Ditto Insurance built its reputation on a promise most insurance sellers will not make: no cold calls, no spam, no advisor with a sales target to hit. By September 2026, the Zerodha-backed advisory said on its own website that it had helped more than 8,00,000 Indians choose a health or term insurance policy, much of it without buying a single lead from Google or Facebook. Sitting right next to that claim is a plainer fact: like every insurance seller it positions itself against, Ditto earns almost all its money from commissions paid by the very insurers whose products it recommends.
That model generated ₹97.1 crore (about $10.1 million) in revenue for the year to March 2025, up 85.7% from ₹52.3 crore a year earlier, according to startup data platform Inc42’s analysis of statutory filings. The more interesting story is what it took to get there: a stockbroking licence the founders could not afford, a newsletter side hustle that nearly ran out of money in its first year, and a scaling problem that Ditto’s own backers admit, in their own words, they have not fully solved.
Quick facts
| Company | Ditto Insurance (legal entity: Tacterial Consulting Private Limited) |
| Founded | Parent entity incorporated in 2018 as Finception; Ditto launched as a separate insurance advisory in January 2021 |
| Founder(s) | Bhanu Harish Gurram, Shrehith Karkera, Pawan Kumar Rai and Lokesh Gurram |
| Businesses | Insurance advisory (health and term life insurance) and the Finshots financial newsletter |
| Latest FY revenue | ₹97.1 crore (~$10.1 million), FY25 (year to 31 March 2025) |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Not publicly disclosed |
| Listed | Private; not listed on any exchange |
| Market value / last valuation | Not disclosed. Total funding raised is reported anywhere between $541,000 and roughly ₹34 crore (~$4 million), depending on the source |
| Key shareholders | Zerodha / Rainmatter Capital (largest external shareholder); founders hold the majority of the remaining equity |
What they do
Ditto is an IRDAI-licensed insurance advisory that helps Indian retail customers choose and buy health and term life insurance. It deliberately does not sell motor insurance, ULIPs, endowment plans or investment-linked cover, the categories that carry the highest commissions and the most customer complaints in Indian insurance. A customer books a free video or phone consultation, is walked through two or three insurer options by a salaried advisor rather than shown a long list, and — if they choose to buy — Ditto handles the paperwork and stays on for claims support. The company holds a Corporate Agent (Composite) licence from the Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India, licence number CA0738, valid till 9 December 2026, which lets it distribute both life and health products for up to nine insurers per category.
The origin
Ditto’s founders — Bhanu Harish Gurram, Shrehith Karkera and Pawan Kumar Rai — met as classmates at IIM Ahmedabad. Bhanu, an IIT Roorkee engineering graduate who had turned down a pre-placement offer from Amazon, carried a ₹20 lakh education loan into the venture. Their first idea, called Finception, was not insurance at all: they wanted to help Indians invest directly in stocks by becoming a broker themselves. That plan collapsed almost immediately once they discovered what it would cost to get there. Unable to raise the ₹3-5 crore in capital that Indian stockbroking rules required, they pivoted to something they could actually fund: explaining stock markets and company stories in plain English. That pivot became Finshots, a daily financial newsletter that launched in August 2019 on the back of a ₹4 crore (about $564,000) seed cheque from Rainmatter, the fintech-focused investment arm founded by Zerodha’s Nithin Kamath and Kailash Nadh. Two years later, after readers kept asking the same question the founders could not answer with a newsletter — “which insurance policy should I actually buy?” — the team spun out Ditto Insurance in January 2021, with Lokesh Gurram joining as the fourth co-founder to lead product and technology.
The struggle years
The company’s early years read less like a straight line and more like a series of near-misses. In 2018, the founders had to abandon their original stockbroking ambition outright because they could not meet SEBI’s minimum capital requirement for a broker — a dead end that forced Finception’s entire pivot to content. The content business itself did not start clean: an early attempt to build a following by dissecting obscure SME IPOs led the founders into what they later described as a “dark pool” often used to trap retail investors, and they had to pivot a second time toward mainstream, well-known stocks before Finshots found its voice. Money was tight enough in this period that Bhanu supplemented his income by teaching CAT entrance-exam classes for roughly ₹10,000 a month while the newsletter built its first few thousand subscribers. Even after Ditto launched and had Zerodha’s balance sheet behind it, the constraint did not disappear — it just changed shape. In its own account of the business, Zerodha’s Rainmatter team has said plainly that scale is Ditto’s central problem: the company could not train insurance advisors fast enough to keep up with demand, and by its own admission remained, in its words, “a very small player — not enough to move the needle for insurance penetration in India.”
