HomeStartups & AchieversStartup Deep DiveStartup Deep Dive : Eko India Financial Services — the fintech that...

Startup Deep Dive : Eko India Financial Services — the fintech that scaled to 50 million users without scaling revenue

Eko runs a network of roughly 150,000 shopkeepers who double as bank tellers, and says it has served more than 50 million Indians since it began (company, as of 2023). Yet in the financial year ending March 2025, the fintech reported revenue in the ₹10-50 crore band, with a specific estimate of about ₹34 crore ($3.6 million) — not obviously higher than the “more than ₹40 crore” ($4.2 million) it had already crossed by the end of FY18 (IIM Ahmedabad Ventures case study).

That is the puzzle at the centre of India’s oldest branchless-banking startup. Eko India Financial Services, now legally renamed Eko Bharat Ventures Private Limited, pioneered the idea of turning kirana stores into bank branches almost two decades before “fintech” was a word anyone used in Delhi. It survived on grant money, went through at least two visible contractions in its agent network, took a regulatory penalty, and is still private, still small by revenue, and still running the same core idea it started with in 2007.

Quick facts

Company Eko India Financial Services Pvt Ltd, renamed Eko Bharat Ventures Pvt Ltd (Ministry of Corporate Affairs record, via IndiaFilings)
Founded 17 September 2007 (MCA incorporation record)
Founder(s) Abhishek Sinha and Abhinav Sinha, with Sanjay Bhargava and Manoranjan Kumar (Wikipedia, sourced to MCA and press records)
Businesses Business-correspondent and AePS network, domestic money transfer, merchant/API platform (Eko Platform Services), white-label B2B (Eloka), merchant lending since 2021 (company, eko.in)
Latest FY revenue ₹10-50 crore band for FY25 (year to March 2025), specific estimate ~₹34.4 crore / $3.6 million (Tracxn)
Latest FY profit/loss Not publicly disclosed; no independent source reports a net profit or loss figure
Listed Private — not listed on any exchange
Market value / last valuation Not officially disclosed; Tracxn estimates roughly $20 million as of its November 2022 funding round, down about 44% from a self-reported 2009 peak of $35.2 million — unconfirmed by the company
Key shareholders / CEO Abhishek Sinha (co-founder, CEO); investors include Creation Investments and EXXORA (Sriram Natarajan’s family office), Natarajan joined the board in November 2022 (MCA record)

What they do

Eko sells access to a bank account and cash, to people whom banks find too expensive to serve through branches. It does this by turning existing local retailers — a mobile-recharge shop, a grocery counter, a photocopy stall — into “business correspondents” (BCs), agents licensed to accept deposits, dispense cash, open small savings accounts and transfer money on behalf of partner banks. On top of that agent network, Eko has built a technology layer: an API platform, marketed as Eko Platform Services, that lets other companies plug into the same rails — Aadhaar-enabled cash-out, IMPS and NEFT transfers, bank-account and PAN verification — without building their own agent network from scratch (Eko developer documentation; company, eko.in). The customers, ultimately, are India’s cash-dependent low- and middle-income households and the small merchants who serve them, plus banks, lenders and other fintechs who rent Eko’s infrastructure rather than build their own.

The origin

The idea did not start in a bank. Brothers Abhishek and Abhinav Sinha were working at a telecom startup, 6D Technologies, when they noticed something simple: a bank branch is only open about six hours a day, but a mobile-recharge shop next door is open from dawn to late night (company, eko.in/about-us). If banking could be layered onto the infrastructure that already reached people all day — a phone, a shopkeeper, a till — the six-hour ceiling would disappear. They found reinforcement in M-Pesa, the mobile-money model already reshaping payments in Kenya, and in comparable branchless-banking pushes in Brazil and the Philippines. In September 2007, that reading of the problem became a registered company, incorporated with modest founding capital: the company itself has said around ₹95 lakh ($99,000) came from family and friends, while a contemporaneous 2010 YourStory report put the figure closer to ₹2.05 crore ($210,000) — a gap the company has not resolved. Either way, this was not a venture-funded blitz; it was a bootstrap bet on an unglamorous idea: banking the unbanked, one shopkeeper at a time.

The struggle years

Being early to branchless banking in India meant being early to a regulatory and cash-flow problem that had no template. The Reserve Bank of India had only just introduced the “business correspondent” concept in its 2005-06 policy year, following the Khan Commission’s recommendations on financial inclusion, and it took further RBI easing in September 2010 — permitting for-profit corporations, not just non-profits, to act as BCs — before Eko’s model could scale legally at all. Before that clearance, growth was necessarily small and slow: Eko’s own pilot in Uttam Nagar, Delhi, grew from about 6,000 accounts at the end of 2009 to just over 40,000 by April 2010, a scale that drew Bill Gates on a low-key visit to the pilot in November 2008 but nowhere near enough transaction volume to be self-sustaining.

