HomeStartups & AchieversStartup Deep DiveStartup Deep Dive : Freo (MoneyTap) — MoneyTap cut its losses by...

Startup Deep Dive : Freo (MoneyTap) — MoneyTap cut its losses by two-thirds then rebranded as Freo

Freo cut its annual loss by nearly two-thirds in a single year, from a reported ₹39.94 crore in FY23 to ₹14.16 crore in FY24, and says it has been running profitable on a contribution-margin basis since December 2023. It did this while quietly retiring the brand name that had actually built the business: MoneyTap.

The company that pioneered India’s app-based revolving credit line renamed itself mid-flight into Freo, added savings accounts, buy-now-pay-later and cards around that credit line, and in May 2026 bought a rival credit marketplace, IndiaLends, to chase a combined base of more than 50 million users. Underneath the new name, the same product that launched in 2015 is still what pays for everything else.

Quick facts

Company Freo (formerly MoneyTap); legal entity MWYN Tech Private Limited
Founded 20 October 2015, Bengaluru, as MoneyTap
Founder(s) Bala Parthasarathy, Anuj Kacker, Kunal Varma
Businesses MoneyTap credit line, FreoPay (BNPL), Freo Save (savings account), Freo Cards, Fit.Credit, SuperSplit; IndiaLends credit marketplace (acquired May 2026)
Latest FY revenue ₹111.46 crore (about $11.6 million) revenue from operations, FY24 (year to March 2024), per MCA filings; company separately reports ₹350 crore gross revenue for FY24
Latest FY profit/loss Net loss ₹14.16 crore, FY24, down 64.5% from a ₹39.94 crore loss in FY23
Listed Private (unlisted)
Market value / last valuation Not publicly disclosed as of September 2026; aggregator estimates are redacted or conflicting
Key shareholders / CEO Kunal Varma (co-founder and CEO); backers include Sequoia India, Prime Venture Partners, Aquiline Technology Growth, RTP Global and New Enterprise Associates

What they do

Freo sells short-term, unsecured consumer credit to India’s salaried and self-employed middle class, then wraps a savings account, a prepaid/EMI card, a buy-now-pay-later checkout product and a credit-score tool around that same customer relationship. The core product is still the one it launched under: a revolving personal credit line, drawn and repaid in instalments through an app, rather than a fresh paper loan application every time someone needs cash. Freo does not hold a full banking licence itself; it fronts its products through partner banks and NBFCs (RBL Bank, IDFC First Bank, HDB Financial Services, Credit Saison, InCred and Fullerton among them, per Inc42’s reporting) and its own NBFC arm, and routes its savings product through Equitas Small Finance Bank. As of its IndiaLends acquisition in May 2026, the company said it reaches customers across more than 1,200 cities and roughly 19,000 pin codes in India, as per PRNewswire’s release of the deal.

The origin

Bala Parthasarathy was not a first-time founder when MoneyTap began. He had already co-founded Snapfish, the photo-sharing service Hewlett-Packard acquired in 2005, and later co-founded the venture firm AngelPrime (now Prime Venture Partners) alongside Sanjay Swamy and Shripati Acharya. Kunal Varma, an IIT Roorkee computer science graduate with an ISB MBA, and Anuj Kacker, who had worked at Airtel, Reliance and the advertising agency JWT, had already built and run Tapstart, a job-discovery app that reached 300,000 users and turned profitable within two years, as per StartupTalky’s account of the founders’ history. The three incorporated MoneyTap in Bengaluru on 20 October 2015 around a single observation: India’s salaried middle class needed small, repeat, short-tenure credit far more often than it needed one large loan, and the paperwork of a traditional personal loan made every one of those small draws too expensive to process. A revolving line, approved once and drawn many times from a phone, was the answer they built the company around.

