HomeStartups & AchieversStartup Deep DiveStartup Deep Dive : Rang De — the charity that lent Rs...

Startup Deep Dive : Rang De — the charity that lent Rs 76 crore before the RBI made it become a company

Between 2008 and 2017, Rang De moved ₹76 crore ($7.9 million) from about 15,000 ordinary Indians to 65,000 rural borrowers (as per YourStory, December 2019), charging them a fraction of what microfinance companies charged and paying its lenders, for most of that period, a flat 2% a year. Then the Reserve Bank of India wrote the country’s first rulebook for peer-to-peer lending, and the model that had worked for nine years as a public charitable trust became one the trust was no longer permitted to run.

What followed is the rarest kind of pivot in Indian startup history: a charity that had to become a company. Rang De shut its non-profit lending down, spent two years rebuilding as a regulated NBFC-P2P, went live again in September 2019 with ₹90 lakh raised largely from 23 of its own lenders (YourStory, December 2019), and has since lent another ₹56 crore across 16,000-plus loans (Reasons to be Cheerful, September 2023). It is still small, with 50 employees as of 31 August 2025 (Tracxn) and revenue Tracxn lists at ₹3.55 crore for FY24, and it is still loss-making. This is a deep dive into what a regulator’s rulebook did to India’s first social lending platform, and why the founders say the second version is closer to what they wanted all along.

Quick facts

Company Rang De P2P Financial Services Limited (CIN U67190KA2017PLC108211), Bengaluru; RBI NBFC-P2P Certificate of Registration N-02-00319. The brand began in 2008 as a public charitable trust
Founded Platform launched January 2008 as a non-profit; the company was incorporated on 27 November 2017 and the regulated platform went live in September 2019
Founder(s) Ramakrishna NK (Ram) and Smita Ram, husband and wife, co-founders and co-CEOs
Businesses Peer-to-peer social lending: individual “social investors” fund livelihood loans to farmers, artisans and micro-entrepreneurs sourced through partner organisations (“impact partners”)
Latest FY revenue Under ₹10 crore for FY25, up 1.7% on FY24 (Tracxn; Falcon eBiz summary of MCA filings). Tracxn lists FY24 revenue at ₹3.55 crore
Latest FY profit/loss Loss-making: net profit margin of −56.2% and return on equity of −147.5% in FY25, with net worth down 34.0% year on year (Falcon eBiz summary of FY25 filings)
Listed Private (an unlisted public limited company)
Market value / last valuation Not publicly disclosed. Total equity raised: $2.14 million (about ₹20.5 crore) across 10 rounds from 207 investors, 2018 to June 2024 (Tracxn)
Key shareholders Founders 81.5%, angel investors 13.0%, funds 1.0%, as of April 2024 (Tracxn); directors are Ramakrishna Krishnamurthy Nakka (managing director), Smita Satish and Kunnathur Krishnan Rajan (Tofler)

What they do

Rang De runs a website and app where an Indian resident, NRI or OCI card holder can lend as little as ₹500 to a named rural borrower or to a pooled “fund”, and earn up to 8.5% a year on it (Rang De website, September 2026). The borrowers are farmers, weavers, fish farmers, e-rickshaw drivers and small traders who would otherwise pay informal moneylenders 24% to 60% a year (Rang De blog, July 2026; Reasons to be Cheerful, September 2023). Rang De does not find these borrowers itself. It works through partner organisations, which it calls impact partners, such as farmer producer companies, non-profits and social enterprises, which identify and vouch for borrowers and often collect repayments. The company is a marketplace and a compliance layer, not a balance-sheet lender: under RBI rules it cannot lend its own money, cannot guarantee repayment and cannot hold lenders’ funds beyond a day.