Money to survive those years came largely as grants and patient capital rather than revenue. In March 2009, Eko received ₹8.6 crore ($890,000) in grant funding from CGAP’s Technology Program, housed at the World Bank and co-funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation — support for an idea, not yet a business. Even after the 2011 funding round and RBI’s 2010 rule change, the network stayed geographically thin: by January 2016, Eko reported managing about ₹200 crore among 1.1 million registered clients but only around 180,000 active users, concentrated in Delhi NCR and pockets of Bihar and Jharkhand. Then, in March 2017, the RBI imposed a ₹5 lakh monetary penalty on the company under the Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007, for “non-adherence to RBI instructions and inaccurate reporting” — a compliance stumble, on the record, from India’s central bank rather than a rival’s press release.

  • 2009-2010: pilot capped near 40,000 accounts, kept alive by a ₹8.6 crore CGAP/Gates Foundation grant rather than revenue (CGAP, March 2009).
  • 2010: business model was not even legal for a for-profit corporate BC network until RBI’s September 2010 policy change.
  • January 2016: still only ~180,000 active users after roughly nine years of operation, despite 1.1 million registered clients (Wikipedia, sourced to period press).
  • March 2017: RBI monetary penalty of ₹5 lakh for reporting and compliance lapses (Reserve Bank of India, March 2017).

The turning point

The pivot that actually changed Eko’s shape came in 2015 and 2016, not from a funding round but from a licence and a decision to stop being the only company running its own agents. In 2015, Eko obtained a Prepaid Payment Instrument licence from the RBI. In 2016, instead of continuing to hire and manage every business correspondent itself, it opened its transaction APIs to independent entrepreneurs — anyone could plug into Eko’s rails and run their own micro-agent business on top, a shift IIM Ahmedabad’s venture research group later described as Eko’s move “from direct service provision to platform enablement.” The before-and-after numbers, from a CGAP case study published in December 2020, are the clearest evidence that the pivot worked operationally: Eko’s agent network grew tenfold in three years, from 15,000 to 150,000 agents, expanding from ten states to full coverage of all 36 Indian states and union territories, while the platform model generated roughly four times more revenue and a 350% increase in transaction volume compared with the old direct-agent-acquisition approach.

The catch is that “more agents and more transactions” did not translate cleanly into “much more revenue” over the years that followed — a tension the numbers section below makes explicit.

The money behind it

  • March 2009 — ₹8.6 crore ($890,000) grant from CGAP’s Technology Program (World Bank), co-funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation: kept the pilot alive before any legal path to scale existed.
  • July 2011 — a round led by Creation Investments Social Ventures Fund I with Promus Equity Partners and other investors: the company has put this at ₹30 crore ($3.1 million), while contemporaneous reporting by MediaNama and VCCircle described it as roughly $5.5 million (about ₹25.7 crore); it followed the September 2010 RBI rule change and funded agent-footprint expansion.
  • 2017 — a further round from Creation Investments: company-stated at ₹10 crore ($1.0 million), against period press coverage of about ₹9.8 crore — broadly consistent, unlike the 2011 gap.
  • 2022/2023 — ₹30 crore ($3.1 million) from EXXORA, the family office of Sriram Natarajan, who joined Eko’s board in November 2022 (MCA record); data aggregators Preqin and fintech.global dated and sized this round slightly differently, to 2023 and about ₹29.7 crore ($3.1 million) — the same money, reported on different clocks.
  • Total raised: named rounds sum to roughly ₹70 crore (~$7.3 million); Tracxn’s aggregator figure, which appears to include additional undisclosed tranches across six rounds, puts cumulative funding at $12.5 million. Both numbers are given here because they conflict and neither can be independently reconciled from public filings.
  • Backers who moved the business: CGAP/Gates Foundation (kept the company alive pre-revenue); Creation Investments (the only investor across two rounds, 2011 and 2017, effectively Eko’s long-term financial anchor); EXXORA/Sriram Natarajan (the most recent capital, with a board seat attached, funding the 2021 push into merchant lending).
  • Valuation: Eko has not published a valuation. Tracxn estimates a 2009 peak of $35.2 million and a subsequent decline of about 44% by its most recent tracked round (November 2022) — an aggregator estimate only, included here with that caveat because no second source confirms it.

How it makes money

Eko earns money the way most business-correspondent networks do: by taking a small cut of transactions it enables, at high volume and low ticket size, rather than by charging its actual end users much of anything directly. The published detail on take rates is thin — Eko has not disclosed a per-transaction fee percentage — but the shape of the model is clear from its own product list and partner disclosures.