The struggle years

The first real test came from outside the company. Through 2018 and into 2019, the default of infrastructure financier IL&FS set off a liquidity crunch across India’s NBFC sector, and MoneyTap was structurally exposed to it: it ran as a lending marketplace, sourcing borrowers and underwriting them but carrying almost none of the credit risk itself, and depended on a single bank partner, RBL Bank, plus four NBFC partners for the capital it lent out. By September 2019 the company had built a loan book of about ₹1,000 crore against an annualised disbursal rate of roughly ₹2,500 crore, all funded through other institutions’ balance sheets, as reported by Crowdfund Insider. A funding-market shock to any one of those partners could throttle MoneyTap’s ability to lend regardless of how much demand it had. The company’s answer was to apply for its own non-banking finance company licence, which it received in September 2019; CEO Bala Parthasarathy told Crowdfund Insider the licence would let MoneyTap “enter into co-lending with our lending partners, offer better interest rates for our customers and, in this way, put some skin in the game.”

The second setback was slower and less dramatic, but showed up directly in the numbers. Even after the licence, after a 2020 fundraise, and after rebranding into a broader neobank, Freo’s unit economics stayed weak: in the quarter ending March 2023 its contribution margin, the profit left on each rupee lent once direct costs are stripped out, was just 16%, and for the full year to March 2023 it posted an EBITDA loss of ₹36.6 crore on revenue from operations of only ₹99.80 crore, according to Inc42’s reading of the company’s regulatory filings. Five years after founding, twice funded by name investors, Freo was still burning cash at a rate that barely correlated with how much it was lending.

The turning point

The reversal is dated precisely, because Freo has said so itself: the company states it turned profitable on a contribution-margin basis in December 2023. The numbers on either side of that month are stark. Contribution margin, 16% in the quarter to March 2023, was above 40% by the quarter to March 2024, according to Outlook Business’s report on the FY24 results. Full-year revenue from operations rose 11% year-on-year, from ₹99.80 crore in FY23 to ₹111.46 crore in FY24, while total expenses fell 10.3%, from ₹139.97 crore to ₹125.58 crore, per Inc42’s account of the same filings. The net effect was a net loss of ₹14.16 crore for FY24, down 64.5% from ₹39.94 crore the year before. Nothing about the product changed in that window; what changed was collection quality on the same unsecured credit book, which management credited to tighter, machine-learning-driven underwriting rather than to any new product line.

The money behind it

  • Total primary funding is reported inconsistently across trackers: Tracxn’s tracked figure is $46.3 million across six rounds, while StartupTalky’s summary of the same round history puts cumulative funding at $82.3 million; both figures should be read as estimates, not an audited total.
  • Series A: $12.3 million, June 2017, with Sequoia India, New Enterprise Associates and Prime Venture Partners participating (StartupTalky).
  • Series B: ₹500 crore (about $70 million), announced 28 January 2020, co-led by Aquiline Technology Growth and RTP Global, with existing investors Sequoia India, Prime Venture Partners and MegaDelta also participating, plus debt lines from Vivriti Capital and Credit Saison (Aquiline Capital Partners press release; independently reported by DealStreetAsia at the same $70 million figure).
  • Debt: an undisclosed facility from state-run development bank SIDBI, disclosed in February 2024 (Tracxn).
  • Prime Venture Partners: an unusually early and structurally close backer, given that co-founder Bala Parthasarathy also co-founded the fund; it backed the company from its early rounds through Series A.
  • Sequoia India: anchored the 2017 Series A and returned to participate in the 2020 Series B, making it the longest continuously visible institutional backer on record.
  • Aquiline Technology Growth: brought in fintech-focused growth capital as co-lead of the 2020 Series B, the round that funded the NBFC build-out and the shift toward a broader neobank product line.
  • Valuation: not publicly disclosed as of September 2026; company-tracking platforms including Tracxn and PitchBook list the figure as redacted or withhold a current estimate.