The origin

Ramakrishna NK is a tech graduate; Smita Ram holds a master’s degree in social work from Roshni Nilaya in Mangalore (Rang De website; The Weekend Leader, February 2011). In 2006 both were working in the United Kingdom when Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank won the Nobel Peace Prize, and the couple went looking for how microcredit actually reached the poor in India. What they found bothered them: microfinance institutions were lending at rates that, by Rang De’s own later count, averaged around 26% a year (Ashoka, cited in India CSR, October 2018), because the cost of raising capital and collecting small repayments was high.

The founding insight was to change where the capital came from. If thousands of salaried Indians each lent ₹100 or ₹1,000 and accepted a token return, the cost of funds would collapse and the borrower’s rate could fall to single digits. After a three-year stint in the UK, the couple returned, and in January 2008 launched Rang De with about £6,000 of their own savings, roughly ₹5 lakh at the time (YourStory, February 2010; The Weekend Leader, February 2011). They had asked for seed funding and been turned down everywhere. “All our requests to secure seed funding were promptly rejected,” Smita Ram told YourStory in 2019. The first cohort was one field partner and fifteen borrowers.

The struggle years

The non-profit years were a slow grind that worked. By February 2010, Rang De had funded more than 2,000 rural entrepreneurs across 10 states through 20 field partners, with about 1,000 social investors; borrowers paid 8.5% a year, the platform kept 1% and lenders got 2% (YourStory, February 2010). By February 2011 the figures were about ₹3.5 crore to nearly 7,000 people in 12 states, and Rang De was funding its own overheads through that 1% cut, fundraising events and merchandise sales, “depending on volumes of transactions to sustain itself” (The Weekend Leader, February 2011). By December 2014 it had made 32,483 micro-loans since inception and was disbursing about ₹10 crore a year through 16 active field partners, with 92% of loans repaid on time and the rest delayed but paid (Business Standard, December 2014). Institutional grants came from ICICI Foundation and Tata Trusts in 2015 (YourStory, December 2019), and Ram was elected an Ashoka Fellow in 2012.

The first serious blow was regulatory. On 4 October 2017 the RBI issued its Master Direction for Non-Banking Financial Company – Peer to Peer Lending Platforms, which made P2P lending a licensed NBFC activity with a minimum net owned fund of ₹2 crore, lender caps and escrow rules (RBI Master Direction, 2017). A public charitable trust could not hold that licence. After nine years of operations, as YourStory put it, “Rang De had to shift gears from a public charitable trust to a private limited company”. The non-profit platform, which had by then raised and disbursed ₹76 crore for 65,000 borrowers, stopped taking new loans. Rang De P2P Financial Services Private Limited was incorporated on 27 November 2017 (Tofler), but the regulated platform did not go live until September 2019: a gap of close to two years in which the team had to raise equity for the first time, build a compliant technology stack and re-sign partners under a fee-paying model. The Hard Copy’s July 2024 case study describes it as regulation that “forced the company to pivot to a for-profit, regulated model, requiring the founders to completely reimagine their approach.”

The second blow was the pandemic. Rang De’s relaunched book was barely six months old when COVID-19 hit rural India’s cash flows; Entrackr reported in March 2023 that “operations were impacted during the pandemic” before borrower identification picked up again. Credit quality is where the strain showed. Where the 2014 platform reported 92% on-time repayment, The Hard Copy in July 2024 reported a non-performing asset rate of 9.34% on the regulated platform, against the “up to 95%” repayment Entrackr cited in March 2023 and the “near 100 percent” repayment Reasons to be Cheerful reported in September 2023. Those figures cannot all describe the same book at the same time, and Rang De does not publish a dated series, so the honest reading is that repayment has ranged from the low 90s to close to full, depending on period and partner.

The turning point

The single event that split Rang De’s life in two is the September 2019 go-live as an RBI-registered NBFC-P2P. On one side of that line sits nine years as a trust: ₹76 crore disbursed, 15,000 lenders, 65,000 borrowers funded, and a platform sustained by a 1% cut, grants and T-shirt sales (YourStory, December 2019; The Weekend Leader, February 2011). On the other side sits a company: ₹90 lakh of equity raised within three months of launch from 23 people who had previously been lenders on the platform, including Freshworks founder Girish Mathrubootham (YourStory, December 2019); ₹47 crore disbursed through 15,000 loans in the first three and a half years (Entrackr, March 2023); ₹56 crore and 16,000-plus loans, with 8,000-plus social investors, by September 2023 (Reasons to be Cheerful).

