HomeStartups & AchieversStartup Deep DiveStartup Deep Dive : RapiPay -- bought for Rs 1 lakh in...

Startup Deep Dive : RapiPay — bought for Rs 1 lakh in 2019, now shrinking on six lakh outlets

In September 2019, Capital India Finance Limited paid ₹1 lakh — roughly the price of a used scooter — for a 52.99% stake in a nine-year-old shell called Rapipay Fintech Private Limited. Five years on, that same company runs more than six lakh retail outlets across India and reports its revenue shrinking by double digits even as it says it stays in the black.

That contradiction sits at the centre of RapiPay’s story: a business that solved a real problem — getting cash and basic banking into towns no bank branch or ATM would serve — built on commissions so thin that growth in transactions does not always show up as growth in revenue. This piece traces how a dormant entity became India’s assisted-payments network of choice for three named investor groups, why its own numbers have gone the wrong way in the last two reported years, and where the model is genuinely exposed as UPI eats into the cash economy it was built to serve.

Quick facts

Company Rapipay Fintech Private Limited
Founded Incorporated 6 April 2009; relaunched as an agent-based payments business in 2018 (LinkedIn, Tracxn cite 2018; Inc42 cites 2019)
Founder Yogendra Singh Kashyap
Businesses AePS cash withdrawal, micro-ATM, domestic money transfer, BBPS bill payments, POS/mPOS, insurance distribution, digital banking (NYE)
Latest FY revenue ₹300–500 crore band (FY24, Tofler estimate); down about 15.7% year-on-year in the following reported period (Tofler)
Latest FY profit/loss Net profit margin 2.1%, operating margin 3.6% (FY24-25, Tofler)
Listed Private. Majority owner Capital India Finance Limited is listed on the NSE and BSE
Market value / valuation Not publicly disclosed for RapiPay itself; parent Capital India Finance Limited’s market capitalisation is about ₹850 crore ($88.5 million at $1 ≈ ₹96.0) as per Screener.in, September 2026
Key shareholder / CEO Capital India Finance Limited (52.99% stake bought September 2019); Nipun Jain is CEO

What they do

RapiPay does not sell to consumers directly. It sells to small shopkeepers — mobile-recharge counters, kirana stores, CSC operators — turning them into what the company calls “RapiPay Saathis”: banking correspondents who let a walk-in customer withdraw cash, send money, pay a utility bill or buy insurance using nothing but an Aadhaar number and a fingerprint or a debit card. The company holds a Prepaid Payment Instrument (PPI) licence from the Reserve Bank of India and positions itself as an assisted-payments and financial-inclusion platform aimed at Tier 2, Tier 3 and rural India, where a bank branch or a working ATM is often several kilometres away. Its own account, given on its Capital India parent page, describes the model as “Last Mile Financial Inclusion Delivery” run through lakhs of Direct Business Outlets (DBOs) it does not own but franchises.

The origin

The insight was not a new product; it was arithmetic. India had, by the late 2010s, issued more Aadhaar-linked bank accounts than it had physical banking touchpoints to service them. The Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AePS) let the Reserve Bank make any local shopkeeper with a biometric device into a cash-out point, without that shopkeeper needing a banking licence of their own — only a technology and settlement partner. Yogendra Singh Kashyap built Rapipay Fintech around exactly that gap: recruit shopkeepers who already had footfall and trust in a neighbourhood, arm them with a point-of-sale device and a banking-correspondent agreement, and let them earn a small commission on every AePS withdrawal, money transfer or bill payment they processed. The company did not need to win a single retail customer’s loyalty to a banking brand; it needed to win the shopkeeper’s shelf space and habit. That is still, on the evidence, the whole model.

The struggle years

The struggle in RapiPay’s history is less a single dramatic collapse than a decade spent unable to stand on its own capital.

  • 2009–2018: the underlying corporate entity, Rapipay Fintech Private Limited, sat incorporated but commercially dormant for close to nine years before Kashyap repurposed it into an agent-payments business around 2018 (Tofler incorporation record; LinkedIn and Tracxn company profiles).
  • September 2019: whatever the company had built in its first year of real operation was not enough to raise independent growth capital. Its promoters instead sold majority control — 52.99% — to Capital India Finance Limited, an NBFC, for a nominal ₹1 lakh in cash, effectively a distress-priced handover rather than a growth-stage investment (Capital India Finance Limited stock-exchange disclosure, via MarketScreener/S&P Capital IQ, 20 September 2019).
  • FY2024–25: the most recent reported period shows contraction rather than a near-death event, but it is unsoftened in the filings. Total revenue fell 15.7% year-on-year, net worth fell 30.3%, and total assets fell 26.7% in the same period, even as headcount also shrank (Tofler, based on Ministry of Corporate Affairs filings; Tracxn separately estimated headcount at 604 in August 2025, down from a company-declared 1,113 on LinkedIn).