  • Business-correspondent commissions: banks (historically State Bank of India, ICICI Bank, Yes Bank) pay Eko for deposits, withdrawals, remittances and account-opening done through its agent network (VCCircle, 2011; company, eko.in).
  • Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AePS) cash-out fees: agents let customers withdraw cash biometrically from any bank account; Eko earns a share of the interchange banks pay for these transactions (Eko developer documentation).
  • Domestic money transfer and Bharat Bill Payment System collections: fee income on remittances sent home by migrant workers and on bill/recharge payments processed through agents (company, eko.in).
  • Platform-as-a-service (Eko Platform Services / API fees): more than 300 partner businesses build on Eko’s APIs for IMPS/NEFT transfers, AePS cash-out, PAN and bank-account verification, paying Eko for infrastructure access rather than building their own BC network (company, eko.in).
  • White-label B2B (Eloka): other businesses and agent networks run Eko’s stack under their own brand for domestic money transfer, AePS, QR payments, Indo-Nepal remittance, card-bill payment, lending and insurance (company, eko.in).
  • Merchant lending: since 2021, Eko has extended into lending to small sellers and merchants, with the company telling the Economic Times it aimed to disburse $1 billion in loans over three to five years — a target, not a delivered number, and one this piece could not independently verify against any later disclosure.

The part people get wrong is assuming a network processing “$3.4 billion in transactions” (IBEF, reporting FY20 volume) is a $3.4 billion business. Eko is not moving that money for itself; it is clipping a thin commission on money that belongs to banks and customers, which is exactly why huge transaction volume (7 million-plus a month, per the company) has coexisted with a revenue base still measured in the tens of crores.

The numbers

Full, audited multi-year profit-and-loss statements are not publicly available for this company — as a private entity, it files only abridged financials with the Ministry of Corporate Affairs, and the aggregators that track it disclose revenue bands rather than exact profit or loss figures for most years. Rather than invent a clean four-year table, here is what is verifiable, with the gap stated plainly: no source reviewed for this piece discloses a net profit or net loss figure at any point in Eko’s history.

Period Revenue (₹ crore) Profit/loss Source
FY18 (year to March 2018) “exceeding ₹40 crore” ($4.2 million); 63 employees at year-end Not disclosed IIM Ahmedabad Ventures case study
Four years to FY20/21 Reported as having grown “twelvefold” over this period (absolute base-year figure not disclosed) Not disclosed India Brand Equity Foundation, December 2021
FY25 (year to March 2025) ₹10-50 crore band; specific estimate ~₹34.4 crore ($3.6 million) Not disclosed Tracxn
  • Headcount fell from 63 employees at the end of FY18 to 36 as of May 2025 — a 16% year-on-year decline in the latest period tracked (Tracxn) — even as the agent network and transaction count reported by the company kept growing.
  • Transaction volume: more than $3.4 billion processed in FY20 (IBEF, December 2021); more than 7 million transactions a month in the company’s most recent disclosure (company, eko.in, 2023).
  • Customers served: roughly 35 million cumulative as of December 2021 (IBEF); more than 50 million cumulative as of 2023 (company, fintech.global).

Put together, the pattern is a company whose distribution footprint and transaction throughput have grown steadily for a decade, while the revenue and headcount numbers that are visible sit flat to declining. That is unusual enough to be the most important fact in this piece, and it is exactly why profit and loss figures matter more here than in a faster-growing startup — and exactly why their absence from the public record is a real gap, not a minor one.

Where the money comes from

Eko does not publish a revenue split by product line, so the picture here is a geography and channel map built from what the company and independent case studies have disclosed, not a financial segment breakdown.

  • Geography, early years: concentrated in Delhi NCR and pockets of Bihar and Jharkhand through at least January 2016 (period press, via Wikipedia).
  • Geography, post-pivot: expanded from 10 states to full coverage across all 36 Indian states and union territories within three years of the 2016 API launch (CGAP, December 2020).
  • Channel mix: business-correspondent/agent commissions (the original model); platform/API licensing to 300+ partner businesses (Eko Platform Services); white-label B2B under the Eloka brand; and merchant lending, added from 2021 (company, eko.in).
  • The surprise: the merchant network itself has not moved in one direction. IBEF reported “more than 250,000 entrepreneurs” in December 2021; by 2023, the company’s own disclosures and fintech.global both cite a network of about 150,000 — a contraction of roughly 40%, unexplained in any source reviewed, even as customer and transaction counts kept climbing.

