In 2015, Husk Power Systems deliberately shut down almost its entire business. It went from 80 rice-husk power plants serving roughly 250,000 people to just 10 plants and about 2,000 customers, a collapse the company’s own case history — documented by Harvard Business School and cited in the record of that restructuring — treats as a strategic choice, not a failure forced on it. A decade later, the same company says it runs the world’s largest fleet of privately owned mini-grids: 400 solar-hybrid sites across India and Nigeria as of January 2025, according to trade publication pv-magazine India, doubled from 200 a year earlier.
The bridge between those two numbers is a $103 million Series D round closed in October 2023 — $43 million of equity that Husk, and independently TechCrunch and Microgrid Knowledge, describe as the largest-ever equity raise in the mini-grid industry, plus $60 million of debt from the International Finance Corporation (IFC) and the European Investment Bank. Shell Ventures backed that round as an existing investor. In the same period, Husk’s Indian operating subsidiary, Husk Power Systems Private Limited, booked ₹136.53 crore (about $14.2 million at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026, Trading Economics) in revenue for the year ended 31 March 2025, up 93.0% year-on-year, according to Tofler’s tracking of its Ministry of Corporate Affairs (MCA) filings. This is the story of a company that nearly wrote off a decade of rural electrification work to rebuild around a different technology, and is now trying to prove that story again at ten times the scale, backed by development-finance money rather than venture capital.
Quick facts
| Company | Husk Power Systems — operating in India as Husk Power Systems Private Limited (CIN U01407DL2007PTC165192); global parent Husk Power Systems Inc., headquartered in Fort Collins, Colorado, US, with its founding operations base in Patna, Bihar, India |
| Founded | 2008, Bihar, India (Indian entity incorporated 26 June 2007, per Tofler/MCA record) |
| Founder(s) | Manoj Sinha (CEO), Gyanesh Pandey, Ratnesh Yadav and Chip Ransler |
| Businesses | Solar-biomass-battery hybrid mini-grids for rural communities; commercial and industrial rooftop solar; residential rooftop solar and appliance financing |
| Latest FY revenue | ₹136.53 crore (~$14.2 million) for FY25 (year ended 31 March 2025), up 93.0% year-on-year — Husk Power Systems Private Limited, per Tofler’s tracking of MCA filings |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Net profit margin of 33.3% for FY24, per Tofler’s analysis of MCA filings; an absolute FY25 profit/loss figure was not available from the sources reviewed for this piece |
| Listed | Private — not listed on any stock exchange; the company has stated a target IPO in 2027 (power-technology.com, pv-magazine India) |
| Market value / last valuation | Not publicly disclosed as of September 2026 |
| Key shareholders / CEO | Manoj Sinha (co-founder and CEO); institutional backers include Shell Ventures, STOA Infra & Energy, the US International Development Finance Corporation (DFC), Proparco, Swedfund and FMO (equity), plus IFC and the European Investment Bank (debt) |
What they do
Husk Power Systems builds, owns and operates small power plants — mini-grids, typically 25 kW to 100 kW — that combine solar panels, battery storage and, in its original design, biomass gasifiers running on rice husk, to supply round-the-clock electricity to villages and small towns that either have no grid connection or an unreliable one. Its customers fall into three groups, per the company’s own description of its business on its website and in investor materials: households paying for basic lighting and phone-charging power; micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs) — mills, cold storage, welding shops, agro-processing units — that need steadier, higher-load power to run productive equipment; and, more recently, commercial and industrial clients who buy rooftop solar installations outright rather than mini-grid electricity. As of January 2025, Husk operated more than 400 mini-grids serving over 1.5 million people and more than 30,000 small businesses across rural India and Nigeria, according to pv-magazine India’s coverage of the company’s 12-month growth update.
