In the time TVS Motor takes to sell about six days’ worth of electric scooters, Odysse Electric sells a year’s worth. Yet in December 2025 this small Mumbai-based two-wheeler maker posted 133% year-on-year sales growth, a faster rate than any of India’s six biggest electric two-wheeler brands managed that year.
Odysse is not chasing the retail race that Ola Electric, Ather Energy, TVS and Bajaj are fighting in showrooms. It has built its scale-up around a different bet: sign a handful of large, named customers for thousands of vehicles at a time, keep prices below a lakh where it can, and let volume from fleets do what marketing budgets cannot. Whether that bet outlives the subsidy that has underwritten India’s electric two-wheeler boom is the open question this piece tries to answer.
Quick facts
| Company | Odysse Electric Vehicles Private Limited |
| Founded | Incorporated 4 November 2019; commercial operations began in 2020, Mumbai |
| Founder(s) | Nemin Vora, Founder & CEO; Sudhir Goel joined as Co-founder in February 2026 |
| Businesses | Electric scooters and motorcycles (Hy-Fy, Racer Neo, Sun, Trot 2.0, Evoqis, Vader) and a battery-swapping scooter, SNAP |
| Latest FY revenue | ₹32.5 crore ($3.4 million) for FY25 (year ended 31 March 2025), up about 15.0% year-on-year |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Not publicly disclosed |
| Listed | Private; no stock exchange listing |
| Market value / last valuation | Not disclosed; no confirmed institutional equity round as of September 2026 |
| Key shareholders / CEO | Promoter-held, directors Virendra Vora and Nemin Virendra Vora; CEO Nemin Vora |
What they do
Odysse Electric Vehicles designs and sells electric two-wheelers out of Mumbai, split across two rungs of the market: affordable, low-speed and high-speed scooters such as the Hy-Fy, Racer Neo, Sun and Trot 2.0 aimed at daily commuters and gig-delivery riders, and a premium pair of electric motorcycles, the Evoqis and the Vader, priced closer to entry-level petrol bikes. Its newest product, SNAP, is a battery-swapping scooter built with Indofast Energy, a joint venture of Indian Oil and SUN Mobility, so a rider can exchange a depleted pack for a charged one instead of waiting to plug in. The company sells through a dealer network rather than direct online delivery, and it also supplies vehicles in bulk to fleet operators that run last-mile delivery and rental businesses.
The origin
Nemin Vora did not start in electric vehicles. He grew up inside his family’s business distributing CNG and LPG conversion kits for the Italian brand Lovato, and he spent nine years as CEO of the joint venture that manufactured those alternative-fuel kits in India, according to his own account of the company’s founding. That work put him inside the supply chains and dealer networks of automotive retrofitting years before electric two-wheelers became a mainstream category. As he has put it, India was “transitioning towards clean mobility and that is where the idea of Electric Vehicles came to us.” The insight was not a battery chemistry breakthrough; it was that the distribution and after-sales relationships built around alternative fuels could be pointed at a new product. Odysse Electric Vehicles Private Limited was incorporated on 4 November 2019, and the company says it began commercial operations in 2020.
The struggle years
The early years were unglamorous logistics problems rather than one dramatic near-death. Vora has described three specific obstacles from that period: getting suppliers used to serving large two-wheeler manufacturers to accept the tiny minimum order quantities a startup could commit to, designing a product that could compete on range and price at the same time, and persuading dealers and customers to trust an unfamiliar brand over established petrol names. None of that shows up in a press release, but it shows up in the company’s own regulatory filings a few years later. For the year ended 31 March 2023, Odysse’s revenue grew a modest 5.1% year-on-year, but net profit fell 313% and net worth declined by 284% over the same period, according to MCA-filing data aggregated by CompanyDetails.in. Those are the kind of numbers that mark a company running low on cushion, not one in a comfortable growth glide path. By April 2024, that pressure was public: CEO Nemin Vora told Business Standard the company was looking to raise $5–10 million to fund expansion, at a point when Odysse had sold more than 10,000 vehicles domestically since 2020 and had built a network of over 60 dealerships across more than 20 states.