The risks

  • Regulatory and reporting risk is not hypothetical. The RBI has already fined Eko once, ₹5 lakh in March 2017, for non-adherence to its instructions and inaccurate reporting under the Payment and Settlement Systems Act — a precedent that matters because Eko’s entire licence to operate (its PPI authorisation, its BC agreements with banks) depends on staying inside RBI’s rules (Reserve Bank of India, March 2017).
  • Thin, disclosed-nowhere margins on a commoditised service. AePS cash-out, domestic money transfer and bill payments are offered by multiple BC networks and payments banks competing for the same bank-interchange pool; Eko has never disclosed a take rate, and the flat-to-declining revenue against rising transaction volume (see The numbers) is consistent with margin pressure, though this piece could not confirm the specific mechanism from a public source.
  • Dependency on bank partners it does not control. Eko’s original and largest business line exists because State Bank of India, ICICI Bank and Yes Bank chose to appoint it as their business correspondent; any partner bank could in principle renegotiate terms or bring the function in-house, and the case-study literature on Eko explicitly frames “volatile market and regulatory environments” as the defining challenge of its history (IIM Ahmedabad Ventures).

The takeaway

Eko’s lesson is not the usual founder-conference one about hockey-stick growth. It is that reach and revenue are different curves, and a company can win the first decisively — 150,000 agents, tens of millions of customers, billions of dollars in transactions passed through its rails — while the second stays stubbornly flat. Building the infrastructure of financial inclusion in a market where your own customers are, almost by definition, the people banks find least profitable to serve, is a genuine achievement. It is just not, on the evidence available, the same thing as building a large business. Anyone chasing “underserved market, massive addressable population” as an investment thesis should sit with that distinction before assuming scale of usage and scale of revenue arrive together.

Frequently asked questions

What does Eko India Financial Services actually do?

It runs a network of local shops acting as bank business correspondents, offering cash deposits and withdrawals, Aadhaar-enabled payments, domestic money transfer and bill payments, and it also rents out the same technology as APIs to other businesses and lenders (company, eko.in).

Who founded Eko and when?

Brothers Abhishek Sinha and Abhinav Sinha, along with Sanjay Bhargava and Manoranjan Kumar, incorporated the company on 17 September 2007, after conceiving the idea while working at telecom startup 6D Technologies (MCA record; company, eko.in).

How much money has Eko raised, and what is it worth?

Named funding rounds total roughly ₹70 crore ($7.3 million), though data aggregator Tracxn puts cumulative funding at $12.5 million across six rounds; Eko has not disclosed an official valuation, and Tracxn’s unconfirmed estimate implies a decline of about 44% from a 2009 peak of $35.2 million.

Is Eko India Financial Services profitable?

No public source, including regulatory filings summarised by aggregators, discloses a net profit or loss figure for any year, so this cannot be confirmed either way from available records.

Is Eko a listed company?

No. It remains a private limited company, now registered as Eko Bharat Ventures Private Limited, with no public listing or disclosed market capitalisation (MCA record via IndiaFilings).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

  • Wikipedia — “Eko Bharat Ventures Private Limited” (accessed September 2026)
  • Eko (company website) — “About Us” and developer documentation, eko.in (accessed September 2026)
  • fintech.global — “Eko lands $3.6m to support micro-entrepreneurs” (23 February 2023)
  • India Brand Equity Foundation (IBEF) — “Fintech Platform EKO Witnesses 30% Month-on-Month Growth Within Seven Months” (December 2021)
  • CGAP — Paul Reynolds and Joep Roest, “Eko Grows Agent Network Tenfold Through Open APIs” (December 2020; as cited and quoted via Wikipedia’s sourcing)
  • MediaNama — “Eko Raises $5.5M In Funding From Creation Investments, Social Ventures Fund I” (July 2011)
  • VCCircle — “Eko India raises $5.5M from Creation Investments & others” (2011)
  • Reserve Bank of India — official press release on the monetary penalty against Eko India Financial Services Pvt Ltd (March 2017)
  • Tracxn — “Eko — Company Profile, Team, Funding, Competitors & Financials” (accessed September 2026)
  • Ministry of Corporate Affairs, via IndiaFilings — company record for CIN U65191DL2007PTC168253 (accessed September 2026)
  • IIM Ahmedabad Ventures — “Eko: Scaling up a Fintech Startup in Volatile Market and Regulatory Environments” case study (accessed September 2026)

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

The Invincible India
The Invincible Indiahttps://www.theinvincibleindia.in
The Invincible India is a digital magazine celebrating the spirit of India — covering national news, culture and heritage, travel, festivals, startups and inspiring people, with a special focus on Udaipur and Rajasthan. Our team brings readers stories that showcase an incredible and invincible India.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

46,000FansLike
11,500FollowersFollow
2,280SubscribersSubscribe

Most Popular