How it makes money

  • Interest on drawn credit-line balances, historically priced from about 13% to 18% annually, or roughly 1.08% a month, on the outstanding amount (StartupTalky’s account of MoneyTap’s own published pricing).
  • A one-time line-approval fee, reported at around ₹500 per customer, plus processing fees charged on each amount drawn (StartupTalky).
  • Merchant and consumer fees on FreoPay’s buy-now-pay-later checkout, and interchange plus EMI-conversion fees on Freo Cards.
  • Freo does not carry all of this lending risk on its own books: it fronts credit through partner banks and NBFCs under co-lending arrangements, and fronts its savings product through Equitas Small Finance Bank, so a meaningful share of what looks like Freo’s balance sheet is actually shared with regulated partners.
  • The part people misread: Freo is commonly described as a digital bank, but it holds no banking licence. It holds an NBFC licence, a UPI third-party application provider (TPAP) licence and an insurance corporate-agent licence, and it operates as an underwriting-and-distribution layer over other institutions’ regulated balance sheets, per its own description in the IndiaLends acquisition release (PRNewswire).
  • The actual margin lever has not been loan growth but collection quality: contribution margin moved from 16% to over 40% between the quarters ending March 2023 and March 2024 on broadly similar lending volumes, which management attributed to underwriting that scores more than 3,000 input variables across “ability to pay” and “intent to pay,” reaching what its chief financial officer described as 95% current-bucket collection efficiency month-on-month (Inc42).

The numbers

Two consecutive audited years are available from Freo’s regulatory filings, as reported by Inc42; earlier years’ filings were not located in a form that could be independently verified this cycle, so they are omitted rather than estimated. All figures are in ₹ crore.

Metric (₹ crore) FY23 (year to March 2023) FY24 (year to March 2024)
Revenue from operations 99.80 111.46
Total expenses 139.97 125.58
EBITDA -36.6 (loss) -12.3 (loss)
Net loss 39.94 14.16

Separately, the company has told the press its gross revenue (a broader, company-defined measure that does not map directly to the “revenue from operations” line in the filings) was ₹350 crore in FY24, and that gross revenue has grown roughly five-fold over the preceding five years (Outlook Business). Both figures are reported here because they come from different measurement bases and neither should be read as a restatement of the other.

Where the money comes from

  • Revenue mix, FY24: about 55% from interest-bearing credit products and 45% from fee-based products, per Outlook Business’s report on the FY24 results.
  • Reach: 25 million registered users by the end of FY24, according to Outlook Business, up from a base the company had put at 15 million by the end of FY22 in earlier reporting (YourStory).
  • Footprint: more than 1,200 Indian cities and about 19,000 pin codes as of the IndiaLends deal in May 2026 (PRNewswire).
  • The surprise: growth increasingly comes from Freo’s own existing customers rather than new acquisition. Outlook Business reported that 60% of customers are returning users and that more than 20% hold more than one Freo product, meaning cross-selling savings, cards or BNPL into an existing credit-line customer is doing more work than net-new sign-ups.
  • Post-acquisition: combining with IndiaLends, whose marketplace runs on partnerships with more than 80 banks, NBFCs and other lenders, is meant to push the combined user base above 50 million, per both PRNewswire’s and Entrackr’s reporting of the deal.

The risks

  • Partner-balance-sheet dependency: even with its own NBFC licence, Freo still co-lends through outside banks and NBFCs, including RBL Bank, IDFC First Bank, HDB Financial Services, Credit Saison, InCred and Fullerton (Inc42). A funding squeeze at any one partner, of the kind the whole NBFC sector saw after the 2018 IL&FS default, can restrict how much Freo can actually lend regardless of customer demand.
  • Collections sensitivity in unsecured credit: the swing from a 16% to a 40%-plus contribution margin inside twelve months (Q4 FY23 to Q4 FY24, per Inc42 and Outlook Business) shows how directly the business’s profitability tracks repayment behaviour on unsecured balances. A deterioration in collections, whether from a slowing economy or looser underwriting, could compress margins as quickly as they expanded.
  • Acquisition-integration risk: the IndiaLends deal was announced in May 2026 with its value undisclosed and pending final regulatory approval (PRNewswire; Entrackr). Merging two lending marketplaces, two sets of licences and two underwriting stacks, while the combined entity simultaneously pursues what it has called a significant capital raise, is execution-heavy, and neither company has a public track record of an acquisition at this scale.

