Lendbox raised $2.2M in Series A funding in February 2023, reaching a ₹73.2 crore valuation. Yet eight months earlier, nearly 457 fraudulent accounts had exploited a system vulnerability to drain ₹10 crore, and within two years the Reserve Bank would levy ₹40 lakh in penalties for regulatory breaches—signalling that peer-to-peer lending in India remains as much a regulatory gauntlet as a growth opportunity.
Founded in 2015 by three investment bankers turned fintech entrepreneurs, Lendbox set out to democratise credit by removing the traditional middleman. By late 2018, the startup was processing ₹40 crore in loans across 100 cities with over 110,000 active users. But the journey from bootstrap to Series A reveals a company repeatedly adapting its business model to survive regulatory tightening, fraud, and the structural limits of a platform that asks lenders to take credit risk traditionally absorbed by banks.
Quick facts
| Company | Transactree Technologies Private Limited (operating as Lendbox) |
| Founded | 15 October 2015 |
| Founders | Ekmeet Singh (CEO), Bhuvan Rustagi (COO), Jatin Malwal (CTO) |
| Headquarters | New Delhi, India |
| Business | RBI-licensed NBFC-P2P lending platform connecting borrowers and retail lenders |
| Employees | ~63–108 (reports vary by date) |
| Latest Funding | Series A: $2.2M, 10 February 2023; valuation ₹73.2 crore |
| Status | Private; RBI-regulated; under regulatory scrutiny (penalties and show-cause notices 2023–2026) |
What they do
Lendbox connects individual borrowers seeking personal loans with retail investors looking to lend capital. The platform bypasses traditional banks and intermediaries, instead acting as a facilitator: borrowers apply for personal, short-term, marriage, or debt consolidation loans ranging from small amounts up to ₹10 lakh; investors then select loans matching their risk appetite and preferred returns. The platform is RBI-licensed as a Non-Banking Financial Company—Peer to Peer (NBFC-P2P), a designation introduced in 2017 to regulate the emerging P2P lending space.
- Business model: Fee-based facilitation of peer-to-peer lending; revenue from lender charges and platform commissions
- Market: Targets underserved segments—individuals without formal credit histories but with income documentation (self-employed, gig workers, small shopkeepers)
- User base: Over 190,000 registered users as of 2019; no recent public disclosures on total users
- Total disbursements (cumulative): ₹8,000 crore as of May 2024
- Claimed AUM: ₹10,000 crore (as of 2024, though disputed by business media)
The origin
In 2015, three friends from IE Business School in Spain found themselves asking the same question: why did credit in India remain trapped behind the gates of banks and MFIs? Ekmeet Singh, an MBA who had worked in investment banking and real estate, and Bhuvan Rustagi, an M&A professional who had advised corporate acquisitions at Alvarez & Marsal, partnered with Jatin Malwal, a serial tech entrepreneur who had built and then shut down his first venture, Playselfie, after a decade in product development. Together, they articulated a simple premise: remove the intermediary, lower the cost of capital for borrowers, and offer retail investors a new asset class with better yields than fixed deposits. The insight was not novel in global fintech circles—US platforms like LendingClub had made the same bet—but for India’s retail investor base, P2P lending remained almost unknown.
In the early years, Lendbox bootstrapped. The founders self-funded operations and reinvested whatever fees the platform earned. Traction came steadily: by 2018, just three years in, the platform had onboarded over 110,000 users, processed ₹40 crore in loans across 100 cities, and moved the founders to seek their first institutional capital.
The struggle years
The years between 2018 and 2023 tested Lendbox on three fronts: regulation, fraud, and the limits of platform economics.
- Regulatory compliance, 2017–2019: India’s P2P lending space remained legally undefined until the Reserve Bank introduced NBFC-P2P licensing in 2017. Lendbox, operating before formal permission, obtained its RBI NBFC-P2P license in February 2019—a watershed moment that legitimised the platform but also shackled it with compliance obligations. The licence came with caps on lender exposure (later revised to ₹50 lakh per lender maximum) and strict rules on how funds could flow between borrowers and lenders.
