In FY23, Instamojo turned a ₹8.26 crore profit on ₹46.2 crore of revenue, most of it earned processing payments for small merchants. By the end of the following year, its core payments business did not exist. The Reserve Bank of India had returned the company’s payment-aggregator licence application because its net worth fell short of the mandated ₹15 crore (₹150 million, about $1.6 million at ₹96.0 to the dollar) threshold — by just ₹60 lakh.
That gap, smaller than the monthly transaction volume of many of its own merchants, forced Instamojo to shut the business it was built on and rebuild itself, inside a year, as a subscription software company selling online stores to the same small merchants it used to process payments for. Co-founder Sampad Swain has described the moment as one where his company’s terminal valuation touched zero. This is the story of a fintech that survived on ₹13 in the founder’s bank account in 2011, built a licensed payments business over a decade, and then watched a single compliance shortfall erase it in 2023.
Quick facts
| Company | Instamojo Technologies Private Limited (“Instamojo”) |
| Founded | September 2012, Bengaluru (incorporated March 2013) |
| Founder(s) | Sampad Swain, Akash Gehani, Aditya Sengupta, Harshad Sharma |
| Businesses | Digital Commerce as a Service (DCaaS) — online store builder, Smart Pages landing pages, payment links, for small and early-stage merchants |
| Latest FY revenue | Under ₹10 crore in FY25 (year to 31 March 2025), down from ₹46.2 crore in FY23 |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Swung to a loss in FY24 after an ₹8.26 crore profit in FY23 |
| Listed | Private (not listed) |
| Market value / last valuation | Not disclosed since 5 February 2020 (Tracxn) |
| Key shareholders / CEO | Sampad Swain (co-founder & CEO); backers include Blume Ventures, Kalaari Capital, Times Internet and Mastercard |
What they do
Instamojo is a Bengaluru-based commerce-enablement platform that helps small and early-stage merchants run an online business — a store, payment links and marketing landing pages — without hiring a developer. Its own positioning targets what it calls “zero-to-one and one-to-ten” businesses: brands just starting to sell online or scaling their first few lakh rupees of monthly revenue, distinct from the larger, already-established sellers that rivals such as Unicommerce, Increff, Browntape and Easyecom serve (Inc42, 2024). Until September 2023 it also operated as a Reserve Bank of India-licensed payment aggregator, routing card, UPI, netbanking and wallet payments for those same merchants; that licence is gone now, and Instamojo instead routes collections through other licensed aggregators (Entrackr, November 2023).
- Online store builder — cart, catalogue, custom domain and 19+ themes, from a free “Lite” tier to a ₹14,999-a-year “Growth” plan (Instamojo pricing page, accessed September 2026).
- Smart Pages — no-code landing pages with built-in payment collection, free up to a ₹12,999-a-year “Pro” tier (Instamojo pricing page, accessed September 2026).
- Payment Links — shareable one-off or recurring payment links, free up to a ₹4,999-a-year “Smart” tier (Instamojo pricing page, accessed September 2026).
- Do-It-For-Me — a managed store-setup service with a dedicated advisor, priced on request (Instamojo pricing page, accessed September 2026).
The origin
Sampad Swain’s route into fintech started with a blog. He ran a site called Instastartup.com and wanted readers to be able to pay him a small amount online; by his own account, he could not find an easy way to collect even ₹10 (YourStory, September 2019). That gap became the idea for a product any small website or blogger could plug in to accept payment within minutes, without a merchant bank account of their own.
Money was tight before the company existed on paper. Swain has said that in December 2011, a week before Instamojo effectively started, he had ₹13 left in his bank account and borrowed from his wife, who was then pregnant with twins, to keep going (YourStory, September 2019). He formally started Instamojo in Bengaluru in September 2012 with Akash Gehani, Aditya Sengupta and Harshad Sharma, and the venture was selected into the fifth batch of the 500 Startups accelerator programme that October (YourStory, September 2019). The name is a mash-up of “Insta,” carried over from Instastartup, and “mojo” — magic, a nod Swain has traced to his fondness for Harry Potter.