The turning point
The turning point arrived on 18 November 2024, when Zypp Electric, an EV-as-a-service operator that leases vehicles to delivery riders, agreed to buy 40,000 electric scooters from Odysse over the following three years and took a minority stake in the company as part of the deal, according to Electrive.com and Autocar Professional. The contrast either side of that date is stark. Before it: a company with an undisclosed, apparently self-funded balance sheet, a CEO publicly asking the market for $5–10 million, and an order book Business Standard had put at roughly 20,000 B2B vehicles as of April 2024. After it: a single named counterparty committing to 40,000 units, plus the company’s first disclosed outside capital, however small in amount. Zypp’s own co-founder and CEO, Akash Gupta, framed the order as part of a plan to put 200,000 electric vehicles on the road for last-mile delivery within two to three years, which gave Odysse something rarer than a funding round: a demand forecast it did not have to build itself.
The money behind it
Odysse’s capital structure looks more like a family manufacturing business than a venture-funded startup, and that is a deliberate reading of the public record, not a gap in reporting:
- Equity base: authorised and paid-up share capital of ₹3 crore, per company filings referenced by TheCompanyCheck and Tofler — a small base for a vehicle manufacturer.
- Secured debt: a charge of ₹15 crore registered against company assets on 16 February 2022, per MCA filing data (TheCompanyCheck) — working-capital or asset-backed borrowing rather than equity.
- External capital sought: CEO Nemin Vora stated in April 2024 that Odysse was looking to raise $5–10 million for expansion (Business Standard, April 2024); no completed institutional equity round of that size has been confirmed since.
- Named backer: Zypp Electric took a minority corporate investment in Odysse alongside its 40,000-unit order, announced 18 November 2024 (Electrive.com; Tracxn lists this as Odysse’s only tracked funding event as of its 2026 profile). The investment amount was not disclosed by either party.
- Valuation: no valuation for Odysse has been publicly reported by either company. That is a genuine gap in the public record, not an omission on our part — a private, unlisted, MCA-filing company of this size typically has no disclosed mark unless an institutional round forces one.
In short: one confirmed strategic investor, one still-unconfirmed capital raise, and a balance sheet that leans on debt and promoter capital more than on venture money. That is unusual for a company operating in a category — electric two-wheelers — where competitors have raised hundreds of millions of dollars each.
How it makes money
Odysse earns money the way most vehicle manufacturers do — sell a unit, collect a margin on it — but its channel mix is unusually tilted toward large, discrete deals rather than pure retail footfall:
- Retail scooter and motorcycle sales: through a dealer network spanning more than 150 cities and over 300 PIN codes across 17 states as of early 2026 (Autocar Professional), covering the Hy-Fy, Racer Neo, Sun, Trot 2.0, Evoqis and Vader range.
- B2B fleet supply: the Zypp Electric order for 40,000 units over three years (from November 2024) is the largest disclosed single revenue commitment on Odysse’s books, delivered against milestones rather than as a lump sum.
- Battery-swapping / BaaS-adjacent sales: SNAP, launched with Indofast Energy at an introductory ex-showroom price of ₹49,999, is sold as a lower-upfront-cost scooter where the buyer pays separately to swap batteries rather than to charge and own one outright — a model that shifts some of the battery’s cost and risk off the vehicle price.
- Stated export ambition: the company has said it intends to expand sales into the Middle East, Africa and Asia; we could not independently verify shipment volumes or revenue from exports, so this should be read as company-stated intent, not a confirmed revenue line.
On costs, the two big line items in any Indian e-2W maker’s structure are the lithium-ion battery pack and the motor-controller electronics, both of which are still substantially imported or import-dependent across the industry; margin sits in the gap between a subsidised or swap-supported retail price and that landed component cost. Odysse has not published a take rate, gross margin or unit economics figure, so none is stated here.