The turning point
The moment that changed Finshots’ trajectory, and with it Ditto’s, had nothing to do with insurance. In early 2019, with subscriber numbers still small and the founders unsure the newsletter would survive, they published a simple bar-chart video tracing the collapse of Jet Airways. It went viral, pulling in two to three million views and a wave of social media attention that a bootstrapped two-person content team had never seen before. The video reached Nithin Kamath, who backed the team with Rainmatter’s seed cheque later that year. The gap between the two sides of that moment is stark: before the video, Finshots was a handful of subscribers and a founder moonlighting as a test-prep tutor to make rent; within months of it, the newsletter had crossed 50,000 subscribers by November 2019 and had the “patient capital” of a profitable fintech behind it — capital patient enough to let the founders spend two more years building Ditto before it needed to earn a rupee.
The money behind it
- 2019 seed round: ₹4 crore (about $564,000) from Rainmatter Capital, Zerodha’s investment arm, raised by the parent entity to launch Finshots (company accounts, via Founder Thesis interview, 2026).
- 2021: Ditto Insurance launched as a separate business line under the same parent, backed by the same investor rather than a fresh outside round (Tracxn company profile, 2026).
- April 2023: A further round led by Zerodha took the company’s reported cumulative funding to roughly ₹34 crore (about $4 million), as reported by Entrackr in August 2024.
- Total raised — contested: Data providers disagree sharply on the cumulative figure. Tracxn’s database lists total funding of just $541,000 across one disclosed round, while Entrackr’s reporting puts the cumulative figure at roughly ₹34 crore (~$4 million) as of mid-2024. Both are named here because neither can be independently confirmed against the other.
- Valuation: Not disclosed by the company or by Tracxn, whose profile shows the field redacted as of March 2025. No credible reported valuation exists for Ditto as of this writing.
- Backer concentration: Unlike most funded Indian insurtechs, Ditto has effectively one investor family — Zerodha and Rainmatter Capital — rather than a syndicate of venture funds, which Zerodha’s own writing frames as a deliberate choice to avoid growth-at-all-costs pressure.
How it makes money
- Revenue source: Commission paid by insurers when a customer buys a policy through Ditto — the company does not charge customers for advice, policy comparison or claims support (Ditto’s own “Ditto’s Cut” explainer, 2026).
- Commission ceiling: Payouts sit within the Expenses of Management limits that IRDAI sets for all corporate agents, meaning the commission is already built into the premium and does not change what the customer pays based on which insurer they choose.
- Insurer panel — health: Seven partners, including HDFC Ergo, Care Health, Niva Bupa, Star Health, Aditya Birla Health, ICICI Lombard and Bajaj General (company website, 2026).
- Insurer panel — term life: Five partners, including ICICI Prudential, HDFC Life, Axis Max Life, Bajaj Life and Tata AIA Life (company website, 2026).
- Cost structure: A salaried advisory team — not commission-incentivised agents — is trained for roughly two months per product category before taking customer calls, longer than the one-to-two-week norm reported elsewhere in the industry (Startuptalky, 2026).
- The part people get wrong: Because Ditto does not charge a separate advisory fee, customers often assume the advice is free of any conflict of interest. It is free of a direct fee, but the business is still commission-funded — the difference from a typical agent is that Ditto says commission rates are close enough across its panel that they do not change which insurer its advisors recommend.
The numbers
Ditto’s parent entity, Tacterial Consulting Private Limited, is privately held and discloses only limited financial data through statutory filings. Verified, source-attributed revenue is available for two consecutive years; profit or loss figures have not been made public in any filing or report this piece could independently confirm, so they have been left out rather than estimated.
| Fiscal year | Revenue (₹ crore) | YoY growth | Profit/loss |
| FY24 (year to Mar 2024) | 52.3 | — | Not disclosed |
| FY25 (year to Mar 2025) | 97.1 | +85.7% | Not disclosed |
- Inc42’s Datalabs analysis of statutory filings puts FY25 revenue at ₹97.1 crore, up 85.7% from ₹52.3 crore in FY24.
- Corporate-filings tracker Tofler separately shows FY25 revenue in the ₹75-100 crore band with net profit up 134.5% year-on-year, broadly consistent with Inc42’s figure without confirming the exact rupee number.
- No independently verifiable figures were found for FY22 or FY23; rather than estimate them, this piece limits the table to the two years it could confirm.
Where the money comes from
- By product line: Health insurance and term life insurance are the only two categories Ditto sells, split across a seven-insurer health panel and a five-insurer term panel (company website, 2026).
- By acquisition channel: The company’s own account, reported by Startuptalky, claims over 35% of new business comes from word-of-mouth referrals, against a 5-15% norm the same account attributes to the wider industry — a single-sourced figure worth treating as directional rather than audited.