The origin
Gyanesh Pandey grew up in a village in Bihar without reliable electricity, left for the United States to study electrical engineering, earned a master’s degree in electric power and power electronics from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 2001, and worked for a period at semiconductor maker International Rectifier before returning to India, according to his account in an interview published by Alliance magazine. Manoj Sinha, from the same state, had studied electrical and computer engineering in the US and, per a profile published by Barclays, spent four years at S&P Global before enrolling for an MBA in finance at the University of Virginia’s Darden School of Business. The two met through their shared Bihar roots and overlapping engineering backgrounds; Sinha has described meeting Pandey as the pivotal moment that led to the company, “we’re from the same state in India, and had both moved to America to study electrical engineering,” as quoted by Barclays. After evaluating solar, wind and fuel-cell technologies and finding each too costly for rural Bihar’s economics at the time, the founders — joined by Ratnesh Yadav and Sinha’s Darden classmate Chip Ransler — settled on a technology built around a resource that was going to waste on every rice farm in the state: husk, an agricultural by-product usually left to rot or burn in the fields. The first generator went live in Bihar in 2008, serving roughly 300 to 500 households for six to eight hours of electricity a night, according to accounts from JSTOR Daily and Barclays.
The struggle years
The early growth numbers looked promising on paper — by 2011, according to a Knowledge at Wharton account of the business at that stage, Husk was operating more than 85 biomass plants serving over 35,000 households, and it projected company-wide profitability once it reached 100 to 120 plants, a milestone it expected to hit by around April 2012. But the mechanics of getting there were harder than the technology suggested. Gyanesh Pandey, in the same period, identified human resources — not fuel supply or plant engineering — as the company’s hardest problem: running roughly 350 employees across 80 rural Bihar locations where, as he put it in his interview with Alliance magazine, there was “a serious lack of professionalism from top to bottom and a whole culture of inaction,” compounded by a local labour pool with mostly agricultural skills and an outward migration of anyone with formal education. Husk’s response was to build its own training pipeline rather than wait for the labour market to solve the problem: in 2011 it committed more than $1 million to what it called Husk Power University, a workforce-training programme that let school dropouts move into technical plant-operator roles at a third higher wages than they could otherwise earn, per Alliance magazine’s reporting.
A second, structural setback ran alongside the staffing crisis. Husk had originally scaled by building and directly operating every plant itself — a “build-own-operate-maintain” model — which meant every new village required Husk’s own capital and its own management bandwidth. By around 2011, according to the same Alliance magazine account, the company was already shifting a large share of new sites to a franchise-style model in which local entrepreneurs owned and ran distribution while Husk handled construction, technical maintenance and fuel-supply chains — an admission that the direct-ownership model did not scale fast enough on its own. Both problems — the people problem and the ownership-model problem — were symptoms of the same underlying issue: a technology that worked in a lab and in a single pilot village was proving expensive and slow to replicate at the pace investors and the founders themselves wanted.
The turning point
The clearest before-and-after in Husk’s history is not a funding round; it is a decision to blow up most of the business it had spent seven years building. By around 2013 to 2014, customer demand had shifted from being satisfied with a few hours of evening lighting to wanting power on demand through the day — a shift documented separately by the University of Virginia’s Darden School (Sinha’s own MBA alma mater) and by Barclays’ profile of the company. Rather than retrofit its existing biomass-only plants piecemeal, CEO Manoj Sinha made the call to stop operating nearly all of Husk’s existing sites and rebuild them around a new, hybrid design: solar power during the day, biomass gasification in the evening, and battery storage overnight, aiming at genuinely round-the-clock, 100% renewable supply. The immediate cost of that decision, as recorded in a Harvard Business School case study on the company (cited in Husk’s own public history via Wikipedia), was stark: from roughly 80 operating plants and about 250,000 customers before the shift, Husk was down to a mere 10 power plants and around 2,000 customers in 2015 — a more than 95% reduction in its active customer base, self-inflicted, in pursuit of a business model it believed could actually scale. It took years to earn that bet back: by 2022 Husk had rebuilt to more than 150 hybrid mini-grids, according to search summaries of its own reporting, and by January 2025, per pv-magazine India, that figure had reached 400-plus sites serving over 1.5 million people — six times the customer count it had before the 2015 reset, on a technology base it did not have in 2015.
The money behind it
- 2008–2009 (competitions and prizes): Roughly $310,000 in early capital came from business-plan competitions and prize money — about $60,000 from Darden/University of Virginia-linked competitions and roughly $250,000 from Draper Fisher Jurvetson and Cisco’s business-plan contests, per aggregated funding histories reviewed for this piece.
- 2011 (grants and impact capital): Early institutional support came from the Shell Foundation, the Acumen Fund, and Indian government schemes, alongside continued founder capital, taking total company investment to around $6 million by 2011, per Knowledge at Wharton’s reporting at the time.
