A company that describes itself as the world’s largest branded hostel chain filed operating revenue of just ₹1.29 crore with the Registrar of Companies for the year to March 2023. Both facts are documented, and the distance between them is the entire story of Zostel: a backpacker brand with more than 95 properties across four countries, run by an operating entity whose own books are tiny.
That gap is not an accident. Zostel is built on a franchise model in which independent owners take the guest money and the brand keeps a slice, so the company you can look up in the corporate registry is a thin layer on top of a much larger network. The founders learned the cost of confusing brand scale with balance-sheet scale the hard way once already, in a sister venture called ZO Rooms that raised roughly $30 million, tried to sell to OYO, and instead spent a decade in arbitration that ended in July 2025 with the Supreme Court closing the door.
Quick facts
| Company | Zostel Hospitality Private Limited (brands: Zostel, ZO Rooms) |
| Founded | First hostel opened in Jodhpur on 15 August 2013; entity incorporated 29 August 2013 (RoC Jaipur) |
| Founder(s) | Seven co-founders, led by Dharamveer Singh Chouhan (CEO), with Chetan Singh Chauhan, Paavan Nanda, Tarun Tiwari, Siddharth Janghu, Akhil Malik and Abhishek Bhutra |
| Businesses | Franchised backpacker hostels (franchisee-owned, franchisee-operated), Zo Trips, and the newer Web3 venture Zo World |
| Latest FY revenue | ₹1.68 crore (FY24, MCA-derived via Tracxn); ₹1.29 crore (FY23, per Tofler) — this is the operating entity’s own income, not network bookings |
| Latest FY profit/loss | Absolute profit/loss not disclosed in free filings; net worth reported at ₹3.05 crore for FY23 (Tofler) |
| Listed | Private (unlisted) |
| Market value / last valuation | Last disclosed valuation about $3.35 million in 2014 (Inc42); no recent valuation published |
| Key people / shareholders | Directors Dharamveer Singh Chouhan, Chetan Singh Chauhan and Abhishek Bhutra; investors include Orios Venture Partners, Blume Ventures and Indian Angel Network |
What Zostel does
Zostel runs a chain of backpacker hostels aimed at budget and solo travellers who want a bed, a common room and a community rather than a private hotel. The customer is the young, price-sensitive traveller; the product is a dormitory or basic private room plus curated trips under the Zo Trips banner. What Zostel itself owns is mostly the brand, the booking platform and the standards — the physical hostels are largely run by local franchise partners.
- Core offer: dorm beds and budget private rooms in hostels across India, Nepal, Thailand and Europe.
- Network size: more than 95 properties, per Wikipedia’s current profile; the company markets itself as the world’s largest branded hostel chain (self-described).
- Adjacent products: organised group travel (Zo Trips) and, since 2025, the Web3-oriented Zo World.
- Model in one line: franchisee-owned, franchisee-operated (FOFO), with Zostel taking a commission on bookings and food and beverage.
The origin
The founding insight was simple and personal. Dharamveer Singh Chouhan, an IIT (BHU) and IIM Calcutta graduate, had backpacked across Europe during an internship in Germany and seen a hostel culture that barely existed in India: cheap, social, safe places built for travellers rather than tourists. Back home there were guesthouses and expensive hotels, but little in between for a young person travelling alone on a tight budget.
As Chouhan has recounted, the first hostel was funded in an unusual way. He put in roughly ₹8 lakh he had won at poker, rented a large house in his hometown of Jodhpur, and opened the first Zostel there on 15 August 2013 with six friends from his student days. Seven co-founders, one rented building in the blue city, and a bet that Indians and foreigners alike would pay for a bunk bed if the vibe was right. The corporate entity, Zostel Hospitality Private Limited, was registered with the Registrar of Companies in Jaipur two weeks later, on 29 August 2013.
The struggle years
Zostel’s history is not a clean upward line. Within a year of opening, the founders chased a much bigger, much riskier idea, and it nearly consumed the whole project. The setbacks were real, dated and, in one case, fought out in court for the better part of a decade.
- The ZO Rooms detour (2014): in November 2014 the team launched ZO Rooms, a budget-hotel aggregator meant to compete directly with OYO. It pulled attention and capital away from the hostel brand.
- The failed OYO exit (2015 to 2017): in 2015 ZO Rooms and OYO’s parent, Oravel Stays, signed a term sheet under which ZO Rooms’ shareholders were to receive about a 7% stake in OYO. The deal never closed; by October 2017 both sides confirmed it was dead, and they filed police complaints against each other.
- ZO Rooms wound down: having failed to raise fresh money after the OYO deal collapsed, the budget-hotel business effectively stopped operating, stranding the roughly $30 million that had gone into it.
- A pandemic that hit travel first: COVID-19 froze domestic and international travel in 2020, and the operating entity’s filed sales stayed under ₹1 crore for the years to March 2020 and, again, to March 2022.