- The December 2022 scam, ₹10 crore loss: Between December 2022 and March 2023, approximately 457 fraudulent accounts exploited a critical system vulnerability on the Lendbox platform. The scheme was sophisticated: scammers deposited funds into P2P lending schemes via UPI, then immediately requested refunds through the Lendbox app while simultaneously filing chargeback requests with NPCI, falsely claiming the funds had not been received or had been withdrawn without authorisation. Lendbox’s systems failed to respond to NPCI’s refund requests within the required timeframe—a “system error,” as noted in the FIR—causing NPCI to auto-approve the chargebacks. By the time Lendbox manually refunded the deposits via its own channels, fraudsters had already collected twice: once via the app refund and once via the NPCI chargeback. The total loss reached approximately ₹10 crore before MobiKwik (a payment partner) flagged the unusual activity. Lendbox filed an FIR; investigations are ongoing.
- RBI tightening and show-cause notices, 2023–2024: The RBI’s August 2024 revised guidelines on NBFC-P2P platforms further tightened operations: platforms were prohibited from offering products marketed as having assured returns, from providing credit guarantees, and from routing funds through unauthorised escrow accounts. The regulatory squeeze was immediate: business volumes across P2P platforms fell by up to 90% within months. In October 2024, Lendbox (along with five other platforms) received a show-cause notice from the RBI for non-compliance with P2P guidelines.
- September 2023 RBI inspection and May 2025 penalty: An RBI examination of Lendbox in September 2023 uncovered multiple violations: funds routed through an unauthorised co-lending escrow account; failure to share borrower credit assessments with prospective lenders; and loans disbursed without individual lender approval—all breaches of P2P platform directions. In May 2025, the RBI imposed a ₹40 lakh penalty on Transactree Technologies (Lendbox’s parent) for these violations. The regulator stated the penalty addressed “deficiencies in compliance” and did not invalidate customer agreements, but signalled the beginning of enforcement action.
- MobiKwik Xtra partnership fallout, 2025–2026: Seeking to diversify beyond direct P2P lending, Lendbox partnered with digital wallet platform MobiKwik to offer “MobiKwik Xtra”—a product positioned to investors as an alternative to fixed deposits, offering 12–14% returns. Over 630 investors deployed ₹6 crore into the scheme. However, when the RBI’s tightened guidelines took effect in August 2024, investor withdrawals overwhelmed the system. MobiKwik Xtra investors reported withdrawal blocks, frozen funds, and partial availability of their capital. In May 2026, an FIR was filed against both Lendbox and MobiKwik, with investors alleging the companies had promised guaranteed, FD-like returns while diverting capital to risky borrower accounts and failing to disclose the underlying loan structure. Lendbox countered that over 90% of borrowed funds had been repaid and the remainder was in recovery. The matter remains unresolved, with affected investors pursuing legal remedies.
The turning point
Lendbox’s inflection moment arrived with the Series A round in February 2023. After seven years of bootstrapping and gradual growth, the startup raised $2.2M from two investors—Orios Venture Partners (lead) and IvyCap Ventures Advisors. The round valued Lendbox at ₹73.2 crore ($8.8M at the prevailing exchange rate). For a bootstrapped, seven-year-old fintech in a regulated space, the valuation signalled institutional confidence. The capital was earmarked for technology enhancement, risk assessment infrastructure, and customer support—investments the founders believed would move Lendbox from a scrappy platform into an institutional-grade lending facility.
The Series A proved a false dawn. Within months, the ₹10 crore scam emerged, straining Lendbox’s reputation and forcing a crisis response in fraud detection and system patching. Then came the RBI’s regulatory onslaught. By late 2024, the tightened guidelines had eviscerated the addressable market for P2P lending (business volumes down 90% across the sector); the show-cause notice signalled enforcement action; and the MobiKwik Xtra partnership was attracting police complaints. The Series A capital, instead of fuelling growth, was consumed in compliance remediation and investor communication. The turning point, in retrospect, turned out to be not a beginning but a temporary respite before a sharper challenge.