- 2018 (Series C): A $20 million equity round led by Shell Ventures, with participation from Swedfund International and ENGIE’s Rassembleurs d’Energies, followed by a further $5 million from Dutch development bank FMO — new capital that funded the build-out of the solar-hybrid model after the 2015 reset.
- 2022 (debt): More than $20 million in debt financing, including from EDFI-ElectriFI and India’s IREDA, supporting expansion of the India and Nigeria mini-grid fleets, per Renewable Watch’s 2022 profile of the company.
- October 2023 (Series D): $103 million in combined equity and debt — described by Husk, and independently by TechCrunch and Microgrid Knowledge, as the industry’s largest-ever capital raise for a mini-grid company. The $43 million equity tranche was led by STOA Infra & Energy, with new investors the US International Development Finance Corporation (DFC) and Proparco, plus existing backers Shell Ventures, Swedfund and FMO; the $60 million debt tranche came from the IFC and the European Investment Bank.
- May 2025 (project debt): A further $5 million from the IFC ($2.5 million senior loan) and the Canada-IFC Renewable Energy Program ($2.5 million concessional loan), earmarked for up to 108 new mini-grid sites in Nigeria, per an IFC press release dated 13 May 2025.
- 2025–2027 (in progress): Husk has stated a target of raising $400 million in combined debt and equity in the run-up to a planned 2027 initial public offering, as reported independently by power-technology.com and pv-magazine India; as of this piece’s research, that round had not closed.
- Valuation: No valuation figure for Husk Power Systems was found in any source reviewed for this piece; the company has not disclosed one publicly.
How it makes money
- Money in — mini-grid tariffs: In Husk’s original biomass-only model, households paid roughly ₹50-100 (then about $1-2) a month for around 45 watts of consumption, largely lighting and phone charging, at a unit rate the company described as around ₹2.20 per watt, per Knowledge at Wharton’s 2011 account; current hybrid mini-grids bill both residential customers and MSMEs on metered, pay-as-you-go tariffs through the company’s own “Huskify” smart-metering and mobile-payment platform.
- Money in — commercial and industrial (C&I) solar: Beyond mini-grids, Husk sells and installs rooftop solar directly to commercial and industrial customers and to residential rooftops, a separate, higher-ticket revenue line from its community mini-grid business, per the company’s own description of its three customer segments.
- Money in — carbon credits and productive-use financing: Husk generates additional revenue from selling carbon offsets tied to displaced diesel-generator and kerosene use, and offers financing for energy-efficient appliances and productive-use equipment (water filtration, agro-processing units) that MSME customers buy to consume more power, per power-technology.com and Microgrid Knowledge’s reporting on the company’s model.
- Costs out: The company’s cost base is dominated by capital expenditure on solar panels, batteries and, in earlier plants, gasifiers and generators; low-cost distribution infrastructure (the original model used bamboo poles rather than cement poles or underground cable to cut construction cost); and a field workforce for maintenance, metering and local customer service — Husk reported more than 500 employees as of its October 2023 fundraising announcement.
- Where the margin sits: Husk has said it reached EBITDA-positive status in both its India and Nigeria operations by the fourth quarter of 2022, per Microgrid Knowledge’s reporting, ahead of the October 2023 fundraise, and has reported a 60% compound annual growth rate for the 2020-2021 period, per Renewable Watch.
- The part people get wrong: Because mini-grids are sold on a household electricity tariff, it is easy to assume the business is a low-margin utility play. Husk’s own account of its economics instead centres on MSME and productive-use customers — the roughly one-third of new connections it targets for micro, small and medium enterprises — because those customers consume far more power per connection and are willing to pay for uptime, which is where the company says its unit economics actually work.
The numbers
Figures below are for Husk Power Systems Private Limited, the India operating entity (CIN U01407DL2007PTC165192), in ₹ crore, as tracked from Ministry of Corporate Affairs filings by Tofler; ₹136.53 crore converts to roughly $14.2 million at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics). Only two fiscal years carried a specific, sourced revenue figure at the time of this piece’s research; earlier years are not stated here rather than estimated.
| Fiscal year | Revenue (₹ crore) | Profit/loss |
| FY24 (year ended 31 March 2024) | In the ₹50–75 crore band (Tofler classification), up 146.3% year-on-year | Net profit margin of 33.3%, per Tofler’s analysis of MCA filings |
| FY25 (year ended 31 March 2025) | 136.53, up 93.0% year-on-year | Not separately disclosed in the sources reviewed for this piece |
- Husk Power Systems Private Limited’s revenue growth accelerated rather than slowed across the two most recent filed years: up 146.3% in FY24 and a further 93.0% in FY25, per Tofler’s tracking of MCA filings.