- The surprise: Ditto’s content arm, Finshots, functions as an unpaid top-of-funnel channel with over a million newsletter and podcast subscribers, letting the company reportedly spend less than a tenth of revenue on marketing — the opposite of most digital insurance sellers, who route 50-70% of revenue into paid leads on Google and Facebook, per reporting cited by Zerodha’s own Rainmatter blog on the business.
- Geography: No state- or city-level breakdown of Ditto’s customer base is publicly disclosed; the service operates pan-India online rather than through physical branches.
The risks
- Licence renewal risk: Ditto’s IRDAI Corporate Agent (Composite) licence, CA0738, is valid only till 9 December 2026. Renewal is a routine regulatory process for compliant agents, but the business cannot legally distribute insurance without it.
- Structural panel limit: The composite corporate-agent licence category caps Ditto at nine insurers per product line. That ceiling protects the “curated, not exhaustive” pitch the company markets, but it also means Ditto cannot out-list aggregator rivals such as Policybazaar, which operates under a broking licence with a much wider insurer panel.
- Single-investor concentration: With Zerodha and Rainmatter Capital as the dominant, near-exclusive capital source reported publicly, Ditto’s growth plans are more exposed to one backer’s priorities and balance sheet than businesses funded by a diversified investor syndicate.
- A model that resists scaling by design: Ditto’s own backers have said the company could not train advisors fast enough to meet demand. Because the model depends on salaried, IRDAI-certified advisors trained for roughly two months before taking calls, headcount cannot be scaled as quickly as a purely digital, self-serve competitor’s.
The takeaway
Ditto’s real innovation was never a product. Term and health insurance in India are commoditised — the same underlying policies are available through a dozen other channels. What Ditto built instead was a lower-cost way to reach a customer who already trusts you, by giving away financial education for two years before ever asking for a sale. That is a transferable lesson for any business selling something complicated and commission-funded: the cheapest customer acquisition channel is a stranger’s trust, earned slowly and for free, long before you have anything to sell them. It does not remove the underlying tension — Ditto is still paid by the same insurers it advises customers about — but it does mean the company spends far less to find each customer than rivals who buy every lead from an ad auction. Whether that advantage compounds into a durable business or stays a well-marketed niche depends on the one thing this piece could not verify: whether Ditto can train advisors, not customers, fast enough to keep up.
Frequently asked questions
Who owns Ditto Insurance?
Ditto operates under Tacterial Consulting Private Limited, backed primarily by Zerodha and its investment arm Rainmatter Capital, alongside the founding team of Bhanu Harish Gurram, Shrehith Karkera, Pawan Kumar Rai and Lokesh Gurram, who together hold the majority of the company’s equity.
How does Ditto Insurance make money if advice is free?
It earns a commission from the insurance company only when a customer buys a policy through it. The commission is built into the premium under IRDAI’s Expenses of Management rules, so it does not add to what the customer pays.
Is Ditto Insurance profitable?
The company has not publicly disclosed a profit or loss figure. Corporate-filings tracker Tofler reports that parent entity Tacterial Consulting’s net profit rose 134.5% year-on-year in FY25, which implies the base year was already profitable, but no absolute rupee figure is publicly available.
How much has Ditto Insurance raised in funding?
Reported figures vary by source: Tracxn’s database shows $541,000 raised across one disclosed round, while Entrackr reported cumulative funding of roughly ₹34 crore (about $4 million) as of August 2024. Ditto has not published an official, audited total.
What insurance does Ditto Insurance sell?
Only two categories: health insurance and term life insurance, sourced from a panel of seven health insurers and five term insurers as listed on the company’s website. It does not sell motor insurance, ULIPs or endowment plans.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Inc42 Datalabs, company financial profile — “Ditto Insurance – A Fintech Funded Company Based Out Of Bengaluru,” accessed September 2026
- Entrackr, “Ditto Insurance assists 330K individuals in choosing right health and life insurance,” August 2024
- Founder Thesis, “The Architect of Trust: Bhanu Harish Gurram’s Playbook for Finshots & Ditto Insurance,” 2026
- Tracxn, company profile for “Ditto,” accessed September 2026
- Tracxn, legal-entity profile for “Tacterial Consulting Private Limited,” accessed September 2026
- Tofler, company financial summary for “Tacterial Consulting Private Limited,” accessed September 2026
- Startuptalky, “Ditto Success Story – Founders, Revenue Model, Startup Story and more,” accessed September 2026
- Zerodha Z-Connect / Rainmatter blog, “Ditto | The fintech trying to be human,” accessed September 2026
- Ditto (joinditto.in), “Ditto’s Cut – How we Evaluate Plans and Insurers,” accessed September 2026
- Ditto (joinditto.in), IRDAI licence disclosure page, accessed September 2026
- Ditto (joinditto.in), Health Insurance Data Lab, accessed September 2026
- Revelio Labs, workforce data for “Ditto,” accessed September 2026
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