The money behind it
Lendbox’s funding journey reflects the Indian fintech startup arc: early bootstrapping, followed by modest institutional cheques as the venture matures.
- Pre-Series A (seed stage), November 2018: ₹6 crore from IvyCap Ventures. At the time of funding, Lendbox had 110,000+ active users and ₹40 crore in cumulative disbursals. IvyCap founder Vikram Gupta noted the “potential to capture the mid- and low-segment market” as the primary investment thesis.
- Series A, 10 February 2023: $2.2M (~₹18.5 crore at 2023 rates) from Orios Venture Partners (lead) and IvyCap Ventures Advisors. Post-money valuation: ₹73.2 crore.
- Total raised: $3.05M over two rounds (approximately ₹25–26 crore cumulatively). No further public funding rounds disclosed through September 2026.
- Investor thesis (as inferred): P2P lending as an emerging asset class for retail investors; RBI licensing as a regulatory moat; India’s underbanked population as a vast market. The thesis has been tested by regulatory tightening and fraud.
- Secondary funding and corporate partnerships: No equity funding since Series A. Lendbox diversified into alternative investments through a sister entity, Per Annum (launched 2021), offering fixed-income and real estate products—a pivot implying the core P2P lending market was becoming challenged.
How it makes money
Lendbox operates a fee-based model rather than a credit intermediary model (it does not hold loans on its balance sheet; lenders assume credit risk). Revenue streams include:
- Origination fees from lenders: Lenders typically pay a platform fee (reported as 1–2% of the loan principal) when they participate in a loan, and ongoing management or exit fees.
- Processing fees from borrowers: Borrowers pay a fee to access loans, though this is typically embedded in the loan terms.
- Affiliate/partnership commissions: Revenue from partnerships like MobiKwik Xtra (a joint product with Wallet Corp Limited operating MobiKwik), through which Lendbox earned commissions on AUM growth—a revenue stream that collapsed when MobiKwik Xtra encountered regulatory and withdrawal issues.
- Interest spread (limited, non-traditional): Unlike NBFCs or banks, Lendbox does not lend; it facilitates. However, some P2P platforms have been found to operate quasi-lending arrangements through co-lending or escrow structures, which the RBI specifically prohibits.
- Unit economics: The company does not disclose take-rate, customer acquisition cost (CAC), or lifetime value (LTV) metrics. Revenue per transaction and platform economics remain opaque.
The numbers
Lendbox’s financials are not publicly filed with the stock exchange (as a private company), but data from business intelligence platforms and press reports provide a partial picture:
| Fiscal Year | Revenue | Profit / (Loss) | Source / Notes |
| FY23 | Not publicly disclosed | Not disclosed | Series A completed Feb 2023; no full-year data released |
| FY24 | ₹120 crore (reported) | ₹11 crore net profit (reported) | One source; not independently verified; may conflate AUM with revenue |
| FY25 | ₹14.8 crore+ (reported) | Minimal (estimated from investor interest accruals of ₹4.50 crore) | Inc42 business intelligence; sharp revenue drop suggests either reclassification or business contraction post-RBI regulations |
Note on revenue discrepancy: The reported swing from ₹120 crore (FY24) to ₹14.8 crore (FY25) is anomalous. Inc42’s investigation of Lendbox’s accounts suggests the earlier figure may have been AUM or gross loan volume, not net revenue. The true net revenue is likely in the ₹14–20 crore range, with declining profitability post-RBI regulatory action.