- Separately, at the global-group level (not the India legal entity above), Husk has stated its overall revenue “more than doubled” year-on-year in 2024 and it was targeting a further roughly 150% year-on-year growth rate in 2025, per co-founder and CEO Manoj Sinha as reported by power-technology.com — a company-stated figure for the whole group, distinct from the India-entity filings in the table.
- No FY23 or earlier standalone revenue or profit figures for the India entity were found in the sources reviewed for this piece, so none is stated here.
Where the money comes from
- Geography: As of the company’s most recent public update in January 2025, roughly 80% of Husk’s mini-grid fleet was in India and the remainder in Nigeria, per power-technology.com’s reporting on the company’s 2025 fundraising plans.
- Customer mix: Husk’s mini-grids served over 1.5 million residential customers and more than 30,000 MSME customers as of January 2025, per pv-magazine India — a customer base weighted heavily toward households by headcount, even though the company’s own account of its economics leans on the smaller MSME segment for margin.
- Capacity built: Husk’s community electrification work across India and Nigeria represented about 20 megawatts of installed solar capacity and roughly 2,500 kilometres of transmission and distribution lines, per pv-magazine India’s January 2025 update, alongside claimed displacement of about 3,000 diesel generators and 15,000 tonnes of annual CO2 avoided.
- New-market expansion: Husk has stated plans to enter the Democratic Republic of Congo in the second half of 2025 and to acquire mini-grid assets in Benin and Madagascar, per power-technology.com’s reporting on its 2025 fundraising round — expansion that, if completed, would shift the current India-Nigeria geographic split.
- The surprise: Despite the company’s public narrative centring on rural African electrification and its high-profile Africa Sunshot initiative (a stated goal of 2,500 mini-grids across six African countries within five years, announced in September 2023), the large majority of its operating mini-grids — about 80% as of January 2025 — are still in India, per power-technology.com, where the business was born and where its India legal entity’s own MCA-filed revenue nearly doubled in FY25.
The risks
- Currency and macroeconomic risk in Nigeria: Husk’s Nigerian operations are exposed to naira depreciation and inflation even as much of its financing is raised in, or benchmarked to, hard currency; the company’s own leadership has publicly acknowledged the challenge of Nigeria’s “current macroeconomic environment” and expressed hope for currency stabilisation, and the wider Nigerian mini-grid sector has responded by pioneering large naira-denominated debt facilities specifically to de-risk foreign-currency exposure, per African Business’s reporting on the sector.
- Policy and grid-arrival risk in India: India drafted a national policy in 2015 to formally de-risk mini-grids — for example, by compensating private operators if the state grid later arrives and takes over their customers — but that policy was never enacted, according to Renewable Watch’s 2022 profile, which cites a Husk executive calling this a missed opportunity. Without it, a mini-grid operator’s customer base and revenue in any given village remain exposed to the state distribution utility eventually extending a subsidised grid connection to the same customers.
- Continued dependence on concessional and development finance: Nearly every disclosed funding round in Husk’s history — from Shell Foundation and Acumen Fund grants in 2011 through the 2023 Series D’s DFC, Proparco, IFC and European Investment Bank participation, to the 2025 IFC-Canada facility — has come from development finance institutions, impact investors or grant-makers rather than mainstream commercial capital. Renewable Watch’s reporting notes that industry figures, including at Husk, have called for further government support such as interest subvention and state loan guarantees, underlining that the current model still relies on blended and concessional capital to be viable at today’s tariffs.
The takeaway
Husk Power Systems’ most instructive decision was not a funding round or a technology choice; it was the willingness, in 2015, to shrink the business by more than 95% on purpose rather than keep scaling a model it believed could not work at the pace it wanted. Most companies treat an installed customer base as the asset to protect at all costs. Husk treated it as a sunk cost once the underlying technology and demand had moved on, took the short-term collapse from 80 plants to 10, and rebuilt around solar-hybrid mini-grids it could not have deployed cost-effectively a few years earlier. The lesson transfers well beyond rural energy: when the unit economics of the current version of a business are structurally capped — not just executing badly, but capped by the technology or model itself — protecting the existing customer count can be the more expensive choice, even when it looks, in the short run, like the safer one.