The struggle years
The near-empty bank account in 2011 was survivable because the idea was small and cheap to build. A tougher, better-documented test arrived a decade later. Instamojo had built its business as a Reserve Bank of India-licensed payment aggregator, a status that let it hold merchant funds in transit under the regulator’s 2020 framework for such intermediaries. But by 2021 the company held roughly $4 million in US bank accounts — money that did not count toward the RBI’s net-worth calculation for domestic payment aggregators, according to co-founder statements reported by Inc42 (2024). That left Instamojo’s recognised net worth under the ₹15 crore minimum the regulator required of licence applicants, a gap the company had not closed by the time its application came up for a decision.
The pandemic had already forced an earlier stretch of the business model. With merchants unable to trade offline, Instamojo pushed further into store-builder and landing-page tools between 2020 and 2021, so its payments customers had somewhere to actually sell, not just a way to collect money (Medianama, February 2024). That shift meant Instamojo entered its regulatory crisis already a mixed payments-and-software business rather than a pure payment gateway — a hedge that mattered for what came next.
The turning point
On 27 September 2023, the RBI returned Instamojo’s payment aggregator authorisation application, citing the net-worth shortfall (Entrackr, November 2023; Medianama, February 2024). Before that date, payments made up roughly 80% of Instamojo’s revenue, the company was making close to ₹1 crore a month in profit, and it was tracking toward about $1.5 million in profit for FY24 (Inc42, 2024). Swain has described the immediate aftermath bluntly: “our terminal valuation was zero” (Inc42, 2024).
Instamojo suspended its aggregator and payout business the following month and told its more than 2 million merchant customers it would route their collections through other RBI-licensed aggregators instead, while its payment gateway front-end kept functioning (Entrackr, November 2023; Inc42, November 2023). About 90% of that base moved across successfully, though some merchants saw settlements delayed during a fresh KYC round, and a portion of them, by the company’s own account, openly accused Instamojo’s leadership of running a fraud (Medianama, February 2024). Internally, the company cut 15–20% of the staff working in the payments and compliance roles the shrunken business no longer needed (Inc42, 2024). Swain’s own summary of those weeks: a business that had been “on the verge of making a couple of millions of profit” flipped to losing money at a similar monthly pace, and revenue “compressed overnight” (Medianama, February 2024).
The money behind it
Instamojo built its investor base gradually across a decade, staying well short of the large rounds that funded bigger Indian payments companies over the same period. Total disclosed funding is reported inconsistently across trackers: Inc42 puts it at $7.94 million over seven rounds, while Tracxn counts $12.3 million over nine rounds, a gap likely explained by how each tracker weights undisclosed or smaller tranches (Inc42 funding profile; Tracxn, both accessed September 2026).
- Seed, February 2013 — led by Blume Ventures with five other investors, Instamojo’s first institutional capital (Inc42 funding profile, accessed September 2026).
- Series A, November 2014 and again August 2017 — Blume Ventures followed on in 2014; Kalaari Capital led a further Series A round in 2017 as the merchant base grew (Inc42 funding profile, accessed September 2026).
- Series B, January 2019 — ₹50 crore (about $7 million, per Inc42) from Kalaari Capital, Blume Ventures, Gunosy Capital and AnyPay, earmarked to triple growth and double headcount (Inc42, January 2019).
- Venture rounds, March and November 2020 — Times Internet and Gunosy Capital backed further rounds as Instamojo pushed into store-builder tools during the pandemic (Inc42 funding profile, accessed September 2026).
- Corporate round, June 2021 — Mastercard invested directly; this is Instamojo’s most recent disclosed funding event (Inc42 funding profile, accessed September 2026).
No valuation has been disclosed since 5 February 2020, according to Tracxn (accessed September 2026) — a silence that stretches across the 2023 crisis, when Swain has said the business was worth nothing in practice for a period.
How it makes money
Before September 2023, Instamojo earned the way most payment aggregators do: a transaction fee on every payment processed, layered on top of whatever a merchant paid for its store or landing-page subscription. Its own support documentation, still live in 2026 even though the direct aggregator licence has lapsed, lists a flat 2% + ₹3 fee on debit/credit cards, netbanking, wallets, UPI and EMI, rising to 5% + ₹3 on digital-goods sales, plus 18% GST on top; NEFT/RTGS bank transfers carry no fee (Instamojo Help Center, accessed September 2026). In FY22, the last full year before the pivot, that payments line brought in about ₹38 crore against ₹7 crore from a separate IT-services arm — payments carried the company (YourStory, December 2023, citing Instamojo’s FY22 filing).