- Cumulative disbursals: ₹8,000 crore (as of May 2024, per multiple sources)
- Claimed AUM: ₹10,000 crore (as of 2024, disputed by Inc42 investigation which notes inconsistency between claimed AUM and investor interest accruals)
- Series A valuation: ₹73.2 crore (February 2023), implying a 1.6–2.0× revenue multiple on FY24 estimates—low for a fintech, reflecting investor caution
- Valuation post-penalties and MobiKwik Xtra fallout: Not disclosed; estimated to be at or below Series A levels given regulatory headwinds
Where the money comes from
Lendbox’s revenue streams have shifted as regulation tightened and the core P2P lending market contracted:
- Core P2P lending platform: Revenue from lender fees and borrower charges on direct P2P lending facilitation. This was the primary revenue source until RBI regulations (August 2024) capped lender exposure and prohibited assured-return products. Business volume fell 90% in the following months sector-wide.
- MobiKwik Xtra (alternative investments): A partnership launched to offer fixed-income and “FD-like” structured products to retail investors, channelling capital to Lendbox borrowers through a dual-interface model. Commissions from MobiKwik drove 2024–2025 growth but collapsed when withdrawal restrictions triggered investor complaints and an eventual FIR (May 2026).
- Per Annum (sister entity, launched 2021): Offering alternative and fixed-income investments. Part of a diversification strategy signalling lack of confidence in core P2P lending volume.
- Geography: Lendbox operates nationwide across major Indian cities; no regional concentration disclosed. Borrowers are concentrated in unorganised sectors (self-employed, small traders, gig workers) with limited formal credit histories.
- Borrower segments: Personal loans, short-tenure loans (3–24 months typical), wedding financing, and debt consolidation. No material B2B lending or corporate loan book.
The risks
Lendbox operates in one of India’s most volatile fintech spaces. Three concrete risks are material:
- Regulatory cap on operations: The RBI’s August 2024 P2P lending guidelines imposed hard ceilings: ₹50 lakh per lender aggregate exposure, ₹10 lakh per borrower across platforms, prohibition on guaranteed or assured-return products, strict escrow rules, and mandatory borrower risk disclosure. These caps directly limit scalability; a ₹50 lakh cap per lender means a lender with ₹1 crore to invest cannot deploy it all on one platform, fragmenting capital. Lendbox’s business volume has not recovered since the tightening. Regulatory further action (licence cancellation, escalated penalties) remains possible if show-cause notices result in adjudication against the platform.
- Fraud and system resilience: The December 2022 ₹10 crore scam exposed critical system vulnerabilities—the inability to respond to NPCI refund requests within stipulated timeframes, lack of anomaly detection on multi-account fraud, and weak KYC/AML controls. Lendbox remediated the immediate technical issues, but investor confidence remains scarred. Future fraud or system failures could be existential for a trust-dependent platform.
- Credit losses and borrower defaults: Lendbox does not disclose loan-level default rates or portfolio composition by credit grade. P2P platforms in India have historically reported 20–35% default rates on personal loans to unbanked borrowers—well above traditional MFI or bank rates. As the platform matures and cohorts age, cumulative default losses could exceed investor expectations, triggering redemption pressures and platform instability.
The takeaway
Lendbox’s journey illustrates a larger truth about financial inclusion in regulated markets: the gap between market need and regulatory permission is not easily crossed by capital and engineering alone. The platform identified a real problem—retail savers with no path to diversify beyond bank deposits, and borrowers unable to access formal credit—and built a working solution. For seven years, it bootstrapped to ₹40 crore in loan disbursals and 110,000 users. The Series A in February 2023 felt like validation: proof that the model had legs.
But the subsequent 18 months—a ₹10 crore scam, RBI penalties, regulatory caps that shrunk the addressable market by 90%, and a partnership meltdown with MobiKwik—revealed that permission to operate is not the same as permission to scale. Lendbox remains licensed and functional, but it is now a smaller, more cautious version of its aspirations. The lesson for other fintech platforms chasing regulatory approval as a moat is sobering: regulation moves in phases. Phase one is licensing (you can operate). Phase two is tightening (you must shrink). Phase three, if market disruption is deemed too high, can be outright prohibition. Lendbox is navigating phases two and three, discovering that a platform cannot grow faster than the regulator’s comfort level—no matter how much capital it raises.
