In January 2022, Ruptok Fintech’s founder told the press the startup was chasing a ₹1,000 crore annual gold-loan disbursement run rate for the following financial year. Ministry of Corporate Affairs filings tell a different story: Ruptok Fintech Private Limited’s revenue fell to ₹76.6 lakh in FY25, down 81.4% from ₹4.1 crore the year before, as per data reported by business intelligence platform Tracxn.
The gap between the pitch and the filing is the whole story of doorstep gold lending in India: a genuinely useful idea, a crowded and better-funded field, and a founder who has not raised a new institutional round since November 2021. This piece traces what is verifiable about Ruptok — what it built, who backed it, and where the numbers actually stand as of September 2026.
Quick facts
| Company | Ruptok Fintech Private Limited |
| Founded | July 2020, New Delhi |
| Founder(s) | Ankur Gupta (Founder & CEO); Yashwardhan Aeren (Co-founder & Chief Growth Officer) |
| Business | Doorstep gold loans and gold-loan technology/logistics, run through co-lending tie-ups with NBFC partners; also owns the GoldUno brand |
| Latest FY revenue | ₹76.6 lakh (FY25, year ended 31 March 2025), down 81.4% from ₹4.1 crore in FY24 (Tracxn, citing MCA filings) |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Not disclosed in the filings reviewed; Tofler records a net profit margin of -301.05% for FY22, indicating losses well in excess of revenue that year |
| Listed | Private — no stock exchange listing |
| Market value / last valuation | Not disclosed; last funding event was a pre-Series A round on 2 November 2021 (Tracxn lists valuation as “undisclosed”) |
| Key shareholders / CEO | Ankur Gupta, Founder & CEO; enterprise investors hold roughly 78% of the cap table as of 2026, founders about 6%, ESOP pool about 7% (Tracxn) |
What they do
Ruptok Fintech sells a faster route to a gold loan. Instead of a customer carrying jewellery to a bank branch or an NBFC counter, Ruptok sends a representative to the customer’s home, appraises the gold on the spot, and arranges disbursal through a lending partner the same day. The company describes itself as offering “instant disbursal of loans against gold jewellery at the doorstep of the customer,” built on a technology layer for valuation, documentation and loan servicing rather than on Ruptok’s own balance sheet alone. It targets urban and semi-urban households who need short-term liquidity against idle jewellery and would rather avoid a bank queue — a segment that has historically been served by unorganised local pawnbrokers as much as by formal lenders.
The origin
Ankur Gupta founded Ruptok in July 2020, with Yashwardhan Aeren joining as co-founder, betting that gold loans — one of the oldest lending products in India — were still stuck in an old-economy process: a physical branch visit, an in-person appraisal, and paperwork that could take hours. Their insight was narrow and specific: keep the appraisal and disbursal but move it to the customer’s doorstep and digitise everything around it. “The doorstep delivery of instant loans with digital paperwork and utmost security has won our customers’ faith in Ruptok,” Gupta said in January 2022, framing convenience and trust — not interest rate — as the product’s edge. The company grew quickly by count of transactions: it said it had facilitated more than 2,500 loans and disbursed over ₹60 crore within its first thirteen months, according to an August 2021 report.
The struggle years
The setbacks at Ruptok are visible less in dramatic public announcements and more in what stopped happening. The company’s last disclosed funding event — a ₹16 crore pre-Series A round led by Manuvel Malabar Jewellers on 2 November 2021 — is also its most recent one on record; trackers including Crunchbase-style aggregators still list Ruptok’s funding stage as “Seed” as of 2026, meaning close to five years passed without a fresh institutional round in a business that needs capital to keep lending. Over the same stretch, better-funded rivals kept raising: Tracxn ranks Ruptok fifth among thirteen active competitors in doorstep gold lending, behind Rupeek (roughly $194 million raised) and indiagold (roughly $24.4 million raised). The clearest, most concrete sign of strain is in the numbers themselves: revenue fell from ₹4.1 crore in FY24 to ₹76.6 lakh in FY25, an 81.4% decline in a single year, per Tracxn’s reading of the company’s MCA filings. Headcount had shrunk to 38 employees by August 2026, also per Tracxn. None of this is framed by the company as a pivot or a near-death event in public statements — there is no press release describing a crisis — but the filings and the funding silence tell their own story of a startup that scaled a niche fast in 2020 and 2021 and then struggled to sustain it.