- Subscription revenue — annual or monthly plans for the store builder (up to ₹14,999/year), Smart Pages (up to ₹12,999/year) and Payment Links (up to ₹4,999/year), each with a free entry tier (Instamojo pricing page, accessed September 2026).
- Transaction take rate — 2% + ₹3 per payment on standard modes, 5% + ₹3 on digital goods, now charged through partner-aggregator rails rather than Instamojo’s own licence (Instamojo Help Center, accessed September 2026).
- Where the margin sits — subscription fees are closer to pure margin, while the transaction take rate is shared with card networks, issuing banks and, since 2023, the partner aggregator that now holds the RBI licence Instamojo does not (Medianama, February 2024).
- What people get wrong — Instamojo is commonly described as “just a payment gateway,” but payments already sat alongside a smaller IT-services line by FY22, and post-2023 it is, by its own choice, a software subscription business first (Medianama, February 2024; Instamojo company blog, 2023).
The numbers
Instamojo’s revenue and profit swung sharply either side of the 2023 crisis. The company was not loss-making going into it — it had just posted its first clean profit in years.
| Financial year | Revenue (₹ crore) | Profit / (loss) |
|---|---|---|
| FY22 (year to 31 Mar 2022) | ₹46.6 crore | (₹1.1 crore) loss |
| FY23 (year to 31 Mar 2023) | ₹46.2 crore | ₹8.26 crore profit |
| FY24 (year to 31 Mar 2024) | Down 65.8% year-on-year (exact figure not disclosed) | Swung to a loss, down 221% year-on-year |
| FY25 (year to 31 Mar 2025) | Under ₹10 crore | Not disclosed |
FY22–FY23 figures as reported by YourStory and IndianStartupNews (both December 2023), citing Instamojo’s regulatory filings; FY24 percentage changes from Tofler’s analysis of MCA filings (accessed September 2026); FY25 revenue range from Tracxn’s financial summary (accessed September 2026). Despite the shrinking top line, Instamojo’s EBITDA margin had reached 15% by Q2 FY24, against −7% in the same quarter of FY23 — evidence the smaller, software-first business was already turning a corner even as revenue kept falling (Medianama, February 2024).
Where the money comes from
Instamojo does not publish a clean geography or channel split, but two data points show where its growth actually came from. In FY22, IT services quietly made up about 15% of revenue alongside the 80%-plus from payments — a segment most coverage of the company ignored (YourStory, December 2023). And in its own account of 2023 growth, Instamojo highlighted a city and category mix that cuts against the “metro D2C brand” image many payment platforms project.
- Merchant sign-ups rose 746% year-on-year in Mumbai and 689% in Kochi, both well ahead of growth in Bengaluru, Delhi-NCR and Mumbai, its three historically largest markets by revenue (Instamojo company blog, 2023).
- Bath, beauty and fragrance sellers grew 300% and art-and-craft sellers 80%, categories skewed toward small, often solo-run brands rather than funded D2C startups (Instamojo company blog, 2023).
- Tier-II/III cities — Indore, Guwahati, Ludhiana, Bhubaneswar, Surat, Coimbatore, Nagpur, Bhopal and Siliguri — were named explicitly as growth markets distinct from the big-metro base (Instamojo company blog, 2023).
The surprise: Instamojo’s growth engine looks less like urban D2C and more like small-town, first-time online sellers, which fits its “zero-to-one” positioning better than its payments-era brand ever did.
The risks
- Regulatory dependency, already realised once — Instamojo lost its core payments licence over a net-worth shortfall of about ₹60 lakh against a ₹15 crore threshold; any future push back into regulated payments carries the same compliance exposure (Inc42, 2024; Entrackr, November 2023).
- Trust rebuilding after a public failure — merchants who saw settlements delayed in late 2023 openly accused the company of fraud, by its own co-founder’s account; new-merchant acquisition in fintech-adjacent categories depends on repairing that credibility (Medianama, February 2024).
