indiagold has raised $23.8 million (about ₹228 crore at $1 ≈ ₹96.0, 18 September 2026) since 2020 to send agents to Indian doorsteps to weigh and lend against household gold. For most of that life, it could not lend a single rupee of that money directly — it needed a bank or NBFC partner’s balance sheet to do it.
That changed in January 2026. Flat White Capital Private Limited, the company behind the indiagold brand, told Entrackr it had turned profitable at the profit-after-tax level and had secured its own non-banking financial company licence, five and a half years after founders Deepak Abbot and Nitin Misra almost launched a grocery delivery startup instead.
Quick facts
| Company | indiagold, operated by Flat White Capital Private Limited |
| Founded | 2020 (seed raised August 2020) |
| Founders | Deepak Abbot and Nitin Misra, both former Paytm senior vice-presidents |
| Businesses | Doorstep gold loans, gold lockers and gold savings for individuals; “Gold Loan As A Service” (GLAAS) technology and operations for banks and NBFCs |
| Latest FY revenue | ₹35.1 crore (~$3.7 million) for FY25, year ended March 2025 (Tracxn) |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Loss of ₹16.1 crore in FY24 (Forbes India); turned profitable at the PAT level in FY26, exact rupee figure undisclosed (Entrackr, January 2026) |
| Listed | Private — not listed on any exchange |
| Market value / last valuation | Not publicly disclosed since its last funding round closed in November 2022 |
| Key shareholders | Alpha Wave Incubation, PayU, 3one4 Capital, Leo Capital, Rainmatter Capital, Titan Capital, Better Tomorrow Ventures, and the founders |
What they do
indiagold lends money against household gold, and it does it at the customer’s door rather than inside a branch. A field agent visits, tests the gold’s purity using a computer-vision-assisted process, and disburses a loan against it, with the gold then moved to secure storage. Alongside lending, the company runs a gold locker service — a paid, insured place to store gold outside a bank vault — and gold-savings products that let customers accumulate small amounts of digital gold over time. Its customers are largely self-employed people, small traders and MSMEs who need short-term working capital and would otherwise queue at a Muthoot Finance or Manappuram Finance branch, or borrow informally against gold at a much higher cost. Since 2026, indiagold has added a second, business-facing line: a “Gold Loan As A Service” (GLAAS) offering that licenses its underwriting technology, purity-testing process and doorstep operations to banks and NBFCs that want to launch or scale gold lending without building the capability themselves, as described on indiagold’s own LinkedIn profile.
The origin
Deepak Abbot and Nitin Misra were both senior vice-presidents at Paytm until 2019, according to Forbes India and YourStory’s reporting on the founders’ backgrounds. Misra had already worked on Paytm’s digital gold product, which is where the founding insight took shape: India’s households sit on an enormous, illiquid pile of gold, and the formal lending system barely touches it. The PayU corporate announcement of indiagold’s 2021 funding round put the addressable gold loan opportunity at $650 billion, and noted that roughly 70% of gold loans in the country still happen in the informal sector, at rates and terms that are opaque to the borrower. Before they settled on gold, though, the founders had nearly gone a different way entirely. Forbes India’s account of the company’s early days notes that Abbot and Misra had considered building a kirana, or neighbourhood grocery, delivery startup before pivoting to gold-backed lending in 2020. They raised a $1.8 million seed round that August and launched in the National Capital Region, betting that a Zepto-style doorstep model — speed and convenience layered onto an old, trusted asset — could do to gold loans what quick commerce was starting to do to grocery.
The struggle years
The bet nearly didn’t survive its first year. TechCrunch’s report on indiagold’s August 2021 funding round records that the second wave of COVID-19, which tore through India in April and May of 2021, wiped out roughly 70% of the company’s business within days — field agents could not visit homes, and a doorstep lending model has no branch to fall back on when doorsteps become dangerous. The company rebuilt through the rest of 2021, expanding beyond the NCR and Indore into new cities. A second, slower-burning struggle followed: this one regulatory rather than viral. Forbes India’s later reporting notes that the Reserve Bank of India flagged sector-wide deficiencies in how gold-loan lenders monitored loan-to-value ratios, classified assets and conducted due diligence, a scrutiny cycle that weighed on disbursements across the industry during the transition to tighter norms. Unlike the pandemic shock, this was not a single event indiagold could simply wait out; it had to change how it operated, and it did so without its own lending licence to fall back on, dependent instead on partner banks and NBFCs to keep originating loans through the tightening.
The turning point
The clearest before-and-after in indiagold’s history sits in its own financials. Forbes India’s numbers show losses narrowing from roughly ₹28 crore in FY22 to ₹16.1 crore in FY24, alongside what the company described to Forbes India as 110% margin growth and a 55% cut in cash burn over a trailing 12-month period. That trajectory reached its inflection in January 2026: Entrackr reported that Flat White Capital had turned profitable at the profit-after-tax level in the current financial year and, in the same period, had secured its own NBFC licence — the regulatory approval that lets it lend from its own balance sheet instead of only sourcing and servicing loans for partner lenders such as Piramal Capital Housing Finance and Liquiloans, relationships reported by Inc42 around the company’s 2022 funding round. Getting licensed and getting profitable arriving together is not a coincidence the company disguises: an NBFC licence lets it capture the full interest spread on a loan instead of a servicing fee, which is precisely the kind of margin expansion that turns a shrinking loss into a profit.