None of this is fatal on its own — the company still reports a positive net margin — but it is a pattern of a business that has repeatedly needed someone else’s balance sheet, and lately its own, to absorb a shrinking base.

The turning point

The clearest inflection is the September 2019 transaction itself, because the numbers on either side of it are so lopsided. Before it: a company with no listed backers, no marquee investor, and a valuation so low that a 52.99% stake changed hands for ₹1 lakh in cash — a rounding error even for a small NBFC. After it: Rapipay Fintech became a subsidiary of a listed lender with balance-sheet access, a compliance and audit apparatus, and a name attached to the country’s exchanges. Within eleven months, the newly backed company closed its first outside institutional round; within four years, its agent network had grown from a regional operation to one claiming more than six lakh outlets nationally (LinkedIn company page, accessed September 2026). The turning point was not a product launch or a viral growth spurt. It was a change of ownership that converted an unfinanceable shell into a fundable subsidiary, at a price that shows how little the market believed in the standalone entity at the time.

The money behind it

  • September 2019 — control transaction: Capital India Finance Limited acquires 52.99% of Rapipay Fintech Private Limited for ₹1 lakh (₹0.1 million) in cash; the company becomes a CIFL subsidiary (BSE disclosure via MarketScreener).
  • Series A, announced 25 December 2020 (deal dated 4 August 2020): ₹65 crore (reported as $9 million) led by DLF India and Sabre Partners, with participation from Dabur, the promoter family behind Sheela Foam, cardiac surgeon Naresh Trehan, Dalmia Bharat’s Puneet Dalmia, ORG Investments and ACME Solar Holdings (Inc42, December 2020; Tracxn).
  • Series B, announced February 2022 (deal dated 8 February 2022): $15 million led by Varun Jaipuria of RJ Corp, DLF Family Office, Rahul Gautam of Sheela Foam and Rohan Kumar of DS Group, raised specifically to build a new digital-banking “super app” called NYE and to scale existing AePS and payments services (Inc42, February 2022).
  • Total disclosed funding: $24 million across the two institutional rounds (Tracxn; PitchBook), on top of the near-nominal 2019 control transaction.
  • Valuation: not disclosed in either round’s public reporting. Some third-party aggregator summaries put a figure near $270 million against the company, but RapiPay’s own listed profile on the primary aggregator used for that estimate records the valuation as undisclosed — so this piece does not carry a number it cannot pin to a stated source.

What each backer changed is visible mostly in what the money was earmarked for: the 2020 round funded forex and Aadhaar-linked cash-out expansion; the 2022 round was explicitly a bet on turning a commission-taking agent network into a full digital-banking front end, an ambition the company has not yet shown, in public filings, that it has fully delivered on.

How it makes money

  • Money in: a small commission on every AePS cash withdrawal, micro-ATM transaction, domestic money transfer, BBPS bill payment, mobile/DTH recharge and insurance policy sold through its agent network; device and POS rental income; interchange-style fees on card-present transactions.
  • Money out: a share of every commission is passed to the retail agent (the “Saathi”) who actually did the transaction — during one December 2020 promotion, RapiPay paid agents an incremental ₹3 per AePS transaction, which it called “the highest ever in the Aadhaar ATM industry,” letting some agents earn up to twelve times their usual take for that period (IndianWeb2.com, December 2020). That single data point is a useful proxy for how thin the base commission is the rest of the time.
  • Where the margin sits: not in any one transaction, which is worth paise rather than rupees, but in volume across hundreds of thousands of outlets, plus float and interchange economics that only work at scale.
  • What people get wrong: RapiPay is regularly filed alongside UPI apps such as PhonePe or Google Pay in casual conversation. It is not one. It does not compete for a consumer’s phone screen; it competes for a shopkeeper’s willingness to install a device and log commission-earning transactions on someone else’s behalf. Its real customer, commercially, is the agent — not the person withdrawing cash.
  • Structural dependency: the model needs partner banks to actually hold and move the money. RapiPay’s 2022 funding announcement referenced tie-ups with “one leading private sector bank and one small finance bank” without naming either (Inc42, February 2022), which means a material part of the value chain sits with counterparties the company does not fully control.

