Site icon The Invincible India

Startup Deep Dive : Zumutor Biologics — the Bengaluru biotech that took 11 years to dose its first cancer patient

The Invincible India Startup Deep Dive featured graphic for Zumutor Biologics.

Zumutor Biologics put its first experimental cancer antibody into a human patient in June 2024, eleven years after the Bengaluru-founded biotech set out to make a drug from an idea most of the industry had left alone: training natural killer cells, not just T cells, to see a tumour. By then the company had raised close to $29 million across four funding rounds (Inc42, September 2026) — a modest sum for a business that spends a decade turning a molecule from a petri dish into a single human vein.

Two years later, in June 2026, a Nasdaq-listed pharmaceutical company agreed to hand over its own approved cancer drug so Zumutor could test it alongside its unproven one — in the same stretch of months that the company’s Indian arm reported revenue falling by roughly two-thirds and swinging to a loss, according to Tofler’s reading of its FY2025 regulatory filings. A partner with a marketed drug and a subsidiary that just booked a shrinking, loss-making year: that contradiction is the story of what it costs, and what it buys, to stay alive long enough to reach the clinic.

Quick facts

Company Zumutor Biologics Inc. (US parent) and Zumutor Biologics Private Limited (Bengaluru R&D subsidiary)
Founded 2013 in Bengaluru, India; US entity incorporated 31 July 2015
Founder(s) Kavitha Iyer Rodrigues, Founder and CEO
Businesses Antibody-based immuno-oncology drug discovery; lead candidate ZM008, an anti-LLT1 natural-killer-cell checkpoint antibody, in Phase 1 human trials
Latest FY revenue ₹4.6 crore ($0.48 million) in FY25, down from ₹13.0 crore ($1.35 million) in FY24 — India subsidiary, per Tofler’s reading of MCA filings
Latest FY profit/loss Net profit and EBITDA both swung sharply negative in FY25 versus FY24 (exact rupee figure undisclosed); the group has never reported a marketed-product profit
Listed Private — not listed on any exchange
Market value / last valuation $32.56 million as of 28 November 2019 (Tracxn); no valuation has been disclosed for the 2021, 2024 or 2026 rounds
Key shareholders / CEO Kavitha Iyer Rodrigues (CEO); lead backers Accel and Bharat Innovation Fund, with Premji Invest, Ashish Kacholia and Raj Dand joining in 2026

What they do

Zumutor Biologics designs monoclonal antibodies that target a part of the immune system most cancer-drug developers have ignored: the natural killer, or NK, cell. Where the blockbuster immuno-oncology drugs of the last decade — Keytruda, Opdivo and their rivals — work by releasing the brakes on T cells, Zumutor’s lead molecule, ZM008, targets a receptor called LLT1 (also known as CLEC2D) that tumours use to switch off NK cells. Block that interaction, the company’s science says, and NK cells reactivate, kill tumour cells directly, and in turn recruit T cells into a tumour that was previously “cold” to immunotherapy, making it “hot” and responsive (PR Newswire, August 2023; Synapse Patsnap, 2026). ZM008 is being tested in patients with advanced solid tumours — including non-small cell lung, triple-negative breast, head-and-neck, prostate, colorectal and ovarian cancers — who have run out of standard options (PR Newswire, June 2024). The company’s customers, in effect, are not patients but the pharmaceutical industry itself: large drugmakers who will eventually license, co-develop or acquire a validated antibody once it has cleared enough of the clinic to de-risk it.

The origin

Zumutor was set up in Bengaluru in 2013 around a scientific bet rather than a product. Every large immuno-oncology success up to that point had come from unlocking T cells; the company’s founding insight, credited to CEO Kavitha Iyer Rodrigues and built out by chief scientific officer Dr Maloy Ghosh, was that NK cells — the immune system’s other cytotoxic lymphocyte, and one that does not need a tumour to display a specific antigen before it attacks — were a checkpoint target nobody had industrialised. To chase that idea, Zumutor built two proprietary antibody-discovery engines from scratch: a glyco-engineering platform to tune how antibodies interact with immune receptors, and INABLR®, a human-antibody discovery platform that combines yeast and phage display libraries to generate and screen candidate molecules (company website, zumutor.com, accessed September 2026). In 2015 the company incorporated a US parent entity, Zumutor Biologics Inc., and eventually headquartered it at the Cambridge Innovation Center in Cambridge, Massachusetts, while keeping its antibody-engineering laboratory in Bengaluru — a structure designed to put the company inside the US regulatory and capital-markets system while keeping its scientific cost base in India (zumutor.com; Entrepreneur India, June 2026).