The numbers
Odysse is unlisted and does not publish investor-facing results, so the numbers below come from regulatory filings as aggregated by third-party company-data platforms. Absolute profit-and-loss figures are not in the public domain for this company; where a data provider disclosed only a percentage change rather than a rupee figure, that is shown as such rather than backed into a number we cannot verify.
| Fiscal year | Revenue (₹ crore) | YoY change | Profit / (loss) |
| FY23 (year ended 31 Mar 2023) | Not disclosed in absolute terms | Revenue +5.1% | Fell 313% YoY (absolute figure not disclosed) |
| FY24 (year ended 31 Mar 2024) | ≈28.3 (implied) | n/a | Not disclosed |
| FY25 (year ended 31 Mar 2025) | 32.5 ($3.4 million) | +15.0% | Not disclosed |
Sources: CompanyDetails.in and TheCompanyCheck, both citing MCA (Ministry of Corporate Affairs) filings; FY24 revenue is not separately reported by these platforms and is arithmetically implied from TheCompanyCheck’s stated 15.0% FY25 growth rate, so it should be read as an estimate rather than a filed figure. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
Unit sales, which the company itself discloses monthly through the trade press, give a fuller picture of momentum than the revenue filings alone:
- September 2024: 367 units, then a company-record month, up over 10% on August 2024 (Autocar Professional).
- February 2025: 312 units, up about 10% month-on-month (Autocar Professional).
- December 2025: 990 units, up 133% year-on-year from 425 units in December 2024; full calendar-year 2025 sales exceeded 5,255 units (India TV News; APN News, January 2026).
- March 2026: 1,350 units, a new company record, up 137% year-on-year from 569 units in March 2025 (Autocar Professional).
- April 2026: 965 units, up about 333% year-on-year from 223 units in April 2025 (Autocar Professional).
Where the money comes from
Odysse does not publish a segment-wise revenue split, so the picture below is built from disclosed unit-sales and order data rather than an accounting breakdown:
- Retail/dealer network: the bulk of disclosed monthly unit sales — a few hundred to just over a thousand vehicles a month through 2025 and into 2026 — flow through the 150-plus-city, 17-state dealer footprint (Autocar Professional).
- B2B fleet commitment: the single Zypp Electric order for 40,000 units over three years, announced November 2024, is larger than every vehicle Odysse is known to have sold at retail since its 2020 launch combined. If executed in full, it would roughly quadruple the company’s disclosed cumulative domestic retail volume of “over 10,000” units as of April 2024 (Business Standard).
- Product mix: most of the volume sits in the affordable scooter range (Hy-Fy, Racer Neo, Sun, Trot 2.0, and the sub-₹50,000 SNAP), while the Evoqis and Vader motorcycles, priced from about ₹1.18 lakh ex-showroom, target a smaller, higher-margin-per-unit premium buyer.
- The surprise: despite the press attention on premium motorcycles and export ambitions, Odysse’s largest single disclosed revenue commitment is not a retail or export story at all — it is one B2B fleet contract with one company, Zypp Electric, that alone dwarfs its entire consumer sales history.
The risks
- Subsidy withdrawal: the central government’s PM E-DRIVE scheme, which paid up to ₹2,500 per kWh of battery capacity capped at ₹5,000 per vehicle, ended its purchase incentive for electric two-wheelers on 31 July 2026 (Business Standard, January 2026; IEEFA). That subsidy had helped keep entry prices low in precisely the affordable-scooter segment where Odysse sells most of its volume, so its removal raises effective consumer prices right as the company is scaling into more price-sensitive towns.
- Scale mismatch against larger rivals: in FY2026, India’s top six electric two-wheeler manufacturers together sold about 1.24 million units — TVS Motor alone sold 341,471 units, and Ather Energy’s market share rose to 17% on 82% year-on-year growth (Autocar Professional). Odysse’s full-year 2025 volume of just over 5,255 units places it well outside that top tier, competing for dealers, suppliers and financing against companies with far larger balance sheets.
- Thin capital cushion: Odysse’s paid-up equity capital of ₹3 crore sits against a ₹15 crore secured charge registered in February 2022 and a CEO statement, as recently as April 2024, that the business needed $5–10 million in fresh capital it had not yet confirmed raising (TheCompanyCheck; Business Standard). For a manufacturing business with import-exposed input costs, that combination leaves limited room to absorb a demand shock or a supplier price spike.
