HomeStartups & AchieversStartup Deep DiveStartup Deep Dive : Orange Health Labs — revenue jumped 65% in...

Startup Deep Dive : Orange Health Labs — revenue jumped 65% in FY26 but it still burns Rs 1.73 for every rupee earned

Orange Health Labs promised a blood test collected in 60 minutes and a report in six hours, and by the year ended March 2026 that promise had grown into Rs 138.6 crore of revenue, up 65% in twelve months (Entrackr, August 2026). The contradiction sits right next to the growth: the same filings show the company spent Rs 1.73 for every rupee it earned and closed the year with just Rs 4.5 crore in the bank.

That gap between a fast-scaling consumer story and a thin cash cushion is the real subject of this piece. Orange Health has gone from a Bengaluru lockdown idea to a diagnostics platform chasing a Rs 1,950 crore valuation, and it did that while losing more money each year than it made. What changed, what nearly broke it, and what the numbers actually say once the marketing language is stripped out — that is what follows.

Quick facts

Company Orange Health Labs (Orange Health Screening & Diagnostics Private Limited)
Founded December 2020, launched in Bengaluru in January 2021
Founder(s) Dhruv Gupta and Tarun Bhambra (CEO)
Businesses On-demand at-home diagnostics (pathology); expanding into physical collection centres and radiology/imaging from 2026
Latest FY revenue Rs 138.6 crore, revenue from operations, FY26 (year ended March 2026)
Latest FY profit/loss Loss before tax Rs 97 crore; net loss Rs 146 crore after a deferred-tax charge, FY26
Listed Private — no IPO announced
Market value / last valuation Rs 1,950 crore (about $205 million), post-money, June 2026 Series C
Key shareholders Accel India (largest external holder, 15.49% post-round), Iron Pillar India (about 8%), General Catalyst, Bertelsmann India Investments, Amazon Smbhav Venture Fund, Y Combinator

What they do

Orange Health Labs runs an on-demand diagnostics service: a customer books a blood or urine test on the app, a phlebotomist arrives at home within an advertised 60 minutes (with a 30-minute pilot slot tested in Bengaluru), and the report is promised within six hours through a hub-and-spoke network of central labs and unmanned collection points (The Week, October 2024; retailintel, September 2026). The company operates in Bengaluru, Delhi-NCR, Mumbai and Hyderabad, and from 2026 it has started adding standalone collection centres and its first radiology centre, moving beyond a purely at-home model toward a hybrid one aimed at doctors, hospitals and walk-in patients as well as app users (medicalbuyer, August 2026).

The origin

The idea traces back to a family emergency. Co-founder Dhruv Gupta needed urgent diagnostic tests for a family member and found that Bengaluru, a city with more than 1,800 labs, still could not offer him a fast, professional, at-home option (The Week, October 2024). Gupta had already founded and run other ventures before this one; Tarun Bhambra came from Practo, where he had led business functions in the same healthcare-technology space. Between them they saw a market that was crowded on paper — thousands of labs and testing apps — but underserved on the two things patients actually valued: speed and reliability of turnaround. Orange Health Labs launched in Bengaluru in January 2021, in the middle of the pandemic, when demand for testing without a clinic visit was at its highest.

The struggle years

The struggle here is less a near-death event and more a persistent gap between the story investors were told and the numbers regulators later saw. In October 2024, the founders told The Week that Orange Health had crossed a Rs 100 crore annualised revenue run rate and had reached profitability. Two months later, in December 2024, Amazon Smbhav Venture Fund led a $12 million round alongside existing backers Accel, General Catalyst, Bertelsmann India Investments and Y Combinator, with the company framing the capital as fuel for the “next big leap” (orangehealth.in, December 2024; Business Standard, December 2024).