The comparison is instructive. The trust took nine years to reach ₹76 crore; the company took four to reach ₹56 crore, with fewer lenders (8,000 versus 15,000) each putting in more. The other thing the line changed was who pays. Before 2019, Rang De’s income was a slice of borrower interest. After 2019, as the next sections show, the bulk of it comes from the partner organisations that use Rang De’s regulated rails.

The money behind it

Rang De’s cap table looks nothing like a venture-backed fintech’s, and that is by design. The company’s own lenders became its first shareholders, and the founders still own most of it.

  • Total equity raised: $2.14 million (about ₹20.5 crore) across 10 rounds between June 2018 and 26 June 2024, from 207 investors, of whom 14 are institutions and 193 are angels (Tracxn, accessed September 2026).
  • First raise after go-live: ₹90 lakh by December 2019 from 23 social investors who converted to equity holders, including Girish Mathrubootham of Freshworks (YourStory, December 2019). “Many of our lenders came forward to register themselves as equity investors,” Smita Ram told Entrackr in March 2023.
  • Round cadence: Tracxn logs seed or angel rounds dated 25 June 2018, 8 March 2019, 14 August 2019, 7 July 2020, 26 March 2021, 29 June 2021, 30 June 2022, 28 June 2023, 22 December 2023 and 26 June 2024; individual round sizes and post-money valuations are not publicly disclosed.
  • Named institutional backers: Social Alpha (the Tata Trusts-linked impact incubator), Indigram Labs (an agri-tech incubator), Indus Net Finvest Resources and Zero Is Infinite Startup Studio (Tracxn). Social Alpha and Indigram matter less for cheque size than for pipeline: they sit close to the agri and rural enterprises that become Rang De’s impact partners.
  • Pre-company grant support: ICICI Foundation and Tata Trusts in 2015 (YourStory, December 2019).
  • Shareholding as of April 2024: founders 81.5%, angels 13.0%, funds 1.0%, enterprises 0.6% (Tracxn).
  • Latest valuation: not disclosed. Tracxn’s April 2024 shareholding snapshot implies a small-company valuation in the low hundreds of crores, but the firm has not published a number and we do not report one.

How it makes money

The part people get wrong about Rang De is assuming it earns a spread on loans. It cannot: RBI rules bar an NBFC-P2P from lending its own funds or guaranteeing returns, so every rupee of interest belongs to the lender. Rang De’s income is fees, and most of them are paid by organisations rather than by borrowers.

  • Money in, from impact partners: a one-time setup fee of about ₹2.4 lakh and an annual recurring fee of ₹1.2 lakh for non-profit partners; for-profit enterprises pay double (The Hard Copy, July 2024). Rang De’s own FAQ describes its revenue model as “platform access fees paid by our impact partners”, comprising a setup fee at onboarding and an annual recurring fee (Rang De FAQ, September 2026).
  • Money in, from social investors: a 2% platform fee charged when an investment is made (Rang De blog, February 2025).
  • Money in, from borrowers: a share of interest that “varies by community” (The Hard Copy, July 2024); Rang De’s homepage lists “fees paid by our social investors, impact partners and borrowers” as its three revenue sources.
  • Pricing to borrowers: 6% to 8% a year on simple interest rather than reducing balance, with repayment schedules adapted to the borrower’s cash cycle, for example post-harvest for farmers (The Hard Copy, July 2024). Earlier, the range was 4.5% to 10% flat (YourStory, December 2019).
  • Returns to lenders: “up to 8.5% per annum”, varying by investee and fund, not guaranteed (Rang De website, September 2026).
  • Costs out: a 50-person team as of August 2025 (Tracxn), technology, KYC and compliance, RBI reporting and a bank-promoted trustee running the lender and borrower escrow accounts (RBI Master Direction, paragraph 9).
  • Where the margin sits: in partner fees. A partner paying ₹1.2 lakh a year is worth more to Rang De’s P&L than the 2% fee on, say, ₹10 lakh of lending (₹20,000). That makes the number of paying partners, not loan volume, the lever that decides whether Rang De breaks even.