The money behind it
indiagold’s funding has come in two clean stages, both confirmed across the company’s own investor announcements and independent reporting.
- Seed — August 2020: $1.8 million, ahead of the company’s 2020 launch (Forbes India).
- Series A, first tranche — 27 August 2021: $12 million, led by Prosus-owned PayU and Falcon Edge-managed Alpha Wave Incubation, with Better Tomorrow Ventures, 3one4 Capital, Rainmatter Capital and existing investor Leo Capital participating (PayU corporate announcement; TechCrunch).
- Series A, extension — November 2022: a further $10 million, with Inc42 reporting the individual cheques as Alpha Wave at ₹38.76 crore, 3one4 Capital at ₹19.38 crore, PayU at ₹11.62 crore and Leo Capital at ₹7.75 crore, taking cumulative Series A raised to $22 million (Inc42; Forbes India; YourStory).
- Total raised to date: $23.8 million per Forbes India, rounded to “$24 million to date” by Entrackr in its January 2026 report — both sources agree no round has closed since November 2022.
- Angel backers named by Forbes India alongside the institutional rounds include individuals associated with Cred, Pine Labs, Livspace and boAt.
What PayU and Alpha Wave changed was not just the cheque size. PayU, as a payments and credit company already embedded with merchants, gave indiagold a distribution lens beyond retail consumers; Alpha Wave Incubation, an early and repeat backer, anchored both tranches of the Series A, which is unusual for a two-year-old lender still finding its regulatory footing. Notably, indiagold has not disclosed a valuation at either 2021 or 2022 round in any source this article could verify, and no valuation has been reported publicly since — a gap this piece is not going to fill with a guess.
How it makes money
The business people assume is simple — “they lend against gold, they earn interest” — is actually two different economics stacked on top of each other, and the split matters.
- Direct lending margin (new, since January 2026): with its own NBFC licence, indiagold can now originate gold loans on its own books and keep the full spread between what it charges borrowers and its cost of funds, rather than a fee for sourcing the loan.
- Partner-originated loans (the historical model): for most of its life, indiagold sourced, appraised and serviced gold loans that sat on the books of partner banks and NBFCs — Inc42 named Piramal Capital Housing Finance and Liquiloans among these partners around the 2022 funding round — earning a servicing or referral fee rather than the full interest spread.
- Gold locker rental: a recurring, low-risk fee for secure gold storage, pitched in the PayU announcement as far cheaper than a bank locker.
- Gold savings/digital gold: smaller-ticket accumulation products that build a funnel of gold-holding customers who may later borrow against that gold.
- GLAAS, the B2B line: licensing the underwriting technology, computer-vision purity testing and doorstep-agent operations to other regulated lenders wanting to enter gold lending, per indiagold’s own LinkedIn description — a technology-and-operations fee rather than a lending margin.
The part most outside observers get wrong, based on how the company is typically described in headlines, is treating indiagold as a lender first. For the bulk of its history it was closer to an origination-and-servicing layer sitting on top of other people’s balance sheets, which is precisely why its own NBFC licence, arriving only in January 2026, mattered enough to coincide with its first profitable year.
The numbers
Revenue has grown roughly ninefold from FY21 to FY25, even as losses ran for most of that stretch. Figures below are as reported by Inc42, Forbes India and Tracxn, and are not all from a single consistent filing basis — where trackers disagree, both figures are given.
| Fiscal year | Revenue (₹ crore) | Profit / (loss) (₹ crore) |
| FY21 (year ended March 2021) | 0.40 | (5.5) |
| FY22 (year ended March 2022) | 2.76 (Inc42) to 4.9 (Forbes India) | (28.7) per Inc42 / (28) per Forbes India |
| FY24 (year ended March 2024) | 19.3 | (16.1) |
| FY25 (year ended March 2025) | 35.1 | Not disclosed; company says it targeted profitability by March 2026 |
- FY21 revenue: ₹40 lakh, loss of ₹5.5 crore — the company’s first full year (Inc42, reporting from regulatory filings).
- FY22 revenue: reported as ₹2.76 crore by Inc42 and ₹4.9 crore by Forbes India; losses of ₹28.7 crore and ₹28 crore respectively — close enough on losses to be confident, wide enough on revenue that both figures are cited here.
- FY24 revenue: ₹19.3 crore, loss narrowed to ₹16.1 crore (Forbes India).
- FY25 revenue: ₹35.1 crore, roughly $3.7 million (Tracxn) — no FY25 loss figure has been independently reported.
- FY26 (current year): profitable at the PAT level, per Entrackr’s January 2026 report, though Flat White Capital has not disclosed the rupee profit figure.
- Cumulative lending: more than ₹2,500 crore disbursed since 2021, per Forbes India — a figure covering both partner-originated and, more recently, own-book loans.