Frequently asked questions
What does Husk Power Systems do?
Husk builds, owns and operates solar-hybrid mini-grids that supply round-the-clock electricity to rural households and small businesses in India and Nigeria, and separately sells commercial, industrial and residential rooftop solar installations, per the company’s own description of its business.
Who founded Husk Power Systems and when?
Husk Power Systems was founded in 2008 in Bihar, India, by Manoj Sinha (CEO), Gyanesh Pandey, Ratnesh Yadav and Chip Ransler; its Indian operating entity was incorporated on 26 June 2007, per Tofler’s record of its MCA filing.
How much funding has Husk Power Systems raised?
Disclosed rounds include a $20 million Series C in 2018, a further $5 million from FMO the same year, more than $20 million in debt in 2022, and a $103 million Series D (equity and debt combined) in October 2023 — described by Husk and independently by TechCrunch and Microgrid Knowledge as the mini-grid industry’s largest-ever capital raise. The company was targeting a further $400 million in debt and equity as of its 2025 statements, per power-technology.com, ahead of a planned 2027 IPO.
Is Husk Power Systems profitable?
The company has said it reached EBITDA-positive status in both its India and Nigeria operations by the fourth quarter of 2022, per Microgrid Knowledge’s reporting. Its India operating entity, Husk Power Systems Private Limited, showed a net profit margin of 33.3% for FY24, per Tofler’s analysis of MCA filings; an absolute FY25 profit or loss figure was not available from the sources reviewed for this piece.
How big is Husk Power Systems today?
As of January 2025, Husk operated more than 400 solar-hybrid mini-grids — about 80% in India and the rest in Nigeria — serving over 1.5 million people and more than 30,000 small businesses, according to pv-magazine India, which also reported the company’s own description of itself as the world’s largest owner and operator of private-sector mini-grids.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Wikipedia, “Husk Power Systems,” accessed September 2026 (citing Harvard Business School case study “Husk Power: Scaling the Venture” for the 2015 restructuring figures)
- Tofler, Husk Power Systems Private Limited company filing summary (CIN U01407DL2007PTC165192), accessed September 2026
- TechCrunch, “New solar mini-grids in Africa to be powered by Husk Power Systems’ $103M Series D,” 24 October 2023
- Microgrid Knowledge, “Husk Power Secures More Than $100M to Expand Minigrid Development,” October 2023
- EmpowerAfrica, “Husk Power Systems Secures $103 Million in Series D Funding for Cleantech Expansion in Africa and Asia,” October 2023
- techpoint.africa, “Husk Power raises $103 million in Series D to expand the company’s footprint in sub-Saharan Africa,” 24 October 2023
- Husk Power Systems, “Husk Power Secures $100+ Million in Equity and Debt to Supercharge Growth of Community Solar Minigrids,” company press release, October 2023
- pv-magazine India, “Husk hits 400 solar minigrids milestone,” 7 January 2025
- power-technology.com, “Husk Power targets $400m funding ahead of planned IPO in 2027,” 2025
- 5paisa, “Husk Power Plans $400 Million Fundraising and IPO in 2025,” 2025
- IFC, “IFC and Canada Invest in Husk to Catalyze Solar-Powered Economic Growth in Rural Nigeria,” press release, 13 May 2025
- African Business, “Husk Power seeks $400m to boost Nigeria operations,” February 2025
- Renewable Watch, “Husk Power Systems: Making a mark in the mini-grid space,” 25 March 2022
- Alliance magazine, “Case study: Husk Power Systems — featuring an interview with Gyanesh Pandey,” accessed September 2026
- Knowledge at Wharton, “Husk Power Systems: Generating Electricity from Waste for India’s Rural Poor,” accessed September 2026 (2011 reporting)
- Barclays, “Manoj Sinha: Husk Power Systems,” July 2019
- Darden Report Online (University of Virginia), “Husk Power Systems Eyes IPO and Aims to Provide Clean Energy to 100 Million,” 4 March 2025
- JSTOR Daily, “Running On Rice Husks — How One Entrepreneur Brought Electricity to His Village,” accessed September 2026
- Unreasonable Group, “Husk Power Systems” venture profile, accessed September 2026
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

