56.9 crore in FY24, against total expenses of ₹208.2 crore (Inc42, 2024)
Listed Private; no IPO or DRHP filed as of September 2026
Market value / last valuation Not disclosed at its most recent (Series C) round; total funding reported between $41.75 million and $43.5 million since 2019 (Crunchbase; CB Insights)
Key shareholders / CEO Siddharth Gadia (CEO); Lightbox Ventures, the lead investor since 2019, holds roughly 30% equity as company-stated to Lightbox itself (Lightbox Ventures, 2024)

What they do

Zeno Health sells medicines — mostly generic and its own tested private label, GoodAid, alongside branded drugs — to price-conscious Indian households, largely in Maharashtra, through more than 260 company-run stores as of June 2025 (Indian Retailer, June 2025; Elets eHealth Magazine, June 2025). It reaches eastern India through the Tablt franchise network it acquired in April 2024, roughly 300 franchise touchpoints across West Bengal, Odisha, Bihar and Jharkhand (Outlook Business, April 2024; BioSpectrum India, April 2024). Orders also come through its own app and, since March 2025, a 50-minute delivery service in Mumbai (Inc42, March 2025). The pitch is straightforward: by sourcing directly from WHO-GMP and FDA-compliant manufacturers and skipping the usual distributor layers, Zeno says it can sell equivalent medicines at up to 60% less than branded prices (Lightbox Ventures, 2024).

The origin

Gadia and Agarwal did not set out to build a pharmacy chain. Their first venture, Workcell Solutions, built supply-chain software meant to help small pharmacies manage inventory. In December 2016, while pitching that software, pharmacy owners kept asking the same question: could the platform also show them cheaper generic alternatives to the branded medicines they were used to stocking. Gadia has described this as the “eureka moment” that reframed the business (Lightbox Ventures, 2024). Rather than continuing to sell software to pharmacies, the founders decided to become the pharmacy: they opened their own stores built around generic substitution, incorporated the venture as Generico in 2017, and set about proving the model themselves before trying to license it to anyone else.

The struggle years

The shift away from Workcell was itself a quiet admission that the original software business was not going to work on its own; the founders abandoned a built product to start over as a brick-and-mortar retailer, a far more capital-intensive business, on the strength of one piece of customer feedback. Growth after that was slow and unglamorous. Four years after founding, by the time of its May 2021 rebrand, Generico had reached only 85-plus stores, concentrated in the Mumbai metropolitan region (IssueWire, May 2021) — a modest base for a company that would later call itself the country’s largest omnichannel generic-medicine chain.

Capital was tight for longer than the funding announcements suggest. Zeno closed its Series A of $14 million in September 2019 with Lightbox as lead investor. Its next priced equity round, the Series C, did not close until February 2024 — a gap of more than four years. In between, the company leaned on venture debt rather than fresh equity, drawing debt financing from Alteria Capital starting in January 2020 and again in 2021, according to funding-tracker records (Crunchbase; CB Insights). That multi-year reliance on debt through the pandemic years and the 2022–23 startup funding slowdown is the clearest sign that the low-margin, store-heavy model was harder to finance with equity investors than the eventual Series C headline suggests.

The turning point

The turning point was the $25 million Series C that closed in February 2024, led by the South Korean private equity investor STIC Investments with Lightbox participating again (YourStory, February 2024; Indian Startup News, February 2024). Before that round, Zeno was running about 180 omnichannel stores plus roughly 200 micro-franchises, mostly around Mumbai and Pune (Indian Startup News, February 2024). Within two months, in April 2024, it used the fresh capital to acquire Kolkata-based Tablt Pharmacy, instantly adding a network of nearly 300 franchises across four eastern states that Zeno had no prior retail presence in (Outlook Business, April 2024). By March 2025 it had layered on a 50-minute Mumbai delivery service to answer quick-commerce competition (Inc42, March 2025), and by June 2025 its owned Maharashtra store count alone had climbed to 260, up from about 190 stores previously, on a planned ₹30 crore investment in new stores, inventory and staffing (Indian Retailer, June 2025; Elets eHealth Magazine, June 2025). In fifteen months, one funding round took the company from a single-state operator to one with two established geographies and a same-day delivery product.