Where the money comes from
indiagold does not publish a revenue split by product or geography, so this section draws a distinction between what is known about the company specifically and the market it sits inside.
- Company footprint: Forbes India put indiagold’s operating city count at 12, with expansion planned to 15 and into Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, and North and East India — a deliberate push beyond the National Capital Region and Indore where it started.
- Two customer bases, one asset: retail borrowers and gold-savings customers on one side; bank and NBFC clients of the GLAAS product on the other — the same purity-testing and doorstep-agent infrastructure serves both.
- The sector context, not company-specific: CRIF High Mark data cited by Entrackr shows organised gold-loan originations at ₹6.05 lakh crore in the quarter, up 53% year on year, with loans above ₹5 lakh making up over 30% of origination value and roughly two-thirds of originations now coming from cities outside India’s top nine metros — the exact kind of geography where a doorstep model has an edge over a branch network.
- The surprise: the fastest-growing part of the market indiagold operates in is not big-ticket urban borrowing but new-to-credit customers, who CRIF High Mark data puts at around 15% of origination value sector-wide — people a branch-based lender’s paperwork would likely have turned away.
The risks
- Regulatory tightening on gold loans: the Reserve Bank of India has flagged sector-wide gaps in loan-to-value monitoring, asset classification and due diligence at gold-loan lenders, per Forbes India’s reporting — a compliance load that falls harder on a company that only recently became an NBFC in its own right, with a shorter track record of regulator-facing reporting than incumbents like Muthoot Finance.
- Gold-price and collateral-value swings: because every rupee lent is backed by gold priced at the time of disbursement, a sharp fall in gold prices pushes loan-to-value ratios above regulatory limits, forcing either fresh collateral top-ups or partial recalls — a mechanical risk built into any gold-backed lending model, not specific to indiagold but unavoidable for it.
- Doorstep custody and fraud risk: a model built on sending field agents to appraise and collect physical gold at a customer’s home concentrates trust in the agent at the point of pickup, before the gold reaches secure storage — a structural exposure that a branch-based lender, where the handover happens inside a monitored premises, does not carry in the same way.
The takeaway
indiagold’s story is less about a clever app and more about patience with plumbing. Two ex-Paytm executives spotted an obviously large, obviously underserved market — gold sitting idle in Indian homes — and spent five years building the unglamorous parts: doorstep logistics that survive a pandemic, a servicing relationship with banks and NBFCs while it lacked its own licence, and finally the regulatory approval to lend on its own balance sheet. The lesson that travels beyond gold loans is that a consumer-facing idea built on top of a regulated, physical asset does not get to skip the licence just because the app is fast. The company that waits to earn the licence, and uses the wait to prove it can operate safely at someone else’s risk, ends up with a better one when it finally gets there.
Frequently asked questions
Who owns and operates indiagold?
indiagold is the consumer brand of Flat White Capital Private Limited, a Gurugram-headquartered company founded in 2020 by former Paytm senior vice-presidents Deepak Abbot and Nitin Misra.
How much money has indiagold raised, and from whom?
Forbes India puts total funding at $23.8 million across a $1.8 million seed round (August 2020) and a two-tranche Series A of $22 million (August 2021 and November 2022), backed by Alpha Wave Incubation, PayU, 3one4 Capital, Leo Capital, Rainmatter Capital, Titan Capital and Better Tomorrow Ventures. Entrackr rounded the total to “$24 million to date” in January 2026.
Is indiagold profitable?
It ran losses through at least FY24, when Forbes India reported a ₹16.1 crore loss. Entrackr reported in January 2026 that the company had turned profitable at the profit-after-tax level in the current financial year, alongside securing its NBFC licence, though it has not disclosed the exact profit figure.
Does indiagold lend its own money?
For most of its history, no: it sourced, appraised and serviced gold loans that sat on the books of partner banks and NBFCs, reportedly including Piramal Capital Housing Finance and Liquiloans (Inc42). That changed in January 2026, when it secured its own NBFC licence, letting it lend directly from its own balance sheet for the first time.
Who competes with indiagold?
Entrackr names Rupeek as its closest digital-first rival, alongside traditional branch-based gold-loan giants Muthoot Finance and Manappuram Finance, which between them still dominate India’s organised gold-loan market.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Entrackr, “IndiaGold turns profitable, secures NBFC licence as gold-loan demand soars,” January 2026
- Forbes India, “Meet Indiagold, the Zepto of gold loans,” 2026
- Inc42, “Digital Gold Loan Startup Indiagold Raises $10 Mn Led By PayU, AWI Fund, Others,” November 2022
- TechCrunch, “Indiagold raises $12 million for its gold-focused digital alternative credit platform,” August 2021
- PayU India Corporate, “indiagold announces” funding round statement, August 2021
- YourStory, “Fintech startup indiagold closes Series A funding at $22M,” November 2022
- YourStory, “Why Paytm’s Deepak Abbot and Nitin Misra relooked at digital gold loans,” August 2021
- Tracxn, Flat White Capital Private Limited company profile, 2026
- LinkedIn, indiagold company page (headcount, business description), accessed September 2026
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