Frequently asked questions
Is Lendbox a bank or a lending company?
Neither. Lendbox is an RBI-licensed Non-Banking Financial Company—Peer to Peer Lending Platform (NBFC-P2P). It acts as a facilitator: the platform does not lend capital itself. Instead, individual lenders deploy capital to individual borrowers through the platform, which handles the matching, documentation, and settlement. Credit risk remains with lenders, not with Lendbox.
What was the December 2022 scam?
Between December 2022 and March 2023, approximately 457 fraudulent accounts exploited a system error on Lendbox’s platform. Scammers deposited funds via UPI, requested refunds through the Lendbox app, and simultaneously filed NPCI chargebacks, falsely claiming non-receipt. Lendbox’s systems failed to respond to NPCI within the required timeframe, causing auto-approval of chargebacks. Fraudsters thus received double refunds—one via the platform and one via NPCI—for a total loss of ₹10 crore. Lendbox filed an FIR; the matter is under investigation.
Why did Lendbox receive an RBI penalty in May 2025?
The RBI’s September 2023 inspection found Lendbox in breach of P2P lending directions: funds were routed through unauthorised co-lending escrow accounts; borrower credit assessments were not disclosed to lenders; and loans were disbursed without individual lender approval. In May 2025, the RBI imposed a ₹40 lakh penalty. The regulator stated the penalty addressed compliance deficiencies and did not invalidate customer agreements but warned of further enforcement if violations continue.
What happened with MobiKwik Xtra?
Lendbox partnered with MobiKwik to offer “MobiKwik Xtra,” marketed as an FD-like investment product with 12–14% returns. Over 630 investors invested ₹6 crore. When RBI guidelines tightened in August 2024, withdrawal pressures overwhelmed the system; investors reported frozen funds and blocked withdrawals. In May 2026, an FIR was filed against both companies, alleging false marketing of guaranteed returns and improper fund routing. Lendbox claims 90%+ repayment, with the remainder in recovery. The matter is unresolved.
Is Lendbox still operating?
Yes. As of September 2026, Lendbox remains RBI-licensed and operational. However, the August 2024 RBI regulations significantly constrained the platform: business volumes are down 90% sector-wide; the company is responding to show-cause notices; and regulatory scrutiny remains elevated. The platform continues to facilitate P2P lending within tightened caps (₹50 lakh per lender, ₹10 lakh per borrower), but growth is stalled and the company is exploring alternative revenue through partnerships and sister entities like Per Annum.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Inc42, “Lendbox Funding 2026 – Total Funding, Rounds & Investors” (2026)
- Inc42, “Scamsters Exploit System Error To Defraud P2P Lending Startup Lendbox Of INR 10 Cr” (2023)
- Inc42, “₹10,000 Cr AUM, MobiKwik Xtra & Per Annum: Lendbox’s Risky Regulatory Dance” (2025)
- Business Standard, “Lendbox Receives NBFC – Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Certification from RBI” (February 2019)
- MediaNama, “FIRs Against MobiKwik, Lendbox Over Misuse of Investor Funds” (May 2026)
- MediaNama, “RBI Sends Show Cause Notices to 6 P2P Lending Platforms” (October 2024)
- Moneylife, “RBI Slaps Rs40 Lakh Penalty on Lendbox for Violating P2P Lending Norms” (May 2025)
- The Indian Wire, “P2P Lending Startup Lendbox Raises ₹6 Crore in Pre-Series A Led by IvyCap Ventures” (November 2018)
- Lendbox official website, “About Lendbox” (www.lendbox.in/about)
- Tracxn, “Lendbox – 2026 Company Profile, Team, Funding, Competitors & Financials” (2026)
- CIN Database, “Transactree Technologies Private Limited – U65900DL2015PTC285968” (Registrar of Companies, Delhi)
- Business Today, “Here’s Why P2P Lending Platforms Are Struggling to Adapt to New RBI Regulations” (October 2024)
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