The struggle years

Two stretches in Zumutor’s history show how long and thin the runway can get for a platform biotech with no product to sell.

The first is a funding gap in plain sight. Zumutor closed a seed round on 8 August 2016 — reported at $11.5 million by Inc42’s funding tracker, though the company’s own about page puts the same round at $6 million from Accel, Aarin Capital, IDG Ventures and Karnataka’s KITVEN fund; the two accounts don’t agree on size, but both name the same backers. Whichever figure is correct, more than three years then passed before Zumutor announced new capital: a $4 million round on 27 November 2019, still officially labelled Series A (Inc42 funding data, September 2026). For a company running two discovery platforms and trying to advance a biologic towards the clinic, a multi-year gap between institutional rounds is the kind of stretch that ends most biotechs before they get to a human trial.

The second is more recent and more concrete. Zumutor’s Bengaluru subsidiary, Zumutor Biologics Private Limited, filed accounts for the year to 31 March 2025 showing revenue of roughly ₹4.6 crore, down from about ₹13.0 crore a year earlier — a fall of close to two-thirds — while EBITDA and net profit both swung from positive to negative over the same period, and only the company’s book net worth kept rising, by about 9.7%, presumably on the back of fresh equity (Tofler company filing analysis, based on MCA records, accessed September 2026). That reversal landed in the same fiscal year in which Zumutor was trying to close a new external round and line up a pharma partner for its lead molecule — a reminder that the Indian arm’s revenue, almost certainly R&D service fees or grant-linked income routed from the US parent rather than product sales, can swing hard from one year to the next.

The turning point

The hinge in Zumutor’s story is a single regulatory clearance. On 11 August 2023, the US Food and Drug Administration cleared the company’s Investigational New Drug application for ZM008, letting it begin recruiting patients (PR Newswire, August 2023). Before that date, Zumutor was a decade-old platform company with two proprietary discovery technologies, roughly $26–27 million of disclosed funding (Indian Startup News, December 2021; PR Newswire, August 2023), and no molecule that had ever entered a human being. CEO Kavitha Iyer Rodrigues said at the time that the company anticipated starting Phase 1 studies in the fourth quarter of 2023 (PR Newswire, August 2023); the first patient was actually dosed on 12–13 June 2024, according to the company’s own announcement and independent trade coverage (PR Newswire; pharmaceutical-technology.com, June 2024).

After that first dose, the numbers on the other side of the line moved quickly. Zumutor closed a $7.3 million Series B on 12–13 June 2026 — its largest single round — explicitly to fund completion of the ongoing Phase 1 study, a Phase 1B expansion cohort, and global Phase 2 studies including in India (Entrepreneur India, June 2026). Ten days later, on 23 June 2026, Nasdaq-listed Coherus Oncology announced a clinical collaboration and supply agreement to test ZM008 alongside its own approved PD-1 inhibitor, LOQTORZI (toripalimab-tpzi), in as many as 45 patients across dose-escalation and expansion cohorts in the United States (GlobeNewswire, June 2026). Coherus supplies its drug and Zumutor sponsors the trial; each side keeps its own commercial rights (GlobeNewswire, June 2026). One IND clearance, in other words, converted a platform company with no clinical asset into one with a dosed patient, a fresh institutional round and a partnership with a public pharmaceutical company inside three years.

The money behind it

Zumutor’s fundraising has been slow, small by global biotech standards, and consistently anchored by two investors across a decade.

What each backer changed: Accel and Bharat Innovation Fund have been present in every priced round since 2016 and effectively underwrote the company through its longest funding gap; Premji Invest’s entry in 2026 is the first participation by a large India-based growth investor once the company had clinical, not just preclinical, data to show; and individual investors Ashish Kacholia and Raj Dand joining the same round signal that ZM008’s first-in-human safety data, not the platform story alone, is now what is attracting capital. Zumutor’s only priced valuation on record is $32.56 million as of 28 November 2019 (Tracxn); it has not disclosed a valuation for the 2021, 2024 or 2026 financings, so any current headline number should be treated as unconfirmed until the company or an investor states one.

How it makes money

Zumutor has no approved or marketed drug, so it currently earns nothing from product sales. Its business model, typical of a clinical-stage biologics company, has three potential legs, only one of which is visible in its financials today:

The part people get wrong about a company like Zumutor is treating its India-entity “revenue” as evidence the business is commercially self-sustaining. It is not: the swing from ₹13.0 crore to ₹4.6 crore, and from positive to negative profitability, in a single fiscal year (Tofler, September 2026) is far more consistent with fluctuating service billing to a cash-constrained parent than with a growing customer base, and the parent company’s own survival depends overwhelmingly on new equity, not on this revenue line.