The turning point
The single event that defines Zostel’s founders is not a product launch — it is the OYO arbitration, and the numbers on either side of it are stark. On one side sat a claim to about 7% of OYO, a company that at its peak was valued in the billions of dollars; on the other side, after ten years, sat nothing.
An arbitral tribunal headed by former Chief Justice of India A.M. Ahmadi ruled on 6 March 2021 that Oravel Stays had breached a binding agreement to acquire ZO Rooms. The award entitled Zostel to specific performance — a path toward that 7% stake — but pointedly did not order OYO to allot the shares. Zostel treated it as a landmark win and moved to enforce it. The reversal, when it came, was total: on 13 May 2025 the Delhi High Court set the award aside in a 47-page judgment, holding that it violated public policy because the 2015 term sheet was non-binding and lacked consensus on vital terms. On 29 July 2025 the Supreme Court refused to entertain Zostel’s appeal, noting it should have gone through a Section 37 appeal rather than a special leave petition, and the plea was withdrawn. A ten-year fight for a slice of a rival ended with the founders holding neither the stake nor the award.
The money behind it
The funding story splits cleanly into two very different tracks: the modest capital that built the hostel brand, and the large capital that flowed into — and was lost within — the ZO Rooms experiment.
- Early hostel funding: Zostel raised a roughly $1 million venture round in May 2014, with a disclosed valuation around $3.35 million at the time (Inc42).
- Named backers: investors across the group’s history include Orios Venture Partners, Blume Ventures and Indian Angel Network; Orios participated in later Zostel rounds in 2015 and 2018 (Inc42, Crunchbase).
- The big cheque went to ZO Rooms: in July 2015 ZO Rooms raised about $30 million (₹288 crore at $1 ≈ ₹96.0) from Tiger Global and Orios Venture Partners; some reports put the figure closer to $35 million. That is where most of the group’s outside capital went.
- Aggregate figure, read with care: Crunchbase lists total funding of about $38.4 million across the group, a number that largely reflects the ZO Rooms round rather than the hostel business.
- No recent valuation: the hostel entity has not published a fresh valuation in years; the last public one dates to 2014.
How it makes money
The part people get wrong about Zostel is assuming that “world’s largest branded hostel chain” means large revenue on the company’s own books. It does not, and the reason is the operating model.
- Franchise, not owner-operator: under the FOFO structure, a local partner owns and runs each hostel and collects the guest’s payment. Zostel supplies the brand, the standards and the demand.
- Commission is the revenue line: Wikipedia’s profile states Zostel charges a commission of 21% to 30% on booking and food-and-beverage revenue at franchise properties.
- Where the margin sits: the brand’s margin comes from that commission plus onboarding and platform fees, not from room economics — the franchisee carries the rent, staff and occupancy risk.
- Network versus entity: reported annual gross bookings across the network have been put at around ₹166 crore (roughly $20 million as originally reported), while the operating entity’s own filed revenue is a small fraction of that — the commission slice, not the gross.
- Trips as a second stream: Zo Trips packages multi-day group travel, adding a product-sales line on top of the accommodation commission.
So the ₹1.29 crore filed for FY23 is not evidence of a failing business; it is what the top of a franchise pyramid looks like when the guest money legally belongs to the franchisees.
The numbers
The figures below are the operating entity’s own filed and reported revenue, in ₹ crore. They describe Zostel Hospitality Private Limited, not the gross value of everything booked across the franchise network.
| Financial year | Revenue (₹ crore) | Profit / loss |
| FY21 (to Mar 2021) | 0.99 | Not separately disclosed (free filings) |
| FY22 (to Mar 2022) | 0.65 | Not separately disclosed |
| FY23 (to Mar 2023) | 1.29 | Not separately disclosed; net worth ₹3.05 crore |
| FY24 (to Mar 2024) | 1.68 | Not separately disclosed |
- Revenue has stayed under ₹2 crore for every year shown (FY21 to FY24), per Tofler’s filed data and Tracxn’s FY24 figure.
- FY23 revenue of ₹1.29 crore was up from ₹0.65 crore in FY22, but FY22 itself was below the ₹0.99 crore recorded in FY21 — the entity’s income has been small and choppy, not a steady climb.
- Net worth was reported at ₹3.05 crore for FY23 (Tofler), up from ₹1.92 crore a year earlier.
- Absolute profit or loss is not visible in the free filings, so this deep dive does not state one; any such figure here would be invented, and it is not.
Where the money comes from
The revenue mix follows the model: commission from a geographically spread hostel network, plus trips, with the network heavily weighted toward India.
- Geography: the more-than-95 properties span India, Nepal, Thailand and Europe, but the core density and demand sit in India (Wikipedia). Zostel’s own older site described the chain as covering India, Nepal and 60-plus cities.
- Destination strategy: the chain has leaned into Tier-II, Tier-III and even smaller towns rather than only the biggest tourist hubs, spreading beds across many small markets instead of a few large ones.