The numbers

Rang De is an unlisted company and its full profit-and-loss statements sit behind MCA paywalls, so what is public is a mix of one absolute revenue figure and the growth and margin ratios that registry aggregators publish from the filings. We show only what those sources state.

Fiscal year Revenue (₹ crore) Profit / loss Other filed ratios Source
FY23 (to March 2023) Not disclosed; up 38.2% year on year Loss; net profit margin −22.8%, operating margin −23.9% Net worth up 22.0%; return on equity −35.3% Tofler summary of FY23 filing
FY24 (to March 2024) ₹3.55 crore Not disclosed Total assets not disclosed Tracxn
FY25 (to March 2025) Under ₹10 crore; up 1.7% year on year Loss; net profit margin −56.2%, net loss wider by about 40% than FY24 Net worth down 34.0%; EBITDA down 41.3%; return on equity −147.5% Falcon eBiz and Tracxn summaries of FY25 filing
  • Read together, the ratios say revenue roughly flattened in FY25 after strong FY23 growth, while the loss widened sharply. On a −56.2% margin and revenue only 1.7% above ₹3.55 crore, the implied FY25 loss is in the region of ₹2 crore; that is our arithmetic on the filed ratios, not a reported figure.
  • Paid-up capital is ₹3.98 lakh (Falcon eBiz; Tofler), which is why a −147.5% return on equity is possible at such small absolute losses: the equity base is thin and most funding has come in as premium.
  • The company’s latest balance sheet is dated 31 March 2025 and its last AGM was held on 20 September 2025 (InstaFinancials).
  • Operating scale for context: ₹56 crore disbursed across 16,000-plus loans in the four years to September 2023 (Reasons to be Cheerful), which is roughly ₹14 crore a year, still short of the ₹200 crore over two years that the founders set as a target in March 2023 (Entrackr).

Where the money comes from

Rang De does not publish a revenue split by segment. What it and its partners do publish is where the lending goes, and the picture is a rural, agricultural, women-led book concentrated in a handful of states.

  • By gender: women made up over 90% of borrowers in the non-profit era (India CSR, October 2018); 17,150 women investees have been supported on the regulated platform (The Better India, August 2025).
  • By credit history: 12,831 first-time investees, and about 70% of funded individuals are first-time borrowers (The Better India, August 2025).
  • By sector: agriculture, handicrafts and micro-enterprise dominate. In Assam alone Rang De has lent ₹7.40 crore-plus to 1,594 farmer borrowers over three years through 38-plus farmer producer companies, including ₹64.77 lakh to 89 farmers of Tulungia Shine FPC, whose turnover rose from ₹32 lakh to ₹2.86 crore (Rang De blog, July 2026).
  • By product: pooled funds such as the Matheran e-rickshaw fund, which raised ₹53 lakh from 462 investors for 18 borrowers at 6% a year with zero defaults to date, and had returned ₹3,53,744 to investors at the time of writing (The Hard Copy, July 2024); and clean-energy loans for solar dryers and hydroponic fodder units with CEEW and Villgro (The Better India, August 2025).
  • By geography: 18 states worked in, 11 active, as of October 2018 (India CSR); recent activity is concentrated in Assam, Manipur, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Madhya Pradesh (Rang De blog, June and July 2026).
  • By lender: the platform is open to NRIs and OCI card holders investing in rupees through an Indian bank account (Rang De FAQ), a channel it first opened to foreign social investors in 2013.