The audited numbers for that same window, filed with the Ministry of Corporate Affairs and reported by Entrackr and Ascendants in August 2026, tell a different story: revenue from operations for FY25 (the year ended March 2025, which overlaps the “profitable” run-rate claim) was Rs 84 crore, against a loss before tax of Rs 87.4 crore on total expenses of Rs 175.9 crore. In other words, the company that told founders and press it had turned a corner was, by its own regulatory filings, still losing roughly as much as it earned. Layered on top of that, FY26 brought its own strain: cash and bank balances fell to just Rs 4.5 crore by year-end even as the net loss widened to Rs 146 crore, a liquidity position that made the June 2026 fundraise less a growth option and more a necessity (Ascendants, August 2026; Entrackr, August 2026).

The turning point

The clearest inflection is the June 2026 Series C and the strategic pivot that came with it. Before it, Orange Health was an asset-light, app-only, at-home collection business running roughly 100 collection centres, 45 of them in Bengaluru alone, feeding samples into central labs (retailintel, September 2026). After it, the company committed to something structurally different: 80 new collection centres in the current fiscal year and roughly 100 a year after that, a first radiology centre in Bengaluru, and a stated target of 150 to 200 physical collection and diagnostic centres by the end of 2026 (retailintel, September 2026; medicalbuyer, August 2026). That shift moves Orange Health directly into the territory of entrenched, capital-heavy rivals — Dr Lal PathLabs, Metropolis Healthcare, Healthians and Redcliffe Labs — who already run large physical networks, rather than competing on the narrower at-home niche it built its name on (medicalbuyer, August 2026). The numbers either side of the pivot are stark: FY25 revenue of Rs 84 crore and a loss before tax of Rs 87.4 crore versus FY26 revenue of Rs 138.6 crore and a loss before tax of Rs 97 crore — faster growth, bought with a wider loss, just as the company signed up for a more capital-intensive model.

The money behind it

Orange Health’s capital raising has been staged and backer-heavy rather than one dramatic mega-round:

  • Seed, 2021: backed by Y Combinator among early investors, giving the company its first US accelerator network and credibility with later Indian VCs (India Entrepreneur/Crunchbase-tracked reporting).
  • Series B, 2022: $25 million led by General Catalyst and Bertelsmann India Investments — the round that funded the initial multi-city expansion beyond Bengaluru (Indian Retailer, reporting on the Series C round, August 2026).
  • December 2024: $12 million led by Amazon Smbhav Venture Fund, with Accel, General Catalyst, Bertelsmann India Investments and Y Combinator also participating — announced alongside the company’s own claim of a Rs 100 crore revenue run rate (orangehealth.in, December 2024).
  • Series C, June 2026: Rs 277 crore (about $30 million) led by Iron Pillar India (Rs 156 crore, roughly $16 million), with Crescent Enterprises, Paramark Frontier Fund, Bertelsmann India Investments, Good Capital, Accel India and General Catalyst also putting in money, at a post-money valuation of Rs 1,950 crore (about $205 million) — shares were issued at Rs 604.72 apiece (Entrackr, August 2026; Indian Retailer, August 2026).

What each backer changed: Y Combinator supplied the earliest validation and Silicon Valley playbook; General Catalyst and Bertelsmann India Investments underwrote the multi-city expansion from 2022; Amazon Smbhav’s 2024 cheque came with a growth narrative the audited books did not fully support; and Iron Pillar’s 2026 lead let the company fund a shift into physical infrastructure it could not otherwise afford, given a cash balance of only Rs 4.5 crore at the time. Reported cumulative funding varies by tracker — Indian Retailer put total capital raised at about $50 million inclusive of the Series C, while Crunchbase-style trackers cited elsewhere put prior funding alone at roughly $77 million — so the two do not reconcile cleanly, and neither figure should be read as precise (Indian Retailer, August 2026; Crunchbase-sourced third-party aggregation, 2026).