The numbers

Zumutor does not publish consolidated global accounts; the only audited financial trail available is for its Indian subsidiary, Zumutor Biologics Private Limited, filed with the Ministry of Corporate Affairs and summarised by Tofler. Two fiscal years of revenue are publicly traceable; profit and loss for those years is disclosed only as a direction of change, not an absolute rupee figure, in the sources available.

Metric (₹ crore) FY24 (year to 31 Mar 2024) FY25 (year to 31 Mar 2025)
Revenue ≈13.0 ≈4.6
YoY change — down roughly 64%
EBITDA Positive (base year) Swung negative
Net profit/loss Positive (base year) Swung to net loss
Net worth Base year Up roughly 9.7%

Both the FY24 and FY25 revenue figures, and the direction of the EBITDA and profit swings, are as reported by Inc42’s company profile and Tofler’s filing summary, both accessed in September 2026 and both derived from the same underlying MCA filings. Absolute rupee profit or loss figures, and financial years before FY24, are not disclosed in any source opened for this piece and have been left out rather than estimated. Alongside this thin revenue trail, the more meaningful “numbers” for a clinical-stage biotech are capital raised ($29 million across four rounds since 2016, per Inc42) and clinical progress (one IND clearance in 2023, one dosed patient in 2024, one partner collaboration in 2026) — the metrics investors in this sector actually price the company on.

Where the money comes from

Zumutor’s operations split cleanly by geography and function rather than by product line or customer segment, since it has no commercial product to segment.

The surprise in this split is how little of Zumutor’s actual dollar and reputational progress has anything to do with its country of origin. The clinical trial, the pharma partnership and three of four funding rounds’ lead investors run through the United States; Bengaluru is where the antibodies are engineered, not where the company’s commercial future will be decided.

The risks

The takeaway

Zumutor’s arc is a reminder that in platform biotech, the milestone that matters is rarely the one investors can put a number on. The company’s headline funding — $29 million across a decade — is small next to the capital many biotechs burn before a first human dose; what changed its trajectory was a single regulatory letter, the FDA’s IND clearance in August 2023, that took eleven years of antibody-engineering work and converted it into a clinical asset a bigger company would sign a supply deal for. The lesson travels beyond biotech: for any business built on proving a hard technical thesis before it can earn a rupee, the correct measure of progress for most of its life is not revenue, and treating thin or volatile revenue as the scoreboard — as Zumutor’s own swing from ₹13.0 crore to ₹4.6 crore in a single year could tempt an outsider to do — misses where the actual value is being built or lost.

Frequently asked questions

What does Zumutor Biologics actually make?

Zumutor develops antibody drugs for cancer, using proprietary platforms to find molecules that activate natural killer cells against tumours. Its lead candidate, ZM008, targets a receptor called LLT1 and is in Phase 1 human trials for advanced solid tumours (PR Newswire, August 2023 and June 2024).

Who founded Zumutor Biologics and when?

Kavitha Iyer Rodrigues founded Zumutor in Bengaluru in 2013; the US parent entity, Zumutor Biologics Inc., was incorporated in 2015 (zumutor.com; Entrepreneur India, June 2026).

How much money has Zumutor Biologics raised?

Inc42’s funding tracker records roughly $29 million across four disclosed rounds between August 2016 and June 2026, led primarily by Accel and Bharat Innovation Fund, with Premji Invest, Ashish Kacholia and Raj Dand joining the 2026 round (Inc42, September 2026; Entrepreneur India, June 2026).

Does Zumutor Biologics make a profit?

No. It has no marketed product. Its Indian subsidiary reported revenue of about ₹4.6 crore in FY25, down from about ₹13.0 crore in FY24, with EBITDA and net profit both swinging negative over that year (Tofler filing analysis, September 2026); this is most likely R&D service income rather than product sales.

What is the Coherus Oncology partnership?

Announced on 23 June 2026, it is a clinical collaboration and supply agreement under which Nasdaq-listed Coherus Oncology supplies its approved drug LOQTORZI (toripalimab-tpzi) for a Phase 1 trial combining it with Zumutor’s ZM008 in up to 45 patients with advanced solid tumours; Zumutor sponsors the trial and each company keeps its own commercial rights (GlobeNewswire, June 2026).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

Exit mobile version