The surprise is on the revenue side, not the lending side. Because partner fees are fixed and lender fees are volume-linked, a year in which Rang De signs more farmer producer companies but lends the same amount can grow revenue faster than a year in which it lends more through the same partners. The FY25 filings, with revenue up 1.7% and losses wider, are consistent with a year in which neither happened at pace.

The risks

  • Regulation keeps tightening, and Rang De cannot cushion it. On 16 August 2024 the RBI amended the P2P Master Direction to bar any form of credit enhancement or guarantee to lenders, prohibit promoting P2P as an investment product, require written risk declarations from lenders, enforce a T+1 escrow cycle and mandate monthly website disclosure of non-performing assets and lender losses on principal and interest (IndiaCorpLaw, October 2024; RBI Master Direction as updated 27 February 2025). Several platforms paused onboarding after the change. For Rang De, whose pitch has always been low returns for low risk rather than yield, the rules bite less on marketing than on cost: a 50-person company with revenue under ₹10 crore carries the same reporting, escrow and trustee obligations as platforms many times its size.
  • Credit losses fall entirely on the lender, and the loss rate is not steady. The RBI caps a single lender at ₹50,000 per borrower and ₹50 lakh across all platforms, with a chartered accountant’s net-worth certificate above ₹10 lakh, and caps loan tenure at 36 months (RBI Master Direction, paragraph 7). Within those limits, the 9.34% NPA rate The Hard Copy reported in July 2024 sits well above the sub-8% delayed-but-paid experience of 2014 (Business Standard). A concentrated book in agriculture and in a few states means a bad monsoon, a flood in Assam or ethnic violence in Manipur, where Rang De lends through the MaolKeki Foundation (Rang De blog, June 2026), can hit repayments across many borrowers at once. Lenders who came for impact may tolerate that; the RBI’s new monthly NPA disclosure will make it visible.
  • The company itself is thinly capitalised. Net worth fell 34.0% in FY25 and return on equity was −147.5% (Falcon eBiz), on paid-up capital of ₹3.98 lakh and total lifetime equity of $2.14 million (Tracxn). An NBFC-P2P must maintain a net owned fund of at least ₹2 crore (RBI Master Direction, paragraph 5). Continued losses at the FY25 rate would require fresh equity within a few years simply to stay above the regulatory floor, and Rang De’s investor base of impact-minded angels writing small cheques is not a deep well. The founders’ 81.5% holding keeps control, but it also means there is no large institutional shareholder obliged to fund the next round.

The takeaway

The transferable lesson from Rang De is about what a business model is for. For nine years the founders ran a lending platform on a 1% cut, grants and merchandise, and it worked in the sense that borrowers got 8% money and lenders got their principal back. But it did not generate a surplus large enough to survive a rule change, and when the RBI’s 2017 directions arrived, the trust had no capital, no equity structure and no time. The relaunch fixed that by moving the cost of the platform onto the institutions that benefit most from it, the partner organisations, and by turning the most committed users into shareholders. It is still not profitable, and the FY25 numbers show how narrow the path is. But the second Rang De can raise equity, sign contracts and absorb a regulator’s next amendment, and the first could not. A mission can run for a long time on goodwill; it can only survive a shock if someone, somewhere, is paying for the rails.

Frequently asked questions

Is Rang De regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Rang De P2P Financial Services Limited holds an NBFC-P2P Certificate of Registration, number N-02-00319, from the Reserve Bank of India, and has operated under the RBI’s Master Direction for peer-to-peer lending platforms since going live in September 2019. The RBI does not accept responsibility for statements made by the platform, and returns are not guaranteed.

How much can I invest on Rang De and what does it return?

The minimum is ₹500. RBI rules cap a lender at ₹50,000 to any single borrower and ₹50 lakh in aggregate across all P2P platforms, with a chartered accountant’s net-worth certificate required above ₹10 lakh. Rang De advertises returns of up to 8.5% a year, varying by investee and fund, and charges a 2% platform fee at the time of investment (Rang De website and blog, 2025 to 2026).