The numbers

RapiPay does not itself publish standalone, audited profit-and-loss figures the way a listed company does; as a private subsidiary, its detailed filings sit behind paid corporate databases. What is verifiable from its own Ministry of Corporate Affairs filings and from parent Capital India Finance Limited’s exchange disclosures is set out below — the two are kept separate because CIFL’s numbers cover lending and forex businesses as well as RapiPay’s fintech operations, not RapiPay alone.

Metric (₹ crore unless stated) FY23 FY24 FY25
Capital India Finance Limited — consolidated total income 655 680 543
Capital India Finance Limited — consolidated net profit/(loss) (87) (6) (10)
RapiPay Fintech standalone operating revenue — 300–500 (range) down ~15.7% YoY
RapiPay Fintech net profit margin / operating margin — — 2.1% / 3.6%

Sources: Screener.in for Capital India Finance Limited’s consolidated results; Tofler for RapiPay Fintech’s standalone revenue range and margins, both accessed September 2026. RapiPay’s paid-up share capital stood at ₹39.71 crore against authorised capital of ₹65 crore as of its most recent annual general meeting, held 4 July 2025 (Tofler).

  • Parent CIFL swung from a ₹87 crore consolidated loss in FY23 to a much narrower ₹6 crore loss in FY24, then widened slightly again to a ₹10 crore loss in FY25, on falling total income (Screener.in).
  • RapiPay’s own standalone revenue, reported only as a range by Tofler, sits in the ₹300–500 crore band for FY24 before contracting by close to a sixth the following reported year — a decline the company has not, in public filings reviewed for this piece, attributed to a specific cause.
  • Employee count is itself a contested number: RapiPay’s own LinkedIn page states 1,113 employees, while Tracxn’s independently tracked estimate put headcount at 604 as of August 2025, a gap wide enough that neither figure alone should be read as definitive.

Where the money comes from

The surprising part of RapiPay’s revenue geography is how little of it, on the public record, runs through anything resembling an app screen.

  • Channel split: the overwhelming majority of disclosed activity happens at physical points of sale — the six-lakh-plus DBO network of retail agents — rather than through RapiPay’s own consumer-facing digital products (LinkedIn company page).
  • Geography: the company explicitly targets Tier 2 and Tier 3 towns and rural India, where AePS cash-out and assisted banking substitute for absent bank branches, rather than metro markets already saturated with UPI and neobanking options (IndianWeb2.com; Capital India product page).
  • Scale claims: RapiPay states it has served more than 10 crore unique customers cumulatively and processes roughly 3 crore transactions a month through its network, figures that are company-stated on its own corporate channels rather than independently audited (LinkedIn, accessed September 2026).
  • Digital ambition, unproven at scale: the NYE super app, funded by the 2022 Series B specifically to aggregate a customer’s bank accounts and shift volume toward a directly-owned digital channel, has not surfaced in this research with independent, dated usage or revenue figures since its 2022 announcement — suggesting the shift away from agent-counter revenue toward app-based revenue that the 2022 raise was meant to fund has not been demonstrated publicly.

The risks

  • Margin compression from digital substitution: RapiPay’s core business — helping someone withdraw cash or send money through a shopkeeper — is precisely the friction that UPI, direct benefit transfer to bank accounts and neobanking apps are designed to remove. The FY24–25 declines already on record (revenue down 15.7%, net worth down 30.3%, assets down 26.7%, per Tofler) are consistent with a franchise where per-transaction commissions face structural downward pressure as consumers gain cheaper digital alternatives, even in smaller towns.
  • Regulatory and partner-bank dependency: the entire model runs on an RBI PPI licence and on undisclosed tie-ups with partner banks that actually hold customer funds (Inc42, February 2022; Capital India product page). Any tightening of AePS interoperability norms, agent-onboarding KYC rules or PPI regulations by the Reserve Bank — a live area of policy attention across the industry — would flow straight through to RapiPay’s transaction economics, and the company does not control the timing or shape of that regulation.
  • A capital-constrained parent: RapiPay’s majority owner, Capital India Finance Limited, has itself posted consolidated losses in each of the last three reported fiscal years — ₹87 crore in FY23, ₹6 crore in FY24 and ₹10 crore in FY25 — and its shares were trading near their 52-week low through much of 2026 (Screener.in). A parent under its own earnings pressure is a less reliable source of the growth capital RapiPay’s digital ambitions, such as NYE, would need.