The turning point
The clearest inflection point in Ruptok’s public record is its acquisition of Vinrak Technologies, the Mumbai-based owner of the GoldUno gold-loan brand, in an all-stock deal announced on 1 April 2021. Before the deal, Ruptok was a Delhi-NCR business roughly nine months old. GoldUno’s founding team and staff joined Ruptok as part of the arrangement, and the combined company used the acquisition to enter the Mumbai market and push toward a stated target of 22 operating cities by the end of March 2022. On the numbers side, Ruptok had disbursed about ₹60 crore to over 1,400 customers by August 2021, months after the deal; by January 2022 — nine months after the acquisition — it reported having crossed ₹100 crore in cumulative disbursals over 18 months, with 2,500-plus loans and operations across ten cities, expanding to twelve with launches in Bengaluru and Vapi. The acquisition converted a single-city gold-loan app into a multi-city platform inside a year, but it also set the growth expectations — a stated ₹1,000 crore annual disbursement run-rate target — against which the later revenue decline reads as such a sharp reversal.
The money behind it
Ruptok’s capital came in three documented tranches across 2021, adding up to roughly ₹40 crore (about $4.2 million converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026, Trading Economics, though the funds were raised at the exchange rate prevailing in 2021):
- Angel round, January 2021: ₹10 crore from Wurk, a Canada-based investment firm — the first institutional-style capital and the round that funded the company’s initial city launches.
- Debt funding, 26 August 2021: ₹14 crore from Delhi-based NBFC Eclear Leasing and Finance, structured as a co-lending agreement that let Ruptok offer a higher loan-to-value ratio on the same pledged gold within RBI guidelines, rather than pure equity capital.
- Pre-Series A, 2 November 2021: ₹16 crore led by Manuvel Malabar Jewellers, a jewellery-sector strategic investor, with participation from high-net-worth individuals Nivedan Sahay and Neeraj Aggarwala — money the company said would go toward loan-portfolio diversification and technology.
No valuation was disclosed for any of these rounds; Tracxn’s own data lists Ruptok’s valuation as “undisclosed” as of the November 2021 raise. There is no publicly reported funding round after that date through September 2026 — the company’s total capitalisation, per Tracxn’s cap-table estimate, stands at roughly ₹190 crore inclusive of the equity built up through enterprise investors, founders and the ESOP pool, but that figure blends paid-in capital with estimated valuation and should be read as directional rather than a confirmed raise amount.
How it makes money
Ruptok does not lend purely off its own balance sheet in the way a bank does. Its model, as described in its own funding announcements, rests on co-lending arrangements with NBFC partners such as Eclear Leasing and Finance: the partner NBFC and Ruptok jointly fund a loan against the same pledged gold, with Ruptok supplying the doorstep appraisal, technology, documentation and servicing layer.
- Money in: interest income on the portion of each gold loan funded on Ruptok’s own books, plus a servicing or origination fee for the appraisal, logistics and technology layer it provides to co-lending partners — the exact fee or take rate has not been published in any source reviewed for this piece.
- Costs out: cost of capital (debt such as the Eclear facility), the field workforce needed to appraise gold at a customer’s doorstep, secure storage and insurance for pledged gold, and technology and compliance overheads for an NBFC-adjacent lending business.
- What people get wrong: doorstep gold lending is often read as a pure technology play, but the appraisal step still requires a trained human at the customer’s door for every loan, which caps how cheaply the model scales compared with a purely digital lending product — a structural cost that shows up in margins rather than in the marketing.
- Where the margin sits: on the spread between what Ruptok pays for capital (equity, debt like the Eclear facility) and the interest plus fees it earns on the gold-backed book, net of the doorstep-servicing cost per loan — a spread that Tofler’s FY22 net-margin figure of -301% suggests was deeply negative in the company’s early scale-up phase.
The numbers
Audited, year-by-year profit-and-loss detail for Ruptok Fintech Private Limited is not fully available in the public filings and trackers reviewed for this piece; several data points conflict on units and are not repeated here. The verifiable figures that could be confirmed, all traceable to the company’s Ministry of Corporate Affairs filings as reported by third-party trackers, are:
| Fiscal year | Revenue (₹ crore) | Profit / loss |
| FY22 (year ended 31 March 2022) | Grew 528.15% year-on-year (base figure not disclosed) | Net profit margin of -301.05% (Tofler, from MCA filing) |
| FY24 (year ended 31 March 2024) | ≈4.1 | Not disclosed in filings reviewed |
| FY25 (year ended 31 March 2025) | ≈0.77 (₹76.6 lakh) | Not disclosed in filings reviewed |
The FY23 figure could not be independently verified across the sources checked for this piece and has been cut rather than estimated. What is clear from the two years that could be confirmed is the direction: revenue nearly halved and then fell by more than four-fifths in the space of two fiscal years, a trajectory consistent with the funding silence documented in the struggle-years section above.
Where the money comes from
Ruptok’s own disclosures describe a geographic expansion rather than a product-line or channel split, so the segment picture here is a city footprint rather than a revenue-mix breakdown:
- Delhi NCR: the company’s home base and first market from launch in July 2020.
- Mumbai and Jaipur: added in April 2021 through the GoldUno/Vinrak Technologies acquisition.