How it makes money

Orange Health earns almost entirely from diagnostic test fees paid per booking, with a smaller and growing contribution from physical collection centres:

  • Money in: per-test and test-panel fees charged to individual app users, plus fees from doctors, clinics and corporate wellness partners who route patients to the platform.
  • Money out: phlebotomist and logistics costs for home visits, lab reagents and equipment, and — since FY26 — real estate and staffing for physical collection centres and the first radiology centre.
  • Where the margin sits: the company has said it is “operationally profitable” in Bengaluru specifically, its oldest and densest market, while newer cities and new centres are still absorbing losses (medicalbuyer, August 2026) — a geography-level claim, not a company-wide one.
  • Unit economics, company-disclosed: a new physical collection centre needs six to eight months to break even and roughly two years to pay back its opening cost, and collection centres together contributed about 20% of FY26 revenue (retailintel, September 2026).
  • The part people get wrong: a headline growth rate (65% revenue growth in FY26) reads as a profitability signal, but the same year’s filings show the company spending Rs 1.73 for every rupee of operating revenue — growth and margin have been moving in opposite directions (Ascendants, August 2026).

The numbers

Verifiable, audited-filing-based figures are available for two consecutive years; earlier years’ financials were not found in the public reporting checked for this piece and are not included rather than estimated.

Metric (Rs crore) FY25 (year ended Mar 2025) FY26 (year ended Mar 2026)
Revenue from operations 84 138.6
Total expenses 175.9 240.3
Loss before tax 87.4 97
Net loss (after deferred tax) ~81–87 146
EBITDA loss not disclosed in sources checked 92.4
Cash & bank balance, year-end not disclosed in sources checked 4.5
  • Revenue from operations grew 65% year-on-year in FY26 (Ascendants, August 2026; Entrackr, August 2026).
  • Total expenses grew a slower 36% year-on-year in FY26, meaning the loss narrowed as a share of the cost base even as the absolute loss grew (Entrackr, August 2026).
  • Employee costs rose about 43% to Rs 72.2 crore in FY26; materials/consumables cost rose about 40% to Rs 42.9 crore (Ascendants, August 2026).
  • Net loss jumped to Rs 146 crore in FY26 largely because of a Rs 49 crore deferred-tax charge on top of the Rs 97 crore loss before tax (Entrackr, August 2026).

Where the money comes from

  • By format: at-home app bookings remain the core of revenue; physical collection centres contributed about 20% of FY26 revenue, a share the company is deliberately growing (retailintel, September 2026).
  • By geography: Bengaluru is the largest and, per the company, the only operationally profitable city; Delhi-NCR, Mumbai and Hyderabad are the other three active markets, all still loss-making on the company’s own account (medicalbuyer, August 2026; The Week, October 2024).
  • By channel: a mix of direct consumer app bookings and doctor/clinic/corporate referrals, though the exact revenue split between these channels has not been disclosed publicly and is not included here.
  • The surprise: a company that built its entire brand on being asset-light and app-only now earns a fifth of its revenue from physical real estate it owns or leases — the opposite of the model it was funded to build in 2021.

The risks

  • Thin liquidity against a widening loss: Orange Health closed FY26 with just Rs 4.5 crore in cash and bank balances against a Rs 146 crore net loss for the year, leaving limited room to absorb a slow quarter without fresh capital (Ascendants, August 2026).
  • A capital-intensive pivot into a crowded, established market: radiology and physical diagnostic centres put Orange Health in direct competition with Dr Lal PathLabs, Metropolis Healthcare, Healthians and Redcliffe Labs, all of which already run large networks at scale; each new Orange Health centre needs six to eight months to break even and about two years to repay its setup cost, so the 80-to-100-centres-a-year plan is a multi-year drag on cash before it becomes a source of profit (retailintel, September 2026; medicalbuyer, August 2026).
  • Cost growth still outrunning discipline: employee costs rose 43% and materials costs rose 40% in FY26, both faster than the headline framing of “improving unit economics” would suggest, and the company spent Rs 1.73 for every rupee of revenue it earned during the year (Ascendants, August 2026).