The takeaway

RapiPay’s history argues for a specific, transferable lesson: solving a real infrastructure gap is not the same as owning a durable margin on it. The company found a genuine hole — India’s Aadhaar-linked banking rails outran its physical branch network — and filled it cheaply and at scale by turning existing shopkeepers into banking agents rather than building its own branches or its own customer relationships. That got it from a ₹1-lakh distress sale to a six-lakh-outlet network in under six years. But the same characteristic that made the model cheap to scale — thin, per-transaction commissions earned by intermediating between a customer, an agent and a partner bank — is exactly what leaves it exposed once cheaper, direct digital rails reach the same customers. Building the pipes first can win the early market. It does not, on its own, defend the toll booth once someone builds a bridge next door.

Frequently asked questions

What does RapiPay do?

RapiPay runs an assisted-payments network in India, turning local shopkeepers into banking correspondents (“Saathis”) who let customers withdraw cash via Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AePS), use a micro-ATM, transfer money, pay utility bills through BBPS, recharge phones and buy insurance, earning a commission on each transaction.

Who owns RapiPay Fintech?

Capital India Finance Limited, a Delhi-headquartered, NSE- and BSE-listed non-banking financial company, bought a 52.99% stake in Rapipay Fintech Private Limited for ₹1 lakh in September 2019 and remains its majority shareholder; the company’s day-to-day leadership is run by CEO Nipun Jain, with founder Yogendra Singh Kashyap also on the board.

How much money has RapiPay raised, and who are its investors?

RapiPay has raised a disclosed $24 million across two institutional rounds: a roughly ₹65 crore ($9 million) Series A in 2020 led by DLF India and Sabre Partners, with Dabur, the Sheela Foam promoter family, Naresh Trehan, Puneet Dalmia, ORG Investments and ACME Solar Holdings also participating; and a $15 million Series B in February 2022 led by Varun Jaipuria, DLF Family Office, Rahul Gautam and Rohan Kumar, raised to fund its NYE digital-banking app.

Is RapiPay profitable?

By the most recent figures available, RapiPay reports a positive net profit margin of about 2.1% and an operating margin of about 3.6%, but this comes in a period where its overall revenue, net worth and total assets all declined year-on-year, so profitability at the margin level has not translated into growth at the top line.

Is RapiPay backed by Amitabh Bachchan?

No public filing, funding announcement or company disclosure found in this research connects Amitabh Bachchan or his family to RapiPay or to Capital India Finance Limited. Bachchan is a documented investor in other Indian fintech names, including PB Fintech, which may be the source of the association; no evidence ties him to RapiPay specifically, so the claim is not carried in this piece.

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

  • MarketScreener India / S&P Capital IQ, “Capital India Finance Limited acquired 52.99% stake in Rapipay Fintech Private Limited for INR 0.1 million,” reporting a BSE disclosure dated 20 September 2019, accessed September 2026.
  • Tofler, “Rapipay Fintech Private Limited” company and financials pages, accessed September 2026.
  • Inc42, “RapiPay Bags $9 Mn Funding To Push Financial Inclusion Through Its Agent Network,” December 2020.
  • Inc42, “RapiPay Raises $15 Mn To Launch Digital Banking Super App,” February 2022.
  • Capital India (capitalindia.com), RapiPay product page, accessed September 2026.
  • Tracxn, RapiPay company profile (funding, founder, headcount estimate), accessed September 2026.
  • LinkedIn, “Rapipay Fintech Private Limited” company page, accessed September 2026.
  • Screener.in, Capital India Finance Ltd consolidated financial results and market data, accessed September 2026.
  • IndianWeb2.com, “RapiPay bridging the ATMs gap in the country with AePS and Micro ATM services,” December 2020.

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

The Invincible India
The Invincible Indiahttps://www.theinvincibleindia.in
The Invincible India is a digital magazine celebrating the spirit of India — covering national news, culture and heritage, travel, festivals, startups and inspiring people, with a special focus on Udaipur and Rajasthan. Our team brings readers stories that showcase an incredible and invincible India.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

46,000FansLike
11,500FollowersFollow
2,280SubscribersSubscribe

Most Popular