The takeaway
Odysse’s clearest lesson for a founder outside the venture-funded fast lane is that forward-committed volume can substitute for a funding round. It could not out-market Ola Electric, Ather Energy or TVS on brand spend, so instead it went looking for counterparties — Zypp Electric for fleet volume, Indofast Energy for a battery-swap network it did not have to build alone — who would commit to buying or partnering at scale before the money was in hand. That is a smaller, slower path to growth than a marquee funding round, and it leaves Odysse more exposed to any single partner’s fortunes than a broadly funded rival would be. But it is a path that does not require winning a capital race against companies with balance sheets many times its size, only finding enough partners willing to place a large, specific bet on it.
Frequently asked questions
What does Odysse Electric make?
Odysse makes electric scooters (Hy-Fy, Racer Neo, Sun, Trot 2.0, and the battery-swapping SNAP) and two premium electric motorcycles, the Evoqis and the Vader, sold through a dealer network across India.
Who founded Odysse Electric and when?
Nemin Vora founded the company, previously incorporated as Odysse Electric Vehicles Private Limited on 4 November 2019, with commercial operations beginning in 2020 in Mumbai. Sudhir Goel joined as Co-founder in February 2026.
How much revenue does Odysse Electric make?
Odysse reported revenue of ₹32.5 crore (about $3.4 million) for FY25, the year ended 31 March 2025, up roughly 15.0% year-on-year, according to MCA filing data aggregated by TheCompanyCheck. Profit or loss for that year has not been publicly disclosed.
How much funding has Odysse Electric raised?
Odysse has not disclosed a completed institutional equity round. Its one confirmed outside investor is Zypp Electric, which took a minority corporate stake alongside a 40,000-unit, three-year vehicle order announced on 18 November 2024. The investment amount was not disclosed.
Is Odysse Electric listed, and what is it worth?
No. Odysse is a private, unlisted company, and neither Odysse nor any investor has publicly disclosed a valuation as of September 2026.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Business Standard, “Odysse Electric looking to raise $5-10 million for expansion, says CEO”, April 2024
- Electrive.com, “Indian Zypp orders 40,000 electric scooters from Odysse”, November 2024
- Autocar Professional, “Odysse electric achieves highest monthly sales with 367 units in September”, September 2024
- Autocar Professional, “Odysse Electric Reports 312 Unit Sales in February”, February 2025
- Autocar Professional, “Odysse Electric Reports 137% Year-on-Year Sales Growth in March 2026”, March 2026
- Autocar Professional, “Odysse Electric Reports 965 Unit Sales in April, Up 333% YoY”, April 2026
- Autocar Professional, “Record 1.4 million electric 2Ws sold in FY2026, command 57% share of India EV market”, 2026
- Autocar Professional / Energetica India, “Odysse Electric Appoints Sudhir Goel as Co-Founder”, February 2026
- India TV News / APN News, “Odysse Electric closes out 2025 with 133 per cent growth; December sales hit 990 units”, January 2026
- Business Standard, “Sun Mobility’s battery swap solution to power Odysse’s e-bike Vader SM”, August 2024
- Electrive.com / EMobility+, coverage of Odysse Electric and Indofast Energy’s SNAP battery-swapping scooter launch, June–July 2025
- 91Wheels / BikeDekho / ZigWheels, Odysse Evoqis price and specification listings, 2026
- TheCompanyCheck, “Odysse Electric Vehicles Private Limited — FY 2025 Insights”, MCA-filing data, 2026
- Tofler / ZaubaCorp, company incorporation and director records for Odysse Electric Vehicles Private Limited (CIN U34100MH2019PTC332490)
- Tracxn, “Odysse — 2026 Company Profile, Competitors & Financials”
- GreatCompanies.in, “Nemin Vora, CEO at Odysse Electric Vehicles Pvt Ltd” (founder background)
- Business Standard / IEEFA, coverage of the PM E-DRIVE subsidy withdrawal for electric two-wheelers effective 31 July 2026, January 2026
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