- The surprise: the brand’s scale and its filed revenue point in opposite directions — a network marketed as the world’s largest branded hostel chain sits on top of an entity reporting under ₹2 crore, because the FOFO model pushes the guest revenue onto franchisees.
- The newest bet is not hostels at all: in 2025, around the group’s twelfth anniversary, the founders launched Zo World, a Web3 venture with NFT-gated memberships and physical “Zo House” spaces (Bengaluru and San Francisco), built on the Polygon blockchain — a very different revenue engine from bunk beds.
The risks
Three concrete risks stand out, each with a clear mechanism rather than a vague worry.
- Thin operating entity, limited disclosure: because guest revenue sits with franchisees and the parent’s filed income is small, outside observers cannot easily verify network health from public filings. If the franchise economics weaken, it may not show in the entity’s accounts until late.
- Founder attention split into Web3: the same founders who once diverted focus and capital into ZO Rooms are now building Zo World on blockchain and NFTs — a volatile, sentiment-driven space. History shows that a large side bet can starve the core; the OYO saga is the cautionary precedent.
- Legal and reputational overhang: the OYO dispute consumed ten years and ended in defeat at the Delhi High Court (May 2025) and Supreme Court (July 2025). Prolonged litigation drains management time and signals to partners and investors that outcomes can hinge on whether a term sheet was ever binding.
- Category and platform competition: budget travellers can be won by online travel agents, other hostel brands and short-stay platforms, all of which can undercut a commission-based franchisor on price or distribution.
The takeaway
The transferable lesson from Zostel is about the difference between a brand and a balance sheet. A franchise model can make a company look enormous in the world and modest in its filings at the same time, and neither picture is a lie — you simply have to know which one you are reading. Founders who confuse the two, as the ZO Rooms chapter shows, can pour real money and a decade of legal effort into a valuation that was never theirs to claim. The durable business here was the quiet one: a bunk bed in Jodhpur, a commission, and a network someone else pays to run.
Frequently asked questions
What is the legal entity behind Zostel?
The operating company is Zostel Hospitality Private Limited, incorporated on 29 August 2013 and registered with the Registrar of Companies in Jaipur, Rajasthan (CIN U55101RJ2013PTC043614). It is an unlisted private company and is also historically associated with the ZO Rooms brand.
Who founded Zostel and who runs it now?
Zostel was founded by seven co-founders in 2013, led by Dharamveer Singh Chouhan, who remains CEO. Company filings list its current directors as Dharamveer Singh Chouhan, Chetan Singh Chauhan and Abhishek Bhutra.
What happened between Zostel, ZO Rooms and OYO?
In 2015 OYO’s parent, Oravel Stays, signed a term sheet to acquire the founders’ budget-hotel business ZO Rooms, with a proposed 7% stake in OYO. The deal collapsed by 2017. An arbitral award in Zostel’s favour in March 2021 was set aside by the Delhi High Court in May 2025, and the Supreme Court declined to intervene in July 2025.
How does Zostel actually make money?
Zostel runs a franchisee-owned, franchisee-operated model. Local partners own and operate the hostels and collect guest payments, while Zostel earns a commission — reported at 21% to 30% on bookings and food and beverage — plus revenue from Zo Trips.
Why is Zostel’s reported revenue so small?
Because of the franchise structure, most guest revenue is booked by franchisees, not by the parent. The operating entity’s own filed revenue was ₹1.29 crore for FY23 and about ₹1.68 crore for FY24, even though the wider network is far larger.
Sources
Figures are as of September 2026. Currency converted at $1 ≈ ₹96.0 as of 18 September 2026 (Trading Economics).
- Wikipedia, “Zostel” (accessed September 2026) — founding, network size, FOFO model, commission range, ZO Rooms and Zo World.
- Tofler, Zostel Hospitality Private Limited company page (accessed September 2026) — CIN, incorporation, directors, registered address, filed sales FY19-FY23 and net worth.
- Tracxn and The Company Check, Zostel Hospitality Private Limited profiles (September 2026) — FY24 revenue (₹1.68 crore) and incorporation details.
- Inc42, coverage of the OYO-Zostel dispute and Delhi High Court / Supreme Court rulings, plus Zostel funding profile (2021-2025).
- Business Standard, reports on the Delhi High Court order (May 2025) and Supreme Court dismissal (July 2025).
- Entrackr and TechCrunch, reporting on the ZO Rooms-OYO deal collapse and ZO Rooms’ Tiger Global / Orios funding (2015-2017).
- Crunchbase, Zostel funding and investors (September 2026).
- YourStory and Polygon Technology, coverage of the founders’ Web3 venture Zo World (2022-2025).
- Zostel.com / old.zostel.com, company self-description of scale (accessed September 2026).
Found an error? Write to us and we’ll correct it in the open, dated, on the piece.