The takeaway

The lesson in Orange Health’s numbers is not about diagnostics specifically; it is about what happens when a growth story and an audited filing are allowed to run on separate tracks for too long. A founder can honestly believe a run-rate number means profitability, and still be shown wrong a year later when the full-year accounts land. The discipline worth borrowing from this case is simple: read the percentage growth and the absolute loss in the same sentence, and ask what a “profitable city” claim is silently excluding about every other city the company operates in.

Frequently asked questions

Who founded Orange Health Labs and when?

Dhruv Gupta and Tarun Bhambra founded the company in December 2020, launching services in Bengaluru in January 2021 (The Week, October 2024).

How much has Orange Health Labs raised, and at what valuation?

Its June 2026 Series C raised Rs 277 crore (about $30 million) led by Iron Pillar India at a post-money valuation of Rs 1,950 crore (about $205 million); cumulative funding before that round is reported at roughly $50 million to $77 million depending on the tracker, so the precise lifetime total is not settled across sources (Entrackr, August 2026; Indian Retailer, August 2026).

Is Orange Health Labs profitable?

No, not at the company level. FY26 (year ended March 2026) closed with a loss before tax of Rs 97 crore and a net loss of Rs 146 crore on revenue from operations of Rs 138.6 crore; the company has said it is operationally profitable in Bengaluru specifically, which is a narrower claim than company-wide profitability (Ascendants, August 2026; medicalbuyer, August 2026).

What is Orange Health Labs’ revenue?

Revenue from operations was Rs 84 crore in FY25 (year ended March 2025) and Rs 138.6 crore in FY26 (year ended March 2026), a 65% year-on-year increase (Entrackr, August 2026).

Is Orange Health Labs still an at-home-only service?

No. From 2026 it began adding standalone physical collection centres and its first radiology centre, targeting 150 to 200 physical centres by the end of 2026, alongside its original at-home collection model (retailintel, September 2026; medicalbuyer, August 2026).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

  • Entrackr, “Y Combinator-backed Orange Health posts Rs 139 Cr revenue in FY26; loss nears Rs 100 Cr”, August 2026
  • Ascendants, “Orange Health Labs Revenue Jumps 65% To Rs 138.6 Cr In FY26 As Loss Before Tax Widens To Rs 97 Cr”, August 2026
  • Indian Retailer, “Healthtech Startup Orange Health Reports Rs 138.6 Cr Revenue in FY26”, August 2026
  • Indian Retailer, “{Funding Alert} Healthcare Startup Orange Health Labs Raises $30 Mn in Series C Round”, August 2026
  • Entrackr, “Exclusive: Orange Health Labs to raise $30 Mn Series C led by Iron Pillar”, June 2026
  • Retailintel, “Orange Health to add 80 collection centres this fiscal year, enter radiology”, September 2026
  • Medical Buyer, “Orange Health Labs moving into radiology to broaden service suite”, August 2026
  • Whalesbook, “Orange Health Labs Eyes Radiology Pivot Amid Series C Funding Hunt”, August 2026
  • The Week, “Orange Health Labs sees quality diagnostic at speed as prescription for success, eyes expansion”, October 2024
  • Orange Health official blog, “Amazon Fuels Orange Health’s Growth with Latest Investment”, December 2024
  • Bharatfast, “Orange Health Labs Raises Rs 277 Crore in Series C Round”, June 2026

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

The Invincible India
The Invincible Indiahttps://www.theinvincibleindia.in
The Invincible India is a digital magazine celebrating the spirit of India — covering national news, culture and heritage, travel, festivals, startups and inspiring people, with a special focus on Udaipur and Rajasthan. Our team brings readers stories that showcase an incredible and invincible India.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

46,000FansLike
11,500FollowersFollow
2,280SubscribersSubscribe

Most Popular