The takeaway

Freo’s founders were willing to give up the brand name that had won them millions of downloads once it stopped describing what the company actually did; MoneyTap became a product line inside Freo rather than the company’s identity. That is a smaller decision than it looks. The real work between FY23 and FY24 was not a new product or a new market, it was getting measurably better at collecting from the same customers on the same credit line, which is what took contribution margin from 16% to over 40% and cut the net loss by nearly two-thirds. For a business built on unsecured lending, the durable asset was never the name on the app icon. It was the underwriting and collections loop underneath it, and that is the part that is hardest to copy and the part that is easiest to overlook when a rebrand or an acquisition makes the headline.

Frequently asked questions

Why did MoneyTap change its name to Freo?

The company broadened beyond a single credit-line product into a wider set of banking-adjacent products, including savings, buy-now-pay-later and cards, and adopted Freo as the umbrella brand for that broader business, with MoneyTap continuing on as one product line inside it (Inc42).

Who founded Freo, and when?

Bala Parthasarathy, Anuj Kacker and Kunal Varma incorporated the company as MoneyTap in Bengaluru on 20 October 2015 (StartupTalky; Tracxn).

Is Freo profitable?

The company says it has been profitable on a contribution-margin basis since December 2023. Its statutory net loss narrowed by 64.5%, to ₹14.16 crore in FY24 from ₹39.94 crore in FY23, but it had not reported a full net profit for a fiscal year as of the last filing reviewed (Inc42).

How much funding has Freo raised, and who are its investors?

Estimates vary by tracker, from $46.3 million (Tracxn) to $82.3 million (StartupTalky). The two confirmed primary rounds are a $12.3 million Series A in June 2017 and a ₹500 crore (about $70 million) Series B in January 2020, backed by Sequoia India, Prime Venture Partners, Aquiline Technology Growth, RTP Global and MegaDelta (Aquiline Capital Partners; DealStreetAsia).

What does the IndiaLends acquisition change for Freo?

Announced in May 2026, Freo took over Gaurav Chopra’s credit marketplace IndiaLends, which brings partnerships with more than 80 banks and NBFCs, to combine licences and distribution and push toward a combined base of more than 50 million users, with a further capital raise planned to fund the next stage of growth (PRNewswire; Entrackr).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

  • Aquiline Capital Partners, “Fintech leader MoneyTap secures Rs 500 crore, raises Series B for growth,” January 2020
  • DealStreetAsia, “Indian lending startup MoneyTap snags $70m from Sequoia, RTP Global, others,” January 2020
  • Crowdfund Insider, “Bengaluru-based Fintech Moneytap Awarded Non-Banking Finance Company (NBFC) License,” September 2019
  • StartupTalky, “MoneyTap: India’s First Company to Provide Lifetime Credit,” accessed September 2026
  • Inc42, “From MoneyTap To Freo: How This Fintech Startup Is Tapping Into The Global $722 Bn Neobanking Opportunity,” accessed September 2026
  • Inc42, “Freo’s FY24 Loss Declines 65% To INR 14 Cr,” October 2024
  • Outlook Business, “Freo Attains Profitability, Records Rs 350 Crore Revenue In FY24,” 2024
  • YourStory, “After Rs 4,000 Cr in credit disbursement, MoneyTap is transitioning into neobank Freo,” June 2021
  • PRNewswire, “Freo announces strategic acquisition of IndiaLends, in a major push for growth,” May 2026
  • Entrackr, “Fintech startup Freo acquires IndiaLends,” May 2026
  • Tracxn, Freo company profile, accessed September 2026

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

The Invincible India
The Invincible Indiahttps://www.theinvincibleindia.in
The Invincible India is a digital magazine celebrating the spirit of India — covering national news, culture and heritage, travel, festivals, startups and inspiring people, with a special focus on Udaipur and Rajasthan. Our team brings readers stories that showcase an incredible and invincible India.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

46,000FansLike
11,500FollowersFollow
2,280SubscribersSubscribe

Most Popular