- Vadodara, Surat, Pune and Nashik: added during the 2021 expansion push disclosed in company announcements.
- Hyderabad, Bengaluru and Vapi: the newest cities as of the January 2022 update, taking the footprint to twelve cities at that point.
The surprise is less about geography than about who is actually carrying the loan risk: because Ruptok operates through co-lending agreements with NBFC partners such as Eclear Leasing and Finance rather than lending entirely off its own book, a meaningful share of the capital behind each Ruptok-sourced loan sits on a partner’s balance sheet, not Ruptok’s — the company’s own financial statements capture its fee and interest-spread economics, not the full value of gold loans it helps originate.
The risks
- Revenue collapse without a disclosed cause: FY25 revenue of ₹76.6 lakh was down 81.4% from FY24’s ₹4.1 crore (Tracxn, from MCA filings) — a decline of this size in a lending business typically points to either a shrinking loan book, a change in how revenue is booked under the co-lending structure, or both, and no public statement from the company explains it.
- A five-year funding gap: the last disclosed funding round closed on 2 November 2021; Tracxn and Crunchbase-style trackers still classified Ruptok at “Seed” stage as of 2026, and lending businesses are capital-intensive by nature, so an extended gap between rounds constrains how much the company can lend without fresh capital or larger co-lending lines.
- Competitive intensity from far better-capitalised rivals: Tracxn ranks Ruptok fifth of thirteen active doorstep gold-lending competitors, well behind Rupeek (~$194 million raised) and indiagold (~$24.4 million raised) — both of which can outspend Ruptok on customer acquisition and city expansion.
The takeaway
Ruptok’s story is a reminder that a genuinely good insight — meeting a gold-loan customer at their door instead of making them wait in a branch — can win early traction without winning the long game. The company hit real, verifiable milestones fast: a multi-city footprint within a year of its first acquisition, ₹100 crore in cumulative disbursals within 18 months of launch. What it could not do, at least on the public record through 2026, was convert that early traction into a second institutional round or a stable revenue line once the initial capital and the initial city-expansion story ran their course. For any founder in a capital-intensive, partner-dependent lending model, the lesson is not to distrust convenience as a differentiator, but to recognise that convenience alone does not substitute for a repeatable, disclosed unit economics story that can support the next funding round.
Frequently asked questions
What does Ruptok Fintech do?
Ruptok provides doorstep gold loans in India: a representative visits the customer’s home to appraise gold jewellery, and the loan is disbursed through Ruptok’s own book and co-lending NBFC partners, such as Eclear Leasing and Finance.
Who founded Ruptok and when?
Ankur Gupta founded Ruptok in July 2020 in New Delhi as Founder and CEO, with Yashwardhan Aeren as co-founder and Chief Growth Officer.
How much funding has Ruptok raised?
Ruptok raised roughly ₹40 crore across three disclosed rounds in 2021: a ₹10 crore angel round from Wurk (January 2021), ₹14 crore in debt funding from Eclear Leasing and Finance (August 2021), and a ₹16 crore pre-Series A led by Manuvel Malabar Jewellers (November 2021). No round has been publicly disclosed since.
Is Ruptok Fintech profitable?
Public filings reviewed do not disclose a profit figure for FY24 or FY25, but Tofler recorded a net profit margin of -301.05% for FY22, and FY25 revenue of ₹76.6 lakh was down 81.4% from FY24’s ₹4.1 crore, both signs of a loss-making, contracting business as of the latest filings available.
How does Ruptok’s doorstep gold loan process work?
A customer requests a loan, a Ruptok representative visits their home to appraise the gold jewellery (18 carat and above), and the loan is processed digitally with disbursal typically completed the same visit, backed by Ruptok’s own capital and co-lending NBFC partners.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Inc42, company profile, “Ruptok” (accessed September 2026)
- Inc42, funding page, “Ruptok Funding” (accessed September 2026)
- Inc42, “Gold Loan Provider Ruptok Fintech Secures Debt Funding Of INR 14 Cr” (26 August 2021)
- Tracxn, “Ruptok — 2026 Company Profile, Team, Funding, Competitors & Financials” (accessed September 2026)
- Tracxn, “RUPTOK FINTECH PRIVATE LIMITED — 2026 Company Profile, Financials & Shareholding” (accessed September 2026)
- Tofler, “Ruptok Fintech Private Limited” company financial summary (accessed September 2026)
- YourStory, “Delhi-based Ruptok Fintech acquires GoldUno in an all-stock deal” (1 April 2021)
- Adgully (archived), “Ruptok Fintech Pvt. Ltd. disbursed INR 100 crore worth loan against gold” (25 January 2022)
- Indian Startup News, “Goldtech startup Ruptok Fintech raises Rs 16 crore in funding led by Manuvel Malabar Jewellers, others” (2 November 2021)
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