- A smaller, still-recovering base — FY24 revenue fell 65.8% year-on-year and swung to a loss, and FY25 revenue stayed under ₹10 crore, a fraction of the ₹46 crore-plus generated as recently as FY23 (Tofler; Tracxn, both accessed September 2026).
- Crowded, better-funded competition — Instamojo’s DCaaS pitch competes directly with Shopify, Dukaan and DotPe for the same small-merchant store-builder budget, on a headcount Tracxn put at just 26 employees in October 2024 (Inc42, 2024; Tracxn, accessed September 2026).
The takeaway
Instamojo’s story is not really about payments or e-commerce; it is about how thin the margin for regulatory error can be for a mid-sized fintech. A shortfall of ₹60 lakh — less than what many of its own merchants moved through the platform in a single month — was enough to end a licensed, profitable line of business inside a fiscal year. The lesson travels beyond this one company: compliance thresholds are not administrative formalities to catch up on later. For a regulated business, they are the business, and the cost of missing one by a small margin is rarely proportional to the size of that margin.
Frequently asked questions
What does Instamojo do now?
Instamojo runs a Digital Commerce as a Service platform for small and early-stage merchants — an online store builder, no-code landing pages (“Smart Pages”) and shareable payment links — rather than operating as a Reserve Bank of India-licensed payment aggregator, a status it gave up in 2023 (Medianama, February 2024).
Why did Instamojo stop being a payment aggregator?
The RBI returned its payment aggregator authorisation application on 27 September 2023 because Instamojo’s recognised net worth fell about ₹60 lakh short of the mandated ₹15 crore minimum, a gap traced to roughly $4 million the company held in US accounts that did not count toward the domestic net-worth calculation (Inc42, 2024; Entrackr, November 2023).
Who founded Instamojo and when?
Sampad Swain founded Instamojo in Bengaluru in September 2012 with Akash Gehani, Aditya Sengupta and Harshad Sharma; the company was incorporated as Instamojo Technologies Private Limited in March 2013 (YourStory, September 2019; Tofler company filing, accessed September 2026).
How much money has Instamojo raised, and from whom?
Trackers disagree on the exact total: Inc42 lists $7.94 million across seven rounds, Tracxn lists $12.3 million across nine, spanning a Blume Ventures-led seed in 2013, Kalaari Capital-led Series A and B rounds, and later rounds backed by Times Internet, Gunosy Capital and a 2021 corporate investment from Mastercard (Inc42 funding profile; Tracxn, both accessed September 2026).
Is Instamojo profitable today?
Not on the latest disclosed numbers. It was profitable in FY23 (₹8.26 crore profit on ₹46.2 crore revenue) but swung to a loss in FY24 after the payments shutdown, and FY25 revenue stayed under ₹10 crore — though its EBITDA margin had already turned positive by Q2 FY24 as the smaller software business found its footing (YourStory, December 2023; Tofler; Tracxn, both accessed September 2026; Medianama, February 2024).
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- YourStory, “Instamojo records flat revenue of Rs 46 Cr in FY23,” December 2023
- IndianStartupNews, “Fintech firm Instamojo turns profitable with Rs 8.26 crore profit in FY23,” December 2023
- YourStory, “The Turning Point: Founder Sampad Swain reveals how…,” September 2019
- Inc42, “Behind Instamojo’s Bold Pivot From Payments To Shopify Challenger,” 2024
- Inc42, “Mastercard Backed Instamojo Shuts Core Payments Biz After RBI Rejects Its Application,” November 2023
- Inc42, “With $7 Mn Series B Funding, Instamojo Looks To Triple Growth, Double Manpower,” January 2019
- Inc42, Instamojo funding profile (inc42.com/company/instamojo/funding), accessed September 2026
- Entrackr, “Instamojo suspends payment aggregator biz on RBI direction,” November 2023
- Medianama, “Why InstaMojo is Steering Away from Payment Aggregation,” February 2024
- Tracxn, Instamojo company and legal-entity financial profiles, accessed September 2026
- Tofler, Instamojo Technologies Private Limited financial and filings summary, accessed September 2026
- Instamojo company blog, “Announcement: Instamojo is now a profitable D2C Tech company,” 2023
- Instamojo pricing page (instamojo.com/pricing) and Help Center transaction-fees article, accessed September 2026
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