Who are Rang De’s borrowers?

Farmers, artisans, fish farmers, small traders and other rural micro-entrepreneurs sourced through partner organisations. About 70% are first-time borrowers and the platform has supported 17,150 women investees (The Better India, August 2025). In Assam it has lent ₹7.40 crore-plus to 1,594 farmers through 38-plus farmer producer companies over three years (Rang De blog, July 2026).

How does Rang De make money if it cannot keep the interest?

From fees: a setup fee of about ₹2.4 lakh and an annual fee of ₹1.2 lakh from non-profit impact partners (double for for-profit partners), a 2% fee on each investment made by a lender, and a share of borrower interest that varies by community (The Hard Copy, July 2024; Rang De blog, February 2025). Tracxn lists FY24 revenue at ₹3.55 crore, and the company was loss-making in FY23 and FY25 per its filings.

Why did Rang De stop being a non-profit?

The RBI’s October 2017 Master Direction made peer-to-peer lending a licensed NBFC activity with a ₹2 crore minimum net owned fund and escrow requirements that a public charitable trust could not meet. Rang De incorporated a company in November 2017, raised equity from its own lenders and relaunched as a regulated NBFC-P2P in September 2019, having disbursed ₹76 crore to 65,000 borrowers as a non-profit (YourStory, December 2019).

Sources

Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).

  • YourStory, “How RangDe pivoted from a social grant platform to a P2P lending startup”, December 2019
  • YourStory, “Smita Ram and Ram N.K, Founders, Rang De”, February 2010
  • The Weekend Leader, “Prospering the poor”, February 2011
  • Business Standard, “NGO Rang De’s peer-to-peer lending platform on internet makes big out of small”, December 2014
  • India CSR, interview with Smita Ram and Ramakrishna NK, October 2018
  • Entrackr, “Rang De empowers underserved communities with its P2P lending platform”, March 2023
  • Reasons to be Cheerful, “A ‘human-led approach’ to loans is changing lives in rural India”, September 2023
  • The Hard Copy, “Rang De: Credit where it’s due” (case study), July 2024
  • The Better India, “How Rang De’s lending model is powering sustainable livelihoods”, August 2025
  • Rang De website: homepage, FAQ and “Our story” pages, accessed September 2026
  • Rang De blog, “How Rang De complies with RBI’s P2P lending regulations”, February 2025
  • Rang De blog, “How timely credit is transforming farmer producer companies in Assam”, July 2026; “How access to credit is rebuilding livelihoods in Manipur”, June 2026
  • Reserve Bank of India, Master Direction – Non-Banking Financial Company – Peer to Peer Lending Platform (Reserve Bank) Directions, 2017, issued 4 October 2017, updated 27 February 2025
  • IndiaCorpLaw, “RBI’s revised Master Directions on peer-to-peer lending: shift in regulatory policy”, October 2024
  • Tracxn, Rang De company profile and Rang De P2P Financial Services Limited legal-entity profile (funding, shareholding, headcount, revenue), accessed September 2026
  • Tofler, Rang De P2P Financial Services Limited company page (FY23 filing ratios, directors), accessed September 2026
  • Falcon eBiz, Rang De P2P Financial Services Limited company page (FY25 filing ratios, capital), accessed September 2026
  • InstaFinancials, Rang De P2P Financial Services Limited company page (balance sheet and AGM dates), accessed September 2026

Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

The Invincible India
The Invincible Indiahttps://www.theinvincibleindia.in
The Invincible India is a digital magazine celebrating the spirit of India — covering national news, culture and heritage, travel, festivals, startups and inspiring people, with a special focus on Udaipur and Rajasthan. Our team brings readers stories that showcase an incredible and invincible India.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

46,000FansLike
11,500FollowersFollow
2,280SubscribersSubscribe

Most Popular