The money behind it

How it makes money

Zeno’s core trade is retail medicine sales, but the mix of what it sells matters more than the volume. The company buys directly from WHO-GMP and FDA-compliant manufacturers instead of going through the usual chain of stockists and distributors, which lowers its cost of goods; it then sells a three-way mix of branded drugs, third-party trade generics, and its own manufactured-to-spec private label, GoodAid, launched in 2021 with about 50 molecules and expanded to more than 400 by 2024 (Lightbox Ventures, 2024).

Revenue streams, as reported:

The part people tend to get wrong is the margin story. A chain that advertises medicines up to 60% cheaper sounds like a low-margin discounter, but the opposite has happened: because GoodAid is manufactured to Zeno’s own specification rather than bought and resold at a markup, shifting volume toward it lifts gross margin rather than compressing it. The company says its gross margin crossed 32% in calendar year 2023, roughly double what it was after Lightbox’s 2019 investment (Lightbox Ventures, 2024). The savings to the customer come from cutting distributor layers, not from Zeno accepting a thinner cut for itself.

The numbers

Full multi-year audited figures are not publicly available; the two most recent fiscal years, reported by Inc42 from filings, are below. Earlier years’ figures were not found in any source opened for this piece and have been left out rather than estimated.

Fiscal year Revenue (₹ crore) Net profit/loss (₹ crore)
FY23 133.2 Not disclosed in sources reviewed
FY24 151.4 -56.9

Revenue grew 13.6% year-on-year in FY24, but total expenses of ₹208.2 crore outpaced that growth, producing the ₹56.9 crore loss (Inc42, 2024). Put differently, Zeno spent roughly ₹1.38 for every ₹1 of FY24 revenue — a gap that has to close through either revenue growth, further margin mix-shift toward GoodAid, or both.

Where the money comes from

That last split is the surprise promised at the start of this piece. Zeno’s entire premise is steering customers toward cheaper generics, and by volume it has largely succeeded — most items sold are GoodAid or trade generics. But because branded drugs carry a much higher price tag per unit, that smaller 30% slice of volume still accounts for roughly two-thirds of revenue. The generic-medicine chain, in rupee terms, is still substantially a branded-medicine business.

The risks

The takeaway

Zeno Health’s founders did not discover their business through a market-sizing exercise; they discovered it because customers of an unrelated product kept asking for something the product did not do. The lesson that travels beyond pharmacy retail is not “generics are cheaper” — plenty of people already knew that — it is that the founders were willing to abandon a working piece of software and start over as a physical retailer on the strength of that one recurring request. Listening to what existing users keep asking for, even when it points away from the product you have already built, can matter more than the plan you started with.

Frequently asked questions

What does Zeno Health sell?

Zeno Health sells medicines through owned stores, an app, phone and WhatsApp ordering, and a franchise network, focused on generic drugs and its own private label, GoodAid, alongside branded medicines (Lightbox Ventures, 2024).

Why did Generico rebrand to Zeno Health?

The company rebranded from Generico to Zeno Health in May 2021 as it moved from a purely generic-medicines pharmacy format toward a broader omnichannel healthcare offering combining digital and physical retail (IssueWire, May 2021).

Who founded Zeno Health, and when?

Siddharth Gadia and Girish Agarwal, both IIT Bombay alumni, founded the company in 2017 after pivoting from an earlier pharmacy-software venture, Workcell Solutions, following a December 2016 conversation with pharmacy customers about generic medicines (Lightbox Ventures, 2024).

How much funding has Zeno Health raised, and is it profitable?

Zeno Health has raised a reported $41.75-43.5 million since 2019 across a Series A, venture debt and a Series C (Crunchbase; CB Insights). It is not yet profitable: it reported a net loss of ₹56.9 crore on revenue of ₹151.4 crore in FY24 (Inc42, 2024).

Is Zeno Health listed on a stock exchange?

No. As of September 2026, Zeno Health is a private company with no IPO or draft red herring prospectus identified in the sources reviewed for this piece.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version